Historical Tax Law Changes
Property Taxes

Laws 1912, Chapter 23 created the Arizona State Tax Commission to supervise the County Assessors in
determining property valuations. The Commission assured that all properties of every class, kind, and character
were assessed uniformly and at full cash value. The Commission was also given the responsibility for central
assessment of properties owned by express car companies and private car companies. (Effective May 9, 1912)

Laws 1912, Chapter 31 established the first General Property Tax under state law. The tax was levied on the
assessed value of property within the state. The Board of Equalization was responsible for determining the
appropriate tax rate. The effective rate of taxation was $.50 per $100 of assessed valuation if the Board failed to
act. Under the provisions of this law, the Board of Equalization was also responsible for central valuation of
railroad property and property used in the operation of telegraph and telephone companies. (Effective
May 15, 1912)

Laws 1912, Chapter 39 established a separate tax on the property of private car companies in lieu of the General
Property Tax. The State Tax Commission was still responsible for determining the value of these properties. [See
Lieu Tax on Private Car Companies] (Effective May 16, 1912)

Laws 1912, Chapter 54 established a separate tax on the property of express companies in lieu of the General
Property Tax. The State Tax Commission was still responsible for determining the value of these properties.
(Effective May 17, 1912)

Laws 1913, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 35 established the basis for determining the annual property tax levy.
The tax was levied at a rate which, together with revenues from other sources, would produce a sufficient amount
to cover the obligations of the state. The amount required to meet state obligations was established each year by
the Legislature and based on this amount, the Board of Equalization determined the appropriate rate. Property
taxes levied by this law were delinquent after the second Monday in December. The County Treasurers were
authorized to collect the state property tax and apportion these taxes at the end of each month. [See Revised
Statutes of Arizona, 1913, Civil Code, Sections 4839, 4872, 4895 and 4897]

The act also provided that any unsecured personal property valued by the County Assessors is treated differently
than real and secured personal property. Unsecured personal property was personal property owned by taxpayers
who did not own real property of any substantial value within the county. Under this law, the tax rate levied on
unsecured personal property equaled the state's General Property Tax rate for the previous year. The tax was
collected by the County Assessor at the time the property was assessed. All monies collected by the Assessor
during the month were paid to the County Treasurer on the first Monday of the following month. Collections
received by the County Treasurer's Office must be apportioned between the taxing districts at the end of each
month. [See Revised Statutes of Arizona, 1913, Civil Code, Sections 4872 and 4897]

Laws 1913, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 71 authorized the State Tax Commission to serve as the Board of
Equalization in determining the property tax rate. If the Tax Commission failed to act, the state rate would be
levied at $.75 per $100 of assessed valuation. Under this law, the State Tax Commission was given full
responsibility for the valuation of centrally assessed properties. Formerly, the Board of Equalization was
responsible for central assessment of railroad properties and properties owned by telephone and telegraph
companies. Central assessment was also extended to mines and mining properties. [See Revised Statutes of
Arizona, 1913, Civil Code, Sections 4829, 4834 and 4835]

Laws 1915, Chapter 22 changed the due date for paying taxes on real property and secured personal property.
Under the provisions of this law, one-half of the tax was due on the second Monday in October and delinquent on



the second Monday in December. The remaining half was due on the second Monday in March and delinquent on
the second Monday in June. (Effective June 10, 1915)

Laws 1915, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9 again changed the due date for paying taxes on real property and
secured personal property. Under this law, one-half of the tax was due on the first Monday in September and
delinquent on the first Monday in November. The remaining half was due on the first Monday in March and
delinquent on the first Monday in May. (Effective July 10, 1915)

Laws 1917, Chapter 6 exempted observatories operated on a nonprofit basis for the public benefit. (Effective June
7,1917)

Laws 1943, Chapter 77 changed the rate of tax levied on unsecured personal property. Under the provisions of
this law, unsecured personal property was taxed at the rate that was in effect for secured property at the time the
Unsecured Property Tax was collected (Effective June 13, 1943).

Laws 1945, Chapter 56 established a new basis for computing the annual state property tax rate. The rate was set
at a level that would produce sufficient revenue to cover all state expenses that could not be covered by the
balance forward and revenues from sources other than the property tax. The State Tax Commission (in its role as
the Board of Equalization) was to estimate the amount of revenue that would be received during the year from
sources other than the property tax. (Effective March 10, 1945)

Laws 1945, Chapter 94 redefined unsecured personal property as personal property owned by taxpayers who do
not own at least $200 of real property within the county. The rate of tax levied on unsecured property was also
changed by this law. The law provided that the unsecured tax rate for the entire calendar year was the rate in
effect for real property on January 1 of the year. In addition, the method of collecting Unsecured Personal
Property Taxes was changed. Under this law, unsecured property valued during each month was placed on an
unsecured property tax roll at the time it was assessed. The roll was then forwarded to the County Treasurer for
collection. The Unsecured Property Tax was due on the second Monday of the month following the month in
which the property was added to the tax roll. The tax was delinquent 30 days after the due date (Effective March
20, 1945).

Laws 1951, Chapter 59, levied a separate tax on flight property in lieu of the General Property Tax. The value of
flight properties subject to the tax was to be centrally assessed by the State Tax Commission. [See Flight Property
Tax] (Effective March 14, 1951)

Laws 1956, Chapter 115 permitted persons owning certain mobile homes to pay either the Unsecured Personal
Property Tax or the Vehicle License Tax. Formerly, mobile homes had been taxed only under the provisions of the
Vehicle License Tax. (Effective April 12, 1956)

NOTE: A constitutional amendment, enacted in the election of November 3, 1964 established an exemption for
all stocks of raw or finished materials, unassembled parts, work in process, or finished products
constituting the inventory of a retailer or wholesaler located within the state and principally engaged in
the resale of such materials, parts or products. (Effective December 3, 1964)

Laws 1959, Chapter 40 provided that the assessed value of producing oil and gas properties should be determined
separately from other properties based on the previous year's gross yield from production. (Effective June 20,
1959)

Laws 1964, Chapter 54 changed the due date for paying taxes on real property and secured personal property.
Under this law, one-half of the tax was due on September 1 and delinquent November 1. The remaining half was
due on March 1 and delinquent on May 1. (Effective July 15, 1964)



A constitutional amendment, enacted in the election of November 3, 1964 established an exemption for all stocks
of raw or finished materials, unassembled parts, work in process, or finished products constituting the inventory of
a retailer or wholesaler located within the state and principally engaged in the resale of such materials, parts or
products. (Effective December 3, 1964)

Laws 1967, Chapter 107 created the Department of Property Valuation. Most of the powers of the State Tax
Commission that related to property valuation were transferred to the new Department. Among other powers,
the Department assumed the responsibility for supervising County Assessors and for valuing centrally assessed
properties. Utilities, pipelines and transmission systems were added to the list of properties subject to central
assessment. Central valuation of express companies was retained by the State Tax Commission. The Tax
Commission also retained its responsibility for setting the state Property Tax rate. A rate of $1.50 per $100 of
assessed valuation was levied if the Tax Commission failed to act. (Effective October 15, 1967)

Laws 1967, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 6 established 4 classes of property, each with a different assessment
ratio. Assessment ratios were used to determine the percent of each property's full cash value that was included
on the tax rolls. Of the 4 classes, only Class 3 and 4 are valued by the County Assessors. Since the unsecured tax
roll is compiled by the County Assessors, only properties in Classes 3 and 4 were placed on the unsecured tax roll.
Under this law, unsecured properties were listed on the tax roll at a percentage of their full cash value. The four
classes of property and their respective assessment ratios were:

(1) Class 1 consisting of flight property, private car companies, railroads, mines and standing timber, assessed
at 60% of full cash value.

(2) Class 2 consisting of properties owned by telephone and telegraph companies, public utilities and pipeline
companies, assessed at 40% of full cash value.

(3) Class 3 consisting of commercial and industrial properties not included in Class 1 and Class 2, assessed at
25% of full cash value.

(4) Class 4 consisting of real property used for agricultural purposes and all other property not included in
Class 1, 2 or 3, assessed at 18% of full cash value.

Producing oil and gas properties were taxable on 100% of their valuation. (Effective March 22, 1968)

Laws 1968, Chapter 124 repealed the statute that permitted payment of the Vehicle License Tax on mobile homes
in lieu of the General Property Tax. Enactment of this provision was subject to the passage of a constitutional
amendment. Approval of the amendment at the general election of November 5, 1968, resulted in mobile homes
being assessed and taxed in the same manner as personal property. The provisions of this law did not apply to
mobile units under 40 feet long and 8 feet wide. (Effective December 4, 1968)

NOTE: A constitutional amendment enacted in the election of November 5, 1968, exempted from the Property
Tax, all household goods used for noncommercial purposes. The exemptions allowed to certain veterans
and widows were also changed. (Effective December 4, 1968)

Laws 1970, Chapter 170 provided that banks and other financial institutions were subject to payment of the
Personal Property Tax. The tax applied to tangible property only. Prior to the passage of this law, financial institu-
tions were exempt from the Personal Property Tax. (Effective January 1, 1970)

Laws 1973, Chapter 44 provided that the General Property Tax should be paid by the owner of record, or the
person who is the purchaser under a deed of trust or an agreement of sale. (Effective From and After
December 31, 1973)

Laws 1973, Chapter 123 established the Department of Revenue and transferred the powers and duties of the
Department of Property Valuation to the new Department. Most powers of the State Tax Commission were also
transferred to the Department of Revenue, however the Commission retained its responsibility for setting the
state Property Tax rate. (Effective July 1, 1974)



Laws 1973, Chapter 182, established a fifth property class consisting of residential properties to be assessed at
18% of full cash value. A formula was established to reduce the local property tax collected from Class 5
properties. Unsecured property in this class was valued by the County Assessors and added to the Unsecured Tax
roll. The formula was effective for the 1974 Unsecured Property Tax roll. All property in Class 5 was taxed on 18%
of its full cash value. State monies were appropriated to offset the local tax loss resulting from this program. The
formula had no impact on state Property Tax collections. (Effective August 8, 1973)

Laws 1974, Ist Special Session, Chapter 2 changed the assessment rates that applied to three classes of property.
Assessment rates are used to determine the percent of full cash value that is subject to tax. The assessment rate
for Class 2 properties was increased from 40% to 50%, for Class 3 properties from 25% to 27%, but Class 5
residential properties was reduced from 18% to 15%. The law also established a new property tax for educational
purposes and modified the formula used to provide property tax relief to homeowners. The due date for paying
property taxes on real and secured personal property was extended for years when the Property Tax Reduction
Program was in effect. The new due date for the first installment was October 1. The delinquency date was not
changed. (The change in assessment rates and the property tax for educational purposes were effective from and
after December 31, 1973. The remaining provisions were effective May 20, 1974.)

Laws 1974, Chapter 150 established the Joint Legislative Tax Committee. The new Committee assumed the
responsibility for setting the state Property Tax rate. Formerly, this responsibility was held by the State Tax
Commission. The Joint Committee was required to set the new state Property Tax rate for educational and general
purposes. The State Tax Commission was scheduled for termination after 1978. All duties of the Commission not
transferred to the Department of Revenue were transferred to the State Board of Tax Appeals. (Effective August 9,
1974)

Laws 1975, Chapter 24 extended property Class 5 to include non-profit residential housing facilities providing care
or housing to aged or handicapped persons. (Effective From and After December 31, 1974)

Laws 1976, Chapter 176 established a new property classification (Class 6) composed of real and personal property
which is leased or rented solely for residential purposes. Unsecured property within the class was valued by the
County Assessors and added to the Unsecured Tax roll. This class of property was assessed at 27% of full cash
value. The law authorized a gradual reduction of the assessment ratio according to the following schedule: By
statute, 27% through the tax year 1977; 23% for 1978; 21% thereafter. (Effective September 23, 1976)

Laws 1977, Chapter 87 provided that the Department of Revenue shall value and tax geothermal resources in the
same manner as oil and gas resources. [See Laws 1959, Chapter 40] (Effective May 23, 1977)

Laws 1977, Chapter 144 established a seventh class of property, consisting of historic properties to be assessed at
8% of full cash value. (Effective August 27, 1977)

Laws 1977, Chapter 152 provided that, for the 1978 tax year, the assessed valuation of all properties was divided
by a factor of $1.05 for the purpose of levying a tax rate. For the 1979 tax year, the assessed valuation of all
properties was divided by a factor of $1.10 for the purpose of levying a tax rate. A maximum state tax rate of $1.60
per hundred dollars of assessed valuation was also established and a provision was included to prohibit the Joint
Legislative Tax Commission from establishing a tax rate that would produce a greater tax levy than the previous
year's levy without a roll call vote. (Effective August 27, 1977)

Laws 1977, Chapter 172 changed the classification of profit-making nursing care institutions and profit-making
residential care institutions from property Class 3 to a new Class 5 (c). (Effective January 1, 1978)

Laws 1978, Chapter 14 exempted a dwelling on possessory rights, taxed as secured or unsecured personal
property, from distraint, seizure or sale for delinquent taxes as personal property but is subject to procedures for
delinquent taxes as real property. (Effective September 3, 1978)



Laws 1978, Chapter 211 provided that the 1979 net assessed valuation of all properties within the state be
reduced further for tax purposes. In addition to the $1.10 division established in Laws 1977, Chapter 152, a second
reduction was made. To accomplish this reduction, the assessed valuation of real property within a class was
reduced by the ratio of total state full cash value for all property within the class in 1979 to the total state full cash
value of all property within the class in 1978. The resulting valuation could not fall below the 1978 level. This
method of valuing property for the 1979 tax year was not used however, because of the effect of Laws 1979,
Chapter 153. In addition to this provision, the following changes were made (Effective June 14, 1978):

(1) The Joint Legislative Tax Committee was prohibited from setting a tax rate for 1978 that would result in a
total tax levy in excess of the previous year's levy reduced by $4,000,000.

(2) The state's Tax Relief Program for residential properties (Class 5) was extended to parcels of property
subject to the Lieu Tax on properties located outside of school districts. The formula used to reduce school
district tax rates under this program was also modified.

(3) The due date for paying the first installment of property taxes on real and secured personal property was
permanently changed to October 1.

Laws 1978, Chapter 213 provided a property tax exemption to widowers comparable to that received by widows.
This provision did not become effective until the Constitution was amended in 1980.

Laws 1979, Chapter 97 provided that a multiple-section mobile home permanently affixed to land is taxed as real
property rather than personal property when the land is owned by the person owning the mobile home. (Effective
From and After November 30, 1979)

Laws 1979, Chapter 142 reduced the assessment ratio for railroads and private car companies from 60% to 36%
for the 1979 tax year.

Laws 1979, Chapter 153 provided a new means of determining the 1979 taxable value of properties that
superseded the method prescribed by Laws 1978, Chapter 211. Under the provisions of this law, the 1979 taxable
value of properties was determined by dividing the assessed valuation by a factor of $1.15 before applying the tax
rate. This law also prohibited the Joint Legislative Tax Committee from setting a tax rate for 1979 that would result
in a total tax levy in excess of the 1978 levy reduced by $15,000,000. The formula used to provide property tax
relief to residential property owners (Class 5) was again modified. (Effective July 21, 1979)

Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8 made major modifications to the existing state and local property tax
systems. The law made the following modifications that affected the state property tax system:

(1) Changed the method of determining the full cash value of utility properties in Class 2. Full cash value is
the starting point for determining the taxable value of property. (Effective From and After December 31,
1979)

(2)  Changed the method of determining the taxable value of properties. Formerly, all property taxes were
levied on a share of each property's full cash value. Under this provision, taxes levied for primary
purposes will be levied on one definition of property value and taxes levied for secondary purposes will be
levied on a separate definition of property value. Taxes levied for primary purposes include all property
taxes other than taxes levied for secondary purposes. Taxes levied for secondary purposes refers to all
property taxes levied for payment of bonds, special district levies and voter-approved overrides. Under
this law, mobile homes would have a "limited property value" as well as a full cash value. [See also Laws
1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8, Sections 50 and 92] (Effective From and After December 31, 1979)

(3) Provided that the assessed value of unsecured property on the 1980 tax roll be divided by $1.15 for
purposes of levying a tax rate.

(4)  Permanently established a separate class of property (Class 7) for railroads and private car companies.
Historic properties were changed to Class 8. (Effective From and After December 31, 1979)



(5) Lowered the assessment ratios as follows: Class 1 - from 60% to 52%, Class 2 - from 50% to 44%, Class 3 -
from 27% to 25%, Class 4 - from 18% to 16%, Class 5 - from 15% to 10%, Class 6 - from 21% to 18%, Class 7
(railroads and private cars) - from 36% to 34%. (Effective From and After December 31, 1979)

(6)  Further reduced the assessment rates for Classes 1 and 2. The assessment ratio for Class 1 was 44% from
1983 to 1985, 36% from 1986 to 1988, 28% from 1989 to 1991 and 25% in subsequent years. The
assessment ratio for Class 2 was 38% from 1983 to 1985, 32% from 1986 to 1988, 26% from 1989 to 1991
and 25% in subsequent years. The assessment ratio for railroad properties (Class 7) would be annually set
at the average ratio for all commercial and industrial properties in compliance with federal law.

(7)  Established a maximum state property tax rate for educational purposes equal to $1.25 per $100 of
assessed valuation; this rate for the 1980 property tax year was set at $1.25. Proceeds from this tax were
deposited in a separate account within the General Fund. (Effective July 3, 1980)

(8)  Set the state property tax rate for general purposes at zero for the 1980 property tax year. (Effective July
3,1980)

(9)  Established a one-year credit against the state's $1.25 School Tax levy for residential property owners.
The credit for each parcel of residential property was to equal 5% of the final tax liability from all property
taxes other than taxes levied for payment of bonds, overrides and special district levies. The credit was
never effective for unsecured property due to a later law. [See Laws 1980, Chapter 221] (Effective July 3,
1980)

(10) Provided that the total amount of taxes levied on each parcel of residential property by all government
entities combined (other than taxes levied for secondary purposes) may not exceed 1% of the property's
“limited property value”.B (Effective July 3, 1980)

Enactment of these provisions was conditional on the passage of Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9 and
four constitutional amendments that were approved by the voters in a special election held on June 3, 1980.

Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9 established a new program for providing property tax relief to
homeowners. [See Exhibit H] The original Homeowner's Property Tax Relief Program, which was initiated by Laws
1973, Chapter 182, was discontinued. (Effective July 3, 1980)

Four constitutional amendments enacted in a special election held on June 3, 1980 modified the widows and
veterans property tax exemptions, established comparable property tax exemptions for widowers and disabled
persons, and authorized the Legislature to increase the level of property tax exemptions without a constitutional
amendment. (Effective June 28, 1980)

A separate constitutional amendment enacted in the special election of June 3, 1980 established limitations on the
growth of property value used in levying property taxes for primary purposes. [See Laws 1980, 2nd Special
Session, Chapter 8] The amendment also provided that the total amount of taxes levied on each parcel of
residential property by all government entities combined (other than taxes levied for secondary purposes) may not
exceed 1% of the property's “limited property value”.@ (Effective June 28, 1980)

Laws 1980, Chapter 220 changed the interest rate on delinquent payments of unsecured personal property taxes.
The interest rate was increased from 10% per year to 12% per year. (Effective July 31, 1980)

Laws 1980, Chapter 221 clarified the provisions of Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8. Under this law,
Unsecured Property Taxes, other than taxes on mobile homes, were based on the property's full cash value during
the 1980 tax year. The "limited property value" remained the basis for taxing mobile homes in 1980. This law also
excluded unsecured property from the one-year credit against the state's property tax that was passed by Laws
1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8. (Effective April 23, 1980)

NOTE: Four constitutional amendments enacted in a special election held on June 3, 1980 modified the widows
and veterans property tax exemptions, established comparable property tax exemptions for widowers
and disabled persons and authorized the Legislature to increase the level of property tax exemptions
without a constitutional amendment. (Effective June 28, 1980)



A separate constitutional amendment enacted in the special election of June 3, 1980 established limitations on the
growth of property value used in levying property taxes for primary purposes. [See Laws 1980, 2nd Special
Session, Chapter 8 and TAX BASE] The amendment also provided that the total amount of taxes levied on
residential property by all government entities combined (other than taxes levied for secondary purposes) may not
exceed 1% of the property's “limited property value”. [See RESIDENTIAL TAX LIMITATION] (Effective June 28,
1980)

Laws 1981, Chapter 25 changed the basis for determining the portion of full cash value of flight property that is
allocated to Arizona for tax purposes. (Effective From and After December 31, 1980)

Laws 1981, Chapter 124 repealed the separate tax on express companies that was originally enacted by Laws
1912, Chapter 54. (Effective July 25, 1981)

Laws 1981, Chapter 146 increased the interest rate on delinquent payments of real property taxes from 10% per
year to 12% per year. (Effective for Property Taxes Delinquent on and After October 1, 1981)

Laws 1981, Chapter 291 reduced the state Property Tax rate for educational purposes to $.95 per $100 of assessed
valuation. The state Property Tax rate for general purposes was set at zero for the 1981 tax year. The formula for
providing property tax relief to homeowners was also changed. [See Exhibit H] (Effective July 25, 1981)

Laws 1982, Chapter 21 allowed an increase of 20% in the level of income and property valuation that a widow,
widower, veteran or disabled person may have and still be eligible for a property tax exemption. The bill also
provided for a 20% increase in the amount of the exemption granted to qualifying taxpayers. (Effective March 31,
1982)

Laws 1982, Chapter 156 reduced the assessment ratio on historic property from 8% to 5% beginning with tax year
1983. (Effective July 24, 1982)

Laws 1982, Chapter 164 reduced the state Property Tax rate for educational purposes to $.75 per $100 of assessed
valuation. The state Property Tax rate for general purposes was set at zero for the 1982 tax year. The formula for
providing property tax relief to homeowners was also changed. (Effective July 24, 1982)

Laws 1982, Chapter 228 reduced the assessment ratio for Class 1 properties (flight property, mines and timber)
beyond the level established by Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8. Under this law, the assessment ratio
for Class 1 properties was reduced to 38% beginning in tax year 1983. The Class 2 assessment ratio would already
be 38% in 1983 under Laws 1980, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 8. After 1983, the assessment ratios for Class 1 and
2 properties were reduced two percentage points each year through 1989. For 1990, and all subsequent years, the
assessment ratios for Class 1 and 2 properties were set at 25%. [See Tax Base]

Laws 1982, Chapter 232 established uniform provision for determining the full cash value of shopping centers.
Shopping centers are included in property Class 3. Under the provisions of this law, County Assessors must value
shopping centers by the "replacement cost less depreciation" method, except in certain cases specified within the
law. (Effective April 24, 1982)

Laws 1982, Chapter 301 established a Property Tax exemption for 50% of the value of real and personal property
located within a designated urban development area. The exemption established by this law was available for a
maximum of five years after the property had initially qualified as urban development property. Enactment of
these provisions was conditional on the passage of a constitutional amendment, which subsequently, was rejected
by the voters on November 2, 1982.

Laws 1983, Chapter 4 changed the interest rate on delinquent tax payments to equal the rate of interest
established by Section 6621 of the Internal Revenue Code, compounded annually. (Effective February 11, 1983)



Laws 1983, Chapter 35 changed flight property from property Class 1 (with mines and standing timber) to property
Class 7 (with railroads and private car companies) to comply with federal law. Since the assessment ratio for Class
7 properties is lower than the assessment ratio for Class 1 properties, this effectively reduced the tax on flight
property. (Effective April 1, 1983)

Laws 1983, Chapter 62 set the state Property Tax rate for educational purposes at $.75 per $100 of assessed
valuation for the 1983 tax year. The state Property Tax rate for general purposes was set at zero for the same
period. The formula for providing property tax relief to homeowners was also changed. (Effective July 27, 1983)

Laws 1983, Chapter 183 changed the interest rate on delinquent tax payments to 16% simple interest when the
tax was payable to the County Assessors. (Effective Retroactively to all Taxes which are or become Delinquent on
or After November 1, 1983)

Laws 1983, Chapter 313 authorized taxpayers to make voluntary payments in lieu of taxes when they are not
required to pay their property taxes pursuant to a court injunction. The provisions of this law were only applicable
for the 1982 and 1983 tax years. (Effective May 4, 1983)

Laws 1984, Chapter 23 created a ninth property tax classification for scenic and historic railroad property. Such
property will be assessed at a percentage of its full cash value equal to one-half of the percentage determined for
Class 7 property. Class 7 property assessment is determined annually by the Department of Revenue. A.R.S. § 42-
227 details the formulation of Class 7 property assessment ratio.

Laws 1984, Chapter 45 requires County Assessors to give notice of property valuation to property owners by
February 1 of each year. Taxpayers must file written petitions appealing the Assessor's valuation by February 25.
If notice of valuation is not postmarked by February 1, the appeal petition must be filed within 25 days of the date
the Assessor mailed the notice.

Laws 1984, Chapter 317 established delinquency dates for payment of Real Property Taxes. For taxes due on real
property in excess of $10, one-half of the amount due is delinquent after November 1, and the remaining half is
delinquent after the following May 1.

Laws 1984, Chapter 371 imposed new verification requirements for Class 5 property. The Department of Revenue
will notify taxpayers who own land parcels previously listed as Class 5 property to request verification as to the
property's occupance (owner-occupied versus rental). A civil penalty is imposed upon nonrespondents. Taxpayers
who are subsequently notified of a classification change will be assessed a civil penalty equal to twice the amount
of taxes that would have been levied against Class 6 property in the preceding tax year.

Laws 1984, Chapter 371 changed the assessment ratio for Class 6 property as follows:

(1) TaxYear 1984 F18%

(2) Tax Year 1985 [17%

(3) Tax Year 1986 [116%

(4) Tax Year 1987 [15%

(5) Tax Year 1988 and thereafter @14%

Laws 1984, Chapter 371 reduced the maximum state rate of taxation for educational purposes for tax year 1984 to
$.40 per $100 of assessed valuation.

Laws 1984, Chapter 177 provided a Property Tax exemption for property owned by a non-profit organization and
used by the state or a political subdivision during the entire taxable year exclusively for a governmental activity.

Laws 1984, Chapter 212 required taxpayers claiming a Property Tax exemption to file an affidavit or furnish other
evidence proving entitlement thereto between the first Monday in January and May 1 for each year an exemption



is claimed. Churches must file between the first Monday in January and April 10. Failure to file within the
prescribed time periods is deemed a waiver of the exemption.

Laws 1985, Chapter 56 prescribed the deadline and the manner for appealing property valuations by the
Department of Revenue to the Board of Tax Appeals. Taxpayers must appeal valuation notices by filing a petition
with the Board by the later of:

(1) the fourth Monday in June, or
(2) 15 days after the Department mails the valuation decision to the property owner

Laws 1985, Chapter 201 provided that feeder livestock held for fattening before sale or slaughter, range livestock,
and dairy cattle be listed on the tax roll and valued by December 31 annually. Valuation will be based on the
average value for the preceding twelve months. (Effective April 26, 1985)

Laws 1985, Chapter 264 provided for taxation of possessory interests in government property as unsecured
personal property, and allowed certain exemptions to this taxation. In addition, special tax treatment was given to
possessory interests in property located in certain redevelopment areas. (Effective From and After December 31,
1985)

Laws 1985, Chapter 317 clarified the classification of telecommunication companies by treating all long-distance
phone companies as Class 2 properties for property tax purposes. (Effective May 10, 1985)

Laws 1985, Chapter 366 provided for the uniform valuation of golf courses beginning in 1987. The state property
tax rate for educational purposes was continued at $0.40 per $100 of assessed valuation while the general
purposes rate was set at zero. (Effective From and After June 30, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 76 permitted agents to represent taxpayers before the County Assessors and Board of
Equalization for review of property valuation. (Effective August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 109 established a Personal Property Elimination Study Commission and an Assessment
Advisory Committee to evaluate the impacts of eliminating the taxation of personal property. A final report was
due by December 31, 1987. This enactment was repealed from and after March 31, 1988. (Effective
August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 133 removed property of member-owned rural electric cooperatives from valuation based on
the statutory utility formula, thus subjecting it to valuation according to standard or fair market procedures
instead. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1985)

Laws 1986, Chapter 146 provided authority for a city or town which purchases remote municipal property to make
voluntary contributions of money in lieu of property taxes to the state, county, school districts, community college
district, or any other special tax district in which such property is located. (Effective April 18, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 199 authorized the Department of Revenue to biennially examine and compare the property
valuations in the state, and to equalize those valuations found inequitable between or within counties, classes or
classifications. Any equalization order issued by the Department must be made no later than May1 for
implementation in the tax year following the year of issuance. Any such order is subject to appeal by the affected
taxpayer or County Assessor within 30 days of issuance. Then, the State Board of Tax Appeals is required to hold a
review hearing within 30 days of such an appeal. An appeal may eventually be taken to the Superior Court.
(Effective August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 216 allowed a taxpayer to appeal for reclassification of Class 6 property (residential rental) as
Class 5 property (owner-occupied residential) if the taxpayer rents the property to a natural or adopted sibling.
(Effective August 13, 1986)



Laws 1986, Chapter 222 authorized the Department of Revenue to conduct property valuation sales-ratio studies.
This law prescribed limitations, conditions and procedures in using such studies for property valuation. (Effective
August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 243 prescribed that real and personal property of telecommunications companies used to
provide local telecommunication services be valued and assessed as Class 2 (utilities) property; whereas, those
properties not servicing such purposes are Class 3 (commercial and industrial) property. "Local telecommunication
services" does not include domestic public cellular radio telecommunication services, thus allowing it to be
classified as Class 3 property. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1985)

Laws 1986, Chapter 342 increased qualifying assessment limits and exemption amounts for the Property Tax
exemptions granted widows, widowers, veterans, and disabled persons. Also, the definition of qualifying income
was modified to include certain retirement system payments. This emergency legislation was effective
May 9, 1986. The new limits and exemptions are detailed as follows:

Assessed Valuation Exemption
$5,460 or less $2,340
6,240 or less 1,560
7,020 or less 780
7,800 or less 390
7,800 or more -0-

Laws 1986, Chapter 377 set the state Property Tax rate for education purposes for tax year 1986 at zero, while the
rate for general purposes was set at $.38 per $100 of assessed valuation. (Effective August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 392 allowed certain school districts which voluntarily sends its pupils to another school district
to separately budget for the bond issues portion of the tuition charged to the district. This amount was exempted
from the revenue control limit and excluded the Primary Property Tax rate set to fund this amount from the
computation of additional state aid for education. (Effective August 13, 1986)

Laws 1986, Chapter 419 extended the incremental 1% annual reduction in the assessment ratio for Class 6
(residential rental) property through tax year 1992. Also, the renter's income tax credit for property taxes paid is
phased out by 1992. This credit is repealed from and after December 31, 1992. These provisions were effective on
August 13, 1986. A separate provision provided for the correction and refund of taxes on owner-occupied
property improperly classified as residential rental property for the 1985 tax year. This was effective retroactively
from and after January 1, 1985. The changes were as follows:

Class Six Maximum
Tax Year Assessment Ratio Renter's Credit
1986 16% $100
1987 15 100
1988 14 85
1989 13 70
1990 12 55
1991 11 40
1992 and thereafter 10 -0-
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Laws 1987, Chapter 33 excluded the value of any vehicle subject to the Motor Vehicle In-Lieu Tax when
determining the amount of qualifying assessment for property tax exemptions given to Arizona veterans, widows,
widowers, and disabled persons. (Effective August 18, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 98 required the Department or Revenue to provide a space to indicate an inventory
exemption on its Personal Property Tax Reporting Forms. Allowed the Director to require additional proof of the
inventory exemption claim. Stipulated that failure to provide requested proof, or failure to claim the exemption
waives the exemption. (Effective August 18, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 105 established a 5-member advisory committee of property tax assessment to meet at least
annually to discuss and review definitions and guidelines about the status of property and residual value
percentages. Allowed the Committee to recommend guideline and definitional changes to the Department.
Disallowed compensation for members, however, allowed the legislators on the Committee to be reimbursed for
expenses. (Effective August 18, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 191 required the County Treasurer to refund any property taxes paid by churches, charities,
educational institutions, and humane societies for tax years 1985 and 1986. Statutorily allowed a qualified non-
profit organization that submits a petition for property tax exemption after the statutory deadline to have it
redeemed by the County Board of Supervisors, but no taxes due and payable before submitting the petition will be
refunded or abated. (Effective April 29, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 204 established a Property Tax Oversight Commission and defined the powers and duties of
the Commission. Allowed the Department of Revenue to report to the Property Tax Oversight Commission the
accuracy of valuations of levy limits for county, city, town, and community college districts reported in prior years.
Also, redefined the formula for determining the limit of Primary Property Taxes that can be levied on the above
districts. (Effective January 1, 1988)

Laws 1987, Chapter 248 classified certain licensed child day care centers or groups as residential rental property
(Class 6) and provided for the continuance of non-profit residential housing facilities and licensed residential or
nursing care institutions for the handicapped or elderly as residential property (Class 5) until tax year 1992. At this
time, they will be reclassified as residential rental property (Class 6) for property tax purposes. Also, this bill
eliminated Class 9 (scenic or historic railroad property) as a separate property classification. (Effective to Taxable
Years Beginning From and After January 1, 1988)

Laws 1987, Chapter 268 provided that remote property of a city or town used to acquire water is considered
taxable property for determining the state sales tax distribution to counties and the levy limit of those counties
that pay certain voluntary contributions in lieu of property taxes. (Effective August 18, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 306 exempted the administrative and office buildings located in a university research park
used solely for research and development activities from the tax on possessory interests. (Effective May 14, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 308 exempted from property tax the property held by a qualified charitable organization if
held for transfer to the state or a political subdivision for use as parkland, provided no rent or valuable
consideration is received by the charity. If this property is transferred to an entity other than the state, the charity
is liable for all taxes, interest, and penalties normally due. (Effective May 16, 1987)

Laws 1987, Chapter 340 exempted from property tax the property under a lease-purchase agreement in which the
state or a political subdivision is the lessee-purchaser. Required this property be used by the state or political
subdivision during the entire taxable year solely for governmental activity. (Effective From and After
December 31, 1986)
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Laws 1988, Chapter 157 exempted leases on vacant land located at airports owned on or before January 1, 1988
by cities or counties in all counties whose population is 400,000 persons or less from taxation of possessory
interests. This effectively excluded Maricopa and Pima Counties. (Effective September 30, 1988)

Laws 1988, Chapter 162 moved the real property valuation notification date from February 1 to January 1 and
allowed 31 days to file an appeal instead of the previous 25 days. Changed the deadline for valuation appeal
decisions by the County Board of Equalization from May 20 to May 10. An appeal filed using the income approach
must include the most recent three consecutive fiscal years of income and expense data. (Effective September 30,
1988)

Laws 1988, Chapter 208 provided that beginning with tax year 1989, a mobile home not filed as permanently
affixed to real property will be assess as unsecured personal property at a rate of $0.50 per $100 of assessed
valuation. Revenues collected will be distributed to the Mobile Home Relocation Fund. Starting January 1, 1991, if
fund balance exceeds $5 million the assessments are waived, but are reassessed if at a fiscal year end the fund
balance is under $3 million.

Laws 1988, Chapter 271 was the Omnibus Revenue Bill for FY 1989. The following provisions apply to the property
tax:

(1) Property tax assessment ratios for Class 1, 2, and 6 were frozen at their 1987 levels of 30%, 30%, and 15%
respectively for tax years 1988 and 1989.

(2) State 1988 Property Tax rate for educational purposes was raised from $.38 to $.47 per $100 of assessed
valuation and continued at zero for general purposes. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and
After - December 31, 1987)

(3) Included Salt River Project property in the basic state aid calculation, thereby reducing state aid to school
districts where SRP property is located. (Effective July 1, 1988)

(4) Limited the homeowner's rebate to a maximum of $500. Any reduction in excess of $500 from reducing the
Property Tax rate by a school district will be deducted from the amount of additional state aid for education.
(Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1987)

(5) Imposed a Property Tax on unorganized school districts. The qualifying tax rate imposed on residential
property was phased-in starting with $.50 per $100 of assessed valuation in 1988 and raised at $.50
increments each year until 1997 when it will equal $4.72. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and
After December 31, 1987)

Laws 1988, Chapter 330 established a tax court division within the Maricopa County Superior Court. Also provided
small claims procedures for cases involving a tax amount of less than $5,000 or owner-occupied residential
property tax valuations not exceeding $100,000. (Effective September 30, 1988)

Laws 1988, Chapter 344 exempted from Property Tax the property of non-profit volunteer Fire Departments if
used exclusively for fire suppression and prevention. (Effective September 30, 1988)

Laws 1989, Chapter 11 made adjustments and changes to the Property Tax Oversight Commission (PTOC). Among
other changes, it established an October 1 deadline for political subdivisions to request an appeal hearing.
(Effective September 15, 1989)

Laws 1989, Chapter 33 established a new method for computing the full cash value of certain pipeline properties.
(Retroactive From and After December 31, 1988)

Laws 1989, Chapter 61 provided a new framework for defining agricultural land for property taxation purposes

based on such factors as historical primary usage, reasonable expectations of operating profits, and the operation
and management of the parcels. (Effective September 15, 1989)
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Laws 1989, Chapter 64 included Class 4 (agricultural and vacant land) personal property into the current formula
to calculate Class 7 (flight property, railroads and private cars) assessment ratios. (Effective September 15, 1989)

Laws 1989, Chapter 111 clarified the eligibility of owner-occupants of a cooperative apartment corporation for the
homeowner's rebate. The formula assures that only owner-occupants receive the rebate which is limited to $500
for each owner-occupied housing unit. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31,
1987)

Laws 1989, Chapter 116 provided for refund and forgiveness of property taxes paid or owed by tax-exempt
churches for tax year 1988.

Laws 1989, Chapter 202 allowed property tax exemptions for the following: (Effective September 15, 1989)

(1) Certain charitable organizations that preserve and protect scientific, biological, geological, paleontological,
natural, or archaeological resources.

(2) Voluntary nonprofit organizations used exclusively for road clean-up and beautification.

(3) Qualified nonprofit musical, dramatic and dance groups, botanical gardens, museums, and zoos.

Laws 1989, Chapter 259 redefined "full cash value" for property tax purposes as that value prescribed by statute;
otherwise, in absence of any statutory method it is synonymous with market value. (Effective September 15,
1989)

Laws 1989, Chapter 312 was the General Revenue Act for FY 1990. The following provisions apply to the property
tax:

(1) Required local school districts not receiving state aid to levy a minimum primary tax rate equal to 25% of the
qualifying tax rate (QTR). The QTR is $4.72 per $100 of net assessed valuation for unified school districts
and $2.36 for elementary or high school districts. (Effective From and After - June 30, 1989)

(2) Set the state Property Tax rate for educational purposes at the current rate of $.47 per $100 of assessed
valuation. The tax rate for general purposes remains at zero. (Effective September 15, 1989)

(3) Established a Property Tax rate of one-half the QTR on unified school districts (54.72) on property located in
unorganized school districts. Residential property located in these districts is now eligible for the
homeowner's rebate. (Effective From and After June 30, 1989)

Laws 1989, 1st Special Session, Chapter 3 allowed the Commerce and Economic Development Commission to
enter into certain real property leases of state-owned lands which qualify for a possessory interest tax exemption.
Provided a five-year possessory interest tax exemption on real property leases for construction or remodeling of a
semiconductor wafer manufacturing facility if construction starts by December 31, 1990. Unfortunately, the U.S.
memories consortium which this bill was designed for has since dissolved.

Laws 1990, Chapter 2 extended the period for a Superior Court hearing of a property tax appeal from 180 to 270
days. (Effective March 14, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 45 exempted a church from filing subsequent annual affidavits provided church submits
evidence of its tax-exempt status under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3). The exemption is voided when
there is conveyance of property to a new owner or property is no longer used for worship. Also, provided a refund
or forgiveness of property taxes for certain church properties otherwise exempt from taxation. (Effective
September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 51 prescribed June 1 of each year as the earliest any person can pay subsequent taxes,

accrued interest, and related fees due on real property sold for back taxes. Person must present a certificate to
the county treasurer who will endorse the amount paid and date of payment. (Effective September 27, 1990)
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Laws 1990, Chapter 54 repealed the statutory property tax exemptions enacted in Laws 1989, 1st Special Session,
Chapter 3 to attract U.S. memories to Arizona. (Effective September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 93 expanded the definition of possessory interests to include the possession of personal
property. Allowed for the taxation of possessory interests in government personal property as unsecured personal
property. (Effective September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 103 prescribed certain commodities traded on a commodities futures market as exempt from
Transaction Privilege, Use, and Property Taxes. The commodity must be consigned for resale in a warehouse in
Arizona in which it is deliverable on a future contract. (Effective April 23, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 199 increased the maximum allowable tax from $.45 to $.75 per $100 of assessed valuation on
real property within health service districts for operational purposes. (Effective September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 243 specified tax lien sales on real property are to be held in February and that the interest
rate for redemption purposes will begin accruing from February 1. (Effective September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, Chapter 317 prescribed the method of valuation for all real and personal property used for local
telecommunication services as follows (Effective June 20, 1990):

(1) Divide total local network service revenues by total operating revenues, using definitions specified by the
Federal Communications Commission.

(2) Then multiply the ratio computed in #1 above by the total full cash value of each telecommunication
company's property.

Laws 1990, Chapter 412 exempted animal and poultry feed, including salts, vitamins, and other additives from real
and secured personal property taxation. (Effective September 27, 1990)

Laws 1990, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 3 was the state's Tax Reform Act of 1990. The following provisions
affected property taxation:

(1) In determining the funding for state equalization assistance, the minimum school district tax rate was raised
from 25% of the qualifying tax rate (QTR) to 65% of the QTR and is applicable only to Class 1, 2, and Salt
River Project (SRP) property located in school districts not eligible to receive equalization assistance.
Previously, the minimum school tax rate had applied to all property classes. Furthermore, in tax year 1991,
the rate will increase to 75% of the QTR and in tax year 1992 and thereafter, the rate will be 85% of the
QTR. (Effective Retroactively to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1989)

(2) Assessment ratios for Class 1 and 2 (mines and utilities) were frozen at 30% for tax year 1990 and
thereafter. The assessment ratio had been scheduled to drop to 25% in 1990. Also, the assessment ratio
for Class 6 (residential rental) property was frozen at 15% in 1988, but dropped to 14% in 1990, and will
continued to drop to 13% in 1991 and to 12% in 1992 and thereafter.

(3) Forfiscal years 1991 and 1992, $10 million of property tax relief in each fiscal year was provided for counties
whose primary tax rate is higher than average for all counties. Such counties will receive a portion of the
$10 million to lower their primary tax rate but not below the state average. The source of the $10 million
will be from the state General Fund share of the Distribution Base of the Transaction Privilege Tax payable in
two installments on November 1 and May 1 of each fiscal year.

(4) The homeowner's property tax rebate will be phased out over ten years by reducing the percentage used in
determining the rebate from 56% to 50% of school district primary property tax rate in tax year 1990 and
decreasing by 5 percentage points per year thereafter. The percentage will reach zero in the year 2000, but
the Homeowner Property Tax Reduction Program will remain in effect due to the constitutional 1% limit on
homeowners' property tax.

(5) The state property tax rate for educational purposes was set at the rate of $.47 per $100 of assessed value
in tax year 1990. The rate for general purposes remained at zero. For tax year 1990 only, the first
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installment of real and secured personal property taxes was moved back from October 1 to October 15 and
the delinquency date set at November 15, instead of November 1.

Laws 1991, Chapter 6 allowed a county board of supervisors, for tax year 1990 only, by majority vote, to extend
the delinquency date or the effective penalty date for the first installment of real and secured personal property
tax; however, neither date may be extended beyond 5 p.m. January 31, 1991. (Effective Retroactive to September
27,1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 18 changed the penalty amounts on private car companies, railroad, and telecommunication
companies for failing or refusing to file a timely annual informational statement prescribed by the Department of
Revenue (DOR) for tax assessment purposes. The previous penalty was $500 and $100 for each day the company
fails to file the required statement. Now the penalty is the lesser of one-half of 1% of the estimated value by DOR
or $100 for each day the company fails to file the required statement. This penalty calculation becomes the
standard for all industries whose property is valued by DOR. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 54 included the land used in processing grapes for marketing into the agricultural property
classification (Class 4) for property tax purposes. This property was previously designated as Class 3 property.
(Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 77 established into statute real property improvements and personal property owned and
controlled by a nonprofit organization exempt under A.R.S. § 43-104 as Class 4 property, which is agricultural
property. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 134 phased down the assessment ratio for residential rental and day care (Class 6) property
from 12% to 11% in 1993 and 10% in 1994 and thereafter. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 162 established an income approach for valuation of feeder livestock using 1990 as a base
year and adjusting those values yearly based on the difference between average annual percentage changes in
beef cattle price index and the beef cattle prices paid index for the previous five years. Also, a new Class 9
property classification was created for personal property consisting of livestock, poultry, aquatic animals, and bee
colonies. This Class 9 property will be assessed at 8% of its full cash value. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning
From and After December 31, 1990)

Laws 1991, Chapter 169 replaced the word church with "nonprofit organization owning property used primarily for
religious worship" for property tax purposes. Provided for the refund or forgiveness of taxes paid on church
property for tax year 1990. Authority to grant such refunds was given to the county board of supervisors. Refund
claims must be submitted within 60 days after the effective date. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 182 clarified the classification of property for partially completed or vacant improvements.
Also, this bill requires property owners to file a notice to the assessor when vacant land has been improved and
the requirements, as set forth in this bill, are completed for reclassification of the property. This act applied
retroactively to tax years beginning from and after December 31, 1985. (Effective June 3, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 196 prohibited the distribution of any refunds of taxes imposed by a law that was declared
invalid by a final court judgment until the Legislature makes a specific appropriation for that purpose. State funds
to counties for such invalid taxes collected are also subject to this provision. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 198 allowed County Assessors to approve the agricultural classification of property on
approval by DOR even if the property (1) has fewer than the number of acres or animal units and has historically
been used for grazing or (2) been in commercial agricultural production for less than the prescribed time period.
To facilitate the change, the County Assessor will provide the notice of agricultural classification by December 1,
1991 for the 1992 tax year. (Effective June 4, 1991)
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Laws 1991, Chapter 203 authorized the County Treasurer to refund any erroneously paid taxes on residential
property that was demolished but not removed from the tax roll. The taxpayer must submit a claim for refund
within 60 days after the effective date of this act. The County Treasurer shall pay the refund 30 days after
submission of the claim. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 221 subjected property held by the state retirement systems to either a possessory interest
tax or voluntary contributions in lieu of paying property taxes. These are properties that are not used the entire
year solely for governmental activities and that are acquired either by foreclosure of an authorized investment or
for purposes of producing income for the retirement system or plan. If the system or plan pays a voluntary
contribution, this bill authorizes the County Assessor to determine the full cash value and to compute the
contribution amount. One-half of the amount is paid by the first Monday in November and the other one-half by
the first Monday in May of the next year. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 226 required that all unpaid property taxes on a condemned property are withheld from the
condemnation proceeds and paid to the county treasurer before issuance of a final condemnation order by the
court. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 240 set the 1991 state property Tax rate for education purposes at $.47 per $100 of assessed
valuation. The tax rate for general purposes remained at zero for 1991. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 302 exempted from possessory interest taxation the interests in United States "contractor-
acquired" or "government-furnished" property defined under federal acquisition regulations. The property must
be owned by, leased to, or acquired by the government, to the extent of being used for performing a government
contract. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1989)

Laws 1991, Chapter 303 made several technical, non-substantive changes to Laws 1991, Chapter 182 (S.B. 1370).
(Effective June 28, 1991)

Laws 1991, Chapter 305 classified the real and secured personal property in an "activated" foreign trade zone or
subzone as Class 8 property. (Effective September 21, 1991)

Laws 1991, 4th Special Session, Chapter 4 was one of four acts that implemented an AHCCCS Disproportionate
Share Program which is subject to federal approval. Beginning after the effective date of this act, $39,719,400 and
$7,777,800 in state Transaction Privilege Tax revenue-sharing will be withheld from Maricopa and Pima counties,
respectively. The first $26,554,050 shall be deposited in the state General Fund to reimburse the state General
Fund for spending $51,708,100 in FY 1992, while the remainder is reserved for FY 1993. Another provision
required Maricopa and Pima counties to pay the state's portion of the Homeowner's Property Tax Rebate to school
districts in their respective counties up to the same amounts withheld from their Transaction Privilege Tax
distributions as stated above. Likewise, the first $26,554,050 in savings will reimburse the state General Fund for
spending in FY 1992 and the remainder is reserved for FY 1993. The net FY 1992 benefit to the state General Fund
of $5 million will help balance the budget for FY 1992. This act was conditional on the enactment of House Bill
2004, 40th Legislature, 4th Special Session, Chapter 3. (Effective March 16, 1992)

Laws 1991, 4th Special Session, Chapter 6 extended through FY 1994 the $10 million county property tax relief
implemented by the Tax Reform Act of 1990. In FY 1993 the monies shall be distributed from the FY 1993 holding
fund which was created as part of the Disproportionate Share Program; however, for FY 1994 the monies will be
distributed from the state's portion of Transaction Privilege Tax revenues. This act was conditional on the
enactment of House Bill 2006, 40th Legislature, 4th Special Session, Chapter 4. (Effective March 16, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 5 allowed a widow or widower who is exempt from property taxation and failed to file a

waiver in the prescribed time to submit a petition for the property tax exemption after the statutory deadline.
(Effective September 30, 1992)
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Laws 1992, Chapter 31 allowed the owner's designated agent to file the agricultural use application and to appeal
the classification of property used for agricultural property. (Effective September 30, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 41 modified the allocation formula by designating the valuation of local telecommunication
property as commercial (Class 3) property rather than utilities (Class 2) property. The bill excluded cellular mobile
service revenues from this calculation and clarified that the allocation ratio calculated is multiplied by the full cash
value of all telecommunication property in the state in order to determine the valuation for property tax purposes.
(Effective April 22, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 51 made numerous changes in the Property Tax valuation of pipelines. Major revisions were
as follows (Effective Retroactively to Taxable Years Beginning From and After December 31, 1991):

(1) If the value change factor does not apply, then the preliminary system value is the system net book value of
plant in service as of December 31 immediately preceding the current tax year.

(2) Included noncapitalized leased operating property in computing the allocation factor.

(3) Defined "major plant addition or retirement" as one which occurred in the year preceding the current tax
year that resulted in an increase or decrease of at least 20% of the original plant costs.

(4) Eliminated the maximum and minimum parameters of the value change factor. Also, provided that if the
asset change factor does not apply, then the value change factor does not apply.

(5) Redefined "base value" for new property and required that the change in earnings before interest and taxes
(EBIT) reflects major plant additions or retirements.

Laws 1992, Chapter 290 was 1 of 7 "Omnibus Reconciliation Bills" necessary to implement the General
Appropriations Act for FY 1993. This bill continued the state Property Tax rate for education purposes at $.47 per
$100 of assessed valuation for 1992. The tax rate for general purposes remained at zero for 1992. (Effective
September 30, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 295 established a defense contractor restructuring program to assist Arizona-based qualified
defense contractors to attract new Department of Defense contracts, diversify commercially, consolidate facilities
into the state, and adopt new technologies. The tax incentives are as follows (Also see Page 3):

(1) Qualified Defense Contractors: (Effective to Taxable Years Beginning From and After June 30, 1993)

e Amortization of one-half the federal time period of capital investment in solely private commercial
activity.

e A declining five-year nonrefundable income tax credit for net defense employment increases or net

private commercial employment increases, but not both.

e A nonrefundable income tax credit of up to 40% of the portion of property taxes paid during the taxable
year.

(2) Military Reuse Zone:

e A progressive five-year nonrefundable income tax credit for net aviation-related manufacturing
employment gains for business located in a military reuse zone. (Effective to Taxable Years Beginning
From and After June 30, 1993)

e A Class 8 commercial and industrial property established for property located in a military reuse zone
and for aviation-related manufacturing. The assessment ratio will be 5% of full cash value. This is
effective beginning in tax year 1993.

e A Transaction Privilege Tax exemption for military reuse zone construction contracts entered into
within five years of the zone's establishment with an aviation or aerospace company. (Effective
September 30, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 344 provided that the personal property of persons who own at least $200 of real property

and who refused or fails to state the parcel number of the real property shall be listed and valued as unsecured by
the County Assessor. (Effective September 30, 1992)
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Laws 1992, Chapter 347 established that sewer and wastewater properties be valued as centrally assessed
property by the Department of Revenue. (Effective July 13, 1992)

Laws 1992, Chapter 348 deleted the requirement for a person to exhaust the administrative appeals process
before appealing a property valuation or classification to the Superior Court. However, an appeal to the Superior
Court must be filed within 60 days of the mailing of the most recent administrative decision, but not later than
November 1st of each year. (Effective July 13, 1992)

Law 1992, Chapter 350 established commercial and non-commercial historic property classifications as follows
(Effective September 30, 1992):

(1) Non-commercial historic property remains the same as the previous historic property classification which
required real property be listed in the National Register of Historic Places and meeting the minimum
standards of maintenance of the State Parks Board. No enterprise can be conducted on the property with
the intent of earning a profit.

(2) Commercial historic property meets the same criteria as Class 3 (commercial and industrial) or Class 6
(residential rental) property, but also is listed in the National Register of Historic Places and meets the
minimum maintenance standards.

(3) Non-commercial historic property continues to be classified as Class 8 property and assessed at 5% of its full
cash value.

(4) Commercial historic property meeting the Class 3 and Class 6 criteria shall be classified as Class 9 and Class
10 property, respectively, and assessed at the same respective ratio of the corresponding property
classification, except that all but 1% of the value of approved modifications is deducted from the assessed
value.

(5) Classification as Class 9 or 10 property can be granted for only ten consecutive years after the year of
application. The County Assessor can value such property using the market or cost approach.

Laws 1993, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9 was 1 of 6 "Omnibus Reconciliation Bills" necessary to implement the
General Appropriations Act for FY 94. The bill accelerates the depreciation factors for Class 3 (commercial and
industrial property) personal property initially assessed during tax year 1994, 1995 or 1996:

(1) For the first tax year of assessment, the Assessor shall use 40% of the scheduled depreciated value.
(2) For the second tax year of assessment, the Assessor shall use 56% of the scheduled depreciated value.
(3) For the third tax year of assessment, the Assessor shall use 72% of the scheduled depreciated value.
(4) For the fourth tax year of assessment, the Assessor shall use 88% of the scheduled depreciated value.
(5) For the fifth and subsequent years, the existing depreciation schedule would be resumed.

This accelerated depreciation schedule is repealed from and after December 31, 2000. (Effective June 15, 1993)

The bill also stated the County Assessor shall not value or assess secured or unsecured personal property
construction work in progress or place secured or unsecured personal property construction work in progress on
the tax roll until the construction work has progressed to a sufficient degree for it to be useful for the purpose for
which it is being constructed. Centrally assessed construction work in progress is currently valued at 50% and is
not affected by this proposal. (Effective From and After December 31, 1993)

Law 1993, Chapter 3 continued the state Property Tax rate for education purposes at 478 per $100 of assessed
valuation for tax year 1993. The State Tax rate for general purposes remained at zero for tax year 1993. (Effective
July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 20 provided for disabled persons who are currently exempt from property taxes but submitted
their exemption petition after the March 1 deadline to have the waiver redeemed by the county board of
supervisors at any regular meeting. However, in no case shall any taxes due and payable prior to submission of the
petition be refunded or abated. (Effective July 17, 1993)
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Laws 1993, Chapter 62 stipulated that the County Recorder shall refuse to record any deed and any contract
relating to the sale of real property unless a complete affidavit is appended. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 78 prescribed that if the Department of Revenue (DOR) values property, then DOR and the
Attorney General's Office will be responsible for defending the properties valuation in an appeal. The county that
values and assesses property which is subject to an appeal is responsible for defending the appeal unless:

(1) DOR determines that the issue is of statewide importance;
(2) DOR disapproves a change in valuation or assessment submitted by the county and the county does not
appeal or is unsuccessful in its appeal of the disapproval.

In the above circumstances, DOR and the Attorney General's Office are responsible for defending the appeal.
(Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 79 expanded the Property Tax exemption for church property to include any property or
buildings used or held primarily for religious worship whether or not they are appurtenant to the church. The bill
also provides for refunds for taxes erroneously paid on such property by churches during tax years 1984 through
1992. Also, the bill authorizes refunds or forgiveness of taxes paid on historical society property during tax years
1988 through 1992. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 87 established a ten-member study committee on property tax valuation and appeals to:

(1) Examine and analyze alternative valuation methods and calendars.

(2) Examine and analyze the role and interaction of the various entities involved in Property Tax valuations and
the administrative appeals process.

(3) Examine and analyze the relationship between full cash values and market values.

The act is repealed from and after December 31, 1993. (Effective April 12, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 92 allowed property owners not satisfied with the valuation of their property by the
Department of Revenue to appeal directly to the tax court rather than to the State Board of Tax Appeals.
(Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 95 required the Department of Revenue and County Assessors to use and apply on a
permanent basis the ratio standard guidelines issued by Department of Revenue for tax year 1993 in the same way
they were applied that year. This section does not apply to property valued according to prescribed statutory
methods or to property for which values are determined in the year after an appeal. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 100 provided for reclassification and refund for any excess taxes paid on real property,
obtained voluntarily or involuntarily, as agricultural property if all of the following are true:

(1) Property was sold before September 1, 1989.

(2) Current owner did not receive a notice of valuation for the tax year in question.

(3) Former owner failed to apply for the agricultural status or appeal the denial of such status before the
deadline of the tax year in question.

(4) Property does qualify for agricultural status on September 16 of the tax year in question.

(5) Current owner must apply for reclassification and reevaluation to the county assessor within four years
from the date the property was regained.

Persons who own agricultural property that met the classification criteria, but did not file a certification of
eligibility by September 16 for any tax year may file with the County Assessor by February 15, 1994 for a certificate
of revaluation. The County Treasurer shall refund any excess tax paid upon submission of the certificate of
revaluation. If the taxes have not been paid, the County Treasurer shall forgive the excess amount and any

-19 -



penalties incurred. The section on retroactive refunds and revaluation and refund is repealed from and after April
1, 1994. (Effective April 14, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 188 allowed the Chairman of Division 1 of the State Board of Tax Appeals to appoint 3
member panel for cases involving locally or centrally assessed property. Moreover, for cases that pertain to
centrally assessed property a 5 member panel may be appointed to make orders and decisions for the Division.
(Effective April 21, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 190 provided a Property Tax exemption to property owned by a qualified volunteer nonprofit
organization that is operated exclusively to promote social welfare and provide community quasi-governmental
services in an unincorporated area of a county. To qualify as providing quasi-governmental services, a volunteer
nonprofit organization must be providing at least six of the following services:

(1) Public information and complaint office.

(2) Voter registration.

(3) Property tax assessment information.

(4) Building permit distribution.

(5) Resident assistance with deed restrictions and violations.
(6) County planning and zoning review.

(7) Water resource planning and management.

(8) Public safety planning oversight and maintenance.

(9) Government liaison for regional planning activities.

The bill also provided a Property Tax exemption for property owned by community arts groups as long as the
property is used for those purposes and not used or held for profit. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 191 restructured the possessory interest tax exemptions that were declared unconstitutional
by the Arizona Tax Court in January of 1993. The bill provided exemptions for the following possessory interests:

(1) Property held in trust for an Indian or an Indian tribe by the United States Government.

(2) Leases and permits issued by federal, state county and municipal governments for agriculture, commercial
livestock, grazing or mineral development and permits issued by the state for unpatented mining claims.

(3) Property used for government programs including low-income and elderly public housing, government
contractor property and property of municipal property corporations.

The bill established a new property Class 12, with a 1% assessment that included:

(1) Leases or permits for lands that are under the jurisdiction of the State Land Department that are not
otherwise exempt.

(2) Interests in any publicly-owned facility that is used primarily for athletic, recreational, entertainment,
artistic, cultural or convention activities.

(3) Interests in property located on state, city, town or county airports and public airports if the property is
used for or in connection with aviation.

(4) Leases issued on lands under the jurisdiction of the Arizona Board of Regents within a research park if the
leased is used for either research and development or educational activities or is the regional or national
headquarters of the lessee or its subsidiaries engaged in research and development or educational
activities.

(5) Leases of property held by a charitable organization that is not otherwise exempt.

(6) Leases of property for private transportation demonstration projects.

The following possessory interest properties are valued on a unit-value basis:

(1) Producing and closed mines, mills and smelters and producing oil, gas and geothermal interest.
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(2) Gas, water, sewer and wastewater and electric utilities and pipelines.
(3) Fight property of an airline company.

(4) Property of private car companies.

(5) Property of railroad companies.

(6) Telecommunications property.

The following possessory interest properties shall be taxed based on only the value of the land exclusive of the
value of improvements for twenty years:

(1) Leases or agreements entered into before April 1, 1985.

(2) Leases or agreements entered into based on a redevelopment contract before April 1, 1985.

(3) Leases entered into based on an agreement for a redevelopment project for which federal grant monies
have been received and was entered into before April 1, 1985.

(4) Leases issued on vacant land located at an airport owned on or before January 1, 1988 by a rural county, city
or town if the property is used primarily for manufacturing, retail, distribution, research or commercial
purposes.

The act contained a conditional enactment clause for all section except for exemptions related to possessory
interest in research park property which was repealed in the bill. The effective date was delayed until judgment
was entered in the Princess Resort Case on August 19, 1993 and the act became effective on that date. Maricopa
County had previously challenged the constitutionality of several portions of the act and on July 21, 1993, the
Arizona Tax Court struck down exemptions from taxation for:

(1) Possessory interests in Indian lands.
(2) Possessory interests in the form of leases of government land for certain purposes.
(3) Possessory interests in property used for enumerated government purposes.

The court voided these exemptions because they exempted property in violation of the Arizona Constitution. The
bill also included a severability clause. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 194 provided that a taxpayer who appeals their property tax valuation, and uses the income
approach, shall file a sworn affidavit that the information provided in the petition is true and correct to the best of
their knowledge. The taxpayer, an officer of a corporate taxpayer, a general partner or a designated agent may file
the affidavit. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 209 clarified the basis for determining the assessed valuation of modifications intended to
restore and rehabilitate Class 9 and 10 historical properties, by stating the assessed valuation is 1% of the full cash
value for up to ten years. (Effective July 17, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 220 increased the valuation cap from $100,000 to $300,000 of full cash value of real and
personal property in determining whether a taxpayer, other than an owner of Class 5 property, may file a dispute
in Small Claims Court. The bill also lowers the filing fee in a small claim tax case from $37.50 to $10.00. (Effective
From and After December 31, 1993)

Laws 1993, Chapter 248 classified real and personal property owned or used by a qualified manufacturing business
as Class 8 property for up to ten years. Qualified manufacturing business is defined as a manufacturing business in
an enterprise zone that meets both of the following requirements: (Effective July 17, 1993)

(1) It is operated by a minority business or as a small business as described in 15 United States Code Section
631.

(2) It uses property which is owned by another manufacturing business that after July 1, 1993 has invested at
least $2,000,000 in the qualified manufacturing business or made a capital investment which transformed
the manufacturing business from a non-productive to productive use.
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Laws 1993, Chapter 258 required the Department of Commerce (Commerce) to establish and conduct an
environmental technology assistance program to promote business and economic development by recruiting and
expanding companies that manufacture, produce, or process solar and other renewable energy products from
recycled materials. Commerce has until June 30, 1996 to certify qualified environmental technology
manufacturers, producers and processors for purposes of available tax incentives provided in the bill. The bill
contains a severability clause. Various sections of this bill are delayed or have retroactive effective dates (for
details see Chapter 1 of the 1993 Tax Handbook Supplement). (Effective April 22, 1993)

Laws 1994, Chapter 1 continued the state property tax rate for education purposes at $.47 per $100 of assessed
valuation for tax year 1994. The State Tax rate for general purposes remained at zero for tax year 1994. (Effective
July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 20 required that property taxes on Real and Secured Property which total $25 or less are due
and payable on October 1. The prior ceiling was $10 or less. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 41 contained the major components of the Tax Reduction Package known as the Middle
Income Tax Relief Act (MITRA) of 1994. The act included the following changes to the classification of property for
taxation (Effective July 17, 1994):

Class 3 (commercial and industrial) and Class 4 (agricultural) were broken into two subclasses consisting of (R) real
property and improvements and (P) personal property.

Phased down by 1% per year, the assessment ratio for Class 1 (mines) and Class 2 (utilities) from 30% of full cash
value in tax year 1994 to 25% in tax year 1999 and thereafter.

Increased the maximum thresholds at which Class 3 and Class 4 personal property is assessed at 1%. The threshold
is $3,000 in tax year 1995, $6,000 in tax year 1996; and $10,000 in tax year 1997 and thereafter.

Expanded the accelerated depreciation schedule on Class 3 personal property, as passed by Laws 1993, Second
Special Session, Chapter 9, to include Class 4 personal property and made the schedule permanent.

The act freezes the phase-out of the Homeowners' Property Tax rebate for school district primary property taxes.
The percentage will remain at 35% for 1994 and thereafter (for details see Chapter 1 of the 1994 Tax Handbook

Supplement).

NOTE: Laws 1994, Chapters 41, 102, 293, 309 and 359 all makes changes to property tax classification and
assessment.

Laws 1994, Chapter 63 provided for a refund or forgiveness of property taxes paid or due on historical society
property for the 1992 tax year. The historical society must submit a claim for refund to the County Treasurer
within 60 days after the effective date of this act. Property taxes due but not paid by any historical society that is
exempt from taxation, for the 1992 tax year are forgiven and no longer due and payable. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 65 provided that if the Assessor initially determines the valuation of property, for state
property tax purposes, by using a computerized data processing or valuation program, and the change in valuation
in any tax year is more than 15% above or below the valuation found for the same parcel of property in the
preceding tax year, the Assessor shall review the valuation to determine if the change in valuation reflects the
current status and conditions affecting the property before mailing the notice of valuation. This does not apply in
the case of parcel splits or consolidations, construction or destruction or improvements, changes in use or
classification of the property, or other occurrences that would account for the change in valuation. (Effective July
17,1994)
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Laws 1994, Chapter 66 provided that written notices of valuation, required to be sent out to property owners by
the County Assessors, include a form with instructions on the procedure and deadlines for appealing the assessed
valuation shown on the notice. Class 5 appeal forms shall contain simplified instructions and be separate from the
appeal form for other classes of property. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 70 amended the definitions as to what constitutes an enterprise zone to include:

(1) "Minority Business" -- a business of which a majority is owned by African-Americans, persons of Hispanic or
Latin American ancestry and persons of Indian, Asian or other minority origin or descent.
(2) "Small Business" -- a business with a net worth of no more than $6,000,000 or a business with no more than
100 employees within the zone.
(3) "Women-Owned Business" -- a business of which a majority of the business is owned by women.
(4) Clarified the definition of "Qualified Manufacturing Business" in an enterprise zone:
a. A small business, minority-owned business or a woman-owned business.
b.At least a $2,000,000 fixed asset investment has been made after July 1, 1993, by the business or by
another entity on behalf of the qualified business in property within an enterprise zone that is used by a
qualified business.
The act provided that the increase in valuation resulting from a fixed asset investment of not less than $2,000,000
in property within an enterprise zone which is used or owned by a qualified manufacturing business shall be
classified as Class 8 property. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 74 provided that beginning with the 1995 tax year, the owner of personal property valued by
the Assessor may elect to apply a presumptive value to the property for purposes of taxation in lieu of a
determination of full cash value. The property value shall not exceed $25,000, and the owner must have reported
the personal property in the three immediately preceding tax years. The initial presumptive value is the average
value of the personal property reported by the owner for the 3 immediately preceding tax years or, if the value has
increased in each of those three years, the value of the personal property in the immediately preceding tax year.
The owner may continue to elect the presumptive value for four consecutive tax years if the valuation of the
property does not exceed $25,000 in any of those years. In each fifth succeeding tax year, the owner shall return a
full property report to the Assessor, showing additions and deletions of personal property, and the valuation
derived from this report is the presumptive value for the succeeding four tax years. The property statement issued
by the Department of Revenue shall allow the owner of personal property the option of either returning the full
property statement with respect to that property, or attesting that the value of the personal property does not
exceed $25,000 and electing the presumptive value. (Effective From and After December 31, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 100 provided that if the ownership of agricultural property changes, an agricultural use
application form must be filed by the new owner within 60 days after the change in ownership to maintain the
agricultural use status. If all or part of the property ceases to qualify as agricultural property, the owner at the
time of the change shall notify the Assessor within 60 days of the change. If the owner fails to provide the
notification required, the property shall immediately be classified as nonagricultural property.

In addition, the act allows for certification of property as agricultural property, and a refund of excess taxes paid or
the forgiveness of deficient taxes, for tax year 1993, if:

(1) The property was acquired after September 16, 1992, and the property was used for agricultural purposes.

(2) The prior owner failed to file the affidavit or annual certification of eligibility for tax year 1993.

(3) The current owner, based upon information provided by the County Assessor, filed a timely application
under Laws 1993, Chapter 100.

(4) The current owner, based upon information provided by the County Assessor, failed to appeal the incorrect
classification of the property for tax year 1993 to the Superior Court during the property tax appeal period.

(5) The current owner was left without a remedy when Laws 1993, Chapter 100, Section 2 was determined by
the court to be invalid.
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If a completed agricultural use application was filed before September 17, 1993, and the property qualified as
agricultural use property, a new application does not have to be filed unless the ownership of the property
changes. This act is repealed from and after December 31, 1994. (Effective July 17, 1994)

NOTE: Section 3 of Laws 1994, Chapter 100, relating to reclassification of property as agricultural property, was
included in Laws 1994, Chapter 330 as Section 5. It was passed as an emergency measure and became
effective April 26, 1994. Both sections are repealed from and after December 31, 1994.

Laws 1994, Chapter 102 established eleven classes of property for taxation by eliminating the old Class 11 and
renumbering Class 12 as the new Class 11. The act exempted for taxation livestock, poultry, aquatic animals, and
colonies of bees. For purposes of the act, poultry includes ratites.

NOTE: This act became effective after the Constitution of Arizona was amended by a vote of the people in the
November 1994 general election. The act was approved by the Governor on April 13, 1994.

Laws 1994, Chapter 105 clarified that the purchaser of a tax lien may bring action to foreclose the right to redeem
in Superior Court in the county in which the property is located. At least 30 days before filing an action to
foreclose the right to redeem, the purchaser shall send a Notice of Intent by certified mail to the property owner
and to the Treasurer of the county in which the real property is located. The notice shall include the property
owner's name, the real property tax parcel identification number, the legal description of the real property, the
certificate of purchase number, and the proposed date of filing the action. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 112 exempted property owned by a United States veterans' organization that qualifies as a
charitable organization and recognized under either Section 501(C)(3) or 501(C)(19) of the Internal Revenue Code,
if the property is used exclusively for those purposes, and is not used or held for profit. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 156 provided for determination of golf course property values. The land shall now be valued
at $500 per acre. Improvement value is established by the Department of Revenue's 1988 per hole cost for the
grade of golf course as described in the Assessment Practices Manual for Golf Courses Assessment, effective
January 1, 1986. The per hole cost shall be multiplied by the number of holes included. The act provided
guidelines to uniformly adjust the value for economic obsolescence.

By August 1 of each year, the County Assessor shall mail a form, prescribed by the Department of Revenue to the
last known address of each golf course owner or manager. The form shall reflect the number of rounds played by
month for the most recent twelve months ending July 31. The form shall be returned to the County Assessor by
September 30 to receive the economic obsolescence adjustment.

For tax year 1995, the 1988 per hole improvement cost shall be used in valuing golf courses. Every tax year after
1995, the per hole improvement costs shall be adjusted by the GDP deflator. Per hole improvement cost values
include landscaping, bridges, lakes, lake liners, practice ranges, irrigation systems, paths, golf greens and tees. The
Legislature shall receive a report every three years from the Valuation Technical Advisory Committee regarding any
recommended changes to the golf course valuation formula. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 167 clarified that any subsequent interest, fees and penalties from a property tax liability does
not depend on receipt of the tax statement by either the mortgagor (property owner) or mortgagee (mortgage
company). When a mortgagee either continues to receive or possesses an unsatisfied tax statement from the
County Treasurer after the satisfaction of the mortgage, the mortgagee shall either:

(1) Return the tax statement to the County Treasurer within 30 working days, together with the last known
address of the mortgagor as shown on the records of the mortgagee.

(2) Forward the tax statement or current taxes due information to the mortgagor and notify the County
Treasurer of this action.
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If a mortgagee fails to comply, and as a result the tax on the mortgagor's property becomes delinquent, the
mortgagee is liable to the mortgagor for all interest and penalties for the delinquent tax. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 187 provided that if the County Assessor believes that any person has not returned a full and
complete list of all property in his possession or control, he may make such investigation as he deems necessary to
ascertain the extent and value of the property. The Assessor shall conduct the investigation in such a manner that
would discover and correct errors in the taxpayer's favor as well as discover and correct any errors not in the
taxpayer's favor. The act eliminated the provision that allows the Assessor to charge the property owner for the
cost of such an investigation. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 191 codified in statute the Department of Revenue's current valuation method for operating
railroad companies. On or before the first Monday in June each year, the Department of Revenue shall determine
the valuations as of January 1, 1994, and each January 1 thereafter, as follows:

(1) Determine the base value.

(2) Compute the value change factor.

(3) Compute the current year system full cash value by multiplying the base value by the value change factor.

(4) Compute the allocation factor.

(5) Multiply the current year system full cash value by the allocation factor.

(6) Compute Arizona's full cash value by subtracting the Arizona licensed transportation equipment value from
the value determined in step 5.

Formulas and definitions of all factors and terms used in computing the valuation of railroad property are defined
in the act. To accurately assess on-going business operations, income and property adjustments may be necessary
to minimize differences. Occurrences that may prompt such an adjustment are (Effective July 17, 1994):

(1) Extraordinary, unusual and infrequent events.

(2) Material in nature, of a character different from the typical or customary business operations, not expected
to recur frequently and not normally considered in evaluating the operation results of a business.

(3) May include material increases or decreases in income and property as a result of such events as write-offs,
write-downs and changes in accounting practices.

Laws 1994, Chapter 232 clarified that the County Attorney shall defend all locally valued and assessed property tax
appeals. The act also clarified that the county that values and assesses the property which is subject to a Notice of
Appeal shall be responsible for defending all defendants named in the appeal except in specified situations
(Retroactive to July 17, 1993).

Laws 1994, Chapter 239 required that if the Director of the Department of Revenue extends the mailing date for
property tax notices, the extension applies to all property valued by the Assessor. Except for property that is listed
as Class 5 property, the notice shall separately list the full cash value of the land and the improvements associated
with the land. Also, requires the County Assessor to notify by November 15 all property owners of full cash value
and limited value listed on tax rolls regardless of the valuation in the prior year. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 271 separated the determination of the value of telecommunication companies in the state
for property tax purposes between those providing local services and all others. On or before the first Monday in
June each year, the Department of Revenue shall determine the following valuations as of January 1, 1994, and
each January 1 thereafter:

(1) The valuation of all property, franchises and intangible values of telecommunication companies operating in
the state and providing local telecommunication service at their full cash value.

(2) The valuation of the property of other telecommunication companies operating in this state at its full cash
value. Real estate shall be valued at market value and personal property shall be valued on a unitary basis
at its historical cost less depreciation. For purposes of this paragraph:

-25-



a. Depreciation is computed on the table adopted by the Department of Revenue in its Personal Property
Manual in effect on January 1, 1993 for the following categories:
1.) Buildings with a 25-year life.
2.) Cable with a 15-year life.
3.) Telecommunication equipment with a 5-year life.
4.) Any other telecommunication's property not included in items 1, 2 or 3 with a 7-year life.

b."Historical cost" means the original cost as reported on the company's books and records.

c. "Other telecommunication company" means a telecommunication company that does not provide local
telecommunication service in this state.

d.For cellular telecommunication companies, the "taxable unit" shall be the applicable metropolitan
statistical area or rural statistical area and shall not include the value of any license issued by the
Federal Communications Commission.

The Department of Revenue shall compute the valuation of other telecommunication companies and multiply the
determined valuation by 140% for tax year 1994, and by 120% for tax year 1995 for property tax purposes.
(Retroactive to January 1, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 287 provided that an action involving the imposition, assessment or collection of a tax,
including questions of law or fact relating to a dispute about taxes, may be filed in either the Tax Court or the
Superior Court. Clarified that if a party to an action described above exercises its right to a change of Judge, the
action shall not be reassigned to the Tax Court. The refusal of a taxpayer to obey a subpoena issued by the
Director of the Department of Revenue will be handled by the Superior Court. The act also rescinds the right of
the Tax Court to publish and distribute decisions of the court which it finds are of general public interest. (Effective
July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 293 clarified the classification of possessory interest property enacted during the 1993
legislative session. The act compensates for the Tax Court ruling that struck down several of the exemptions
passed last year. The act makes clarifying changes to Class 12 property and creates a new Class 13 property for
possessory interests located on public land. Classes 12 and 13 have 1% assessment ratios.

The following previously exempt properties were included in Class 12:

(1) To the extent allowed pursuant to federal law, interests in property held in trust for an Indian or an Indian
tribe by the United States Government.

(2) Leases and permits issued for agricultural, commercial livestock, grazing or mineral development and
permits issued for unpatented mining claims.

(3) Interests in property used for a governmental program or activity to furnish public housing for elderly
persons and persons of low or moderate income.

(4) Interests in property for a governmental program or activity used to provide space or facilities for or in
connection with a program, activity or function of another government entity.

(4) Interests in property that is defined as "contractor-acquired property" or "government-furnished property"
in the Federal Acquisitions Regulations (48 Code of Federal Regulations, Section 45-101, as amended or
superseded by a federal law or regulation) and that is owned by the government and used to perform a
government contract.

The new Class 13 include the following properties:
(1) Improvements located on public property that are used primarily for athletic, recreational, entertainment,
artistic, cultural or convention activities, provided that the improvements become the property of the

owner of the public property upon termination of the possessory interest in the property.
(2) Improvements located on public property provided:
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a. That the improvements shall become the property of the owner of the public property upon termination
of the possessory interest in the property.

b.That both the improvements and the public property are used for or in connection with aviation, including
hangers, tie-downs, aircraft maintenance, sales of aviation-related items, charter and rental activities,
parking facilities and restaurants, stores and other services located in a terminal.

c. That both the improvements and the public property are located on a state, county, city or town airport
or a public airport.

(3) Property that is leased or acquired by the government and used to perform a government contract and that
is defined as "contractor-acquired property" or "government-furnished property" in the federal acquisition
regulations.

(4) Property of a corporation organized by or at the direction of this state or a county, city or town to develop,
construct, improve, repair, replace or own any property, improvements, buildings or other facility to be
used for public purposes that the state, county, city or town pledges to lease or lease-purchase with state,
county, or municipal special or general revenue and are not otherwise exempt.

The act also included a new section in the statutes that provides a property tax exemption to a possessory interest
consisting of property or improvements leased from the state or its political subdivisions and used by an
association or institution which has as its purpose educational or charitable activities. The association or
institution shall have annual gross revenue of not more than $50,000 and not be operated for profit.

The bill also provides that during FY 1994 and FY 1995, the Department of Revenue may provide technical and
professional assistance to County Assessors in establishing the value of commercial, agricultural and vacant,
residential and non-owner occupied residential properties for property tax purposes. The act provides Maricopa
County with at least twenty full-time equivalent positions for one year, unless some other amount is agreed to by
the Director of the Department of Revenue and the Chairmen of the appropriate County Board of Supervisors. The
assistance provided for other counties will be determined by the Director of the Department of Revenue.

All possessory interests which were designated as exempt under Laws 1993, Chapter 91, Section 4 shall be
assessed and taxed for tax year 1993 in accordance with the new Class 13 property regulations. No assessment
shall be made for any tax year prior to 1993 for possessory interests which were previously designated as exempt.
Nothing in this act allows this state or local governments to impose a tax on possessory interest in property held in
trust for an Indian or an Indian tribe by the United States Government, if a court of competent jurisdiction issues a
final order that this state or local government may not impose a tax on possessory interests in property held in
trust for an Indian or Indian tribe by the United States Government. (Retroactive to Taxable Years Beginning From
and After December 31, 1992)

Laws 1994, Chapter 309 included "ratites" as Class 11 personal property for tax purposes. "Ratites" are defined as
ostriches, emus, rheas and cassowaries. "Poultry" is defined as chickens, turkeys, domesticated birds, game birds,
fowl and waterfow! but does not include ratites. The act also provided a Transaction Privilege and Use Tax
exemption to ratites used as breeding or production stock. The act contains provisions defined in Article IX,
Section 22, Constitution of Arizona that requires the affirmative vote of at least 2/3rds of both houses. (Effective
April 25, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 323 established the State Board of Equalization and provided that the Department of Revenue
may contest any proposed valuation or classification or any proposed change in valuations or classifications before
any County Board of Equalization, the State Board of Tax Appeals, and the State board of Equalization. If a decision
of an Assessor is, in the Director's opinion, erroneous, the Director may appeal the Assessor's decision to the
County Board of Equalization or State Board of Equalization within 25 days after the Assessor's decision was mailed
to the taxpayer and the Department of Revenue. (Effective From and After December 31, 1995)

The act also provided for correction of errors occurring in assessing or collecting property taxes, whether they
inure to the benefit of the taxpayer or the government. (Effective From and After October 31, 1994)
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For property that is valued by the Assessor, in the case of new construction, additions to or deletions from
assessment parcels and changes in property use that occur after January 1 of the valuation year:

(1) The Assessor shall notify the owner of the property of any change in the valuation on or before September
30 of the valuation year.

(2) Within 25 days after the date of the Assessor's notice, the property owner may appeal the valuation to the
State Board of Equalization if the property is located in a county with a population of 500,000 persons or
more, or to the County Board of Equalization if the property is located in any other county.

(3) The State Board of Equalization and County Board of Equalization shall complete all hearings and issue all
decisions with respect to changes in valuations on or before November 15 of the valuation year.

(4) An appeal to the Tax Court relating to changes in assessments must be filed on or before December 15 of
the valuation year.

A new owner of property that was valued, and which valuation was not appealed by the former owner of the
property, may appeal the valuation to the Tax Court on or before December 15 of the year in which the taxes are
levied. For purposes of this section, "valuation year" means the calendar year preceding the year in which the
taxes are levied. (Effective From and After December 31, 1995)

The act provided public assess to the valuation and assessment information and made conforming changes to the
statutes required as a result of the creation of the State Board of Equalization. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 326 established a study committee to study the effect of taxation of non-Indian property
located on Indian reservations or in Indian country in this state by both Indian nations or tribes in this state; the
laws governing taxation and the policies and economic impacts on this state and on Indian nations and tribes in
this state. The act is repealed from and after December 31, 1996. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 330 clarified that bed and breakfast properties, together with furnishings, consisting of no
more than four rooms that are leased or rented to transient lodgers at no more than a 50% average annual
occupancy rate, and that serve no more than a breakfast meal by the owner of the property, shall be classified as
Class 6 property for tax purposes. (Retroactive to January 1, 1994)

The act also provided that if a taxpayer fails to prepare and deliver a correct list of property to the Assessor within
the period specified by law, but within 30 days thereafter, the Assessor may abate all or part of the penalty for
failing to prepare and deliver the list. Also, the County Board of Equalization shall not consider property at the
June meeting that has already been subject of an appeal for the current valuation year unless evidence is
presented at the June meeting verifying that improvements to the property were in existence on the lien date, and
the valuation of the improvements was not considered at any stage of the appeal prior to the June hearing. If an
appeal is pending, any party may request the person or board hearing the appeal to consider any additional issue
which could have been presented to the County Board of Equalization in the June meeting had no appeal been
filed. Property shall not be considered, and the Board of Supervisors shall not approve, an adjustment in valuation
if the property valuation has already been the subject of an appeal for the current valuation year unless it appears
that the property was not valued, and/or there was a clerical error of defect in reporting or recording the
valuation, or the property was destroyed or damaged prior to the lien date. If an appeal is pending, any party may
request the person or board hearing the appeal to consider any additional issue which could have been supplied or
corrected by the Assessor or the County Treasurer with prior approval of the Department of Revenue and the
County Board of Supervisors had no appeal been filed. (Effective April 26, 1994)

Laws 1994, Chapter 359 provided that in tax years 1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999, the Department of Revenue shall
reduce the minimum value prescribed for Class 3 (commercial and industrial ) personal property by 2.5% each
year. This will reduce, from 20 to 10%, the minimum value to which Class 3 personal property may be depreciated
for purposes of taxation. (Effective July 17, 1994)
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Laws 1994, Chapter 375 provided changes to the Taxpayers' Bill of Rights including provisions on installment
payments of tax, abatement of penalties, and reimbursement of fees and other costs. The reimbursement of fees
and other costs is effective after December 31, 1994. (Effective July 17, 1994)

Laws 1995, 1st Special Session, Chapter 9 established the Property Tax Relief Fund and appropriated $200 million
from the General Fund for FY 1997 to reduce the aggregate amount of property taxes levied and collected.
Established the Joint Legislative Property Tax Study Committee to study the property tax system and provide
written recommendations.

Increased the threshold for the 1% assessment ratio for Class 3 (commercial and industrial) and Class 4
(agricultural) personal property to $50,000 for tax year 1996 and thereafter; superseding the 1994 law which
would have raised the thresholds to $6,000 in tax year 1996 and $10,000 in tax year 1997.

Continued the state property tax rate for education purposes at $.47 per $100 of assessed valuation for tax year
1995. The state rate for general purposes remained at zero for tax year 1995. (Effective June 15, 1995)

Laws 1995, Chapter 29 clarified that if property taxes are paid prior to becoming delinquent, it is not necessary to
designate the payment as under protest in order to test the validity or amount of the tax (Effective From and After
December 31, 1995)

Laws 1995, Chapter 137 allowed the County Assessor to use aerial photography, applicable Department of
Revenue records, building permits and other document sources or technology to ascertain all property in the
county subject to taxation.

Reduced the minimum value of Class 4 (agricultural) personal property by 2 B percentage points in each of the tax
years 1996, 1997, 1998 and 1999. The final reduced minimum value in 10%.

Extended for 10 to 30 days the time in which a property owner has to appeal a personal property notice of
valuation and the time in which the Assessor must rule on such appeals. If the Assessor delivers a notice of refusal,
the person may appeal to the County Board of Supervisors provided that the date of the Assessor’s notice is at
least 15 days prior to the next monthly meeting. (Effective April 17, 1995)

Laws 1995, Chapter 170 authorized refunds and forgiveness of one-half of the property taxes paid by qualified
veterans’ organizations for tax year 1994. Refund claims must be submitted within 60 days after the effective date
of the act. The County Treasurer is directed to pay the refund claim within 30 days after it is submitted. The
County Treasurer is entitled to credit for the refund with the state and each of the political subdivisions to which
the overpayment may have been transmitted. (Effective July 13, 1995)

Laws 1995, Chapter 189 made technical and clarifying changes to the Taxpayers’ Bill of Rights including replacing
the court with the State Board of Tax Appeals as the ruling authority in matters concerning taxpayer
reimbursement for Department of Revenue administrative proceedings. (Effective Retroactive to July 17, 1994)

Laws 1995, Chapter 249 made changes relating to the locally assessed property valuation and administrative
appeal process, including:

(1) Modified the personal property presumptive value procedure and increased from $25,000 to $50,000 the
value threshold by which the procedure may be used. (Effective From and After December 31, 1995)

(2) Modified the definition of “valuation date” for the purposes of property on the secured tax roll to mean
January 1 of the year preceding the year in which taxes are levied. (Effective From and After July 31,
1995)

Established a definition of “small flight property” and established a small flight property valuation of 30% of
original cost less depreciation. (Effective From and After December 31, 1994)
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Laws 1995, Chapter 252 replaced the requirement that the lessor of agricultural land, that is leased in excess of
ninety days, submit an annual agricultural lease affidavit with the requirement that if an agricultural lease changes
a new written statement of lease must be filed within 3 months after the change or prior to January 31, whichever
is later. Eliminated the Class 2 misdemeanor charge for persons who knowingly fail to file or knowingly falsify an
agricultural lease affidavit. (Effective July 13, 1995)

Provided that the County Assessor shall not require a listing of the breed, number, age or location of livestock on
hand if the livestock is exempt from taxation. (Effective From and After December 31, 1995)

Laws 1995, Chapter 294 eliminated the Class 12 property classification relating to possessory interest property and
repealed the section in statute relating to possessory interests. Clarified that the Class 13 property classification
related to improvements on federal, state, county or municipal property. Made clarifying changes to Class 7
(railroad) property needed because of the elimination of Class 12 property. Renumbered Class 13 property as
Class 11 property (elimination of the old Class 11, relating to livestock was approved by voters in the 1994
election).

Added a procedure to deal with delinquent taxes on dwellings on possessory rights. Clarified that “dwellings of
possessory rights” means a permanent improvement to real estate listed as Class 5 property where the owner of
the improvement is not the owner of the real estate. The term does not include mobile homes. The bill included a
non-severability clause and created a Joint Legislative Study Committee on Possessory Interests. (Effective July 13,
1995)

Laws 1996, Chapter 21 provided youth shelters that would have been eligible for a property tax exemption for tax
year 1994, but which neglected to claim the exemption, with a refund of taxes paid for that year. Any property
taxes due, but not paid by a youth shelter, will be forgiven and stricken from the tax roll. The revenue loss
associated with this law was estimated to be $(6,000) in FY 1997. (Effective July 20, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 22 eliminated the requirement that a taxpayer file a claim for an exemption of constitutionally
exempt inventory, materials, livestock, poultry, aquatic animals, or colonies of bees. (Effective July 20, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 93 expanded military reuse zone property tax incentives to cover firms which provide aviation
and aerospace services, in addition to firms engaging in aviation or aerospace manufacturing. The act provided
that real and personal property and improvements of qualifying companies are now assessed at a 5% rate (Class 8)
instead of the former 25% rate (Class 3). The fiscal impact could not be determined. (Effective April 6, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 100 included interest and penalties in the total amount due on a property that may be
compromised by the County Board of Supervisors. The County Board of Supervisors is allowed to compromise
property taxes, along with interest and penalties, when the total mount due on a property exceeds the value of a
property. (Effective July 20, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 119 altered the payment schedule and delinquent date for property taxes. Taxpayers are
allowed the option of making their entire property tax payment by December 31, rather than paying in biannual
installments, without becoming delinquent on the first half’s payment. (Effective January 1, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 305 continued the property tax exemption for nonprofit charitable community service
organizations. It clarified that community service organizations that serve the indigent and afflicted can claim an
exemption from the property tax. The act also allowed veterans’ organizations that qualify as charitable
organizations and use their property predominately for purposes relating to veterans to claim a property tax
exemption. The terms indigent and afflicted were defined. (Effective July 20, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 332 specified that for the purposes of determining constitutional debt limitation, taxable

property is defined as the net assessed value of property. The value of a jurisdiction’s taxable property is used to
calculate its allowable debt limit. (Effective July 20, 1996)
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Laws 1996, Chapter 344 reduced the property tax levied on small manufacturing businesses certified by the
Department of Revenue and located in enterprise zones from a 25% rate (Class 3) to a 5% rate (Class 8). The act
extended this property tax reclassification program to June 30, 2001. (Effective January 1, 1996)

Laws 1996, Chapter 366 modified the procedure for valuing shopping centers by limiting the use of market
comparison methods. The cost method (replacement cost less depreciation) is the preferred method for
determining the valuation of a shopping center. However, a taxpayer may elect to use the income method to
appeal a valuation computed under the cost method. In this event, the reviewing body is authorized to determine
the value of the shopping center by using whichever of the following methods is closest to a fair market value:

1. Income data other than the “straight line building residual” method, if the taxpayer can provide credible data
derived from properties that are comparable to his property.

2. The cost method.

3. Market comparisons, if there have been any comparable sales within the past two years. (Effective January 1,
1996)

Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 2 made numerous property tax reforms and reductions. The act
eliminated the $0.47 per $100 net assessed valuation state rate and the statute authorizing it, and reduced the
“qualifying tax rate” (QTR) used in the state school funding formulas from $4.72 per $100 of net assessed valuation
to $4.40 for unified districts, and from $2.36 to $2.20 for elementary and high school districts.

It also reduced the base for the minimum QTR tax on school districts that do not receive state aid from 85% of the
QTR to 50% of the QTR, but extended the application of the tax from Classes 1 and 2 to all classes of property. In
addition, oil and gas producing property was moved from Class C (100% assessment ratio) to Class 2 (27%
assessment ratio).

This law also introduced a new property tax deferral program for the elderly, with these characteristics:

1. To defer property tax on a residence, an individual must be at least 70 years old, have lived on the property for
the last six years or in Arizona for the last 10, and have no interest in any other real property, and the total
taxable income of everyone living in the residence must be $10,000 or less.

2. The residence must: a) be the taxpayer’s primary residence, b) not be income-producing, c) not be subject to a
mortgage or other security interest, d) be current on all property taxes, and e) have a full cash value of
$150,000 or less.

3. The deferred taxes accumulate interest at an annual rate of two points higher than the earnings rate on the
local government investment pool (LGIP), rounded up to the next full point (e.g., if the LGIP gets 5.23%, the
interest rate on the deferred taxes is 8%). The total amount of deferred taxes plus interest on the property
cannot exceed 90% of the property’s full cash value. The certificates of deferral must be sold to the County
Treasurer or State Treasurer.

4. The total amount of deferred taxes plus interest is due a) within one year if the taxpayer dies without a
surviving spouse, or b) within 120 days if the taxpayer moves, if the property becomes income producing, or if
the property is sold or transferred to someone else. (Effective October 17, 1996)

Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 4 changed the valuation schedule of centrally valued property (CVP),
mostly mines, utilities, and railroads, to conform more to the schedule in effect for locally assessed property.
Specifically, it required the Department of Revenue (DOR) to send notices of value to CVP owners by June 15. The
owner has until July 15 to appeal, and DOR must rule by August 31. The owner has until December 15 to appeal
DOR’s ruling to the Superior Court, or until October 1 to appeal to the State Board of Equalization. In this case, the
State Board of Equalization must rule by November 15.

Among other technical changes and clarifications, the bill allowed taxpayers, county assessors, and DOR to appeal
decisions by the County Boards of Equalization in appeals of personal property in the same manner as real
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property, and established that relevant income data in the valuation of shopping centers (see Chapter 366 above)
is for the three most recent fiscal years. (Effective October 17, 1996)

Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 5 was the companion bill to Proposition 101, which passed in November
1996 and amended the State Constitution to allow the Legislature to exempt the first $50,000 of a taxpayer’s Class
3 (commercial) and Class 4 (agricultural) personal property from taxation. The assessment ratio on Class 3 and
Class 4 properties was reduced from a rate of 1% to 0% (exempt) contingent on the passage of Proposition 101.
The Department of Revenue is required to annually adjust the size of the exemption (initially $50,000) based on a
price index. (Effective January 1, 1997)

Laws 1997, Chapter 11 eliminated the requirement that annexations of adjacent land by fire districts or sanitary
districts include a petition and impact statement. Now annexation requires only the written assent of the property
owner and the approval of the district governing body. (Effective July 21, 1997)

Laws 1997, Chapter 19 allowed an individual who purchases property listed as Class 3 (commercial) or Class 4
(agricultural), but then occupies it as a residence, to request to have the parcel reclassified as Class 5 (residential)
property from the date of conversion. Persons who purchased or converted property that was listed as Class 3 and
paid property taxes according to this classification for the 1995 or 1996 tax years, but actually used the property as
a residence, are eligible for a refund of taxes paid on the difference in classification. A petition for refund must be
filed by September 15, 1997. (Effective January 1, 1995)

Laws 1997, Chapter 61 provided a definition of cleanrooms and clarified that cleanrooms used for manufacturing,
processing, fabrication, or research and development of semiconductor products are to be valued and assessed as
tangible personal property. The bill codified the historical administrative practice of valuing and assessing
cleanrooms. (Effective July 21, 1997)

Laws 1997, Chapter 150 recodified Title 42 of the Arizona tax code, which regards property, transaction privilege,
use, and luxury taxation. The bill made numerous technical changes, removed references to gender, and
restructured and renumbered several statutes. It provided that the interpretation of the tax code is not to be
changed solely due to changes made by the recodification. Immunities, exemptions, claims, proceedings, etc. that
existed before the recodification are to remain in effect. (Effective January 1, 1999)

Laws 1997, Chapter 274 required truth in taxation hearings be held if the proposed primary property tax levy of a
school district, excluding the amount produced by levying the qualifying tax rate and for career ladder and optional
performance incentive programs, is greater than the amount levied by the jurisdiction in the preceding tax year.
Hearing notification requirements are prescribed to inform district property owners of the proposed tax increase.
(Effective July 21, 1997)

Laws 1998, Chapter 29 required fire districts to use any secondary property tax refunds remaining after bond
issues have been paid off to reduce their property tax levies (for operating purposes) in the following fiscal year.
(Effective August 21, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 49 codified current practice by classifying the property of airport fuel delivery companies as
Class 2 (utilities). (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 93 prohibited the removal, discharge, or abatement of tax liens on property acquired by
political subdivisions without permission of the County Board of Supervisors, and required that tax liens on
property acquired by political subdivisions be enforced in the same manner as all other tax liens. (Effective
December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 153 required “truth in taxation” hearings for the “qualifying tax rate” (QTR) and “county

equalization” tax rate used in the school funding formula. If these two rates are projected to generate more
revenue (actually an offset to state spending) than in the prior year, excluding increases for new construction, then
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the Joint Legislative Tax Committee must hold a hearing. It requires a two-thirds vote for the Legislature to adopt
QTR and county equalization rates higher than the computed “truth in taxation” rates which would generate the
same amount of revenue as in the prior year. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 160 increased the threshold for mandating a single payment of a taxpayer’s property tax
liability to $50. Prior to the passage of this bill, any property tax liability of $25 or less had to be paid in one single
payment by October 1. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 172 changed the property tax classification of employer-owned, rent-free housing for
agricultural workers from Class 4 (agricultural) to Class 6 (residential rental). (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 174 shifted the burden of proof in issues of fact to the Department of Revenue (DOR) in
taxpayer appeals to tax court. Specifically, it placed the burden of proof on DOR if (1) the taxpayer asserts a
reasonable dispute with respect to the issue, and (2) the taxpayer has fully complied with DOR’s requests for
witnesses, information, and documentation. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 220 reclassified all real and personal property used to provide local telecommunications
service from Class 2 (utility) to Class 3 (commercial and industrial) for property tax purposes. It also prescribed
criteria for use of public rights-of-way by telecommunications corporations and limited the ability of political
subdivisions to levy taxes, rent, fees or charges for the use of public rights-of-way. The revenue loss associated
with this law was estimated to be $(19,300) in FY 2000. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 261 made numerous technical changes to the appeals process and increased the exemption
for Class 5 (owner-occupied residential) property owned by widows, widowers, and disabled people to $3,000 if
the property’s assessed value is $10,000 or less (at a 10% assessment ratio). The income threshold to qualify for
the exemption was raised from $8,400 to $13,200 ordinarily, or from $12,000 to $18,400 if the taxpayer lives with
a dependent son or daughter who is under 18 or totally disabled. The revenue loss associated with this law was
estimated to be $(32,300) in FY 2000. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 275 provided a property tax exemption for fraternal organizations recognized under section
501(c)(10) of the Internal Revenue Code if the property is (1) used predominantly for charitable, religious, or
educational purposes and (2) not held for profit, and if (3) no alcohol is served on the premises. Section 501 (c)(10)
covers domestic fraternal societies organized under the lodge system which use their net earnings exclusively for
religious, charitable, scientific, literary, educational, or fraternal purposes and which do not provide life, health, or
accident insurance. (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, Chapter 286 reclassified real property used specifically to respond to the release or threatened release
of environmentally hazardous substances as Class 8 (special zones). (Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1998, 4th Special Session, Chapter 3 had two property tax provisions:
1. The exemption for the first $50,000 of Class 3 (commercial) or Class 4 (agricultural) personal property was
changed from the first $50,000 owned by a taxpayer, regardless of how many locations at which the taxpayer

may own personal property, to the first $50,000 at each business location.

2. The accelerated depreciation schedule for Class 3 and Class 4 personal property was modified as follows.
Figures shown are percentages of scheduled depreciated value:
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Year Previous Law New Law
1 40% 35%
2 56% 51%
3 72% 67%
4 88% 83%
(Effective December 31, 1998)

Laws 1999, Chapter 19 changed the meeting requirements for the Debt Oversight Commission from quarterly to
annual meetings. The Debt Oversight Commission was established in 1996 to provide more accurate and
meaningful information to the public regarding bond issues. (Effective August 6, 1999)

Laws 1999, Chapter 76 required all state governmental entities that acquire real or personal property with a tax
lien to pay the delinquent taxes on that property, including penalties and interest, to the county treasurer.
(Effective August 6, 1999)

Laws 1999, Chapter 108 established new methods for determining a school district’s expenditure base limit and
established new procedures for proposed expenditures that exceed the base limit. It repealed current methods of
determining a property tax increase for school districts. (Effective August 6, 1999)

Laws 1999, Chapter 235 provided a property tax exemption for fraternal societies recognized under Section
501(c)(8) of the Internal Revenue Code if the property is (1) used predominantly for charitable, religious, or
educational purposes, (2) not held for profit, and (3) no part of the property is used for the sale of food or
beverage to the general public or for alcohol consumption by nonmembers. Section 501(c)(8) covers fraternal
societies that provide for the payment of life, health, or accident insurance to the members or their dependents.
(Effective January 1, 2000)

Laws 1999, Chapter 240 established the Client County Equipment Capitalization Fund consisting of monies
collected from intergovernmental agreements between the Department of Revenue and county assessors for the
purpose of upgrading and modernizing data processing equipment. It also changed the procedures for issuing,
hearing, and appealing equalization orders in order to make the equalization process more timely. (Effective
August 6, 1999)

Laws 1999, Chapter 253 eliminated the “secured” and “unsecured” personal property classifications and replaced
them with one personal property tax roll instead. Prior law had provided for the placement of personal property
on either a secured or unsecured property tax roll depending on whether a property owner owns real property in
the county with a value of less than $200. If the value of the real property exceeds $200, the personal property is
considered secured. Practically, this act allows taxpayers to receive one property tax bill annually rather than
receiving separate billings for unsecured personal property throughout the year. (Effective December 31, 2000)

Laws 1999, Chapter 275 changed the classification of citrus packing plants from Class 3 (commercial) property to
Class 4 (agricultural) property. It expanded the definition of agricultural land to also include land and
improvements used as produce packing plants where no produce is cut or otherwise physically altered. Dairy
cooperatives devoted to high-density use in processing and selling milk and manufactured milk products without
the presence of any animals on the land are likewise defined as agricultural land. The reclassification of such
properties from commercial to agricultural property reduced the assessment ratio from 25% to 16%. (The
provision regarding land used for produce packing plants is effective January 1, 2000, and the dairy provision is
effective January 1, 1998.)

Laws 1999, Chapter 314 created a “common areas” classification for property tax purposes for real property that is
intended for the exclusive use of owners and residents of a residential subdivision or development, including
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beautification areas. It provided that land, buildings, and improvements used for common areas should be valued
at $500 per parcel. (Effective January 1, 1999)

Laws 1999, Chapter 344 created a new nomenclature for property tax classifications by consolidating Class 1
(mining), Class 2 (utilities), and Class 3 (commercial) into one new class, simply referred to as Class 1. The property
classifications were renamed as follows:

New Property Classification Prior Property Classification
Class 1 — Business Property Class 1, Class 2, Class 3R, Class 3P
Class 2 — Agricultural Property Class 4R, Class 4P

Class 3 — Residential Property Class 5

Class 4 — Rented Residential Property Class 6

Class 5 — Railroads, Private Car Companies, Flight Property Class 7

Class 6 — Historic Property Class 8

Class 7 — Commercial Historic Property Class 9

Class 8 — Commercial/Rental Historic Property Class 10

Class 9 — Improvements on Governmental Property Class 11

R = Real Property; P = Personal Property

(Effective January, 2000)

Laws 1999, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5 provided a series of conditional tax cuts that will be enacted if FY 1999
General Fund revenues exceed the current forecast by a prescribed amount. Included in these “triggered” tax cuts
is a reduction in the minimum value of commercial, industrial, and agricultural personal property from 10% to 2.5%
over a 3-year phase-down period. The now enacted “triggers” are estimated to reduce property tax revenues by
$(30,000) in FY 2001, FY 2002, and FY 2003. (Effective January 1, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 84 provided a 4-year phase-in period to transfer unsecured personal property to a single
personal property tax roll. The purpose is to minimize any negative budget impacts from the requirements of Laws
1999, Chapter 253. This act has no fiscal impact. (Effective December 31, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 125 made a number of changes to the way county sheriffs notice and sell personal property
with delinquent tax liens. For example, one provision requires the sheriff to wait 3 weeks (rather than 5 days as
currently) after the taxpayer receives notice before the property can be sold. This act has no fiscal impact.
(Effective July 18, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 184 modernized the Arizona Property Act by repealing the current statutes and adopting
provisions from the 1995 Uniform Unclaimed Property Act. Established new time limits to determine when
unclaimed property becomes abandoned. This act has no fiscal impact. (Effective December 31, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 187 repealed the Joint Legislative Tax Committee (JLTC) and transferred the responsibilities of
JLTC to other state entities. This act has no fiscal impact. (Effective July 18, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 214 changed the valuation methodology for renewable energy equipment to 20% of the
depreciated cost of the equipment. This provision is effective until December 31, 2011. The act is projected to
reduce state property tax revenues by $(8,800) and increase K-12 related expenditures by $454,500 in FY 2003.
(Effective July 18, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 258 was the companion bill to Proposition 105, which passed in November 2000 and amended
the constitution to allow property tax exemption for cemeteries. The act is estimated to have a FY 2003 impact of
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$(7,300) in lost state property tax revenues and $375,100 in increased costs for K-12 education. (Effective January
1, 2001)

Laws 2000, Chapter 259 extended the termination date of the State Board of Tax Appeals for 5 years to July 1,
2005. This act has no fiscal impact. (Effective July 1, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 384 provided a new valuation methodology for electrical generation facilities and a phase-in
valuation methodology for existing plants to transfer to this new methodology. The act is projected to reduce
state property tax revenues by $(2,234,900) in FY 2002 and an another $(1,722,200) in FY 2003. In addition, the
act is expected to increase K-12 related expenditures by $1,897,700 and $3,411,700 in FY 2002 and FY 2003,
respectively. (Effective July 18, 2000)

Laws 2000, Chapter 390 added golf courses and shopping centers to the provision relating to the $50,000
exemption and accelerated depreciation statutes for personal property. Made numerous technical and
conforming changes to the Arizona property tax statutes. The fiscal impact is unknown. (The effective date varies
by the provisions of the act.)

Laws 2000, Proposition 104 was approved by voters in November 2000. This constitutional amendment allows
Arizona residents 65 years of age or older to apply for a “property valuation protection option,” which freezes the
full cash value of the property on the taxpayer’s primary residence. This act is projected to reduce state property
tax revenues by $(15,600) and increase K-12 related costs by $479,500 in FY 2004. (Effective January 1, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 28 made changes to the statutes governing treasurers and public monies of subdivisions
(counties, cities, and school districts). In addition, the bill expanded the list of a treasurer’s eligible investments
and allowed school districts that have assumed accounting responsibility to be added as an eligible designee in
preference of payment of warrants. (Effective August 9, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 65 expanded the definition of common areas to include common areas used as airports.
(Effective August 9, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 151 repealed old statutes relating to the publication and posting of delinquent tax liens and
notice of sales and added new ones instead. (Effective August9, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 170 provided numerous changes to the statutes regulating real estate timeshares, such as
improved streamlining of existing timeshare requirements and practices and enhanced consumer protections.
(Effective January 1, 2002)

Laws 2001, Chapter 186 provided numerous changes to the administration of the personal property tax. The bill
contained an emergency clause. (Effective April 21, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 226 eliminated the juvenile judge and the sheriff from the joint application to adopt a
resolution authorizing a previously established jail district to acquire, construct, maintain and finance juvenile
detention facilities. In addition, the bill provided election requirements and procedures necessary for the levying
of property taxes and establishment of juvenile detention facilities within county jail districts. (Effective August 9,
2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 249 stipulated that the sale of a real property tax lien, the foreclosure of the right to redeem,
or the issuance of a treasurer’s deed will not eliminate any lien for an assessment imposed by improvement
districts. (Effective August 9, 2001)

Laws 2001, Chapter 267 provided for various changes to update the property tax statutes. (Effective August 9,
2001)
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Laws 2001, Chapter 306 gave the county boards of supervisors the authority to reduce the lien for delinquent
taxes, interest and penalties in an amount not to exceed the actual costs of the remediation of contaminated
property. The fiscal impact could not be determined. (Effective January 1, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 101 amended statutes by allowing the county assessor to arrange a mutually satisfactory
meeting place to accept an affidavit certifying the taxpayer’s eligibility for a property tax exemption if a personal
appearance would create a severe hardship for the taxpayer. (Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 174 provided a property tax exemption for nonprofit community health centers serving
medically under-served areas or populations. The fiscal impact relative to current law could not be determined.
(Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 193 made various changes to statute governing county treasurers’ procedures involving tax
liens, unclaimed refunds and distribution of taxes. (Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 201 created a statutory valuation methodology for timeshare properties. The act provided
that county assessors classify timeshare properties that are not used for commercial, industrial, or transient
occupancy purposes as Class 4 property. The fiscal impact of this legislation could not be determined. (Effective
August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 234 froze the value of existing electric generation plants (retroactive to January 1, 2002) for
tax year 2003 at the full cash value established for tax year 2002. The act created a new method for the
Department of Revenue to allocate the value of electric power plants (with respect to generation, transmission,
and distribution properties) among taxing jurisdictions for tax year 2003. This legislation also prescribed reporting
requirements for electric generation plants for tax year 2003 and made technical changes related to the voluntary
contributions paid by power plants to taxing jurisdictions. The fiscal impact could not be determined.

Laws 2002, Chapter 237 provided modifications to the state’s enterprise zone program both with respect to
income tax credits and property reclassification. For example, it excluded electric generating plants from the
definition of manufacturer for the purpose of reclassification under this program. The act also clarified that a
minority and woman-owned business must be independently owned and operated. The fiscal impact of this act is
unknown. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 242 prescribed exceptions to the requirement that the tax court dismisses a property tax
appeal for which the taxes are delinquent. (Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 259 amended statutes governing the release of liens and payoff demands issued by banks.
(Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 278 stipulated that a county assessor must use the property value determined at the highest
level of appeal as the beginning basis for the following year’s valuation, unless there was new construction or a
change of use on the property. The fiscal impact could not be determined. (Effective August 22, 2002)

Laws 2002, Chapter 308 provided criteria to classify a mobile home situated on leased property in a mobile home
park as real property. The bill contained an emergency clause.

Laws 2003, Chapter 16 raised the small claims ceiling for property tax appeals and the threshold at which the
number of hearing officers must increase. (Effective September 18, 2003)

Laws 2003, Chapter 37 created a permanent method for allocating electric transmission, distribution, and
generation values among taxing jurisdictions. The bill also provided statutory methods for valuing both new and
existing generation facilities. The JLBC Staff estimated that this legislation would increase the cost for Arizona
Department of Education Basic State Aid to schools by an amount between $0 and $12,921,000 in FY 2005. The
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impact on property tax General Fund revenues could not be determined, however.

Laws 2003, Chapter 41 provided that the purchaser of a tax lien agrees to acquire all outstanding certificates of
purchase previously issued on the property as a condition of the sale. The bill also established a 10-year expiration
date for tax liens purchased by August 31, 2002. (Effective September 18, 2003)

Laws 2003, Chapter 105 provided technical, clarifying and conforming changes to Arizona tax statutes. The
changes were non-substantive, technical corrections intended to clean up the language in the tax statutes, as
recommended by DOR and Legislative Council. (Effective September 18, 2003)

Laws 2003, Chapter 240 prohibited a community college district, county, city or town governing board to levy or
assess primary property taxes higher than the prior year if the governing board failed to comply with truth in
taxation noticing and hearing requirements. (Effective September 18, 2003)

Laws 2004, Chapter 15 provided that county assessors are allowed to send a notice of an error that occurred
during the current tax year and the 3 immediately preceding tax years regardless of what time of the year the
notice was mailed or filed. (Effective August 25, 2004)

Laws 2004, Chapter 295 provided a property tax exemption for non-profit library organizations that provide
supplemental financial support to public libraries. The act expanded the property tax exemption for charitable
institutions that serve the “indigent or afflicted” to also include property used for the administration of relief. The
act also amended statutes related to the appeals process, changes and corrections in the tax roll, and designation
of taxpayer agents. The impact on the General Fund is unknown. (The effective date varies by the provisions of the
act.)

Laws 2004, Chapter 329 increased the assessed valuation limit to qualify for the property tax exemption for
widows, widowers, and disabled persons from $10,000 to $20,000. The act also requires the threshold amount to
be adjusted annually to account for inflation as measured by the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) price deflator. The
fiscal impact of this bill is unknown. (Effective August 25, 2004)

Laws 2005, Chapter 40 provided that the State Board of Equalization must review and consider all evidence,
including similar property values, when hearing an appeal on a taxpayer’s property valuation. (Effective August 12,
2005)

Laws 2005, Chapter 66 provided that DOR will exclude contributions in aid of construction (CIAC) when
establishing the valuation of electric and gas utilities. CIAC is the amount an entity pays (e.g., a land developer) to
a utility to cover the difference between what the construction cost would be for the utility, as directed by federal
rules, and the construction cost actually incurred by the entity. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2005)

Laws 2005, Chapter 131 provided several changes to county treasurers’ procedures including clarifying that the
county treasurer or board of supervisors will act as the agent for the state for the collection of property tax liens
that are assigned to the state. (Effective August 12, 2005)

Laws 2005, Chapter 186 provided several changes to the application process for widows, widowers, and disabled
persons to receive a property tax exemption. For example, the act eliminated the requirement that an applicant
resubmits an annual affidavit for continued eligibility for the exemption. (Effective August 12, 2005)

Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provided a property tax exemption for property located outside an Indian reservation that
is owned by an Indian tribe or tribally designated housing authority and that is used to provide low income rental
housing for tribal members. (Note that property located within a reservation that is owned by Indian tribal
members is currently exempted from taxation under Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution.) The fiscal
impact of this bill is unknown. (Effective August 12, 2005)
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Laws 2005, Chapter 278 changed the requirements for a business to qualify for tax incentives relating to healthy
forest enterprises, reduced the tax on fuel used in vehicles transporting forest products, and provided a property
tax reduction for real and personal property used for qualified forest product harvesting and processing. The
assessment ratio for such property was reduced from 25% to 5% for valuation years 2005 through 2010. The fiscal
impact of the property assessment ratio reduction provision is not known.

Laws 2005, Chapter 302 reduced the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial and industrial) property from 25%
to 20% over 10 years. The bill increased the “Homeowner’s Rebate” from 35% to 40% of the primary school
district tax levy while simultaneously raising the rebate cap from $500 to $600 over 5 years. In addition, the act
updated the truth in taxation statutes regarding the qualifying tax rate and the state equalization tax rate to reflect
the JLBC calculation for FY 2006. The bill also provided for county jail districts and county juvenile detention
facilities to levy the same amount of secondary property taxes in 2006, 2007, and 2008 as in 2005. Starting in FY
2007, the bill would adversely affect the General Fund by increasing the expenditures for the Arizona Department
of Education (ADE) by an estimated $12 million. In FY 2016, when the bill is fully phased in, the General Fund cost
is expected to have grown to $140 million. (Effective August 12, 2005)

The table below summarizes the main changes under the bill by tax year.

Class 1
Assessment Homeowner’s Homeowner’s
Tax Year Ratio Rebate Rebate Cap
2005 25.0% 35% $500
2006 24.5% 36% $520
2007 24.0% 37% $540
2008 23.5% 38% $560
2009 23.0% 39% $580
2010 22.5% 40% $600
2011 22.0% 40% $600
2012 21.5% 40% S600
2013 21.0% 40% S600
2014 20.5% 40% $600
2015 20.0% 40% $600

Laws 2005, Chapter 309 nearly doubled the income limits that are allowed for widows, widowers, and disabled
persons to qualify for a property tax exemption. The bill also provided that the property tax exemption amount
and income limits will be indexed to inflation. The fiscal impact of the bill is unknown. (Effective August 12, 2005)

Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in the November 2006 General Election, changed the base year
used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and community colleges from 1980 to 2005. By resetting
the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any unused taxing capacity of such taxing jurisdictions as of tax
year 2005. This measure was not expected to have any direct impact on the state General Fund.

Laws 2006, Chapter 38 required the Department of Revenue to consider obsolescence in the valuation of
telecommunications property. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 134 provided several changes to the procedures of county treasurers, including clarifying the
legal interest rate the treasurer must pay on tax corrections, requiring electronic transmission of taxes for certain
taxpayers and allowing personal property to be subject to abatement. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 143 made several clarifications and changes regarding property valuation and appeals. For

example, the bill clarified that county assessors cannot change the property values used for the calculation of levy
limits and tax rates after February 10 without the approval of the Property Tax Oversight Commission. In addition,
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the bill established an Elderly Assistance Fund in Maricopa County for the purpose of reducing the primary
property tax rates of all taxpayers who live in an organized district and are approved for the senior property
valuation freeze. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 170 required the county assessor to use the valuation or change in classification of a property
for the next year’s valuation if, upon judicial appeal, the property valuation is reduced. The assessor was already
required by statute to use the reduced valuation or change in classification upon administrative appeal. (Effective
September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 285 required county assessors to include a separate statement as an addendum to the
assessment notice informing property owners that if a property is used for residential rental purposes, the
property must be listed as a class 4 and be registered with the county assessor or the owner may be subject to a
penalty. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 322 allowed county assessors to enter into intergovernmental agreements with the
Department of Revenue (DOR) for a coordinated and comprehensive review of information regarding identification
of properties that may be misclassified as Class 3 (owner-occupied residential) instead of Class 4 (rental
residential). The bill required DOR to monitor and review procedures and practices used by the county assessors
for the verification of Class 3 properties and to issue a report of its findings to the Governor and Legislature by
November 15 each year. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 323 provided a property tax exemption for permanent improvements constructed on property
owned by and leased from an agricultural improvement district. The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.
(Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 327 clarified the exemption for non-profit property used for health care and provided that the
exemption is retroactive from January 1, 2000. The bill was estimated to result in increased Arizona Department
of Education (ADE) expenditures of $60,000 in FY 2007. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2000)

Laws 2006, Chapter 332 increased the membership of the State Board of Equalization (SBOE) from 17 to 33
members. The bill also prohibits a member of SBOE, other than the chairperson, from having been employed by a
county assessor, county attorney, the Department of Revenue, or the Attorney General’s Office within the last 2
years. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 333 stipulated that solar energy devices are to be considered as adding no value to property.
The amount of property tax revenue that will be foregone by state and local governments under this provision is
unknown. The bill also contained provisions that will affect income tax and prime contracting tax revenues.
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 354 suspended the state equalization assistance for education property tax for tax years 2006
through 2008. It also changed the base year for computing levy limits for primary property taxes from 1980 to
2005. This eliminated any unused growth in levy limit taxing capacity that had accumulated since 1980. In
addition, Chapter 354 eliminated the use of “special elections” that are scheduled at times other than the
November general election to authorize secondary property taxes and required publicity pamphlets for bond
elections to provide an estimate of the tax impact of the bond both per year and also over the life of the bond
(versus only per year currently). The act renamed the county equalization assistance for education tax rate as the
“state equalization assistance property tax rate.” (Contained various effective dates) See Individual Income Tax
section for other changes.

The provision that suspended the state equalization property tax for 3 years was expected to increase Arizona

Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by $215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6
million in FY 2009.
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Laws 2006, Chapter 387 extended the Enterprise Zone Program until June 30, 2011 and modified some of its
qualification requirements. The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2006)

Laws 2006, Chapter 388 classified real and personal property and improvements used to produce bio-diesel fuel as
Class 6 property, which qualifies for a 5% assessment ratio versus 25% for most commercial property. (Class 6 also
includes properties such as noncommercial historic property, foreign trade zone property, and qualifying
environmental remediation property.) The fiscal impact of this provision of the bill is unknown. (Effective January
1, 2007)

Laws 2006, Chapter 391 established a public hearing committee process for property tax guidelines, tables and
manuals drafted, amended, or modified by the Department of Revenue. (Effective January 1, 2007)

Laws 2006, Chapter 392 exempted the following property from taxation: (1) property owned by a non-profit
religious or charitable organization that is leased to a non-profit educational organization and is used for
educational instruction in any grade or program through grade 12, and (2) rental property owned and operated by
a non-profit organization that is used as an assisted living facility for low-income elderly residents. The fiscal
impact of the 2 property tax exemptions is unknown. (Effective September 21, 2006)

Laws 2007, Chapter 37 increases the maximum per diem compensation from $150 to $300 for hearing officers
employed by the State Board of Equalization. (Effective September 19, 2007)

Laws 2007, Chapter 104 modifies the appeals process for agricultural land classification and changes the valuation
determination for land splits or consolidations resulting from a government action. (Effective September 19, 2007)

Laws 2007, Chapter 117 prescribes the process for allocating the taxes due on a property that was split or
consolidated after the tax roll was submitted to the county treasurer. (Effective September 19, 2007)

Laws 2007, Chapter 193 changes the requirements and process regarding the sale of land held by the state under a
tax lien. (Effective September 19, 2007)

Laws 2007, Chapter 203 provides that the value of land used by an electric generation facility is to be determined
by the Department of Revenue, as opposed to the county assessor, and that such value is the cost to the current
owner as of December 31 of the preceding calendar year. The bill defines “electric generation facility” to include
all land, buildings, and personal property used for generation of electric power. (Effective retroactively from
January 1, 2007)

Laws 2007, Chapter 258 reduces property taxes paid by businesses by: (1) modifying the accelerated depreciation
schedule for personal property and (2) accelerating the assessment ratio reduction of Class 1 property originally
enacted under Laws 2005, Chapter 302.

Accelerated Depreciation of Business Personal Property

The new accelerated depreciation schedule under Laws 2007, Chapter 258, which is shown in the table below,
applies to personal property initially classified during or after TY 2008. Beginning in FY 2009, this provision of the
act is expected to increase Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by an estimated $4.0 million.
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Percentage of Scheduled Percentage of Scheduled
Depreciated Value Depreciated Value
Year of Under Current Law Under Previous Law
Assessment
1t 30% 35%
2nd 46% 51%
3rd 62% 67%
4th 78% 83%
5th 94% 100%
6t 100% 100%

The term “scheduled depreciated value” refers to a personal property item’s value after normal depreciation but
before applying additional (or “accelerated”) depreciation. For example, if DOR’s valuation table indicates that a
$2,000 personal computer has an economic life of 4 years and will depreciate by 50% in its first year of use, then
the computer’s scheduled depreciated value in the first year of its assessment is $1,000. Laws 2007, Chapter 258
accelerates the depreciation of the computer by reducing its full cash value to $300 (30% of its scheduled
depreciated value of $1,000).

Acceleration of Class 1 Property Assessment Ratio Reduction

Laws 2005, Chapter 302 reduces the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial and industrial) property from 25% to
20% over 10 years. Laws 2007, Chapter 258 accelerates the scheduled Class 1 assessment ratio reduction by 4
years. Thus, the Class 1 assessment ratio phase-down will be completed in TY 2011 as opposed to in TY 2015, as
shown in the table below. Beginning in FY 2009, this provision of the bill is expected to increase ADE expenditures
by an estimated $3.0 million.

Class 1 Class 1
Assessment Ratio Assessment Ratio
Tax Year Under Current Law Under Previous Law

2005 25.0% 25.0%
2006 24.5% 24.5%
2007 24.0% 24.0%
2008 23.0% 23.5%
2009 22.0% 23.0%
2010 21.0% 22.5%
2011 20.0% 22.0%
2012 20.0% 21.5%
2013 20.0% 21.0%
2014 20.0% 20.5%
2015 20.0% 20.0%

Laws 2008, Chapter 49 provides that up to 10 acres of land can be designated a homesite and assessed as Class 3
property. Additionally, if physical conditions or legal restrictions, including zoning, prevent a parcel from being
subdivided, the act expands the homesite designation to include up to 40 acres of land. Beginning in FY 2010, the
act increases Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by an estimated $0.6 million. (Effective January
1, 2009)

Laws 2008, Chapter 65 clarifies that interest begins to accrue on tax liens on the first day of the month following
the purchase for both initial tax liens and subsequent tax liens. (Effective September 26, 2008)

Laws 2008, Chapter 83 clarifies that historic private burial sites and historic private cemeteries are exempt from
property tax assessments. (Effective September 26, 2008)
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Laws 2008, Chapter 85 establishes financial mechanisms for a Flood Protection District to construct, reconstruct,
replace, renovate, repair, or acquire a flood protection facility. The financial mechanisms include property
assessments and the authority to issue improvement bonds. (Effective September 26, 2008)

Laws 2008, Chapter 174 contains an emergency measure that allows a county board of supervisors to sell tax
deeds of delinquent property held by the state to the owner of the adjoining property, under certain conditions.
(Effective May 8, 2008)

Laws 2008, Chapter 178 increases the maximum number of rooms (from 4 to 6) that an owner-occupied bed and
breakfast establishment is allowed to operate to qualify for the Class 4 assessment ratio. The fiscal impact is
unknown. (Effective September 26, 2008)

Laws 2008, Chapter 252 clarifies that property owned by a nonprofit charter school and used for educational
purposes is exempt from property tax beginning on the date that the nonprofit organization acquired the property.
(Effective September 26, 2008)

Laws 2008, Chapter 306 extends the valuation method for “renewable energy equipment” from 2011 to 2040.
Additionally, the act provides that for residential properties (Class 3 and 4) that produce energy primarily for on-
site consumption using “renewable energy systems,” such devices will not be considered to add value to the
property. (Effective September 26, 2008)

Laws 2009, Chapter 87 provides that property leased to any non-profit charter school be classified for property tax
purposes as class 9, with an assessment ratio of 1% of assessed value. (Effective September 30, 2009)

Laws 2009, Chapter 96 provides income and property tax incentives for qualifying renewable energy companies
that build headquarter or manufacturing facilities in the state from TY 2010 to 2014. An income tax credit is
allowed for up to 10% of the capital investment, with an aggregate ceiling of $70.0 million annually. The credit is
refundable and must be received in 5 equal portions over a period of 5 consecutive tax years. Qualifying
properties will also receive a class 6 property designation, which reduces the assessment ratio to 5% instead of the
class 1 assessment ratio of 22% (declining to 20% over the next 2 years). The class 6 property designation remains
in effect for 10 or 15 years, depending on the level of wages paid to employees of the facility in relation to the
median wage of the state.

Laws 2009, Chapter 101 modifies the existing guidelines for the standard appraisal of solar energy devices. The act
provides that energy efficient buildings components, renewable energy equipment, and combined heat and power
systems add no value to property. (Effective September 30, 2009)

Laws 2009, Chapter 118 establishes statutory levy limits for secondary property taxes levied by fire districts. The
amount of the levy is limited to the lesser of: (1) 8% greater than the amount levied in the preceding year and (2)
$3.25 per $100 NAV. For TY 2010, fire districts are allowed to levy secondary property taxes that are 16% greater
than the amount levied in TY 2008.

Laws 2009, Chapter 169 reduces the minimum value of personal property owned by telecommunications
companies from 20% to 10% of cost. The act also requires DOR to compute the depreciation of
telecommunications property on a straight line basis. Chapter 169 is estimated to increase General Fund costs by
as much as $4.3 million, beginning in FY 2011. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2009)
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Laws 2010, Chapter 158 exempts trap and skeet shooting clubs that provide training and hold competitions from
taxation provided that the property is used for educational purposes and not used or held for profit. (Effective July
29, 2010)

Laws 2010, Chapter 317 clarifies that an accommodation school governing board cannot levy primary and
secondary property taxes, and that the Property Tax Oversight Commission shall consider any amount of property
tax levied by a county to support an accommodation school as part of the county’s primary property tax levy.
Additionally, the act also requires the Property Tax Oversight Commission to increase Pinal County’s TY 2009
maximum allowable levy limit by $3,626,600. (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2010)
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