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FOREWORD 
 

The 2008 Tax Handbook provides Legislators and the interested public with collection and distribution numbers for 

the taxes levied by the state, as well as summaries of all tax law revisions enacted in the 2002 through 2008 

legislative sessions.  A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the Joint 

Legislative Budget Committee (JLBC) Web site located at www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf. 

 

In the 2008 Tax Handbook, we attempt to describe in the narrative the impacts, if quantifiable, of tax law changes 

passed in recent sessions.  In addition, an itemized list of incremental tax law changes has been included for every 

tax category that experienced a tax law change with an incremental impact in FY 2003 through FY 2009. 

 

In this edition of the handbook, we have included tables which provide the estimated impact of tax credits and 

exemptions to the Sales Tax, Individual Income Tax, and Corporate Income Tax sections.  These tables were 

prepared by the Office of Economic Research and Analysis section of the Arizona Department of Revenue.  We 

have also included an Appendix to the document, which provides the estimated dollar value of individual historical 

tax law changes enacted by the Legislature since FY 1989. 

 

The chapters of the 2008 Tax Handbook are organized by revenue category under General Funds and Other Funds.  

The sections within each chapter are generally organized from the largest revenue category to the smallest. 

 

Each entry in the handbook includes the following sections (where applicable): 

 
• Description – a comprehensive narrative description of the tax or revenue source. 
• Distribution – a 20-year history of collections and a description of how the tax is distributed by fund, or shared 

with other jurisdictions such as cities and towns. 
• Who Pays the Tax – a description of who is legally responsible for the payment of the tax or fee. 
• Tax Base and Rate – a definition of the tax base, a discussion of exemptions if any, and a description of the tax 

rate(s). 
• Tax Refunds and/or Credits – a description of circumstances under which tax refunds are made, and/or credits 

are allowed. 
• Payment Schedule – due dates, delinquency dates, and payment schedules, as well as an explanation of how the 

tax or fee is remitted to the state. 
• Impact of Tax Law and Revenue Changes – includes tax law and other revenue changes from 2002 through 

2008.  As noted above, tax law changes prior to 2002 are available on the JLBC Web site. 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf
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OVERVIEW OF ARIZONA TAXES 
 

Taxes represent the most visible and important revenue source for Arizona.  Other forms of revenue such as fees, 
assessments, and federal grants do exist, but taxes are the primary method by which the state provides goods and services to 
its citizenry. 
 
There are many different types of taxes.  Some are obvious and well known, such as the sales tax and the income tax.  
Others are more obscure, such as the telecommunication services excise tax and the intrastate utility corporation 
assessment.  Taxes also vary widely in terms of their revenue generating capacity.  The state sales tax produces over $4.3 
billion per year, while at the other end of the spectrum, voluntary contributions by the Game and Fish Department produce 
just $10,000 a year. 
 
The revenues from Arizona’s different taxes are deposited in a number of funds.  The largest fund is the General Fund.  In 
FY 2008, total General Fund revenue was $8.76 billion, plus approximately $802 million in one-time financing sources, for 
a total revenue amount of $9.56 billion.  In addition, $378 million of General Fund revenue was carried forward from 
FY 2007.  Including this carry forward, total FY 2008 General Fund revenues were $9.94 billion. 
 
While revenues from numerous taxes are deposited in the General Fund, there are 3 taxes that constitute the bulk of General 
Fund collections: the sales tax, the individual income tax, and the corporate income tax.  In FY 2008, the Big Three, as they 
are called, represented approximately 98% of General Fund on-going revenues (excluding the balance forward from the 
prior year, and one-time budget solutions).  As noted in the following chart, the largest category is the state sales tax, which 
represented almost 50% of General Fund revenue collections in FY 2008.  Individual income tax represented about 39% 
and corporate income tax just over 9%. 
 

Sources of FY 2008 General Fund Revenue

Sales Tax
50%

Corporate Income 
Tax
9%Other

2%

Individual Income 
Tax
39%

 
 
Beyond the Big Three, the state levies many other taxes.  Some of the other taxes generate sizable amounts of revenue, but 
their collections are not deposited in the General Fund.  For example, the motor vehicle fuel tax generated $512 million in 
FY 2008 and the unemployment insurance tax $302 million.  However, their collections were deposited in the Highway 
User Revenue Fund and the Unemployment Compensation Fund, respectively. 
 
This handbook provides a listing and description of the taxes levied by the State of Arizona.  It shows revenue collection 
amounts and tax distributions by fund.  In addition, the handbook provides the estimated incremental dollar impact of tax 
law changes.  
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TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The transaction privilege tax is Arizona’s version of a sales tax.  Across the United States, there are 13 states that 
levy a transaction privilege tax, 17 states that employ a sales tax, and another 15 states that impose a hybrid tax.  All 
3 types of taxes are levied upon consumer spending, but they differ with regard to the legal burden of the tax.  Under 
Arizona’s transaction privilege tax, the seller is responsible for remitting to the state the entire amount of tax due 
based on the gross proceeds or gross income of the business.  The seller may include the tax in the purchase price or 
absorb the tax.  Because of its similarity to the sales tax, the transaction privilege tax is often referred to as a sales 
tax. 
 
The sales tax consists of many different tax categories. The largest of these, the retail sales tax, comprises 
approximately 46% of total sales tax revenues.  Other large sales tax categories include contracting, utilities, and 
restaurants and bars.  Chart 1 illustrates the relative importance of the major categories.  A full listing of all sales tax 
classifications is provided in Table 3. 
 

Components of Sales Tax Revenues

Retail
46%

Other
16%
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8%
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22%
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Chart 1  
 
The sales tax is the state’s single largest revenue source, representing 49% of forecasted General Fund revenues in 
FY 2008.  A significant portion of state sales tax revenues is shared with the counties and cities.  This revenue 
sharing occurs through the distribution base, described in further detail in the Distribution Section below. 
 
Beginning in June 2001, the sales tax rate for most categories rose from 5.0% to 5.6%, with the extra 0.6% being 
dedicated to education.  This tax increase was approved by voters, and is commonly known as Proposition 301. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Transaction privilege tax revenues are shared with Arizona’s counties and cities through a complex system of 
formulas established in statute.  See Table 1 for amounts distributed.  Legislative changes to the state sales tax 
usually have local government impacts, unless otherwise specified through hold harmless provisions (provisions 
designed not to harm local governments). 
 
Distribution.  The Department of Revenue transmits all sales tax revenues to the State Treasurer, separately 
accounting for payments of estimated taxes, the transient lodging tax, transaction privilege and severance taxes on 
mining and timber collected from businesses located on Indian reservations, and education sales taxes.  The 
aforementioned tax collections have dedicated uses.  All other transaction privilege tax revenues are credited to a 
clearing account.  Revenues designated by statute for the distribution base (see Tables 1 and 3) are divided among 
the state, the counties and the cities.  The remaining monies (non-shared) are directly credited to the General Fund, 
except as needed for school capital finance pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5030.01, part of the Students FIRST legislation 
[A.R.S. § 42-5029]. 
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Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION (20-year history)* 

 
Fiscal Year General Fund      Cities         Counties    Proposition 301       Total       

FY 2008 $4,353,564,848 $447,060,657 $724,417,089 $645,827,821 $6,170,870,415 
FY 2007 $4,457,494,716 $462,037,141 $748,684,984 $666,184,022 $6,334,800,863 
FY 2006 $4,273,358,451 $439,120,139 $711,550,274 $628,471,192 $6,052,500,056 
FY 2005 $3,661,168,623 $376,212,970 $609,615,497 $538,346,435 $5,185,343,525 
FY 2004 $3,294,788,319 $340,535,844 $551,804,282 $487,214,807 $4,674,343,252 
FY 2003 $3,033,877,715 $316,406,294 $512,704,759 $447,841,034 $4,310,829,802 
FY 2002 $3,000,431,898 $311,693,101 $505,067,501 $439,004,543 $4,256,197,043 
FY 2001 $2,983,552,245 $312,676,402 $506,661,075  $3,802,889,722  
FY 2000 $2,829,307,415 $299,386,513 $485,126,158  $3,613,820,086  
FY 1999 $2,577,768,324 $272,402,244 $441,400,596  $3,291,571,164  
FY 1998 $2,367,883,017 $253,826,710 $411,300,801  $3,033,010,528  
FY 1997 $2,211,158,987 $240,264,373 $389,324,389  $2,840,747,749  
FY 1996 $2,103,275,229 $233,196,324 $377,871,323  $2,714,342,876  
FY 1995 $1,968,613,472 $219,908,226 $356,339,289  $2,544,860,987  
FY 1994 $1,787,609,451 $200,069,251 $304,745,483  $2,292,424,185  
FY 1993 $1,626,535,290 $184,318,955 $280,754,631  $2,091,608,876  
FY 1992 $1,503,124,515 $170,654,277 $259,940,595  $1,933,719,387 
FY 1991 $1,447,942,088 $163,823,044 $249,535,260  $1,861,300,392 
FY 1990 $1,442,587,551 $159,021,328 $242,221,287  $1,843,830,166 
FY 1989 $1,340,809,656 $151,056,680 $230,089,535  $1,721,955,871 

 
* The figures displayed in this table include revenues collected from the sales tax and its affiliated taxes – the use 

tax, mining and timber severance taxes, jet fuel taxes, and the rental occupancy tax.  The table excludes funds 
distributed to multipurpose facility districts and other special distributions. 

 
Revenues collected from the 0.6% education tax go directly toward education programs.  For a more extensive 
discussion of the specific uses of education tax revenues, please refer to page 161 of the FY 2008 Appropriations 
Report.   
 
Monies in the distribution base are allocated on a monthly basis in the following way: 
 
– 25% is paid to the cities in proportion to their population based on the last U.S. decennial census, a special 

census, or revised population figures approved by the Department of Economic Security (DES). 
– 40.51% is paid to the counties according to the formula described below. 
– The remaining 34.49% is retained by the state and used to make various allocations and appropriations specified 

by statute. 
 

In total, the counties receive 40.51% of distribution base revenues.  The amount that each county receives is 
determined by the following calculations: 
 
1. 38.08% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated. 
 
2. 2.43% of the total TPT distribution base is calculated. 
 
3. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of percent 

of total point-of-sale and percent of total net assessed valuation. 
 
4. Each county's share of the 38.08% portion of the TPT distribution base is calculated using an average of percent 

of total point-of-sale and percent of total census population. 
 
5. The shares that each county would receive under the two previous steps are compared, with the larger of the two 

amounts selected for each county.  The "new" amounts are added for all 15 counties to determine the difference 
between this total and the sum of the 38.08% proportions.  This difference is subtracted from the sum of the 
2.43% proportions calculated in Step 2. 
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6. Any money remaining from the 2.43% portion is distributed among all 15 counties based on Step 4's combined 
percentage.  Add the amount for each county from this step to the total for each county from Step 5 to get the 
total amount to be distributed to each county for the month. 

 
The remaining 34.49% of distribution base revenues is allocated for various purposes, including expansion of the 
Phoenix convention center, school capital finance, multipurpose facilities, construction of a bridge and improvement 
of a highway at Phoenix International Raceway, and the Tourism and Sports Authority (TSA).  The TSA’s share of 
distribution base monies is equal to the amount of sales taxes collected at Arizona Cardinals football games.  In 
addition, some monies are transferred to the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund, as required by A.R.S. § 49-
282.  After these distributions have been made, the remainder is credited to the General Fund.  From this amount, 
the following distributions are subject to appropriation: 
 
1) The Department of Revenue receives monies sufficient to cover administrative expenses. 
2) The Department of Economic Security receives monies for the purposes stated in Title 46, Chapter 1 (public 

welfare, out-of-wedlock pregnancy prevention, and aging). 
3) The Firearm Safety and Ranges Fund receives $50,000 derived from retail sales taxes collected during the 

current fiscal year. 
4) The Tourism Fund receives 3.5% of last year’s gross transient lodging tax revenues, 3.0% of last year’s gross 

amusement tax revenues, and 2.0% of last year’s gross restaurant and bar tax revenues.   
 
Multipurpose Facility Districts 
Laws 1997, Chapter 297 expanded existing legislation that authorized county stadium districts to include 
multipurpose facilities, defined as facilities located in the district to accommodate sporting, entertainment, cultural, 
civic, and convention events and meetings.  The legislation also expanded the ability to form a district to two or 
more municipalities located within a county and authorized these districts to generate TPT revenue.  If a district 
were to construct a facility, the state would divert one-half the state TPT revenues generated at the facility from the 
General Fund to the district. 
 
Laws 1999, Chapter 162 required the state to pay a county multipurpose facility district one-half of all the TPT 
revenue received each month from all persons doing business at a multipurpose facility or generated from the 
construction of a multipurpose facility.  In no case are the monthly payments to exceed the net new revenues 
generated in a given month compared to the TPT revenues generated in the same month during the year prior to the 
vote authorizing the creation of the district.  Payments were to begin when the district board of directors delivered to 
the State Treasurer a resolution requesting payment and would continue for 10 years after either the commencement 
or completion of the primary component of the facility, at the option of the district.  Chapter 162 required that the 
publicly owned components of the district must cost at least $200 million to construct.  The definition of a 
multipurpose facility was broadened to include secondary components such as parking lots and garages, on-site 
infrastructure, artistic components, public parks, plazas, and some commercial facilities.  Chapter 162 was effective 
and retroactive to July 1, 1998. 
 
Rio Nuevo 
In November 1999, Tucson voters approved Proposition 400, which authorized creation of the Rio Nuevo Project.  
With 1999 established as the base year, the Arizona Department of Revenue began tracking the TPT revenue 
collected within the Rio Nuevo District, compared it to base year collections, and refunded the difference as 
provided by Laws 1999, Chapter 162.  State TPT payments to the Rio Nuevo District are provided in the table 
below: 
 

Table 2    
Fiscal Year Distributions 

    

FY 2008 $15,456,200  
FY 2007 $10,974,900  
FY 2006 $10,968,200  
FY 2005 $7,469,600  
FY 2004 $5,081,200  

    

Source:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports 
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Phoenix Convention Center Expansion 
In November 2001, Phoenix voters approved a ballot measure that would provide $300 million to expand the 
Phoenix Convention Center from the city fund that was established to pay for construction and expansion of the 
Civic Plaza’s first phase in the 1960s.  Laws 2003, Chapter 266 authorized the expansion of eligible convention 
centers with matching state funds.   
 
Chapter 266 established the Arizona Convention Center Development Fund (ACCDF) for the purpose of enabling 
qualifying cities to develop and expand major convention facilities.  The Phoenix Convention Center expansion 
project is the only project qualified under Chapter 266. 
 
The state’s obligation for the Phoenix Convention Center project is to pay the debt service and related costs on $300 
million of construction bonds.  The state’s obligation will begin at $5 million for the first year after construction is 
completed, increase to $10 million the second year, $15 million the third year, $20 million the fourth year, then 
increase by an additional $500,000 per year up to a maximum of $30 million.  Construction is currently estimated to 
be completed in FY 2009, with the state’s obligation beginning in FY 2010. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Individuals and Businesses 
Persons or companies engaging in business in the state are legally responsible for payment of the tax.  However, in 
practice transaction privilege taxes are passed on to consumers [A.R.S. § 42-5001]. 
 
Internet Taxation.  A current topic in tax policy discussions is the extent to which transactions conducted on the 
Internet are subject to the sales tax.  While the legal landscape is still evolving, we attempt to describe current 
Arizona policy with respect to 3 different Internet sales scenarios. 
 
1. A consumer purchases an item on the Internet from a company headquartered out of state that also has a store in 

Arizona.  This can be either a sales tax or a use tax situation, depending on whether the retailer has created a 
semi-separate Internet version of itself.  If the product is shipped from the retailer’s “Internet company” located 
in another state, it is a use tax situation.  If the product is shipped from the local retail branch, it is a sales tax 
situation.  Regardless, the vendor is required to collect the tax because it has a physical presence (nexus) in this 
state. 

 
2. A consumer makes an Internet purchase from an out of state company that has no physical presence in Arizona 

but whose products are sold in Arizona retail stores.  For example, consider a situation in which vitamins are 
bought on the Internet from an out-state company; this company’s vitamins are also sold in Arizona grocery 
stores.  In this case, the vendor is not responsible for collecting a tax for the state because it has no nexus in 
Arizona.  The purchaser is legally responsible for paying the use tax.   

 
3. A consumer buys something on the Internet from an out of state company that has no presence whatsoever in 

Arizona.  Since the vendor has no nexus in Arizona, the purchaser is required to pay the use tax. 
 
Tribal Members and Businesses 
Indian tribal members or companies engaged in business activities on the reservation are not subject to the sales tax.  
This exclusion applies to affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full 
and unrestricted membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian retailers engaged in business activities located on the reservation are not subject 
to the sales tax if the activity is performed for an Indian tribal member of the reservation.  The activity is subject to 
the sales tax, however, if it is performed for a non-Indian or non-affiliated Indian. 
 
For business activities performed for Indian tribal members by retailers located off the reservation, those activities 
are subject to the sales tax.  Sales of tangible personal property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not subject 
to the sales tax if the solicitation, delivery and payment of the goods take place on the reservation.  In addition, the 
sale of a motor vehicle to an Indian tribal member who resides on the reservation is exempt from the sales tax 
[A.R.S. § 42-5061]. 
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Other than motor vehicles sales, there are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state 
sales tax on tribal members.  Thus, to facilitate the administration of state sales tax on Indian reservations, the 
Department of Revenue has adopted sales tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent 
ruling, which is reflected in the description above, was issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
In general, the tax base is the gross proceeds of sales or gross income derived by a person from a taxable business.  
However, there are variations between the tax bases of the different classifications of the transaction privilege tax, as 
specified in A.R.S. § 42-5061 - A.R.S. § 42-5077.  Notably, the contracting tax has a unique tax base.  The tax base 
for contractors is 65% of the value of a contract, based on the assumption that labor costs represent 35% of the value 
of a contract [A.R.S. § 42-5023]. 
 
Exemptions.  There are numerous (over 100) sales tax exemptions provided in statute, such as exemptions for food 
and medicine.  The effect of these exemptions is to reduce the size of the tax base.  See Table 3 for specific tax 
exemption statutes for each sales tax classification.  Attached at the end of this section is the Transaction Privilege 
and Use Tax Expenditures section of the Department of Revenue’s publication, The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s 
Tax Expenditures, FY 2006/07 (Preliminary).  This document provides a complete listing of the sales tax 
exemptions, and includes the estimated FY 2007 dollar impact of each exemption (where available). 
 
Tax Rates. Once the net tax base is computed, it is multiplied by the applicable tax rate to derive the total tax due.  
The tax rates vary according to the business classification of the taxable activity.  Most categories, however, are 
taxed at the rate of 5.6%.  Table 3 lists the tax rates for each classification.  In addition, a complete list of sales tax 
rates by all Arizona cities, including the tax rates levied by state, county, and city governments, is provided in 
Attachment A at the end of this section [A.R.S. § 42-5010]. 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Telecommunications Service Assistance Program.  Local exchange telephone companies may claim a tax credit for 
rate reductions given to elderly low-income persons [A.R.S. § 42-5016]. 
 
Accounting Allowance.  A taxpayer may claim a tax credit of 1% of the amount of tax due, not to exceed $10,000 in 
any calendar year.  This credit is designed to reimburse taxpayers for expenses incurred in accounting for and 
reporting sales tax payments [A.R.S. § 42-5017]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Due Dates.  Transaction privilege taxes are due to the Department of Revenue every month on or before the 20th 
day of the month after the month in which the tax accrues.  For example, for taxable sales made in January, a tax 
payment is due to the Department of Revenue by February 20 [A.R.S. § 42-5014]. 
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Table 3 
TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE TAX CLASSIFICATIONS 

 
 
Classification 

A.R.S. 
Exemption 

Statute 

 
 

Tax Rate 

 
 

Distribution Base 1/ 

 
 

Non-Shared Base 2/ 

 
 

Education 3/ 
Retail 42-5061 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Transporting 42-5062 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Utilities 42-5063 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Telecommunications 42-5064 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Publication 42-5065 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Job Printing 42-5066 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Pipeline 42-5067 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Private Car Line 42-5068 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Transient Lodging 42-5070 5.5% 50% 50% None 
Personal Property Rental 42-5071 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Mining  42-5072 3.125% 100%   0% None 
Amusement 42-5073 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Restaurant and Bar 42-5074 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Prime Contracting 42-5075 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Owner Builder 42-5076 5.6% 20% of first 5.0% 80% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
Membership Camping 42-5077 5.6% 40% of first 5.0% 60% of first 5.0% 0.6% Increment 
____________ 
1/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the distribution base. 
2/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for the non-shared base. 
3/ Represents the portion of revenues that is designated for education. 
 
Delinquency Dates.  Tax payments are delinquent if not postmarked on or before the 25th day of the month or 
received by the Department of Revenue on or before the next-to-last business day of the month. 
 
Alternative Payment Schedules.  The department may authorize different payment schedules depending on the 
taxpayer’s estimated tax liability or transient nature of the business. 
 
• Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of $500 or less may pay on an annual basis. 
• Taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of between $500 and $1,250 may pay on a quarterly basis. 
• Taxpayers whose business is of a “transient character” may be required to pay on a daily, weekly, or 

transaction-by-transaction basis. 
 
Estimated Tax Payments.  Taxpayers who pay income taxes and whose business had an annual sales tax liability in 
the preceding calendar year of $1,000,000 or more must make a single estimated advance payment in June of each 
year.  Normally, the full June tax bill would be due on July 20.  This estimated payment is in addition to the regular 
June sales tax liability (which represents May sales).  Prior to FY 2007, the threshold for estimated payments was 
$100,000. Laws 2006, Chapter 351 increased the threshold to $1,000,000.  
 
Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-5014, the estimated tax payment should equal either 1) one-half of the actual tax liability for 
May of the current calendar year, or 2) the actual tax liability for the first 15 days of June of the current calendar 
year.  Estimated payments are due by June 20.  In July of each year, those taxpayers who made estimated payments 
in the preceding month may subtract the amount of June’s estimated payment from their July tax bill.  
 
When the estimated payments program was first enacted in 1989, the estimated payments provided a one-time boost 
to state revenues by advancing a portion of the next fiscal year’s revenues into the current fiscal year.  If the 
program is ever eliminated (as is periodically proposed), it would entail a one-time cost to state revenues.  This is 
because every July taxpayers make a “claim” for the preceding month’s estimated payment, and every June 
taxpayers make a counterbalancing estimated payment.  Eliminating the June payment leaves the July claim without 
a counterbalance – and the state with a one-time cost. 
 
Collection.  The Department of Revenue may enter into agreements with cities and towns that levy transaction 
privilege taxes to provide a uniform method of administration, collection, and auditing of sales taxes.  In FY 2004, 
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the department collected transaction privilege and use taxes for some 76 Arizona cities and towns (see the 
department’s 2003 Annual Report) [A.R.S. § 42-6001]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  The estimated initial dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in Table 4 below.  The tax 
law changes enacted in 2007 are not anticipated to have a significant fiscal impact. 
 

Table 4 
 

ANNUAL INCREMENTAL DOLLAR IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 1/ 

Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 
  
FY 2008   
L 05, Ch 317 Motion Picture Production Exemptions $     (100,000) 
   
FY 2007   
L 06, Ch 333 Solar Energy Devices – Commercial Applications $     (500,000) 
L 06, Ch 351 Increase Estimated Payment Threshold to $1.0 M 

(one-time FY 2007 impact) (55,200,000) 

L 06, Ch 354 Eliminate Sales Tax Categories (200,000) 
L 06, Ch 371 Liquid Natural Gas Exemption (378,600) 
L 05, Ch 317 Motion Picture Production Exemptions (600,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2007  (56,578,600) 

FY 2006   
L 05, Ch 317 Motion Picture Production Exemptions $     (600,000) 

FY 2005   
L 04, Ch 242 “Lemon Law” Refunds $     (158,000) 
L 04, Ch 296 Non-Resident Motor Vehicle Purchases Unknown 
L 04, Ch 309 Architectural and Engineering Services Exemption (100,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2005  (258,000) 

FY 2004   
L 03, Ch 262 DOR Revenue Generating Proposal $ 25,452,000 

FY 2003   
L 03, 1st SS, Ch 1 DOR Revenue Generating Proposal $   3,168,000 
L 02, Ch 307 Landscape Contracting Unknown 
   Subtotal FY 2003  3,168,000 

FY 2002   
L 00, Ch 372 Arizona Sports and Tourism Authority $ (1,512,000) 
____________ 
1/  Excluding Proposition 301 revenue. 
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2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 194 provides that internet application for services designed to assess student learning, or to 
promote curriculum design are exempt from the transaction privilege tax (TPT), the telecommunications 
classification, and the rental property classification.  The impact to the General Fund has not been determined. 
(Effective retroactively to January 1, 2000) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 255 provides that preconstruction services related to prime constructing to be exempt from 
TPT.  The impact to the General Fund has not been determined.  (Effective retroactively to January 1, 2001) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 303 modifies the deduction for development fees from TPT for prime contactors or 
subcontractors.  Chapter 303 intends to clarify, and not to expand, the provisions of Laws 2006, Chapter 386, 
relating to deduction of development fees.  The impact to the General Fund has not been determined.  (Effective 
retroactively to September 1, 2006) 
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 169 provides that medallions and coins that are authorized by the Arizona Historical Advisory 
Commission to commemorate Arizona’s 2012 statehood centennial to be exempt from state and local transaction 
privilege taxes.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 188 establishes a mechanism to determine TPT liability under the prime contracting 
classification for former property owners who make improvements that are not included in the original sales contract 
after title to the property has been transferred to a new owner.  It excludes property owners who hire contractors to 
make improvements from being defined as prime contractors, regardless of the existence of a sales contract, 
retroactive to January 8, 1991.  Chapter 188 allows the former property owner to be liable for TPT under the prime 
contracting classification only on improvements not included in the sales contract made by the former owner after 
the title to the property has been transferred to a new owner.  A refund mechanism is established by which refunds 
for taxable periods after January 8, 1991 may be claimed if they are filed before January 1, 2008.  The maximum 
cumulative amount of refunds is limited to $10,000.  Valid aggregate claims in excess of $10,000 will result in the 
proportional reduction of all refunds.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 265 repeals Laws 2002, Chapter 330, which limited the tribal community colleges transfer of 
TPT revenues to Diné College.  It increases the recipients of the TPT distributions to include qualifying Indian 
tribes, with the funds to be used for maintenance, renewal and capital expenses of community colleges owned, 
operated and chartered by the tribes.  Chapter 265 allows for existing compacts between qualifying Indian tribes and 
the state to be renewed for 10 years after a hearing and review of the compact during the last year of the compact’s 
first 10-year term.  This legislation is estimated to increase Arizona Community Colleges General Fund 
expenditures by $194,000 in FY 2008.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 276 penalizes municipalities located entirely within metropolitan areas with populations 
exceeding 2 million people that provide retail tax incentives to induce businesses to locate within their borders.  This 
penalty does not apply to cities or towns that adopted retail tax incentives prior to July 1, 2007, and several other 
exceptions are provided.  Municipalities are required to report to the Department of Revenue the value of any actual 
or contingent tax incentives offered to retail businesses as an inducement or in exchange for locating within their 
borders.  Municipalities that do offer these incentives shall be penalized by a commensurate reduction in state shared 
revenue.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 105 clarifies that the sales tax does not apply to postage in printing jobs.  Under the job 
printing classification, printing jobs may include pre-printed postage.  This chapter clarifies that the amount 
collected by the business for the postage is exempt from the sales tax.  This legislation will have no fiscal impact.  
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 123 modifies the due dates for sales tax payments by standardizing the delinquent date for all 
payments, regardless of how the payments are made.  The chapter clarifies that payments, including electronic 
payments, are delinquent if they are not received by the Department of Revenue by the second to the last day of the 
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month, and that payments received by mail must be postmarked before the 25th day of the month.  This legislation 
will have no fiscal impact.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 171 provides a municipal sales tax exemption for the state fair.  Current statute exempts 
income received from state and county fairs from the state sales tax.  This chapter expands that exemption to 
municipal sales taxes.  This legislation will have no state fiscal impact.  (Effective retroactively from June 30, 1999) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 222 expanded the sales tax exemption made available to motion picture producers by Laws 
2005, Chapter 317 to include printing activity related to motion picture production.  The printing exemption is 
estimated to have a negligible fiscal impact.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 225 exempts food donated by a restaurant to a qualified nonprofit organization that regularly 
serves free meals to the needy from the sales and use tax.  The donated food exemption is estimated to have a 
negligible fiscal impact.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 321 exempts the sale of food prepared off campus that is provided to school districts, charter 
and private schools for consumption during school hours from transaction privilege tax (TPT) and use tax.  
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 333 eliminates the $5,000 cap on the existing sales tax exemption for the purchase of solar 
energy devices.  The removal of the cap is expected to reduce sales tax revenue by approximately $(500,000) per 
fiscal year.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 351 increases the threshold beyond which a June estimated sales tax payment is required from 
the current $100,000 to $1.0 million.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminates the sales tax on membership camping fees.  The state revenue impact is 
estimated to be $(100,000) in FY 2007 and $(120,000) per year in subsequent fiscal years.  (Effective November 1, 
2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 371 provides an exemption from sales and use tax for natural gas purchased to fuel equipment 
used to convert natural gas into liquefied natural gas.  This exemption is expected to result in a decrease of 
$(379,000) per fiscal year in sales and use tax collections. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 11 made technical, conforming, and clarifying corrections to the tax statutes.  The act repealed 
a section of statue exempting intrastate railroad fertilizer transportation from the sales tax, but added the exemption 
to the transportation classification.  It also clarified that purchasers of goods subject to the use tax have the option of 
paying the tax directly to the Department of Revenue.  This legislation has no fiscal impact.  (Effective August 12, 
2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 39 increased the maximum hotel tax rate in Pima County from 2% to 6% and struck an 
existing provision that would have adjusted the maximum rate to 1% after December 31, 2012.  The legislation also 
decreased, from 50% to 34%, the amount of revenues generated from the tax that may be dedicated toward the 
construction and operation of a Major League Baseball spring training stadium or facility, and instead authorized the 
county to use up to 16% of its revenues for economic development activities.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 62 made clarifications to the transportation, telecommunications, transient lodging, and 
amusement classifications.  The act specified that, retroactive to June 30, 1993, arranging for transportation or 
amusement activities as a service to a person’s customers is exempt from the sales tax if the person is not otherwise 
engaged in that type of business.  The legislation also specified that telephone, fax, or internet services provided at 
an additional charge by a transient lodging business are subject to the sales tax.  This legislation has no fiscal 
impact.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 317 granted qualifying motion picture companies sales and use tax exemptions for certain 
expenses, including machinery and equipment, lodging space leases or rentals, catered food and drink, and building 
(or other structure) construction.  To qualify, a motion picture company must incur production costs of at least 
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$250,000 in one year and must employ a certain percentage of Arizona residents in the production.  The act also 
repealed the existing 50% motion picture sales tax refund.  This legislation is estimated to have a General Fund cost 
of $(600,000) in FY 2006.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 2 required Maricopa County to call a special election concurrent with the state general election 
on November 2, 2004 on the question of extending the life of the county’s ½ cent transportation sales tax for 20 
years past its expiration date of December 31, 2005.  It also required the inclusion of a provision on expanding the 
transportation program to include a light rail system.  (Effective February 5, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 61 made technical, conforming, and clarifying corrections to the tax statutes.  It specified that 
nonprofit health care organizations are exempt from the sales tax for construction of their facilities, clarified the 
exemption regarding the sale of tangible personal property for programs for mentally or physically handicapped 
persons, and amended the prime contracting tax to clarify that certain charitable organizations are exempt from the 
use tax as well as the sales tax.  This legislation has no fiscal impact.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 143 exempted from the personal property rental tax classification the amount received by a 
motor vehicle dealer for the first month of a lease payment if the lease is transferred to a third party.  This act is 
estimated to have no fiscal impact.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 147 re-authorized Pima County to levy a ½ cent transportation sales tax for 20 years, if 
approved by voters in a countywide election.  The tax would fund the county’s regional transportation plan.  The 
previous authorization for the county to hold an election to approve a transportation tax expired in 1992.  (Effective 
August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 182 allowed Maricopa County to issue bonds for up to $5 million to pay for improvements to 
115th Avenue, the main transportation artery to and from Phoenix International Raceway (PIR).  The authority to 
issue bonds expires on December 31, 2004.  The bonds are to be repaid with diverted state sales tax revenue 
collected at PIR.  The amount of diverted sales tax revenue used to secure the bonds is capped at $416,667 annually 
from FY 2008 – FY 2019.  The act does not go into effect unless PIR is selected as the site of a major national 
sporting event by the end of 2004.  It is thought that improvements to 115th Avenue will improve PIR’s chances of 
landing a new major race.  This legislation has no estimated cost to the state, because sales taxes would only be 
diverted if PIR is selected as the site of a major race.  Since PIR does not currently serve as the site of this race, the 
diversion of any new sales taxes collected at this race would be considered foregone revenue.  (Effective August 25, 
2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 234 specified that sales tax rate increases do not apply for the first 120 days after the date of 
the rate increase for businesses that have preexisting contracts that were entered into before the effective date of the 
rate increase, unless the contract states that the purchaser is liable for any tax increase.  This act does not apply to 
prime contracting, since Laws 2003, Chapter 3 already exempted preexisting contracts from sales tax rate increases.  
Since no tax rate increases are currently scheduled, this legislation has no fiscal impact in FY 2005.  (Effective 
August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 240 provided an exemption from the transporting classification for fertilizer transported by 
railroad from one point in this state to another point in the state.  This bill is estimated to have no fiscal impact.  
(Effective October 1, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 242 allowed a motor vehicle manufacturer that repurchases a vehicle from a consumer under 
Arizona’s “lemon” laws to apply to the Department of Revenue for a refund of sales taxes if the manufacturer has 
refunded the tax to the consumer.  It is estimated that this legislation will cost the General Fund $(158,000) 
annually.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
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Laws 2004, Chapter 296 changed the requirements for a nonresident to obtain a special 30-day registration for a 
motor vehicle purchased in this state.  Nonresidents who receive a 30-day registration permit and whose home state 
has a reciprocity agreement with Arizona are required to pay either the sales tax rate of the purchaser’s home state or 
Arizona’s sales tax rate, whichever is lower.  The fiscal impact of this legislation cannot be determined.  (Effective 
August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 309 specified that architectural and engineering services that are incorporated into a 
contracting project are not subject to the transaction privilege tax under the prime contracting classification.  It 
authorized the Department of Revenue to provide refunds for taxes paid since October 17, 1969 on architectural or 
engineering services incorporated in a prime contracting contract.  The total amount of refunds is capped at 
$100,000.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 326 established sales tax exemptions for equipment purchased between July 1, 2004 and June 
30, 2014 by a qualified business for harvesting, transporting, or the initial processing of forest products.  It also 
provided a contracting tax exemption for the construction of any building or structure by a qualified business for 
harvesting, transporting, or the initial processing of forest products, as long as the construction begins before 
January 1, 2010.  These tax exemptions represent foregone sales tax revenues, and not a loss to the current General 
Fund base, if the equipment purchases and construction would not have occurred in the absence of the bill.  
(Effective June 3, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 337 created a way to determine the taxable gross proceeds for intrastate landline telephone 
calls that are part of a bundled transaction of services offered by telecommunications companies.  Taxpayers are to 
use the allocation percentages derived from the taxpayer’s nationwide service area to determine liability under the 
telecommunications classification of the sales tax.  There is no fiscal impact associated with this legislation.  
(Effective August 25, 2004)  
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1 appropriates $3,275,800 from the General Fund to DOR for a revenue 
generating plan.  See Laws 2003, Chapter 262 for a more complete explanation of this issue.  The program is 
projected to generate $5,838,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2003, of which $3,168,000 is 
attributable to the sales tax.  (Contained various effective dates.) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 3 stipulates that increases in the sales tax rate do not apply to contractors who have entered 
into contracts or submitted a written bid for a contract before the legislation becomes effective or the date of the 
election enacting the increase.  Since no tax rate increases are currently scheduled, this legislation has no fiscal 
impact in FY 2004.  (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 36 clarifies that the prime contracting tax exemption for installing a solar energy device 
includes both the contractor’s retail cost and the installation cost.  This bill is estimated to have no fiscal impact.  
(Effective retroactively to January 1, 1997) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 262 appropriates $6,552,000 from the General Fund to DOR for a revenue generating 
program.  The program is projected to generate new revenue through increased audit and collections activity.  It is 
expected to generate $53,249,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2004, of which $25,452,000 is 
attributable to the sales tax.  This act represents the annualization of the revenue generating program begun by Laws 
2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1.  (Contained various effective dates.) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 establishes a tax amnesty program, which allows DOR to abate or waive all or part of 
penalties and to impose reduced interest payments for tax liabilities for all qualifying taxpayers.  To qualify for the 
program, a taxpayer must pay at least one-third of the total amount due by October 31, 2003 and the entire balance 
due by May 1, 2004.  The amnesty program is projected to generate $25 million in additional General Fund revenues 
in FY 2004, of which $9.0 million is attributable to the sales tax.  This provision is repealed after June 30, 2004.  
The one-time revenue impact of the tax amnesty program has not been included in the tax law changes table at the 
beginning of this section. 
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In addition to this bill’s tax amnesty provisions, the bill also allows the Phoenix International Raceway to recapture 
up to $416,667 annually in state sales taxes generated at its facility to pay for improvement of a highway near the 
racetrack.  This sales tax diversion will be in place from FY 2007 through FY 2018. 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 267 provides a contracting tax exemption for contracts entered into before July 1, 2006 for 
constructing a state university research infrastructure project.  The project must be reviewed by the Joint Committee 
on Capital Review before the university enters into the construction contract.  The fiscal impact of this exemption is 
estimated to be $12.4 million in foregone General Fund revenues, spread over several years.  (Effective June 26, 
2003) 
 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 288 requires the Arizona Sports and Tourism Authority (AZSTA) to select a site host for the 
multipurpose facility by September 12, 2002, or seek voter approval for the continuation of the AZSTA.  If the 
voters terminate the AZSTA, the requirements that the Department of Revenue separately account for revenue 
collected in connection with a multipurpose facility, and that the tax revenues collected on professional athlete 
income be distributed to the AZSTA, would be repealed. 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 307 clarifies the definitions of lawn maintenance service and landscaping activities, and that 
income received from landscaping activities are subject to the contracting classification of the sales tax.  The fiscal 
impact of this legislation cannot be determined.  (Effective September 1, 2002) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/tpt.pdf
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Attachment A 
 

State and Local Retail Sales Tax Rates by City 
August 2008 
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Apache County                   Queen Creek 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.25 8.55 
  Eagar 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10   Scottsdale 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.65 7.95 
  St. Johns 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10   Surprise 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.20 8.50 
  Springerville 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10   Tempe 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.80 8.10 
Cochise County                   Tolleson 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.50 8.80 
  Benson 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60   Wickenburg 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.70 8.00 
  Bisbee 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60   Youngtown 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30 
  Douglas 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60 Mohave County                 
  Huachuca City 5.60 0.50 - - - - 1.50 7.60   Bullhead City 5.60 0.25 - - - - 2.00 7.85 
  Sierra Vista 5.60 0.50 - - - - 1.75 7.85   Colorado City 5.60 0.25 - - - - 2.00 7.85 
  Tombstone 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60   Kingman 5.60 0.25 - - - - 2.00 7.85 
  Willcox 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10   Lake Havasu City 5.60 0.25 - - - - 2.00 7.85 
Coconino County                 Navajo County                 
  Flagstaff 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 0.125 - 1.721 8.446   Holbrook 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10 
  Fredonia 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 0.125 - 4.00 10.73   Pinetop-Lakeside 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60 
  Page 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 0.125 - 3.00 9.73   Show Low 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10 
  Sedona 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 0.125 - 3.00 9.73   Snowflake 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10 
  Williams 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 0.125 - 3.00 9.73   Taylor 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10 
Gila County                   Winslow 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10 
  Globe 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.60 Pima County                 
  Hayden 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 3.00 9.60   Marana  5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.10 
  Miami 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 2.50 9.10   Oro Valley 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.10 
  Payson 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 2.12 8.72   Sahuarita 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.10 
  Star Valley 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.60   South Tucson 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.50 8.60 
  Winkelman 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - - 3.50 10.10   Tucson 5.60 - 0.50 - - - 2.00 8.10 
Graham County                 Pinal County                 
  Pima 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10   Apache Junction 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.20 8.90 
  Safford 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.50 8.60   Casa Grande 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.00 8.70 
  Thatcher 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10   Coolidge 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 3.00 9.70 
Greenlee County                   Eloy 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 3.00 9.70 
  Clifton 5.60 0.50 - - - - 3.00 9.10   Florence 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.00 8.70 
  Duncan 5.60 0.50 - - - - 2.00 8.10   Kearny  5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.50 9.20 
La Paz County                   Mammoth 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.00 8.70 
  Parker 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - - 2.00 8.60   Maricopa   5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.00 8.70 
  Quartzsite 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - - 2.50 9.10   Superior 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 2.00 8.70 
Maricopa County                   Winkelman 5.60 0.50 0.50 - - 0.10 3.50 10.20 
  Apache Junction 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.20 8.50 Santa Cruz County                 
  Avondale 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.50 8.80   Nogales 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - - 2.00 8.60 
  Buckeye 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.00 8.30   Patagonia 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - - 3.00 9.60 
  Carefree 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30 Yavapai County                 
  Cave Creek 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.50 8.80   Camp Verde 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.00 8.35 
  Chandler 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.50 7.80   Chino Valley 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 3.00 9.35 
  El Mirage 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30   Clarkdale 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.25 8.60 
  Fountain Hills 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.60 8.90   Cottonwood 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.20 8.55 
  Gila Bend 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30   Dewey-Humboldt 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.00 8.35 
  Gilbert 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.50 7.80   Jerome 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 3.00 9.35 
  Glendale 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.20 8.50   Prescott 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.00 8.35 
  Goodyear 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.00 8.30   Prescott Valley 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 2.33 8.68 
  Guadalupe 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 3.00 9.30   Sedona 5.60 0.50 - 0.25 - - 3.00 9.35 
  Litchfield Park 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.00 8.30 Yuma County                 
  Mesa 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.75 8.05   San Luis 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - 0.10 4.00 10.70 
  Paradise Valley  5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.65 7.95   Somerton 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - 0.10 2.50 9.20 
  Peoria 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 1.80 8.10   Wellton 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - 0.10 2.50 9.20 
  Phoenix 5.60 - 0.50 0.20 - - 2.00 8.30   Yuma 5.60 0.50 - 0.50 - 0.10 1.70 8.40 

 
SOURCE:  Arizona Tax Research Association.  
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The following information on sales tax exemptions and credits for FY 2007 is provided courtesy of the Department 
of Revenue. 
 

TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND USE TAX EXPENDITURES 
 
 Additional  
 Collections  
 at a 5% rate 
PREFERENTIAL TAX RATE CATEGORIES 
Nonmetalliferous Mining; Oil and Gas Production ............................................................................ $ 787,000 
Commercial Lease ..............................................................................................................................  376,083,000 
Rental Occupancy Tax........................................................................................................................         142,000 
Total Preferential Tax Rates............................................................................................................ $ 380,892,000 
 
CREDITS  
Accounting Credit............................................................................................................................... $ 24,530,000 
Total Credits ..................................................................................................................................... $ 24,530,000 
 
EXEMPTIONS  
Professional Scientific and Technical Services  
 Legal............................................................................................................................................ $ 127,957,000 
 Architectural and Engineering.....................................................................................................  146,761,000 
 Design Services ...........................................................................................................................  13,486,000 
 Computer System Design and Related Services..........................................................................  159,305,000 
 Management, Scientific and Technical Consulting .....................................................................  84,932,000 
 Market Research, Polling. ...........................................................................................................  5,193,000 
 Photographic Services .................................................................................................................  4,595,000 
 Veterinary Services .....................................................................................................................  18,134,000 
 Accounting, Tax Preparation & Bookkeeping.............................................................................    53,579,000 
Total Reportable Professional, Scientific and Technical Services...................................................... $ 613,942,000 
 
Health Care and Social Assistance Services:  
 Physicians.................................................................................................................................... $ 262,637,000 
 Dentists........................................................................................................................................  77,986,000 
 Chiropractors ...............................................................................................................................  12,155,000 
 Optometrists ................................................................................................................................  771,000 
 Mental Health Practitioners .........................................................................................................  2,475,000 
 Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapy...............................................................................  9,018,000 
 Podiatrists ....................................................................................................................................  3,126,000 
 Miscellaneous Health Practitioners .............................................................................................  3,333,000 
 Outpatient Care Center ................................................................................................................  73,909,000 
 Medical Diagnostic Labs.............................................................................................................  40,471,000 
 Home Health Services .................................................................................................................  26,695,000 
 Other Ambulatory Health Services..............................................................................................  12,618,000 
 Nursing and Residential Care Facilities ......................................................................................  98,073,000 
 Individual and Family Social Services ........................................................................................  36,872,000 
 Community Food and Housing, Emergency Relief Services ......................................................  19,787,000 
 Vocational Rehabilitation............................................................................................................      6,890,000 
Total Reportable Health Care and Social Assistance Services ........................................................... $ 686,815,000 
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Administrative and Business Support Services  
 Administrative and Support Services .......................................................................................... $ 192,426,000 
 Business Support Services...........................................................................................................  59,216,000 
 Services to Buildings and Dwellings...........................................................................................  92,182,000 1/ 
 Management of Companies .........................................................................................................  29,299,000 
 Investigation and Security ...........................................................................................................  29,221,000 
 Other Support Services................................................................................................................  55,484,000 
 Waste Management .....................................................................................................................    36,384,000 
Total Administrative and Business Support Services ......................................................................... $ 494,211,000 
 
Personal Care Services  
 Barber .......................................................................................................................................... $ 619,000 
 Beauty Salons ..............................................................................................................................  16,045,000 
 Nail Salons ..................................................................................................................................  745,000 
 Other Personal Care.....................................................................................................................  3,587,000 
 Death Care Services ....................................................................................................................  8,834,000 
 Drycleaner & Laundry.................................................................................................................  6,649,000 
 Pet Care (not Veterinary).............................................................................................................  1,540,000 
 Parking Lot/Garages....................................................................................................................    5,201,000 
Total Personal Care Services .............................................................................................................. $ 43,220,000 
 
Educational Services  
 Business School/Computer/Management Training ..................................................................... $   5,537,000 
 Technical and Trade Schools.......................................................................................................  16,785,000 
 Dance Schools .............................................................................................................................  1,230,000 
 Exam Preparation ........................................................................................................................  1,135,000 
 Driving Schools ...........................................................................................................................  962,000 
 Other Miscellaneous Schools ......................................................................................................     1,337,000 
Total Educational Services ................................................................................................................. $ 26,987,000 
 
Other Services  
 Automotive Repair and Maintenance .......................................................................................... $ 89,921,000 
 Electronic and Precision Repair and Maintenance ......................................................................  10,614,000 
 Commercial, Industrial Machinery Repair and Maintenance ......................................................  15,013,000 
 Personal and Household Goods Repair and Maintenance ...........................................................     6,891,000 
Total Other Services ........................................................................................................................... $ 122,440,000 
 
Wholesale Trade ................................................................................................................................. $3,469,265,000 
Cash Discounts ...................................................................................................................................  NIA* 
Trade-Ins.............................................................................................................................................  NIA* 
Sale of Warranty or Service Contracts ............................................................................................... $ 16,860,000 2/ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
____________ 
* No Information Available.  
1/ A portion of these services many be taxable.  
2/ This is a FY 2006 value.  FY 2007 data will be available at a later date.  
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Sale of Tangible Personal Property by a Nonprofit Organization ......................................................  NIA 
Sale of Stocks and Bonds ...................................................................................................................  NIA 
Prescription Drugs and Medical Oxygen............................................................................................  290,741,000 2/ 
Eyeglasses and Contact Lenses, Insulin, Insulin Syringe and Glucose Test Strips,  
 Prosthetic Appliances, Hearing Aids and Durable Medical Equipment ......................................  8,164,000 2/ 
Sales to Nonresidents for use outside Arizona if the Property is Shipped or Delivered Outside 
 the State .......................................................................................................................................  68,508,000 2/ 
Food for Home Consumption .............................................................................................................  471,081,000 2/ 
Textbooks that are required by any State University or Community College ....................................  1,737,000 2/ 
Meals provided to Employees of Restaurants.....................................................................................  9,160,000 
Food used in School Lunches .............................................................................................................  NIA 
Sale of Arizona Lottery Tickets..........................................................................................................  23,110,000 
Precious Metal Bullion and Monetized Bullion..................................................................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property Sold to a Qualifying Hospital or a Qualifying  
 Health Care Organization ............................................................................................................  30,267,000 
Tangible Personal Property Sold to or Purchased by Qualifying Community  
 Health Centers and Health Care Organizations ...........................................................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property Sold to a Non-Profitable Organization which  
 regularly serves Meals to the Needy and Indigent.......................................................................  668,000 2/ 
Tangible Personal Property Sold to a Non-Profitable Organization which provides  
 Housing for Low Income Persons over Sixty-Two Years ...........................................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds from Contracts to Build Housing for Nonprofits to  
 House Low Income Persons over Sixty-Two Years....................................................................  NIA 
Magazines or other Periodicals or other Publications to encourage  
 Tourist Travel ..............................................................................................................................  NIA 
Sale of Articles to a Contractor for Incorporation or Fabrication  
 under a Contract ..........................................................................................................................  485,358,000 
Sale of Articles to be Incorporated into a Manufactured Product.......................................................  863,496,000 
Exempt Motor Vehicle Sales (certain nonresidents and Indians) .......................................................  32,824,000 
Tangible Personal Property Purchased by a Nonprofit Charitable Organization that uses  
 such Property for Training, etc., for Mentally or Physically Handicapped Persons ....................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property Sold by a Nonprofit Organization associated with a Major League  
 Baseball Team or a National Touring Professional Golf Association .........................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property sold by a Nonprofit Organization associated with a Rodeo  
 featuring primarily Farm and Ranch Animals .............................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Commodities under Futures Contracts Consigned to a Warehouse for Resale .....................  NIA 
Seeds, Seedlings, Roots, Bulbs, Cuttings and Other Propogative Material used to Commercially  
 Produce Agricultural, Horticultural, Viticultural or Floricultural Crops in Arizona ..................  1,323,000 2/ 
Machinery, Equipment and Certain Supplies used to assist the Physically or  
 Developmentally Disabled or those Persons with Head Injuries.................................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property Shipped or Delivered Directly to a Foreign Country for use  
 in that Country.............................................................................................................................  2,854,000 2/ 
Sales of Natural Gas or Liquefied Petroleum Gas used to Propel a Motor Vehicle ...........................  4,462,000 2/ 
Paper Machine Clothing used or consumed in Paper Manufacturing.................................................  NIA* 
Machinery, Equipment, Utility Product, Materials and Other Tangible Personal  
 Property used to Construct a Qualified Environmental Technology Facility ..............................  NIA 
Sales of Coal, Petroleum, Coke, Natural Gas, Virgin Fuel Oil and Electricity to an  
 Environmental Technology Facility ............................................................................................  522,000 2/ 
Sales of Liquid, Solid or Gaseous Chemicals used in Manufacturing, Processing,  
 Fabricating, Mining, Refining, Metallurgical Operations or Research and Development ..........  749,000 2/ 
Sales of Food or Drink consumed on the Premises of a Jail, Prison...................................................  567,000 2/ 
 
 
 
 
____________ 
* No Information Available.  
2/ This is a FY 2006 value.  FY 2007 data will be available at a later date.  
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Motor Vehicles and any Tangible Personal Property or Repair that becomes a part of the  
 Motor Vehicles sold to a Licensed Motor Operator that Lease or Rent the Property..................  18,490,000 2/ 
Livestock, Poultry, Feed and Supplies for use or consumption in the Businesses of Farming,  
 Ranching and Feeding Livestock and Poultry. ............................................................................  NIA 
Sale or Purchase of Implants used as Growth Promotants and Injectable Medicine ..........................  139,000 2/ 
Sales of Motor Vehicles at Auction to Nonresidents of this State for use Outside of this State.........  2,401,000 2/ 
Personal Hygiene Products which are Furnished to and to be consumed by Hotel Occupant............  NIA 
Sales or Purchases of Alternative Fuel to a Used Oil Fuel Burner .....................................................  NIA 
Printed, Photographic, Electronic or Digital Media Materials for use in Publicly  
 Funded Libraries..........................................................................................................................  87,000 2/ 
Tangible Personal Property consisting of Food, Beverages and Condiments  
 Sold to or Purchased by a Commercial Airline ...........................................................................  466,000 2/ 
Sale of New Alternative Fuel Vehicles and Conversion Equipment ..................................................  NIA 
Sale of Spirituous, Vinous or Malt Liquor by a Liquor Wholesaler ...................................................  NIA 
Property to be Incorporated as part of Environmental Response or  
 Remediation Activities ................................................................................................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property by a Nonprofit that Produces, Organizes or Promotes Cultural or  
 Civic Related Festivals ................................................................................................................  NIA 
Machinery or Equipment used directly in Manufacturing, Processing, Fabricating,  
 Job Printing, Refining or Metallurgical Operations.....................................................................  57,106,000 
Sale of Machinery or Equipment used in Mining and in Drilling for or Extracting Oil or  
 Gas from the Earth ......................................................................................................................  12,064,000 2/ 
Certain Equipment used in the Telecommunications Industry ...........................................................  NIA 
Machinery, Equipment or Transmission Lines used directly in Producing or  
 Transmitting Electrical Power .....................................................................................................  49,903,000 2/ 
Neat Animals, Horses, Asses, Sheep, Swine or Goats used or to be used as breeding  
 or production stock......................................................................................................................  NIA 
Pipes or Valves Four Inches in Diameter used to Transport Oil, Natural Gas,  
 Artificial Gas, Water or Coal Slurry............................................................................................  13,887,000 2/ 
Certain Aircraft, Navigational and Communication Instruments .......................................................  1,557,000 2/ 
Machinery, Tools, Equipment used in Repairing, Remodeling or Maintaining  
 Aircraft, Aircraft Engines or Aircraft Component Parts..............................................................  NIA* 
Railroad Rolling Stock, Rails, Ties and Signal Control Equipment used to  
 Transport Persons or Property for Hire .......................................................................................  NIA 
Buses or Other Urban Mass Transit Vehicles used to Transport Persons for Hire or  
 Pursuant to a Governmentally Adopted and Controlled Urban Mass Transportation Program...  NIA 
Certain Groundwater Measuring Devices and their Installation.........................................................  NIA 
New Machinery and Equipment used for Commercial Production of Agricultural,  
 Horticultural, Viticultural and Floricultural Crops ......................................................................  NIA 
Machinery or Equipment used in Research and Development ...........................................................  NIA 
Machinery and Equipment Purchased by or on Behalf of Owners of a Soundstage Complex ...........  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property used by any Direct Broadcast Satellite Television or  
 Data Transmission Service or Facility.........................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Services by Direct Broadcast Satellite Television Services..................................................  NIA 
Clean Rooms used for Manufacturing, Processing Fabrication or Research and Development.........  NIA 
Gross Income from Installation, Assembly, Repair or Maintenance Clean Rooms............................  NIA 
Machinery and Equipment used in the Feeding of Poultry or Production and Packaging of Eggs.....  NIA 
Machinery and Equipment used to meet Land, Water and Air Quality Standards .............................  NIA 
Machinery and Equipment used by Agriculture to Prevent, Monitor, Control 
 or Reduce Pollution .....................................................................................................................  NIA 
 
 
____________ 
* No Information Available.  
2/ This is a FY 2006 value.  FY 2007 data will be available at a later date.  
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Digital Television Machinery and Equipment Purchases for Compliance with the  
 Telecommunications Act of 1996................................................................................................  NIA 
Machinery and Equipment Sold or Rented to a Healthy Forest Certified Business ...........................  56,000 2/ 
Machinery, Equipment and Tangible Personal Property used directly in Motion Picture  
 Production by a Motion Picture Production Company................................................................  NIA 
Portion of Sales Price of Luxury Automobiles that reflects the Federal Luxury Excise Tax .............  NIA 
Portion of Sales Price of Use Fuel that reflects the Federal Luxury Excise Tax ................................  NIA 
Gross Income from Machinery, Equipment and Materials used directly to Construct a  
 Qualified Environmental Technology Facility ............................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Overhead Materials or Other Tangible Personal Property to a Manufacturer,  
 Modifier, Assembler or Repairer if performing a Contract between the  
 United States Government and the Manufacturer........................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Tangible Personal Property made to the United States Government 
 not deducted under A.R.S. § 42-5061L .......................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Income from Motor Vehicle Manufacturer’s Cash Rebates if Assigned  
 to the Retailer ..............................................................................................................................  14,902,000 2/ 
Gross Income derived from the Waste Tire Disposal Fee ..................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Solar Energy Devices............................................................................................................  538,000 2/ 
Sales of Wireless Telecommunication Equipment as an Inducement to Enter into or  
 Continue a Contract for Telecommunication Services or Sales Commissions Received ............  NIA* 
Ambulances or Ambulance Services ..................................................................................................  NIA 
Public Transportation Services for Dial-A-Ride Programs and Special Needs  
 Transportation Services ...............................................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds for Transporting Freight or Property by an Exclusively Arizona  
 Railroad for Portions of Single Shipments Involving Other Railroads .......................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds for Arranging Transportation as a Convenience or Service to a Customer  
 if the Business is not otherwise engaged in the Transportation Business....................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds of Sales or Gross Income Derived from Transporting for Hire Persons,  
 Freight or Property by a Railroad Pursuant to a Contract with Another Railroad.......................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds of Sales or Gross Income Derived from Transporting Fertilizer  
 by a Railroad from a Point in this State to Another Point in this State........................................  NIA 
Sales of Electricity to a Distributor.....................................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Alternative Fuel to a Used Oil Fuel Burner ..........................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Electric Services to a Retail Electric Customer who is Located Outside this  
 State for Delivery and Use Outside the State ..............................................................................  NIA 
Revenues Received by a Municipally Owned Utility in the Form of Fees  
 Charged to Persons Constructing Residential, Commercial or Industrial Developments............  NIA 
Revenues Received by Any Person Owning a Utility System in the Form of  
 Reimbursement or Contribution Compensation for Property and Equipment 
 Installed to Provide Utility Access to, on or across the Land of an Actual Utility Consumer.....  NIA 
Interstate Sales of Electricity, Natural Gas & Water ..........................................................................  NIA 
Interstate Telecommunication Services ..............................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Intrastate Telecommunications Services by a Cable Television System or  
 by a Microwave Television Transmission System ......................................................................  31,555,000 
Sales of Internet Access Services .......................................................................................................  919,000 2/ 
End User Common Line Charges and Carrier Access Charges Established by Federal  
 Communications Regulations......................................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Direct Broadcast Satellite Television Services .....................................................................  NIA 
Manufacturing or Publishing Books ...................................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Income of Publications Derived from Advertising...................................................................  32,200,000 
Sales to a Person who Distributes Printing, Engraving, Embossing or  
 Copying without consideration in connection with the Publication of a  
 Newspaper or Magazine ..............................................................................................................  NIA 
 
 
____________ 
* No Information Available.  
2/ This is a FY 2006 value.  FY 2007 data will be available at a later date.  
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Sales of Job Printing, Engraving, Embossing, and Copying for use Outside the State  
 if the Materials are Shipped or Delivered Out of the State..........................................................  NIA 
Sales of Postage and Freight...............................................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Job Printing, Engraving, Embossing or Copying to a Motion  
 Picture Production Company.......................................................................................................  NIA 
Leasing or Renting Four or Fewer Rooms of an Owner Occupied Residence  
 Bed and Breakfast with less than 50% Average Annual Occupancy ..........................................  NIA* 
Leasing Films, Tapes or Slides Used by Theaters or Movies or used by Television  
 Stations or Radio Stations ...........................................................................................................  NIA 
Operating Coin Operated Washing, Drying and Dry Cleaning Machines..........................................  NIA 
Operating Coin Operated Car Washing Machines..............................................................................  NIA 
Leasing or Renting Personal Property for Incorporation into a Qualified  
 Environmental Technology Facility ............................................................................................  NIA 
Leasing or Renting Aircraft or Training Equipment by a Non-Profit School Offering  
 Aviation and Aerospace Degrees ................................................................................................  NIA 
Leasing or Renting Photographs, Transparencies or Other Creative Works used by  
 this State on Internet Web Sites, in Magazines or Other Publications that encourage  
 Tourism .......................................................................................................................................  NIA 
Amounts Received by a Motor Vehicle Dealer for the First Month of a Lease Payment  
 if the Lease is Transferred to a Third Party .................................................................................  6,842,000 2/ 
Freight Charges Relating Nonmetalliferous Mineral Products...........................................................  NIA 
Tuition and Fees Paid to Universities & Community Colleges ..........................................................  NIA 
Private or Group Instructional Activities and Membership and Initiation Fees for Health  
 or Fitness Clubs or Private Recreational Establishments with Memberships  
 Greater than 28 Days ...................................................................................................................  NIA 
Events Sponsored by the Arizona Coliseum & Exposition Board......................................................  NIA 
Musical, Dramatic or Dance groups or a Botanical Garden, Museum or Zoo that qualifies  
 as a Nonprofit Charitable Organization.......................................................................................  NIA 
Sales of Admissions to Intercollegiate Football Contests...................................................................  266,000 
Fees and Assessments received by a Homeowner’s Organization .....................................................  NIA 
Arranging an Amusement Activity as a Service to a Person’s Customers .........................................  NIA 
Sales by a Congressionally Chartered Veterans Organization of Food or Drink................................  NIA 
Sales by Churches, Fraternal Benefit Societies and Other Nonprofit  
 Organizations which do not regularly Engage or Continue in the Restaurant Business  
 for the purpose of Fund Raising ..................................................................................................  NIA 
Restaurant Sales to Qualifying Hospital .............................................................................................  NIA 
Wages & Salaries for Labor Employed in Construction.....................................................................  640,249,000 2/ 
Sale Price of Land...............................................................................................................................  81,029,000 2/ 
Contracting in a Military Reuse Zone for a Manufacturer, Assembler or Fabricator  
 of Aviation or Aerospace Product ...............................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds from Contracts to Construct a Qualified Environmental Technology ......................  
 Facility.........................................................................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds of Sales from a Contract to Provide Response to a Release or Suspected  
 Release of a Hazardous Substance ..............................................................................................  NIA 
Gross Proceeds of Sales from a Contract to Install, Assemble, Repair or Maintain  
 Machinery that does not become permanently attached ..............................................................  NIA 
Income received from a Contract for Constructing a Lake Facility Development  
 in a Commercial Enhancement Reuse District ............................................................................  NIA 
Income from Contracts for Construction of Facilities for Raising Egg Producing  
 Poultry, or the Production and Packaging of Eggs ......................................................................  NIA* 
 
 
 
 
 
____________ 
* No Information Available.  
2/ This is a FY 2006 value.  FY 2007 data will be available at a later date.  
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Tangible Personal Property not exceeding $200 Purchased by an Individual at Retail  
 Outside the Continental United States – USE TAX ONLY ........................................................  NIA 
Purchases made by a Residential Care Institution that is operated in  
 conjunction with Licensed Nursing Care Institutions – USE TAX ONLY.................................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property Purchased by a Nonprofit Charitable Organization 
 from the Parent or Affiliate Organization located Out of State- USE TAX ONLY ....................  NIA 
Motor Vehicles Removed from Inventory and Provided to Charitable or Educational  
 Institutions or State Universities or their Affiliated Organization- USE TAX ONLY................  NIA 
Tangible Personal Property which directly enters into or becomes an Ingredient  
 or Part of Cards used as Prescription Plan Identification Cards - USE TAX ONLY ..................                  NIA 
Total Exemptions .............................................................................................................................. $8,733,990,000 
 
TOTAL QUANTIFIABLE TRANSACTION PRIVILEGE AND  
 USE TAX EXPENDITURES 3/................................................................................................ $9,139,532,000 
 
Value of Exemptions from the Proposition 301-Education Tax......................................................... $1,048,079,000 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
____________ 
3/ These expenditures represent foregone revenues to the state General Fund, counties and incorporated 

cities/towns.   
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USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The use tax is assessed on items purchased in other states and brought into Arizona for storage, use, or consumption, 
and for which no tax (or tax at a lesser rate) has been paid in another state.  The use tax serves to protect Arizona 
retailers from out-of-state competition by attempting to ensure that in-state and out-of-state purchases are taxed at an 
equal rate. 
 
Beginning in June 2001, the use tax rate rose from 5.0% to 5.6%, with the extra 0.6% being dedicated to education.  
This tax increase was approved by voters and is commonly known as Proposition 301. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Use tax revenues are virtually all deposited in the General Fund, except that 20% of use tax revenues collected from 
the sale of electricity are deposited in the distribution base. 
 
Table 1 

USE TAX COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund 
FY 2008 $340,909,535 FY 1998 $136,473,801 
FY 2007 $303,010,863 FY 1997 $119,600,758 
FY 2006 $306,198,808 FY 1996 $113,964,912 
FY 2005 $259,615,656 FY 1995 $104,480,933 
FY 2004 $232,216,222 FY 1994 $97,492,637 
FY 2003 $189,684,520 FY 1993 $84,424,541 
FY 2002 $162,022,998 FY 1992 $83,023,743 
FY 2001 $196,147,647 FY 1991 $82,625,028 
FY 2000 $175,730,649 FY 1990 $61,708,485 
FY 1999 $147,642,017 FY 1989 $64,805,718 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 
 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Individuals and Businesses 
The tax is paid by persons who make retail purchases of tangible personal property outside this state and store, use, 
or consume the item in Arizona.  If a sales tax has already been paid on the item in another state, the Arizona use tax 
does not apply.  The use tax is due, for example, when an Arizona resident purchases goods over the Internet from 
an out-of-state retailer and has the item delivered to this state (see the Internet Taxation section in the Transaction 
Privilege Tax section of this book).  In practice, the use tax is primarily paid by businesses.  Individuals are also 
liable for the use tax but rarely pay it, because individuals are often unaware of the tax or are unwilling to 
“voluntarily” report a taxable transaction [A.R.S. § 42-5155]. 
 
Tribal Members and Businesses 
Purchases made on the reservation by Indian tribal members are not subject to the use tax.  This exclusion applies to 
affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted 
membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Purchases made on the reservation by non-Indian or non-affiliated Indians are subject to the use tax if the property 
will be stored, used, or consumed in Arizona. 
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Purchases made by Indian tribal members off the reservation are subject to the use tax.  Sales of tangible personal 
property to an Indian tribal member, however, are not subject to the use tax if the solicitation, delivery and payment 
of the goods take place on the reservation. 
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state use tax on tribal members.  Thus, 
to facilitate the administration of state use tax on Indian reservations, the Department of Revenue has adopted use 
tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent ruling, which is reflected in the 
description above, was issued in April 1995 and is referred to as TPR 95-11. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is the sales price of tangible personal property purchased at retail in another state and brought to 
Arizona for storage, use, or consumption.  Statute mentions a few special cases in which the use tax is also 
applicable, including tangible personal property provided under the conditions of a warranty or service contract, 
motor vehicles removed from inventory, and motor vehicles used by motor vehicle manufacturers [A.R.S. § 42-5155 
– 5158]. 
 
As with the retail sales tax, the law provides a number of exemptions from the use tax.  The effect of these 
exemptions is to reduce the size of the use tax base [A.R.S. § 42-5155]. 
 
The use tax rate is 5.6%, the same as the Transaction Privilege Tax rate for retail sales.  However, if the item has 
already been taxed in another state at a rate less than 5.6%, the use tax rate is reduced by the amount of the tax 
already imposed by the other state [A.R.S. § 42-5155 and § 42-5159]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Use taxes are due to the Department of Revenue on the 20th day of the month after the month in which the tax 
accrues.  For example, for taxable sales made in January, the tax payment is due to the department by February 20 
[A.R.S. § 42-5162]. 
 
Tax payments are delinquent if not postmarked on or before the 25th day of the month or received by the 
Department of Revenue on or before the next-to-last business day of the month [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. 
 
The department may allow taxpayers whose estimated annual use tax liability is between $500 and $1,250 to make 
quarterly tax payments.  Also, the department may permit taxpayers with an estimated annual tax liability of less 
than $500 to make an annual payment.  If good cause is shown, the department can allow a 2-month extension for 
filing the tax return [A.R.S. § 42-5162]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
The following tax law changes apply only to the use tax.  Tax law changes that apply to both the use tax and the 
transaction privilege tax are included in the Transaction Privilege Tax section of the Tax Handbook. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2003, 2006 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 60 established a use tax exception for the purchase of solar energy devices from a retailer that 
is registered with the Department of Revenue as a solar energy retailer or as a solar energy contractor.  The fiscal 
impact of this legislation can not be determined. (Effective December 31, 2006) 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 196 established a percentage based reporting method for determining use tax payments.  
Statute authorizes businesses that annually make over $500,000 in purchases to self-assess and make direct use tax 
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payments to the Department of Revenue.  Prior to enactment of this legislation, calculation of the tax was based on 
actual purchases.  The act authorized businesses to instead make the calculation based on a sampling of purchases.  
The fiscal impact of this legislation can not be determined.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 249 required the Department of Transportation (ADOT) to deduct a taxpayer’s use tax liability 
from any use fuel tax refund.  Currently, if use (diesel) fuel is consumed for a non-highway purpose, it is exempt 
from the use fuel tax and ADOT refunds the taxes paid.  Use fuel that is consumed for a non-highway purpose is 
subject to the use tax.  Under this legislation, ADOT will make sure the use tax is paid before issuing a refund of use 
fuel taxes.  The act is estimated to not have a revenue impact.  (Effective January 1, 2005) 
 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 338 provides that businesses that purchase at least $500,000 worth of tangible personal 
property annually may obtain a use tax permit and pay use taxes directly to the Department of Revenue.  Previously, 
out-of-state vendors were required to register with the Department of Revenue, and collect the use tax from the 
purchaser and remit the Department of Revenue.  It is estimated that this legislation may have a small positive 
impact on use tax collections due to increased compliance, however the amount is undetermined.  (Effective 
December 31, 2002) 
 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/usetax.pdf
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SEVERANCE TAX ON METALLIFEROUS MINERALS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The severance tax on metalliferous minerals (copper or other metals) is levied on the production or extraction from 
the earth of minerals.  The tax rate is 2.5%, and it is applied to 50% of the difference between the gross value of 
production and the production costs. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Eighty percent of metalliferous minerals tax revenue is designated as distribution base and is distributed as described 
in the Transaction Privilege Tax section of this book.  The remaining 20% is designated for the General Fund.  Of 
the distribution base monies, 34.49% is allocated to the General Fund, 40.51% is designated to the counties, and 
25% goes to the cities [A.R.S. § 42-5205]. 
 
Table 1 

TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 
FY 2008 $20,822,267 $8,750,323 $14,179,023 $43,751,613 
FY 2007 $20,725,843 $8,709,801 $14,113,362 $43,549,006 
FY 2006 $14,486,992 $6,087,995 $9,864,986 $30,439,973 
FY 2005 $7,804,650 $3,279,819 $5,314,617 $16,399,086 
FY 2004 $3,112,796 $1,308,118 $2,119,674 $6,540,588 
FY 2003 $539,399 $224,889 $361,945 $1,126,233 
FY 2002 $ (49,954) $(21,400) $(35,237) $(106,591) 
FY 2001 1/ $56 $1,609,331 $2,607,994 $4,217,380 
FY 2000 $3,554,565 $3,237,959 $5,247,042 $12,039,566 
FY 1999 $8,914,656 $3,746,283 $6,070,478 $18,731,417 
FY 1998 $12,884,325 $5,414,492 $8,773,643 $27,072,460 
FY 1997 $12,875,213 $5,410,663 $8,767,438 $27,053,314 
FY 1996 $19,540,585 $8,211,710 $13,306,254 $41,058,549 
FY 1995 $17,901,380 $7,522,853 $12,190,030 $37,614,263 
FY 1994 $11,618,342 $4,690,868 $7,145,130 $23,454,340 
FY 1993 $13,804,934 $5,573,698 $8,489,856 $27,868,488 
FY 1992 $13,883,704 $5,585,313 $8,507,549 $27,926,566 
FY 1991 $13,911,842 $6,020,608 $9,170,591 $30,103,041 
FY 1990 2/    $29,552,883 
FY 1989    $30,906,899 

____________ 
1/  Note Laws 1999, 1st Special Session, Chapter 5. 
2/  Distribution amounts are not available for FY 1989 - FY 1990.  
 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by “severers”, persons engaged in the business of mining metalliferous minerals from the earth 
[A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5201].  
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TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The severance tax on metalliferous minerals is levied at the rate of 2.5% on a tax base that is 50% of the difference 
between the gross value of production and the production costs [A.R.S. § 42-5202 and § 42-5204]. 
 
Metalliferous minerals are defined as copper, gold, silver, or other metals or ores that are mined in this state [A.R.S. 
§ 42-5201]. 
 
The tax does not apply to metalliferous products sold at retail [A.R.S. § 42-5203].  These items are taxed by the 
transaction privilege tax. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Tax payments for this tax are due on the same schedule as the transaction privilege tax [A.R.S. § 42-5205]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.   
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2002 through 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/severtax.pdf
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JET FUEL EXCISE AND USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The jet fuel excise tax is a tax levied on the retail sale of jet fuel.  The jet fuel use tax is a tax levied on the storage, 
use, or consumption in the state of jet fuel purchased from a retailer [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Forty percent of the excise tax revenue collected is designated as distribution base, and is distributed as described in 
the Transaction Privilege Tax section of this book.  Sixty percent of the excise tax revenue and 100% of the use tax 
revenue is credited directly to the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5353].  Tables 1 and 2 below provide a history of 
jet fuel excise tax and use tax distributions since the taxes became effective on October 31, 1991. 
 

Table 1 
DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL EXCISE TAX 

 
Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 

FY 2008 $3,421,347 $462,874 $752,020 $4,636,291 
FY 2007 $3,584,305 $485,704 $787,036 $4,857,045 
FY 2006 $4,471,848 $605,974 $981,921 $6,059,743 
FY 2005 $3,941,095 $534,053 $865,378 $5,340,526 
FY 2004 $3,833,833 $519,518 $841,826 $5,195,177 
FY 2003 $4,308,588 $583,851 $946,073 $5,838,512 
FY 2002 $4,167,728 $564,764 $915,143 $5,647,635 
FY 2001 $4,333,585 $587,239 $951,561 $5,872,385 
FY 2000 $3,838,375 $519,727 $842,165 $5,200,267 
FY 1999 $3,645,555 $494,004 $800,485 $4,940,044 
FY 1998 $3,767,232 $510,493 $827,203 $5,104,928 
FY 1997 $3,411,961 $462,351 $749,193 $4,623,505 
FY 1996 $3,135,681 $424,912 $688,527 $4,249,120 
FY 1995 $3,462,468 $469,194 $760,282 $4,691,944 
FY 1994 $3,889,868 $520,258 $792,457 $5,202,583 
FY 1993 $5,194,309 $694,724 $1,058,203 $6,947,236 
FY 1992 $3,869,796 $517,574 $788,368 $5,175,738 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.   

 

 
Table 2 

DISTRIBUTION OF JET FUEL USE TAX 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $1,045,498 FY 1999 $458,118 
FY 2007 $906,377 FY 1998 $394,789 
FY 2006 $724,106 FY 1997 $532,451 
FY 2005 $890,252 FY 1996 $613,252 
FY 2004 $724,543 FY 1995 $421,116 
FY 2003 $501,537 FY 1994 $490,721 
FY 2002 $728,989 FY 1993 $725,335 
FY 2001 $740,281 FY 1992 $550,908 
FY 2000 $835,615   

    
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.   
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WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The excise tax is paid by every person engaging or continuing in the retail sale of jet fuel.  The use tax is levied on 
the storage, use, or consumption in Arizona of jet fuel purchased from a retailer in any case in which the excise tax 
has not been paid to the state [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax rate is 3.05¢ per gallon on the first 10 million gallons of jet fuel.  The tax on amounts over 10 million 
gallons was reduced from 3.05¢ per gallon to 2.05¢ per gallon in FY 1993, to 1.05¢ per gallon in FY 1994, and is 
not subject to tax in FY 1995 and thereafter [A.R.S. § 42-5352]. 
 
The jet fuel excise tax does not apply to jet fuel that is sold in Arizona to commercial airlines and used on flights 
that originate in the state and whose first outbound destination is outside of the United States [A.R.S. § 42-5354].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Taxes are collected and due in the same manner as for Transaction Privilege Taxes. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/jetfuel.pdf
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RENTAL OCCUPANCY TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The rental occupancy tax is imposed on tenants of real property whose lease was entered into prior to December 1, 
1967.  It is intended to be a substitute for the transaction privilege tax on rentals of real property where the landlord 
cannot pass the tax on to tenants in the form of a rent increase because of the long-standing fixed nature of the lease 
price.  The tax rate is 3% of the tenant’s rent. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminated the rental occupancy tax, effective November 1, 2006. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Revenues from the rental occupancy tax are distributed between the state, the counties, and the cities.   
 
• Two-thirds of the tax revenues collected are designated as Distribution Base and is distributed as described in 

the Transaction Privilege Tax section of this book.  The Department of Revenue shall determine each county’s 
share of the Distribution Base on the basis of occupancy in each county. 

• One-third of the tax revenues are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-5409]. 
 
Table 1 

TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 
FY 2008 $(44,875) $(13,377) $(21,733) $(79,985) 1/ 
FY 2007 $17,704 $5,285 $8,564 $31,553 
FY 2006 $58,139 $17,356 $28,123 $103,618 
FY 2005 $40,554 $12,107 $19,618 $72,279 
FY 2004 $70,857 $21,062 $34,128 $126,047 
FY 2003 $24,120 $7,138 $11,566 $42,824 
FY 2002 $100,837 $29,840 $48,352 $179,029 
FY 2001 $82,743 $24,485 $39,675 $146,903 
FY 2000 $63,092 $18,670 $30,252 $112,014 
FY 1999 $66,455 $19,665 $31,865 $117,985 
FY 1998 $71,158 $21,056 $34,120 $126,334 
FY 1997 $55,632 $16,462 $26,675 $98,769 
FY 1996 $59,739 $17,677 $28,644 $106,060 
FY 1995 $55,917 $16,547 $26,812 $99,276 
FY 1994 $56,919 $16,372 $24,938 $98,229 
FY 1993 $49,874 $14,346 $21,851 $86,071 
FY 1992 $54,161 $15,579 $23,730 $93,470 
FY 1991 $62,738 $18,061 $27,510 $108,359 
FY 1990    $91,832 
FY 1989    $92,239 

____________ 
1/ Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminated the rental occupancy tax, effective November 1, 2006.  These amounts 
 represent refunds of previously collected tax revenues. 

     
 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by landlords who collect the tax from the tenant together with the rental payment or by any tenant 
from whom no tax has been collected by the landlord [A.R.S. § 42-5406]. 
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TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The rental occupancy tax is levied at a rate of 3% on tenants of preexisting leases for the privilege of occupancy 
[A.R.S. § 42-5404].  A preexisting lease is defined as any written lease or rental agreement entered into prior to 
December 1, 1967 [A.R.S. § 42-5401].   
 
Exceptions to Preexisting Lease.  The following are exempt from the rental occupancy tax: 
 
• Any bilateral amendment to a lease or rental agreement entered into after December 1, 1967 that lengthens the 

term of the lease or changes the size of the premises leased. 
• A lease or rental agreement for the following businesses:  hotels, guest houses, dude ranches, resorts, rooming 

houses, apartment houses, office buildings, automobile storage garages, parking lots, and tourist camps 
[A.R.S. § 42-5401]. 

 
Other Exemptions from this tax: 
 
• Occupancy by any tenant who is exempt under the Constitution or laws of the United States or Arizona. 
• Occupancy under a lease entered into prior to December 1, 1967 which the Constitution or laws of the United 

States or Arizona would prohibit from taxing if the landlord were the tenant. 
• Leasing or renting of property when such property is used by the lessee as a principal or permanent place of 

residence [A.R.S. § 42-5405]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
On or before the last day of each month, the landlord shall pay taxes on rents received during the previous calendar 
month.  An extension may be granted for good cause, but not beyond the last day of the second month following the 
regular due date [A.R.S. § 42-5407].  
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.   
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2002 to 2005, 2007, and 2008. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminated the rental occupancy tax.  The state revenue impact is estimated to be 
$(60,000) in FY 2007 and $(72,000) per year in subsequent fiscal years.  (Effective November 1, 2006) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/rentaltax.pdf
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SEVERANCE TAX ON TIMBER 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The severance tax on timber is levied on the production of timber products.  Timber products include poles, saw 
logs, pulpwood, and firewood. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminated the severance on timber products, effective November 1, 2006. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Eighty percent of timber severance tax revenue is designated as distribution base and is distributed as described in 
the Transaction Privilege Tax section of this book.  The remaining 20% is designated for the General Fund.  Of the 
distribution base monies, 34.49% is allocated to the General Fund, 40.51% is designated to the counties, and 25% 
goes to the cities [A.R.S. § 42-5205]. 
 
Table 1 

TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

Fiscal Year General Fund Cities Counties Total 
FY 2008 $2,259 $949 $1,538 $4,746 
FY 2007 $5,371 $2,257 $3,658 $11,286 
FY 2006 $15,769 $6,627 $10,738 $33,134 
FY 2005 $19,346 $8,130 $13,166 $40,642 
FY 2004 $5,098 $2,143 $3,471 $10,711 
FY 2003 $2,455 $1,032 $1,672 $5,159 
FY 2002 $6,561 $2,757 $4,467 $13,785 
FY 2001 $521 $219 $355 $1,095 
FY 2000 $6,150 $2,584 $4,188 $12,922 
FY 1999 $19,160 $8,053 $13,047 $40,260 
FY 1998 $24,812 $10,426 $16,894 $52,132 
FY 1997 $19,781 $8,312 $13,470 $41,563 
FY 1996 $21,720 $9,127 $14,791 $45,638 
FY 1995 $124,045 $52,129 $84,469 $260,643 
FY 1994 $131,612 $53,138 $80,939 $265,689 
FY 1993 $209,243 $84,481 $128,681 $422,405 
FY 1992 $232,679 $93,943 $143,094 $469,716 
FY 1991 $175,944 $71,037 $108,204 $355,185 
FY 1990 1/    $543,461 
FY 1989    $563,534 

 

____________ 
1/  Distribution by jurisdiction not available prior to FY 1991. 
 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by individuals engaged in the business of producing timber products [A.R.S. § 42-5202]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
This tax is imposed on timbering activities that result in timber products, such as poles, saw logs, pulpwood, or 
firewood.  An exemption is provided for timber products sold at retail [A.R.S. § 42-5202].  The tax rate is: 
 
• $2.13 per 1,000 board feet for timber products derived from ponderosa pine. 
• $1.51 per 1,000 board feet for timber products derived from all species except ponderosa pine. 
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
None. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The due dates for the severance tax on timber are the same as for the transaction privilege tax [A.R.S. § 42-5014]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2002 to 2005, 2007 and 2008. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 eliminated the severance tax on timber products.  The state revenue impact is estimated to 
be $(15,000) in FY 2007 and $(18,000) per year in subsequent fiscal years.  (Effective November 1, 2006) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/timbertax.pdf
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The individual income tax is levied on the personal income of full-time residents and pro-rated for part-time 
residents of Arizona.  Taxation of income by local entities is preempted by the state as long as the Urban Revenue 
Sharing Fund is maintained.  The starting point for Arizona individual income tax is the federal adjusted gross 
income.  Arizona uses a graduated rate structure, which currently ranges between 2.59% and 4.54% of Arizona 
taxable income depending on the taxpayer’s income level.   
 
The individual income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing about 37% of forecasted 
General Fund revenues.  A portion of individual income tax collections (along with corporate income tax 
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. 
 
The individual income tax is comprised of 4 components:  (1) withholding, (2) estimated tax payments, (3) final 
payments, and (4) refunds.  Generally, withholding payments are from tax on wage and salary based income, and 
estimated payments from non-wage earnings.  Final payments and refunds represent the underpayment and 
overpayment of tax, respectively, settled between taxpayers and the state after tax returns have been filed.  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical individual income tax collections for the last 20 years.  Individual income tax 
receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund 
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116]. 
 

Table 1 
 

INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX COLLECTIONS 
    

Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $3,406,450,738 FY 1998 $1,862,514,798 
FY 2007 $3,747,386,937 FY 1997 $1,668,414,355 
FY 2006 $3,689,373,375 FY 1996 $1,494,282,274 
FY 2005 $2,973,716,271 FY 1995 $1,479,588,252 
FY 2004 $2,306,175,168 FY 1994 $1,405,482,556 
FY 2003 $2,097,754,868 FY 1993 $1,367,641,116 
FY 2002 $2,086,648,727 FY 1992 $1,237,540,251 
FY 2001 $2,300,751,988 FY 1991 $1,243,656,300 
FY 2000 $2,289,328,921 FY 1990 $996,405,685 
FY 1999 $2,097,629,461 FY 1989 $912,164,223 

    
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue annual reports – amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs.  A portion of 
individual income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns - see Table 2 and Table 3 below. 

 
Urban Revenue Sharing 
The Urban Revenue Sharing Fund (URS), which was established based on a ballot initiative approved by voters in 
1972, provides that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income tax) be 
shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.  The amount that is currently distributed to cities and 
towns is 15% of net income tax collections from 2 years prior.  Table 2 below shows the URS distribution 
percentages in effect since the establishment of this revenue sharing program. 
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Table 2 

URBAN REVENUE SHARING PERCENTAGE 
   

Distribution Year 
Fiscal Year 

Collection Year 
Fiscal Year 

 
Percentage 

1974 – 1992 1972 – 1990 15.0% 
1993 1991 12.8% 
1994 1992 12.8% 
1995 1993 12.8% 
1996 1994 12.8% 
1997 1995 13.6% 
1998 1996 15.0% 
1999 1997 15.0% 
2000 1998 15.8% 
2001 1999 15.0% 
2002 2000 15.0% 
2003 2001 14.8% 
2004 2002 14.8% 

2005-2008 2003-2006 15.0% 
   

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue. 
   

 
This distribution is based on the last U.S. decennial census, a special census, or revised population figures approved 
by the Department of Economic Security (DES) [A.R.S. § 42-5033.01].  Pursuant to Laws 2008, Chapter 290, a city 
or town is entitled to receive at least an amount equal to what a city or town with a population of 1,500 or more 
receives from the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.  Table 3 below provides historical urban revenue sharing 
distributions [A.R.S. § 43-206]. 
 
Table 3 

DISTRIBUTION OF INDIVIDUAL AND CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 

Fiscal Year 
 

Total Collections 1/ 
 

State General Fund 2/ 
 

Urban Revenue Sharing 
Voluntary 

Contribution Funds 
FY 2008 $4,190,964,198 $3,506,425,272 $684,538,926 $7,582,956 
FY 2007 $4,732,909,595 $4,181,678,934 $551,230,661 $7,102,333 
FY 2006 $4,563,592,847 $4,138,363,920 $425,228,927 $5,818,045 
FY 2005 $3,675,575,556 $3,302,502,977 $373,072,578 $5,559,370 
FY 2004 $2,831,825,037 $2,466,759,879 $365,065,158 $4,830,420 
FY 2003 $2,491,760,840 $2,056,602,160 $430,559,053 $4,599,627 
FY 2002 $2,436,905,359 $2,011,052,550 $421,876,573 $3,976,236 
FY 2001 $2,845,000,474 $2,445,472,944 $396,452,640 $3,074,890 
FY 2000 $2,815,006,109 $2,434,799,494 $377,710,989 $2,495,626 
FY 1999 $2,643,737,477 $2,302,706,943 $340,310,656 $719,878 
FY 1998 $2,390,575,871 $2,098,733,397 $291,243,578 $598,896 
FY 1997 $2,269,304,787 $2,010,937,159 $257,800,548 $567,080 
FY 1996 $1,942,321,758 $1,723,080,577 $218,543,272 $697,909 
FY 1995 $1,896,299,526 $1,689,985,202 $205,607,690 $707,264 
FY 1994 $1,708,098,853 $1,521,964,032 $185,405,279 $729,542 
FY 1993 $1,606,910,521 $1,422,638,002 $183,667,152 $605,368 
FY 1992 $1,448,985,875 $1,272,391,599 $176,087,148 $507,128 
FY 1991 $1,435,328,781 $1,268,036,363 $166,863,264 $429,154 
FY 1990 $1,174,472,787 $1,023,291,736 $150,622,581 $558,470 
FY 1989 $1,113,033,948 $   968,464,778 $143,956,984 $612,187 

____________ 
1/  Note that this column also includes corporate income tax. 
2/  Ladewig refunds and attorney payments are not included. 
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Laws 2006, Chapter 351 appropriated $850,000 from the General Fund in FY 2007 to supplement the URS 
distribution for towns with a population of less than 1,500.  In lieu of the statutory URS distribution to cities and 
towns, the act appropriates $717.1 million in FY 2009 to hold cities and towns harmless from the individual income 
tax rate reductions implemented in FY 2007 (see Laws 2006, Chapter 354).  In addition, Chapter 351 session law 
also appropriated $10.5 million in FY 2009 to repay cities and towns for the reduced (14.8%) distribution percentage 
in FY 2003 and FY 2004.  Thus, Laws 2006, Chapter 351 authorizes a total URS distribution amount of $727.6 
million for FY 2009. 
 
Voluntary Contribution Funds 
Laws 1984, Chapter 76 provided for taxpayers to designate an amount of their income tax refund as a voluntary 
contribution to the Arizona Game, Non-Game, Fish and Endangered Species Fund.  Laws 1985, Chapter 59 
established a permanent check-off provision on the individual income tax return, which was also expanded to 
include contributions to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund.   
 
Arizona statutes were amended in subsequent years to also include contributions to the Arizona Assistance for 
Education Fund, Domestic Violence Shelter Fund, Neighbors Helping Neighbors Fund, Special Olympics Fund, 
Citizens Clean Elections Fund, and National Guard Relief Fund.  Laws 2006, Chapter 102 further expanded the list 
of voluntary contribution funds to also include the newly created Veterans’ Donation Fund.  In addition to these 
voluntary contribution funds, taxpayers were also given the option to give all or part of their refund to a political 
party.  Table 3 above shows the total amount of refunds designated annually to voluntary contribution funds and 
political parties since the program started in 1984 [A.R.S. § 43-611 to 620].  
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Individuals 
Residents or part-year residents of the state and non-residents who derived income from sources within the state 
must pay individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102].  Any individual whose permanent home is in the state is 
considered a resident.  Every person who spends more than 9 months of the taxable year in Arizona is presumed a 
resident unless competent evidence can show the individual is in the state for a temporary or transitory purpose.  
Any resident who moved into or out of Arizona with the intent to establish or relinquish residency is considered to 
be a part-year resident [A.R.S. § 43-104]. 
 
Businesses 
Businesses other than regular corporations must also pay the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102(A)].  A 
business that is subject to the individual income tax is often referred to as a “pass-through entity” since its income 
passes or flows through the business to the individual owners or members of that business.  In other words, the 
business itself is not a tax-paying entity.  Instead, the individual owners or members of that business include their 
pro rata share of the business net income (or loss) on their personal tax return. 
 
In Arizona, a pass-through entity is either operating as a sole proprietorship, partnership, limited liability company 
(LLC), or a Subchapter S Corporation.  A brief overview of the different business structures is shown in Table 4 
below.  
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Table 4 

COMPARISON OF BUSINESS STRUCTURES 
 

 Sole Proprietorship Partnership 
Limited Liability 
Company (LLC) S Corporation 

Control • Owner • General Partners • Members • Shareholders 

Owner Restrictions • Only one owner is 
permitted. 

• Partners own the 
partnership. 

• Members own 
LLC.   

• Minimum of one 
member required. 

• Shareholders are 
owners.   

• Ownership limited 
to a maximum of 
75 U.S. residents. 

Filing Requirements  • Fictitious Name 
Certificate 

• Trade Name  
• Business License 

• Consent of 
Statutory Agent   

• Articles of 
Organization  

• Consent of 
Statutory Agent  

• Articles of 
Incorporation  

• Certificate of 
Disclosure  

• Consent of 
Statutory Agent  

• Annual Report 

Liability • Owner is 
personally liable. 

• General Partners 
are liable.   

• Limited partners 
are liable to the 
extent of their 
investments. 

• All members are 
protected. 

• All shareholders 
are protected. 

Officers • No • No • No, unless 
designated by 
management. 

• Yes 

Controlling 
Documents 

• Business Plan • Partnership 
Agreement 

• Operating 
Agreement 

• Articles of 
Incorporation 

Income Tax 
Treatment 

• Owner subject to 
individual income 
tax.   

• Tax items reported 
on Schedule C. 

• Partners subject to 
individual income 
tax.   

• Partners taxed for 
their share of 
profits. 

• Members subject 
to individual 
income tax.  

• Members taxed for 
their share of 
profits.  

• However, LLC 
may choose to be 
taxed at entity 
level. 

• Shareholders 
subject to 
individual income 
tax. 

• Shareholders taxed 
for their share of 
profits. 

SOURCE:  Arizona Corporation Commission. 

 
Estates and Trusts 
Fiduciaries of estates and trusts are also subject to the individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-102(A)].  Generally, a 
trust is a separate legal and taxable entity consisting of property that is held and administered by a fiduciary trustee 
for the benefit of another.  An estate, for the purpose of tax law, is the collective real and personal property that a 
person possesses at the time of death and that is transferred to the heirs subject to payment of debts and claims.  An 
estate is a temporary entity administered by a fiduciary executor and dissolved upon the completion of the probate 
process.  For more details, see Title 43, Chapter 13 of Arizona Revised Statutes.   
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Government 
The United States, the state, counties, cities, towns, school districts or other political subdivisions of the state or 
federal government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer [A.R.S. § 43-104]. 
 
Tribal Members 
The income of an Indian tribal member is not subject to Arizona state income tax if he or she is:  (1) living and 
working on the reservation, and (2) deriving income from reservation sources only.  This exclusion applies to 
affiliated Indian members who have been adopted into the tribe and who have attained full and unrestricted 
membership privileges in that tribe. 
 
Income of a non-affiliated tribal member or a non-Indian derived from reservation or non-reservation sources is 
subject to income tax in the same manner as all other Arizona residents.   
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members.  
Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department of Revenue has 
adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases.  The most recent ruling, which is reflected 
in the description above, was issued in May 1996 and is referred to as ITR 96-4.   
 
TAX BASE 
 
The tax is levied, paid, and collected each taxable year based on taxable income [A.R.S. § 43-1011].  The tax base 
starts with Arizona gross income, which is equivalent to the taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income, and is then 
modified by a list of additions and subtractions to income as listed under A.R.S. § 43-1021 and A.R.S. § 43-1022, 
respectively.  This is further reduced by exemptions and standard or itemized deductions to arrive at Arizona taxable 
income. 
 
Capital gains from the sale of capital assets, such as stocks, bonds, and real estate, are not taxed separately under the 
state’s income tax statutes, but are instead included in a taxpayer’s Arizona gross income (or equivalently, federal 
adjusted gross income) amount.  Thus, income from net (short-term and long-term) capital gains is subject to the 
same marginal tax rates as other income included under the definition of Arizona taxable income.  The historical 
amounts of net capital gains subject to income tax, as reported by Arizona taxpayers to the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS), are shown in Table 5 below. 
 

Table 5 
 

NET CAPITAL GAINS REPORTED BY ARIZONA TAXPAYERS TO THE IRS 
(Millions of Dollars) 

    
Tax Year Net Capital Gains 1/ Tax Year Net Capital Gains 1/ 

2006 $15,214.8 1995 $2,461.2 
2005 $14,784.3 1994 $1,879.7 
2004 $8,732.1 1993 $1,812.0 
2003 $4,580.4 1992 $1,488.1 
2002 $3,603.7 1991 $1,341.7 
2001 $4,420.8 1990 $1,488.8 
2000 $8,412.9 1989 $1,782.2 
1999 $8,163.1 1988 $2,174.8 
1998 $7,045.1 1987 $2,221.5 
1997 $5,409.1 1986 $2,068.6 
1996 $4,051.2   

____________ 
1/ Note that this column refers to net capital gains subject to income tax as opposed to income tax 

collections attributable to net capital gains. 
 
SOURCE:  Internal Revenue Service, Statistics of Income (SOI).   
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EXEMPTIONS 
 
Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also 
exempt from state income tax.  In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. § 
43-1201]: 
 
(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations. 
(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both:  (a) operate under the lodge system or for the 

exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents. 

(3) Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not 
operated for profit. 

(4) Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or 
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals. 

(5) Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for 
profit.  

(6) Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit. 
(7) Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable purposes. 
(8) Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from 

such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income 
tax. 

(9) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply:  (a) no part of their net earnings 
inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income consists of 
monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members. 

(10) Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of the 
following apply:  (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, 
and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the salaries of 
members, and income from investments.  

(11) Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common 
treasury or community treasury. 

(12) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply:  
(a) admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States 
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual. 

(13) Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment 
Company Act of 1940. 

(14) Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax. 
(15) Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their income 

consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses. 
(16) Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01 
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TAX RATE 
 
Rates and Brackets.  The current rate structure, based on Arizona taxable income, is as follows [A.R.S. § 43-1011]: 
  

CURRENT TAX RATE SCHEDULE 
    

Single 1/  Married 3/  
Arizona Taxable Income        Rate        2/ Arizona Taxable Income        Rate        2/ 

$0 - $10,000 2.59% $0 - $20,000 2.59% 
$10,001 - 25,000 $259 plus 2.88% $20,001 - 50,000 $518 plus 2.88% 
$25,001 - 50,000 $691 plus 3.36% $50,001 - 100,000 $1,382 plus 3.36% 
$50,001 - 150,000 $1,531 plus 4.24% $100,001 - 300,000 $3,062 plus 4.24% 

       $150,001 and over $5,771 plus 4.54%         $300,001 and over $11,542 plus 4.54% 
____________ 
1/  Or married filing separately. 
2/  The marginal rates apply to income within the taxable income bracket. 
3/  Or unmarried head of household. 

 
NOTE:  Laws 1990, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 3 repealed inflation indexing of the dollar amounts included in the 
rate brackets. 
 
Optional Tax Table.  The Department of Revenue developed an optional tax table prescribing tax liability amounts, 
based on filing status, in $50 increments of Arizona taxable income.  The table can be used if (1) an individual has 
been a resident for the entire taxable year, and (2) the Arizona taxable income for the year is less than $50,000 
regardless of filing status [A.R.S. § 43-1012]. 
 

HISTORICAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX RATES 1/ 

Taxable Income 2/ TY 1990 TY 1994 TY 1995 TY 1997 TY 1998 TY 1999 TY 2006 TY 2007 
           $0 -$ 10,000  3.80% 3.25% 3.00% 2.90% 2.88% 2.87% 2.73% 2.59% 
  $10,001 -   25,000 4.40% 4.00% 3.50% 3.30% 3.24% 3.20% 3.04% 2.88% 
  $25,001 -   50,000 5.25% 5.05% 4.20% 3.90% 3.82% 3.74% 3.55% 3.36% 
  $50,001 - 150,000 6.50% 6.40% 5.20% 4.90% 4.74% 4.72% 4.48% 4.24% 
  $150,001 & over 7.00% 6.90% 5.60% 5.17% 5.10% 5.04% 4.79% 4.54% 

____________ 
1/ For marginal rates prior to 1990, see page 90 of the 1990 Tax Handbook. 
2/ These brackets applied to single or married filing separately filers.  For married joint filers or head of households, the bracket amounts 

are doubled.  In 1990, the brackets were altered into the present form (see Laws 1990, 3rd Special Session, Chapter 3).   

 
TAX CREDITS 
 
A tax credit is a dollar-for-dollar reduction of a taxpayer’s individual income tax liability.  A credit is different from 
a subtraction, exemption, or deduction, which reduces the amount of income that will be taxed.  For more details, 
see the Tax Computation section. 
 
A tax credit is either refundable or non-refundable. Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never exceed 
a taxpayer’s tax liability.  However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be carried 
forward to future years.  Under current statutes, only the following credits are refundable:  the property tax credit, 
agricultural preservation district credit, technology training credit, and the low-income credit for increased excise taxes 
paid.  (Note that two of the refundable tax credits _ the agricultural preservation district credit and technology training 
credit _ were only available through tax year 2005.)  The value of tax credits used and carried forward through calendar 
year 2007 (the latest year available) is summarized by the Arizona Department of Revenue (DOR) summary report 
attached at the end of this section. 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee.  The 
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for evaluating 
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the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state.  The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years according to 
a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221]. 
 
Title 43, Chapter 10, Article 5 of the Arizona Revised Statutes lists all the tax credits currently available to Arizona 
taxpayers.  A brief description of each tax credit currently in statutes is provided below.  
 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment.  A taxpayer involved in the commercial production of livestock or 
agricultural crops may claim a tax credit for expenses incurred to purchase tangible personal property used in the 
business in order to control or prevent pollution.  The credit is 25% of the cost of the property up to a maximum of 
$25,000.  This non-refundable credit is allowed to be carried forward no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 
43-1081.01]. 
 
Agricultural Preservation District.  A refundable credit for individuals and corporations that donate land or 
development rights to land to an agricultural preservation district.  The amount of the credit is equal to the appraised 
value of the property if ownership is conveyed to the district or the difference between the appraised value of the 
undeveloped land and the land for development purposes if development rights are conveyed instead.  The 
maximum credit is $33,000.  The credit was available for tax years 2001 through 2005 [A.R.S. § 43-1081.02]. 
 
Agricultural Water Conservation System.  A tax credit can be claimed for 75% of the qualifying expenses in 
purchasing and installing an agricultural water conservation system.  This credit is in lieu of itemized deductions for 
such expenses, in which case, the taxpayer must add the credit back to Arizona gross income when computing 
taxable income.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 
43-1084]. 
 
Arizona National Guard Employees.  A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ 
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty.  This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective 
from January 1, 2006, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079.01]. 
 
Charitable Organizations and Contributions.  A credit can be claimed for donations to qualifying charitable 
organizations that exceed the level of contributions in 1996 or the first year that the taxpayer deducted charitable 
contributions pursuant to Section 170 of the Internal Revenue Code.  The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers 
filing as single or head of household and $400 for those filing as married couples.  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 
334, the maximum credit for married couples was $200.)  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried 
forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1088]. 
 
Clean Elections Fund Tax Reduction.  Under this credit, a taxpayer that files a state income tax return can choose to 
designate a $5 voluntary contribution per taxpayer to the Clean Elections Fund by marking an optional check-off 
box on the first page of the tax form.  A taxpayer that checks this box receives a $5 reduction of their tax payments 
and at the same time DOR is required to transfer an equal amount to the fund.  The total amount attributed to the 
Clean Elections Fund check-off box in FY 2008 was $6.5 million. The credit became effective January 1, 1998 
[A.R.S. § 16-954(A)]. 
 
Clean Elections Fund Tax Credit.  Under this credit, a taxpayer that makes a direct donation to the Clean Elections 
Fund receives a dollar-for-dollar credit not to exceed 20% of the tax amount on the return or $500, whichever is 
higher.  DOR is required to provide a check-off box for this credit on the first page of the tax form.  This credit 
became effective January 1, 1998 [A.R.S. § 16-954(B)]. 
 
Construction Materials.  A tax credit can be claimed for 5% of the purchase price of new construction materials 
used to build a new facility or expand an existing one.  The facility must be predominantly used for manufacturing, 
refining, mining, metallurgical operations, or research and development and the total cost of construction must 
exceed $5 million.  Also, construction must have begun on or after January 1, 1994 and have been completed by 
December 31, 1999.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years 
[A.R.S. § 43-1082]. 
 
Defense Contractor.  A defense contractor certified by the Arizona Department of Commerce may qualify for a tax 
credit due to:  (1) net employment increases under defense related contracts, or (2) net employment increases from 
transferring employment from exclusively defense related activities to exclusively private commercial activities, or 
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(3) taxes paid on Class 1 property if there was new defense related employment during the taxable year.  This non-
refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward until 2012 [A.R.S. § 43-1077 and 43-1078]. 
 
Enterprise Zones.  Businesses located in an enterprise zone can claim a credit for net increases in employment of 
persons who qualify as economically disadvantaged under the Job Training Partnership Act.  (See Laws 1989, 
Chapter 194 for changes in the amount of credit allowed.)  To qualify, at least 35% of the full-time equivalent 
employees claimed must reside in an enterprise zone.  The maximum amount of the credit per qualified employment 
position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the third year of continuous employment. 
The credit, which is non-refundable and can be carried forward for up to 5 years, may not be claimed for more than 
200 employees [A.R.S. § 43-1074]. 
 
Environmental Technology Facility.  A taxpayer may claim a credit for expenses incurred in constructing a qualified 
environmental technology facility as described in A.R.S. § 42-1514.02.  The credit is equal to 10% of construction 
costs including land acquisition, improvements, building improvements, machinery and equipment.  The credit may 
not exceed 75% of the tax liability for the taxable year.  This credit is in lieu of the credit given for the same 
recycling equipment.  Certain recapture provisions apply to this credit.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to 
be carried forward for no more than 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1080]. 
 
Family Income Credit.  Residents are allowed a $40 non-refundable tax credit for each personal or dependent 
exemption claimed, subject to certain income limitations. This credit cannot be carried forward to offset future 
years’ income tax liability [A.R.S. § 43-1073]. 
 
Healthy Forest Enterprise.  A qualified business that is certified by the Arizona Department of Commerce as a 
healthy forest enterprise is allowed to claim a tax credit for net increases in qualified employment positions. To 
qualify for the credit, a business enterprise must meet several conditions with respect to the amount of employees 
hired, and the residency status, job duties, wages, and fringe benefits of those employees.  The maximum amount of 
the credit per qualified employment position is $500 in the first year, $1,000 in the second year, and $1,500 in the 
third year of continuous employment.  The net increase in the number of qualified employment positions is not 
allowed to exceed 200 per taxpayer each year.  The tax credit is effective from January 1, 2005 to December 31, 
2014.  The credit is non-refundable and is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1076]. 
 
Low-Income Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Paid.  For taxpayers filing as married couple or as head of household 
and whose federal adjusted gross income is $25,000 or less, a credit of $25 is granted per person or $100 per 
household.  For taxpayers filing as single or as married person filing separately, the income requirement is $12,500 
or less.  This refundable credit is considered a mitigation of the 0.6% sales tax increase resulting from Proposition 
301 passed in November 2000.  This law became effective January 1, 2001 [A.R.S. § 43-1072.01]. 
 
Military Family Relief Fund Tax Credit.  A credit may be claimed for cash contributions to the Military Family 
Relief Fund established by Laws 2007, Chapter 258.  The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or 
head of household and $400 for those filing as married couples.  The credit is not allowed to exceed the taxpayer’s 
tax liability.  The total dollar value of the credit, which is available for tax years 2008 through 2012, is capped at 
$1,000,000 per taxable year [A.R.S. § 43-1086].   
 
Military Reuse Zones.  Businesses that are primarily engaged in manufacturing, assembling or fabricating aviation or 
aerospace products, and are located in a military reuse zone can claim a tax credit for net employment increases 
within the military reuse zone.  This credit is in lieu of any other tax credit obtained by a qualified defense 
contractor for the same employees.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 
5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1079].  
 
Motion Picture Productions and Infrastructure Projects.  An income tax credit is available to businesses that 
produce motion pictures in Arizona.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million 
in a 12-month period may receive a tax credit equal to 20% of production costs, while productions with qualified 
expenses exceeding $1 million may be credited for 30% of production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits 
approved for all qualifying productions and investments may not exceed $30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, 
$50 million in 2008, $60 million in 2009, and $70 million in 2010.  The income tax credits may be claimed for 
expenses incurred in the production of commercial advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax 
credit available to be set aside for these productions.  Income tax credits also may be claimed for expenses incurred 
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for the construction of soundstages and associated support and augmentation facilities.  Tax credits for soundstage 
investments are capped at $5 million per year in 2008, 2009, and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and 
augmentation facilities are capped at $7 million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and 
$9 million in 2010 (if one or more soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  The tax credits may be sold 
or transferred, in whole or in part, to other taxpayers.  The law requires taxpayers claiming the credits to meet 
various reporting requirements and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time 
positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and 50% in 2008 and after [A.R.S. § 43-1075 and § 43-1075.01]. 
 
Pollution Control Equipment.  A taxpayer may claim a tax credit for 10% of the cost to purchase real or personal 
property used to control or prevent pollution.  Amounts that qualify for this credit must be included in the taxpayer’s 
adjusted basis for the property.  This credit is in lieu of the recycling equipment credit.  The maximum credit is 
$500,000.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1081]. 
 
Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fees.  A credit may be claimed for contributions to extracurricular activities 
and character education programs at public schools.  The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or 
head of household and $400 for those filing as married couples.  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 334, the maximum 
credit for married couples was $250.)  This credit is in lieu of any federal or state deduction for such contributions.  
A 5-year carry forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-1089.01].  
 
Property Taxes.  A full-year resident can claim a refundable credit for property taxes or rent paid on property if all 
of the following apply [A.R.S. § 43-1072]:   
 
• 65 years or older or receiving SSI Title 16 monies from the Social Security Administration. 
• Paid either property taxes or rent during the taxable year. 
• If the person lived alone, his income from all sources was below $3,751, or if he lived with others, the 

combined household income was below $5,501. 
 
The amount of the credit allowed under this provision is prescribed in A.R.S. § 43-1072(B).   
 
Research and Development (R&D).  A taxpayer may take a credit of 20% of qualified research expenses over a 
"base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code) for expenses up to $2.5 million ($500,000 credit), plus 11% 
of expenses over $2.5 million.  Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expands the tax credit in tax years 2010 through 2017 by 
allowing for a larger percentage of qualified R&D expenses to be used to offset an individual’s tax liability (for 
more details, refer to the 2008 tax law changes under Impact of Tax Law and Revenue Changes).  The credit was 
capped at $1.5 million for CY 2001 and $2.5 million for CY 2002.  The R&D credit became available as an 
individual income tax credit for the first time in tax year 2001.  A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed 
[A.R.S. § 43-1074.01]. 
 
School Site Donation Credit.  A credit is allowed in the amount of 30% of the value of real property and 
improvements donated by a taxpayer to a school district or a charter school.  This credit became available January 1, 
2001.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. 
§ 43-1089.02]. 
 
School Tuition Organizations.  A credit may be claimed for donations to a non-governmental primary or secondary 
school tuition organization that allocates at least 90% of its annual revenue to educational scholarships or tuition 
grants.  The maximum credit is $500 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and $1,000 for married 
couples.  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 334, the maximum credit for married couples was $625.)  A 5-year carry 
forward of the credit is allowed [A.R.S. § 43-1089]. 
 
Small Business Investment Credit.  This credit can be claimed by taxpayers that provide investments in qualified 
small businesses.  The allowable credit is 30% of the investment over a 3-year period and is increased to 35% if the 
investment is made in a bioscience company or a company located in a rural county.  This non-refundable credit, 
which is in effect for tax years 2007 through 2014, is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 3 consecutive 
years.  The credit, which is administered by the Department of Commerce, is capped at $20 million over the life of 
the program [A.R.S. § 43-1074.02]. 
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Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes.  A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the 
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business.  The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the same 
building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  The credit is available between tax years 2006 and 2012.  
This income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances 
the purchase of a qualifying device.  The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs 
a qualifying device.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive 
years [A.R.S. § 43-1085]. 
 
Solar Energy Devices for Residential Purposes.  A taxpayer may claim 25% of the purchase price for a qualified 
solar energy device installed in the taxpayer’s residence located in Arizona.  The maximum credit is $1,000 per year 
and $1,000 in aggregate for the same residence.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for 
no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1083]. 
 
Solar Hot Water Heater Stub-Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets.  A taxpayer may take a credit up to $75 
for installing solar hot water plumbing stub-outs or electric vehicle recharge outlets in home dwellings built by the 
taxpayer.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years.  
This law became effective January 1, 1998 [A.R.S. § 43-1090]. 
 
TANF Employment.  A credit that is allowed for net increases in qualified employment of recipients of temporary 
assistance for needy families (TANF) residing in Arizona.  The credit is in lieu of any wage expense deduction taken 
for tax purposes.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive 
years [A.R.S. § 43-1087]. 
 
Taxes Paid to Other States.  Subject to certain conditions, residents are allowed a credit for income taxes paid to 
another state or country [A.R.S. § 43-1071]. 
 
Technology Training.  A taxpayer may claim a credit for expenses incurred in providing qualified technology skills 
training for up to 20 of his employees.  The credit is 50% of the expenses for the training but cannot exceed $1,500 
per employee.  This refundable credit was available for tax years 2001 through 2005 [A.R.S. § 43-1088.01]. 
 
Water Conservation Systems.  The credit is for the installation of water conservation systems to encourage the re-use 
of “graywater,” or waste water for irrigation purposes.  The credit is equal to 25% of the cost of the water 
conservation system up to a maximum of $1,000.  The maximum aggregate amount that can be claimed in a taxable 
year is $250,000.  This non-refundable tax credit, which is effective for tax years 2007 through 2011, is allowed to 
be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive years [A.R.S. § 43-1090.01]. 



Individual Income Tax 
 

- 44 - 

TAX COMPUTATION 
 
The amount of individual income tax due (or owed) for individuals, partnerships, and fiduciaries are computed as 
follows: 
 
Individuals: 
 
Arizona Gross Income  Equivalent to taxpayer's federal adjusted gross income.  Includes a taxpayer’s 

capital gain or loss. 
 Plus 
 
Additions to Income  See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws, 
 Minus  but subject to Arizona income tax. 
 
Subtractions from Income  See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but 
 Minus  not subject to Arizona income tax. 
 
Exemptions  See A.R.S. § 43-1023 for exemptions:  (1) $1,500 for blind taxpayer and/or  
 Equals  spouse (2) $2,300 for taxpayer and/or spouse who is age 65 or over, (3)  
   $2,300 for each dependent, (4) $2,300 for stillborn child, and (5) $10,000 for 
   qualifying parents and ancestors of parents. 
 
Arizona Adjusted Gross Income  
 Minus  
  
Standard or Itemized Deductions See A.R.S. § 43-1041 and 43-1042: Standard deduction is $4,247 for single or 
 Minus married filing separately and $8,494 for married filing jointly or unmarried 
  head of household.  Itemized deductions are the same as on the federal income 

tax return.  Beginning in tax year 2005, the standard deduction is adjusted for 
inflation each year. 

 
Personal Exemptions See A.R.S. § 43-1043: (1) single or married filing separately - $2,100 (2)  
 Equals married filing jointly - $4,200 (3) unmarried head of household - $4,200 (4) a  
  married couple filing a joint return and claiming at least one dependent -  
  $6,300.   
Taxable Income 
 Multiply By 
 
Tax Rates  See Tax Rate Section. 
 Equals 
 
Tax Liability 
 Minus 
 
Tax Credits  See Tax Credits Section. 
 Minus 
 
Tax Payments Withholding, estimated, and extension payments made to the Department of  
 Equals Revenue. 
 
Tax Due This can also be an overpayment; in which case, taxpayer will be entitled to  
  tax refund. 
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Partnerships: 
 
Arizona Gross Income Equivalent to federal ordinary business and rental income for the year,  
 Add excluding (1) items requiring a separate computation under A.R.S. § 43-1412, 

paragraph 1 through 17 and (2) the federal provisions relating to interest on 
investment indebtedness. 

 
Addition to Income See A.R.S. § 43-1021 for amounts not taxed under federal income tax laws,  
 Minus but subject to Arizona income tax. 
 
Subtractions from Income See A.R.S. § 43-1022 for amounts taxed under federal income tax laws, but  
 Equals not subject to Arizona income tax. 
 
Arizona Taxable Income This is mainly for filing and reporting purposes.  The taxable income of a  
 Calculate partnership is passed through to individuals in the partnership who are then  
  taxed through the individual income tax on their distributed portion of the 

income. 
 
Apportionment Ratio Only for multi-state partnerships to determine Arizona's share of income and 

deductions.  Uses a 3-part apportionment formula of property, payroll and 
sales.  See A.R.S. § 43-1131 through A.R.S. § 43-1150. 

   
Fiduciaries: 
 
Arizona Gross Income Equivalent to federal taxable income of estates or trusts (A.R.S. § 43-1301). 

Add Income is taxable based on the residence of the decedent for an estate and the 
  residence of the fiduciary or the beneficiary for a trust.  See A.R.S. § 43-1312. 
 
Additions to Income See A.R.S. § 43-1331 for a list of additions which also include those items  
 Minus listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1021. 
 
Subtractions from Income See A.R.S. § 43-1332 for a list of subtractions which also include those items  
 Equals listed for individuals under A.R.S. § 43-1022. 
 
Arizona Taxable Income 
 Multiply By 
 
Individual Tax Rates  See Tax Rate Section. 
 Equals 
 
Tax Liability 
 Minus 
 
Individual Tax Credits  See Tax Credits Section. 
 Minus 
 
Tax Payments 
 Equals 
 
Tax Due 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Withholding.  To simplify payment of the individual income tax, a portion of the tax is paid through a system of 
withholding.  Under Arizona law, a percentage of each employee's federal withholding is deducted and withheld by 
the employer for state income tax purposes at the time wages are paid [A.R.S. § 43-401]. 
 
Percentages.  An employee must elect which percentage of the federal income tax withholding shall be withheld for 
state income taxes: 
 
• If the employee's annual wage is less than $15,000, he can elect to withhold 0%, 10%, 19%, 23%, 25%, 31%, or 

37% of federal withholding. 
• If the employee's annual wage is $15,000 or more, he can elect to withhold 0%, 19%, 23%, 25%, 31%, or 37% 

of federal withholding. 
 
The 0% option is available only for those who had no state tax liability in the prior taxable year and expect to have 
no state tax liability for the current taxable year.  
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 311 provides employers the option to not withhold income tax during the month of December.  
If an employer elects to not withhold tax in December, he is required to notify the Department of Revenue and his 
employees of such decision.   
 
Exclusions.  Certain types of employment are exempt from the withholding requirements (see A.R.S. § 43-403 for a 
complete list).  
 
Disposition.  Employers who deduct withholding from their employees' wages are required to transfer the 
withholding collections to DOR.  If an employer's withholding collections exceeded an average of $1,500 per 
quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the employer must forward withholding collections to the state in 
accordance with the federal payment schedule.  For employers whose withholding collections did not exceed an 
average of $1,500 per quarter over the 4 preceding calendar quarters, the withholding collections for the previous 
calendar quarter must be transferred to DOR on or before April 30, July 31, October 31, and January 31. 
 
Estimated Tax Payments.  A taxpayer whose Arizona gross income was greater than $75,000 (or $150,000 if the 
taxpayer filed a joint return) in the preceding taxable year or can reasonably expect to exceed $75,000 (or $150,000 
if the taxpayer files a joint return) in the current year, must make estimated payments, if estimated withholding for 
the tax year does not equal 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of the liability for the preceding year 
[A.R.S. § 43-581].   
 
The estimated amount shall be paid in 4 installments on or before the due dates established for federal filing and 
reasonably reflect the taxpayer's Arizona income tax liability.  The total of annual estimated tax payments and 
withholding tax must be at least 90% of the tax liability for the current year or 100% of tax liability for the 
preceding year. 
 
If a taxpayer does not pay the required estimated tax payments, DOR will assess a penalty not exceeding 10% of the 
unpaid tax plus interest on the unpaid balance. 
 
Voluntary Payments.  All other taxpayers may voluntarily make estimated tax payments during the tax year. 
 
Payment of Balance.  The taxpayer is required to pay the balance of the tax due on April 15 after the close of the 
calendar year or, if return is based on a fiscal year, on the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the 
fiscal year.  An income tax return is required to be filed with DOR along with the tax payment [A.R.S. § 43-501]. 
 
Extensions.  If requested, the department will grant a taxpayer an automatic 6-month filing extension [A.R.S. § 42-
1107].  Note, however, that a filing extension does not extend the taxpayer’s time to pay his income tax.  The 
taxpayer is still required to pay at least 90% of his tax liability by the original due date of the return.  The 
department charges interest from the original due date to the date of payment.  The department also imposes 
penalties as explained below.  
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Extension Underpayment Penalty.  When applying for an extension, at least 90% of the tax liability must be paid by 
the original due date or the taxpayer is subject to a penalty of 0.5% of the unpaid balance for each 30 days or 
fraction thereof.  This penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125]. 
 
Late Filing Penalty.  This penalty is 4.5% of the tax required to be shown on the return for each month or fraction 
thereof the return is late.  The penalty cannot exceed 25% of the unpaid tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125].    
 
Late Payment Penalty.  This penalty is 0.5% of the amount shown as tax for each month or fraction thereof for 
which the failure to pay tax continues.  This penalty cannot exceed a total of 10% of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-1125]. 
 
TAX EXPENDITURES 
 
DOR is required by law to prepare an annual report to the Governor and the Legislature detailing the estimated cost 
in lost revenues from the provision of tax expenditures [A.R.S. §42-1005].  Tax expenditures are provisions within 
the law, such as exemptions, exclusions, deductions and credits, that are designed to encourage certain kinds of 
activity or to aid taxpayers in certain categories.  Tax expenditures result in a loss of tax revenues for both state and 
local governments.    
 
The most current individual income tax expenditure data is for tax year 2002.  The state collected over $2.0 billion 
in resident individual income taxes that year.  However, according to DOR, the state allowed exclusions, 
exemptions, deductions, and credits worth as much as $1.54 billion in the same year.  This tax expenditure estimate, 
which was derived from DOR’s Individual Income Tax Simulation Model, represents foregone revenues to the state 
General Fund and to the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.  Table 6 below, which was reproduced from DOR’s report 
The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2003/04, lists all individual income tax expenditures by 
category. 
 

Table 6 
FY 2004 INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXPENDITURES 

FEDERAL SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME: Tax Year 2002 
Educator Expenses / Tuition Fees Deduction $2,436,000 
Individual Retirement Account for Qualifying Individuals 4,269,000 
Student Loan Interest Deduction 3,021,000 
Medical Savings Account Deduction 68,000 
Moving Expenses 454,000 
One-Half of Self-employment Tax 7,225,000 
Self-employed Health Insurance Deduction  3,954,000 
Keogh Retirement Plan and Self-employed SEP Deduction 7,847,000 
Penalty on Early Withdrawal of Savings 59,000 
Alimony Paid    5,895,000 
Total Value of Federal Subtractions from Income $35,390,000 
  
EXEMPTIONS:  
Personal Exemptions $197,841,000 
Preferential Personal Exemption for Unmarried Head of Household 10,572,000 
Preferential Personal Exemption for Married Filers with One or More Dependents 26,921,000 
Age 65 or over Exemptions 18,809,000 
Dependent Exemptions 79,159,000 
Blind Exemptions 229,000 
Qualifying Parent or Ancestor Exemption      1,998,000 
Total Value of Exemptions $344,165,000 
  
SUBTRACTIONS FROM INCOME:  
Interest on U.S. Obligations $7,795,000 
Exclusion for Federal, State, and Local Pensions 9,202,000 
Exempt State Lottery Winnings 119,000 
Social Security or Railroad Retirement Benefits Included on Federal Form 1040 55,666,000 
Bonus Depreciation Adjustment 571,000 
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Certain Wages of Native Americans 4,814,000 
Income Tax Refunds from Other States 585,000 
Constructing Energy Efficient Residences 75,000 
Other Subtractions 3,630,000 
Deposits and Employee Contributions into Medical Savings Accounts            11,000 
Total Value of Subtractions $83,144,000 
  
DEDUCTIONS:  
Standard Deduction $156,337,000 
Preferential Standard Deduction for Unmarried Head of Household 14,316,000 
Itemized Deductions:  
Medical and Dental Expenses 85,662,000 
State and Local Income Taxes 91,719,000 
Real Estate Taxes 40,350,000 
Personal Property Taxes and Other Taxes 12,183,000 
Home Mortgage Interest 207,799,000 
Deductible Points 1,302,000 
Deductible Investment Interest 7,306,000 
Charitable Contribution – Cash 58,879,000 
Charitable Contribution – Other Than Cash 17,714,000 
Charitable Contribution – Carryover from Prior Year 4,078,000 
Casualty and Theft Losses 875,000 
Job Expenses and Most Other Miscellaneous Deductions 7,598,000 
Non-limited Miscellaneous Deductions    32,706,000 
Total Value of Itemized Deductions $397,202,000 
  
Total Value of Standard and Itemized Deductions $758,082,000 
  
CREDITS 1/:  
Family Tax Credit $7,382,000 
Property Tax Credit 5,107,000 
Clean Elections Fund Credit 689,000 
Credit for Increased Excise Taxes Paid 28,404,000 
Credit for Taxes Paid to Other States or Countries 52,844,000 
Enterprise Zone Credit 1,445,000 
Research and Development Credit 484,000 
Recycling Equipment Credit 3,000 
Defense Contracting Credit 0 
Military Reuse Zone Credit 0 
Environmental Technology Credit 0 
Pollution Control Device Credit 19,000 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment Credit 33,000 
Construction Materials Credit                      0 
Solar Energy Device Credit 978,000 
Agricultural Water Conservation System Credit 1,256,000 
Underground Storage Tanks Credit 0 
Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit 105,000 
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle Credit 2,484,000 
Alternative Fuel Delivery System Credit                      0 
Vehicle Refueling Apparatus Credit 4,000 
Solar Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets Credit 3,000 
Employment of TANF Recipients Credit                   NR 2/ 
Contributions to Charities Providing Assistance to Working Poor Credit 2,677,000 
Private School Tuition Organization Credit 26,171,000 
Public School Extra Curricular Activity Fee Credit 22,455,000 
School Site Donation Credit 2,380,000 
Donation of Motor Vehicles to Wheels to Work Program Credit         40,000 
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Technology Training Credit NR 2/ 
Agricultural Preservation District Credit                   0 
Total Value of Credits $154,966,000 
  
TOTAL VALUE OF INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX EXPENDITURES $1,535,295,000 
  
____________ 
1/ Note that updated tax credit information after 2002 is available and can be found on pages 50-57.  
2/ NR indicates that the information is not releasable due to Arizona confidentiality laws. 
 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue Report – The Revenue Impact of Arizona’s Tax Expenditures FY 2002/03. 
 

 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  The estimated initial dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in Table 7 below.  
 

Table 7 
ANNUAL INCREMENTAL DOLLAR IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES  

Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 

FY 2009   
L 08, Ch 94 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(970,000) 
L 07, Ch 258 College Savings Plan   (2,500,000)  
L 07, Ch 258 Military Relief Fund Credit   (1,000,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2009  $(4,470,000) 
   
FY 2008   
L 07, Ch 1 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(1,300,000) 
L 06, Ch 342 Active Duty Military Pay Exemption   (12,200,000) 1/ 
L 06, Ch 354 Income Tax Rate Reduction – 5% (tax year 2007)   (177,900,000) 
L 06, Ch 357 Internal Revenue Code Conformity   1,100,000 
L 05, Ch 292 Graywater Tax Credit    (250,000) 
L 05, Ch 303 Active Duty Military Pay Exemption    10,300,000 1/ 
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity    (2,860,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Index Standard Deduction to CPI    (2,400,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2008  $(185,510,000) 

FY 2007   
L 06, Ch 333 Solar Energy Device Credit   $(500,000) 
L 06, Ch 354 Income Tax Rate Reduction – 5% (tax year 2006)    (156,100,000) 
L 06, Ch 357 Internal Revenue Code Conformity    (700,000) 
L 05, Ch 303 Active Duty Military Pay Exemption    (10,300,000) 1/ 
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity    310,000 
L 05, Ch 334 Elimination of “Marriage Penalty” (6,400,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Index Standard Deduction to CPI    (2,400,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2007  $(176,090,000) 

FY 2006   
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity  $(5,400,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Elimination of “Marriage Penalty” (6,400,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Index Standard Deduction to CPI   (2,400,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2006  $(14,200,000) 

FY 2005   
L 04, Ch 196 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(1,800,000) 
L 04, Ch 214 Stillborn Children Exemption      (34,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2005  $(1,834,000) 
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FY 2003   
L 02, Ch 344 Internal Revenue Code Conformity  $(14,480,000) 
L 01, Ch 261 Department of Revenue; Confidentiality (100,000) 
L 01, Ch 296 Internal Revenue Code Conformity     (105,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2003  $(14,685,000) 

FY 2002   
L 01, Ch 235 Increased Standard Deduction  $(15,000,000) 
L 01, Ch 261 Department of Revenue; Confidentiality 1,400,000 
L 01, Ch 296 Internal Revenue Code Conformity (157,000) 
L 01, Ch 380 Retirement Benefits;  Defined Contributions (300,000) 
L 01, Ch 382 Equity Tax Act; Archaic Laws     (552,800) 
   Subtotal FY 2002  $(14,609,800) 

____________ 
1/ Laws 2005, Chapter 303 provided a one-time exemption from state income tax for active duty military pay for tax year 

2006.  Laws 2006, Chapter 342 made the exemption permanent. 

 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 94 modifies the definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax year 2008 to the federal 
IRC in effect on January 1, 2008. This includes changes adopted by Congress in the Small Business and Work 
Opportunity Tax Act of 2007, the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Prevent Taxation of payment to 
Virginia Tech Victims and Families of 2007, Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007 and the Tax Technical 
Corrections Act of 2007.  The conformity provisions of Chapter 94 were estimated to reduce individual income tax 
collections by $(970,000) in FY 2009, $(830,000) in FY 2010, and $(280,000) in FY 2011. 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 220 clarifies for both residents and nonresidents the definition of “entire income” as adjusted 
gross income for the purpose of determining the credit for income taxes paid to other states.  (Effective retroactively 
from January 1, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 contains several budget reconciliation provisions related to revenues that were necessary 
to implement the FY 2009 budget.  One of the provisions establishes a minimum distribution amount for all cities 
and towns that equals at least the amount a city or town with a population of 1,500 or more persons would receive 
from the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.  Another provision contained in the measure increases the amounts of the 
corporate and individual income research and development (R&D) tax credits that are allowed to be claimed.  The 
R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses that exceeds a base amount (which is 
defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  The changes to the R&D credit contained in Chapter 290 are summarized in 
the table below. 
 
Tax Year If Qualified Expenses exceed Base 

Amount by $2.5 million or less, R&D 
Credit is equal to: 

If Qualified Expenses exceed Base Amount 
by more than $2.5 million, R&D Credit is 
equal to: 

2009 (current law) 20% of excess amount $500,000 + 11% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2010 22% of excess amount $550,000 + 13% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2011 – 2017 24% of excess amount $600,000 + 15% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2018 – and beyond 20% of excess amount $500,000 + 11% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

 
As noted in the table above, the changes to the R&D credit under Chapter 290 will occur in 3 stages.  The first 
increase of the credit is implemented in tax year 2010, followed by a second increase in tax years 2011 to 2017.  
Beginning in tax year 2018, the credit will revert to the amounts allowed under current law.   The act is estimated to 
reduce corporate and individual income taxes by a total of $(5.7) million in FY 2011 and $(11.2) million in 
FY 2012.   
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2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 1 was an emergency measure that established a standard procedure regarding income tax filing 
and payment deadlines. Specifically, the measure stipulated that when the original deadline for filing and paying 
income tax falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the deadline is automatically moved to the next business 
day.  (Contains an emergency clause) 
 
The filing and payment deadline for both federal and state income tax is April 15.  At the federal level, if the 
deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day.  “Legal 
holiday” under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) means a legal holiday as observed in the District of Columbia.  The 
April 15 filing deadline for 2007 fell on a Sunday and the next business day was Monday, April 16.  However, since 
the District of Columbia observed the Emancipation Day (legal holiday) on April 16, the federal deadline for 2007 
was moved to Tuesday, April 17.  Under Chapter 1, Arizona’s filing and payment due date for 2007 was also 
extended to April 17.  
 
Chapter 1 conformed the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC):  (1) for tax year 2007 to 
the United States IRC in effect as of January 1, 2007, and (2) for tax year 2006 to all IRC provisions passed with 
retroactive federal effective dates between December 31, 2005 and December 31, 2006.  This included changes 
adopted by Congress in the Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005, the Pension Protection Act of 
2006, and the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006.  The conformity provisions of Chapter 1 were estimated to 
reduce individual income tax collections by $(1.3) million in FY 2008, and $(980,000) in FY 2009, resulting in an 
incremental increase in FY 2009 of $320,000.   
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 112 provided that an individual who is both a resident of Arizona and a statutory resident of 
another state is allowed to claim an Arizona income tax credit for income taxes paid to the other state (for more 
details, see A.R.S. §43-1071).  Laws 1999, Chapter 250 authorized such taxpayers to claim the credit for tax years 
1989 through 2001.  Since Laws 2007, Chapter 112 is retroactive from January 1, 2002, the measure extended the 
provisions enacted by Laws 1999, Chapter 250.  Any refunds resulting from Laws 2007, Chapter 112 must be filed 
no later than December 31, 2011.  According to DOR, the fiscal impact of the bill is expected to be small.      
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 160 provided a statutory definition of “final determination” for the purpose of adjusting 
Arizona gross income due to changes in federal taxable income.  Under Arizona law, if a taxpayer’s federal taxable 
income is altered by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) or changes as a result of a renegotiation of a contract with 
the federal government, the taxpayer is required to either file the final determination of the change with the Arizona 
Department of Revenue (DOR) or file an amended return within 90 days.  Prior to Laws 2007, Chapter 160, there 
was no definition of “final determination” in statutes.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2007)        
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 180 broadens the solar energy income tax credit by permitting it to be transferred to third party 
organizations that have installed or manufactured a solar energy device.  Previously, the tax credit was available 
only to taxpayers installing solar energy devices or to entities that financed the purchase of a qualifying device.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 225 provided several changes to the Motion Picture Production Tax Incentive Program 
established by Laws 2005, Chapter 317.  The maximum credit allowed each year by the original legislation remains 
unchanged.  Beginning with the 2008 income tax credit allocation, 5% must be set aside for commercial 
advertisements and music video productions.  A company that is certified to receive income tax credits for 
commercials and music videos must spend a minimum of $250,000 in production costs within 12 months.  Motion 
picture production companies must spend at least $250,000 on each qualifying motion picture production in order to 
be eligible for the income tax credits.  Previously, a company could become eligible by incurring $250,000 in costs 
for one or more motion picture productions.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 
million in a 12-month period now may receive a tax credit equal to 20% of production costs (increased from 10%); 
production expenses from $1 million to $3 million may be credited for 30% of production costs (increased from 
15%), while productions spending more than $3 million in the state also may claim a credit equal to 30% of 
production costs (increased from 20%).  The maximum credit for any single motion picture production, previously 
capped at $5 million, is increased to $7 million in 2008, $8 million in 2009, and $9 million in 2010.  Beginning 
October 31, 2007 through December 31, 2010, the Department of Commerce is required to certify motion picture 
infrastructure projects, including soundstages and support and augmentation facilities, for income tax credits.  The 
maximum credit amount is 15% of the total base investment.  Tax credits for soundstage investments are capped at 
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$5 million per year in 2008, 2009 and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities are 
capped at $7 million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9 million in 2010 (if one 
or more soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  (Various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 258 created an income tax subtraction for contributions to qualified 529 college savings plans 
and an income tax credit for donations to the Military Family Relief Fund.   
 
529 College Savings Plan Income Tax Subtraction 
The bill allows, for tax years 2008 through 2012, an individual income tax subtraction for contributions by Arizona 
residents to any college savings plan (whether operated in Arizona or elsewhere in the U.S.) established under  
Section 529 of the Internal Revenue Code.  A 529 plan is an education savings plan operated by a state or 
educational institution designed to help families set aside funds for future college costs.  The income tax subtraction 
is limited to $750 for taxpayers filing as single or head of household and to $1,500 for married couples.  There 
currently is no deduction allowed for a 529 plan at the federal level. 
 
Under federal tax code, earnings generated from contributions to 529 Plans are allowed to grow tax-free.  The same 
tax advantage applies to state income tax since federal adjusted gross income is the starting point for determining 
Arizona income tax liability.  Thus, besides the already favorable tax treatment of 529 Plans described above, Laws 
2007, Chapter 258 provides an additional exemption not available at the federal level.  Beginning in FY 2009, the 
act is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $2.5 million.   
 
Military Family Relief Fund Tax Credit 
The bill allows, for tax years 2008 through 2012, an individual income tax credit for cash contributions by 
individuals to the Military Family Relief Fund.  The fund, which is also established by Laws 2007, Chapter 258, 
consists of private donations, grants, bequests, and other monies that are administered by the Arizona Department of 
Veterans’ Services for the purpose of providing financial assistance to family members of Arizona military 
personnel injured or killed during their service.  The maximum credit is $200 for taxpayers filing as single or head 
of household and $400 for married couples.  The credit is not allowed to exceed the taxpayer’s tax liability.  While 
the Fund may receive donations in any amount, only the first $1,000,000 in donations in any calendar year qualify 
for the credit.  Beginning in FY 2009, the act is estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $1.0 million.   
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 102 allowed a taxpayer to voluntarily designate an amount to donate from his refund to the 
Veterans’ Donation Fund.  The fund is used to provide health care and education to veterans as well as provide for 
the maintenance of the State Veteran’s Home, memorials, and cemeteries.  (Effective January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 222 modified the certification of motion picture production costs and the qualification for motion 
picture production tax incentives that were enacted in Laws 2005, Chapter 317.  In addition to making several technical 
changes to the legislation passed in 2005, Chapter 222 authorized the Arizona Department of Commerce (ADOC) to 
begin accepting tax credit applications beginning October 31 for the following year if ADOC has pre-approved the 
maximum calendar year credit for the current year.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 262 provided that an estate is allowed to subtract the amount of federal estate taxes paid when 
computing its Arizona taxable income.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 333 required the Arizona Department of Commerce to establish a solar energy income tax 
credit program, established solar energy tax credits for commercial and industrial projects, removed the $5,000 tax 
exemption limitation for retail and prime contracting classifications under the transaction privilege tax (TPT), and 
prohibited solar energy systems from being added to property value.  The income tax credit portion of this credit 
was capped at $1.0 million per calendar year, which was expected to reduce corporate and individual income tax 
revenue by approximately $(500,000) each in FY 2007.  The elimination of the sales tax cap was expected to result 
in an additional $(0.5) million revenue loss.  The total estimated impact of provisions of this legislation for FY 2007 
was $(1.5) million.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 342 made permanent the state income tax exemption of military income for active duty members 
of the U.S. Armed Forces that was established by Laws 2005, Chapter 303 for the 2006 tax year.  In addition, the act 
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expanded the exemption to also include military income for active service in the National Guard or the Reserves.  This 
bill was estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(12.2) million in FY 2008.  (Effective January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 reduced individual income tax rates by 5% for tax year 2006 and 10% for tax year 2007.  
(See Property Tax section for other changes.)  (Contains various effective dates).  These rate reductions were 
estimated to reduce General Fund revenues by $(156.1) million in FY 2007, and an additional $(177.9) million in 
FY 2008. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 357 conformed the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax 
year 2006 to the United States IRC in effect as of January 1, 2006, excluding those provisions where Arizona did not 
previously conform to federal tax law changes (bonus depreciation and business expensing).   
 
The federal government enacted 3 tax bills during 2005: the Energy Tax Incentives Act; the Katrina Emergency Tax 
Relief Act; and the Gulf Opportunity Zone Act.  The conformity bill was estimated to reduce FY 2007 individual 
and corporate income tax revenues by $(700,000) each, for a total of $(1.4) million. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 358 provided that the education grant under the newly established Displaced Pupils Choice 
Grant Program does not count as income for purposes of state income tax.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 387 extended the Enterprise Zone Program until June 30, 2011, and modified some of its 
qualification requirements.  The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2006)   
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 115 established the National Guard Relief Fund (NGRF) to provide financial assistance to 
families of Arizona National Guard members who are serving on active duty in a combat zone.  The bill allowed 
taxpayers to donate to the NGRF from their tax refund or from additional funds included with their tax return.  
(Effective January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 148 clarified the definition of pollution control equipment for income tax credits on pollution 
controls.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 264 created an individual and corporate income tax credit of $1,000 per employee for 
businesses that employ Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty.  The bill was expected to 
reduce corporate income tax collections by an estimated $(250,000) in FY 2006.  (Effective January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 278 made technical changes to the Healthy Forest initiative passed in 2004 and provided some 
additional tax incentives.  It reduced from 10 to 3 the number of full-time employees a business must have in order 
to qualify for income tax incentives, and it reduced the number of work hours defining full-time employment from 
1,750 hours to 1,500 hours per year.  The amount of required health insurance coverage for employees of a qualified 
business was also reduced.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 292 created individual and corporate income tax credits for the installation of water 
conservation systems and a corporate income tax credit for the installation of water conservation system plumbing 
stub-outs.  A water conservation system uses “graywater” or waste water from a home for irrigation purposes. The 
individual income tax credit is equal to 25% of the cost of the water conservation system up to a maximum of 
$1,000.  The bill limits the maximum aggregate amount of the individual income tax credit to $250,000 per year.  
The credits are effective from tax years 2007 through 2014.  
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 303 provided active military service income to be subtracted from the gross income on income 
taxes for individuals or estates in tax year 2006.  The bill was estimated to have a one-time impact of $(10.3) million 
in FY 2007. 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 311 provided for employers the option to not withhold income tax during the month of 
December.  If an employer elects to not withhold tax in December, he is required to notify the Department of 
Revenue and his employees of such decision.  Employees must be notified in writing by October 1, 2005 and by 
July 1 each year thereafter.  This bill has no fiscal impact.  (Effective September 1, 2005) 
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Laws 2005, Chapter 316 established an individual income tax credit for investments in qualified small businesses 
from tax years 2007 through 2014.  The allowable credit is 30% of the investment over a 3-year period and is 
increased to 35% if the investment is made in a bioscience company or a company located in a rural county.  The 
credit is allowed to be carried forward to the next 3 consecutive taxable years.  The credit, which is administered by 
the Department of Commerce, is capped at $20 million over the life of the program.  (Effective August 31, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 317 established individual and corporate income tax credits for businesses that produce 
motion pictures in Arizona.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million in a 12-
month period may receive a tax credit equal to 10% of production costs; production expenses from $1 million to $3 
million may be credited for 15% of production costs, while productions spending more than $3 million in the state 
may claim a credit equal to 20% of production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits approved may not 
exceed $30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, $50 million in 2008, $60 million in 2009 and $70 million in 2010.  
The tax credits may be sold or transferred, in whole or in part, to other taxpayers.  The law requires taxpayers 
claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to 
hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007 and 50% in 2008 and after.  It is estimated to reduce income 
tax collections by $(9) million in FY 2007.  (Effective July 1, 2006, retroactive to January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 334 provided the following changes to Arizona income tax statutes:  (1) Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) conformity, (2) marriage penalty elimination, and (3) standard deduction inflation indexing. 
 
IRC Conformity 
Federal adjusted gross income (FAGI) forms the basis for the computation of Arizona individual income tax.  For 
this reason, changes to FAGI will also affect the state’s income tax collections.  The federal government enacted 2 
bills during 2004 (the Working Families Tax Relief Act and the American Jobs Creation Act) to which Laws 2005, 
Chapter 334 conformed.  The cost of conforming Arizona individual income tax statutes to the Internal Revenue 
Code is estimated to be $(5.4) million in FY 2006 and $(5.1) million in FY 2007.  
 
Elimination of “Marriage Penalty” 
Laws 2005, Chapter 334 provided that certain tax credits for married filers will become twice that of single filers.  
Included are the credits for contributions to charitable organizations, contributions to qualifying school tuition 
organizations, and contributions to public school extracurricular activities.  The combined cost of these provisions is 
estimated to be $(6.4) million in FY 2006 and $(13) million in FY 2007.   
 
The individual cost for each of the 3 tax credits amended under this bill is shown below.  
• Charitable Organizations - $(0.1) million in FY 2006 and $(0.2) million in FY 2007 
• Private School Tuition Organizations - $(3.2) million in FY 2006 and $(6.4) million in FY 2007 
• Public School Extracurricular Activities  - $(3.1) million in FY 2006 and $(6.4) million in FY 2007  
 
Inflation-Indexing of Standard Deduction 
Laws 2005, Chapter 334 provided that the standard deduction for individual income tax filers be indexed for annual 
cost of living changes.  This provision is estimated to cost the General Fund $(2.4) million in FY 2006 and $(4.8) 
million in FY 2007.     
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 196 was the annual bill that conformed the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal 
Revenue Code (IRC) to the United States IRC, as amended, in effect on January 1, 2004, including federal 
provisions that became effective during 2003.   
 
The federal government enacted 3 tax bills during 2003: the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act; the 
Military Family Tax Relief Act; and the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement, and Modernization Act.  The 
Legislature conformed to all tax law changes in these federal acts except the provisions related to additional bonus 
depreciation allowances and investment deductions by small businesses.  According to DOR, the conformity bill is 
estimated to reduce individual income tax revenues by $(1,800,000) in FY 2005.  (Contained various effective dates, 
including an emergency clause) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 214 expanded the $2,300 tax exemption for persons 65 years or older, and dependents to also 
include stillborn children.  The exemption can only be claimed in the year in which the stillbirth occurred.  The bill 



Individual Income Tax 
 

- 55 - 

is estimated to reduce individual income tax revenues by $(34,000) in FY 2005.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2003) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 284 increased state withholding rates to correct a rate adjustment error included in Laws 2003, 
Chapter 263.  The Legislature increased the state withholding rates as of July 1, 2003 to prevent a state income tax 
loss due to a reduction in federal withholding resulting from the enactment of the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief 
Reconciliation Act of 2003.  These rate adjustments, as reflected in Laws 2003, Chapter 263, proved later to be 
insufficient since they failed to account for certain provisions in the federal tax legislation. 
 
The new state withholding rates, which are shown in the table below, became effective on January 1, 2005. 
 

Old Withholding Rates New Withholding Rates 
0.0% 0% 

10.0% 10% 
18.2% 19% 
21.3% 23% 
23.3% 25% 
29.4% 31% 
34.4% 37% 

 
The new withholding percentages are estimated to provide a one-time revenue increase of $76 million in FY 2005.  
This amount is equal to the one-time revenue loss incurred in FY 2004 as a result of the insufficient rate adjustments 
included in Laws 2003, Chapter 263. 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 289 made several changes to tax statutes: 
 
1. Updated the income tax credit review schedule to add those credits that were reviewed in 2003 to the review 

schedule for 2008. 
 
2. Repealed the individual and corporate income tax credits for costs incurred in corrective actions for releases 

from underground storage tanks. 
 
3. Allowed the enterprise zone job creation tax credits to be claimed for the second and third years of qualified 

employment even if the credits for the first year were not claimed on the original tax return.  The jobs must have 
been created before January 1, 2002 and certified by the Arizona Department of Commerce. 

 
4. Clarified that a business may remain eligible for enterprise zone tax credits if retail sales accounted for less than 

10% of the business conducted at the zone location. 
 
5. Provided a retail sales tax exemption for sales of food, beverages and promotional items to employees and 

occasional guests of businesses within enterprise zones. 
6. Made technical and conforming changes and made the tax law amendments retroactive to tax years beginning 

from and after December 31, 2003. 
 
There was no estimate of the legislation’s fiscal impact.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 326 provided for the state Department of Commerce to certify businesses that process and add 
value to biomass from Arizona’s forest areas. Qualified businesses are eligible for individual and corporate income 
tax credits based on net increases in employment, and sales and use tax exemptions for qualified construction and 
equipment.  A business can claim a credit for up to 200 new jobs.  The bill provided for income tax credits and sales 
tax exemptions to be forfeited, or “clawed back,” if a business’ certificate is revoked.  The legislation’s fiscal impact 
could not be determined.  (Effective June 3, 2004) 
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1 appropriated an additional $3,275,800 from the General Fund to DOR 
for a revenue generating plan. See Laws 2003, Chapter 262 for a more complete explanation of this issue.  The 
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program was projected to generate $5,838,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2003, of which 
$2,252,000 was attributable to individual income tax.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 1 repealed the minimum withholding requirement of $5 per month or a 
proportionate rate for any shorter pay period enacted under Laws 2003, Chapter 263.  The act included an 
emergency clause. 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 61 repealed the credit for donations of motor vehicles to the “Wheels to Work Program.” 
According to DOR, since this program was already eliminated in 2002, this bill had no fiscal impact. (Effective 
September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 68 was the annual bill that conformed the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) to the 2003 United States IRC.  According to DOR, the fiscal impact of this bill was negligible.  
(Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 105 was the annual tax correction bill that made technical, conforming, and clarifying changes 
to the Arizona tax statutes.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 119 provided cities, towns and counties additional alternatives to obtain population estimates 
for the distribution of state shared tax revenues. There was no General Fund impact associated with this bill.  
(Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 122 repealed the recycling equipment income tax credit retroactive to January 1, 2003. The 
legislation did not affect previous tax credit carry forward. The fiscal impact of this legislation could not be 
determined.  However, according to DOR, this credit had a carry-forward amount of $21,700 in tax year 2000, the 
last year for which such data existed. The bill also required that income tax credits that are reviewed and retained by 
the Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Committee will be reviewed again in 5 years.  (Contained various effective 
dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 169 provided that every school tuition organization and public school that receives a 
contribution that can be claimed as an individual income tax credit must report certain information to DOR by 
February 28 each year.  There was no fiscal impact associated with this bill.  (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 219 expanded the definition of the income tax credit for extra-curricular activities in public 
schools to also include school trips in or out of state for competitive events, but excluded any senior trips or 
recreational, amusement or tourist activities. The bill provided that school site councils determine the use of any 
undesignated funds received through the tax credit.  The fiscal impact could not be determined.  (Effective 
September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 262, appropriated $6,552,000 from the General Fund to DOR for a revenue generating 
program.  The program was projected to generate new revenue through increased audit and collections activity.  It 
was expected to generate $53,249,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2004, of which $18,667,000 was 
attributable to the individual income tax.  This act represented the annualization of the revenue generating program 
begun by Laws 2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 established a tax amnesty program, which allowed DOR to abate or waive all or part of 
penalties and to impose reduced interest payments for tax liabilities for all qualifying taxpayers.  To qualify for the 
program, a taxpayer must have paid at least one-third of the total amount due by October 31, 2003 and the entire 
balance due by May 1, 2004.  The amnesty program was projected to generate $25,000,000 in additional General 
Fund revenues in FY 2004, of which $6,250,000 was attributable to individual income tax.  The actual amount of tax 
amnesty monies reported for FY 2004 was $47,125,500, of which approximately $2,800,000 was attributable to 
individual income tax.  The tax amnesty monies included $4,000,000 in on-going collections and $43,125,500 in 
one-time revenues.  The provision was repealed July 1, 2004.  The one-time revenue impact of the tax amnesty 
program was not included in the tax law changes table at the beginning of this section. 
 
The bill required employers to withhold (for state income tax purposes) a minimum amount of $5 per month for 
each employee on their payroll.  This provision, which was retroactive from June 30, 2003, was expected to increase 
individual income tax collections by $5 million in FY 2004.  See Laws 2003, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 1. 
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Another provision of the bill adjusted state income tax withholding rates to compensate for an estimated $(14) 
million impact of reduced federal withholding from the Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003. 
Retroactive from June 30, 2003, the withholding rates were changed as follows (see table below): 
 

Old Withholding Rates New Withholding Rates 
0.0%   0.0% 

10.0% 10.0% 
18.0% 18.2% 
21.0% 21.3% 
23.0% 23.3% 
29.0% 29.4% 
34.0% 34.4% 

 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 130 conformed Arizona’s estate and trust taxation statutes to changes in the Internal Revenue 
Code.  The Department of Revenue did not anticipate that individual income tax collections from estates and trusts 
would be affected by this legislation.  (Effective January 1, 2003) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 237 provided modifications to the state’s enterprise zone program both with respect to income 
tax credits and property reclassification.  For example, the act clarified and narrowed the definition for the enterprise 
zone program with respect to retail activity.  The act also limited the number of qualified employment positions that 
are eligible for the premium or income tax credits under this program. The fiscal impact of this act was unknown.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee.  The 
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for evaluating 
the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state.  The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years according to 
a rotating schedule.  
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 344 conformed Arizona tax statutes to the Internal Revenue Code.  The act included 
provisions relating to the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001, the Fallen Hero Survivor 
Benefit Fairness Act of 2001 and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002.  The JLBC Staff estimated 
that the conformity provisions would reduce individual income tax revenues by $(14,480,000) in FY 2003.  (The 
corporate bonus depreciation provision was the only provision excluded from conformity.  This provision did not 
affect individual income tax, however.)  
 
The act also adjusted the Urban Revenue Sharing (URS) program from 15% to 14.8% for 2 years. The URS 
adjustments, however, were expected to increase the General Fund by $5,700,000.  The URS changes are not 
included in Table 4.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/iit.pdf


ARIZONA INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR
2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000

Agricultural # of claims 6 9 9
Pollution credit available $47,706 $54,870 $77,096
Control credit used $32,542 $17,500 $15,218
Equipment carry forward $15,164 $37,370 $61,878
Agricultural # of claims 0 0 0 0 0
Preservation credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
District credit refunded $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REFUNDABLE carry forward
Agricultural # of claims 109 151 133 135 130
Water credit available $9,027,115 $9,062,703 $7,984,544 $8,329,576 $8,157,000
Conservation credit used $2,444,313 $1,611,928 $1,256,346 $1,473,497 $1,578,411

carry forward $5,929,522 $7,165,357 $6,157,459 $6,057,938 $6,527,281
Alternative # of claims 0 0 0
Fuel Delivery credit available $0 $0 $0
System credit used $0 $0 $0
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $0 $0 $0
Alternative # of claims 19
Fuel Delivery credit available $2,863,157
System credit used $192,848
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $2,670,309

carry forward $0
Alternative # of claims 26 50 74 111 162
Fuel credit available $251,238 $407,905 $605,422 $2,231,236 $2,770,835
Vehicles credit used $34,972 $60,504 $104,771 $199,273 $364,450
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $0 $347,401 $500,944 $2,036,270 $2,412,885
Alternative # of claims 158 4,905
Fuel credit available $2,694,618 $94,544,474
Vehicles credit used $325,684 $13,251,856
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $2,368,934 $81,240,048

carry forward $0 $52,570
Clean Elections # of claims 32,563 31,075 32,338 32,042 33,470 26,757 23,717

credit available $811,908 $811,007 $748,343 $746,749 $725,230 $639,427 $564,312
credit used $801,655 $801,435 $739,774 $727,224 $688,864 $599,485 $537,345
carry forward

Commerical & # of claims
Industrial Solar credit available
Energy Credit credit used

carry forward
Construction # of claims 0
Materials credit available $0

credit used $0
carry forward $0
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ARIZONA INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR
2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000

Contributions # of claims 25,587 20,736 17,467 14,226 12,538 10,654
To Charities credit available $6,637,500 $3,884,600 $3,283,100 $2,687,900 $2,257,673 $1,829,205
Providing Help credit used $6,589,000 $3,851,700 $3,259,400 $2,676,900 $2,196,043 $1,792,123
To Working Poor carry forward $48,500 $32,900 $23,700 $11,000 $41,852 $35,581
Defense # of claims 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Contracting credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Donation of # of claims 41 163 464
Motor Vehicles credit available $54,025 $213,200 $615,576
To Work credit used $40,261 $173,319 $549,223
Program carry forward
Employing # of claims
National Guard credit available
Members credit used

carry forward
Employment of # of claims 0 5 0 0 0
TANF Recipients credit available $0 $1,652 $0 $0 $0

credit used $0 $1,652 $0 $0 $0
carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Enterprise # of claims 189 164 193 140 215 196
Zone credit available $2,231,527 $2,136,127 $2,943,582 $2,471,716 $3,767,428 $3,652,883

credit used $1,384,760 $1,271,630 $1,698,443 $1,463,745 $2,210,730 $2,120,844
carry forward $721,846 $738,059 $1,168,070 $1,061,630 $1,556,828 $1,540,060

Environmental # of claims 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Technology credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Family Tax # of claims 448,960 439,056 425,484 417,451 427,798 402,094 335,253
Credit credit available $37,349,413 $36,737,292 $35,617,953 $35,068,208 $36,064,781 $33,377,585 $28,924,670

credit used $6,867,294 $7,661,867 $7,709,270 $7,445,937 $7,382,178 $7,356,939 $7,799,840
carry forward

Graywater # of claims 0
Conservation credit available $0
System Credit credit used $0

carry forward
Healthy Forest # of claims
Enterprises credit available

credit used
carry forward

Income Taxes Paid # of claims 34,880 34,664 29,956 25,722 24,909 29,007 27,831
To Other States credit available $124,937,274 $119,416,310 $80,229,015 $62,484,651 $52,843,508 $58,777,258 $57,403,404
or Countries credit used $124,937,274 $119,416,310 $80,229,015 $62,484,651 $52,843,508 $58,777,258 $57,403,404

carry forward
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ARIZONA INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR
2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000

Increased Excise # of claims 536,940 546,678 555,762 548,831 529,265 428,189
Taxes Paid credit available $28,751,332 $29,358,243 $29,924,907 $29,581,905 $28,403,741 $22,612,548

credit used $28,751,332 $29,358,243 $29,924,907 $29,581,905 $28,403,741 $22,612,548
carry forward

Investment in # of claims
Qualified Small credit available
Business credit used

carry forward
Military # of claims 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Reuse Zone credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

Motion Picture # of claims
Production Costs credit available

credit used
carry forward

Neighborhood # of claims 1,168 1,735 2,612 4,199
Electric Vehicle credit available $5,648,559 $9,049,067 $16,275,159 $40,162,384

credit used $1,533,072 $2,484,187 $5,716,267 $22,266,522
carry forward $4,123,724 $6,564,880 $10,558,892 $17,885,862

Pollution # of claims 28 9 13 18
Control Device credit available $40,676 $32,062 $18,562 $31,624

credit used $16,385 $31,239 $18,525 $31,624
carry forward $24,291 $823 $37 $0

Private School # of claims 75,967 73,621 69,234 63,830 58,122 52,161 46,755 38,249
Tuition credit available $54,230,179 $51,014,815 $42,192,973 $31,871,900 $29,445,494 $26,171,191 $24,924,656 $17,701,284
Organization credit used $54,230,179 $51,014,815 $42,192,973 $31,871,900 $29,445,494 $26,171,191 $24,924,656 $17,701,284

carry forward
Property # of claims 13,247 13,943 14,786 15,028 14,991 15,218 14,593
Tax credit available $4,776,863 $4,977,070 $5,242,685 $5,301,879 $5,106,544 $5,015,318 $4,653,837

credit used $4,776,863 $4,977,070 $5,242,685 $5,301,879 $5,106,544 $5,015,318 $4,653,837
carry forward

Public School # of claims 203,742 218,664 215,369 213,987 201,407 143,697 166,468 149,215
Extra credit available $41,955,487 $43,230,433 $35,416,279 $30,958,872 $27,753,764 $22,455,129 $20,004,715 $17,526,299
Curricular credit used $38,693,519 $35,051,375 $28,609,146 $25,839,148 $23,411,749 $22,455,129 $20,004,715 $17,526,299
Activity carry forward
Recycling # of claims 0 0 4 5 6 6
Equipment credit available $0 $0 $3,891 $7,945 $9,309 $26,303

credit used $0 $0 $2,380 $3,267 $2,928 $4,605
carry forward $0 $0 $1,511 $4,678 $6,381 $21,698

Research & # of claims 103 82 76 44
Development credit available $2,156,889 $1,453,763 $684,058 $614,238

credit used $1,315,373 $765,768 $484,138 $465,524
carry forward $841,516 $687,995 $199,920 $148,714
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ARIZONA INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR
2007 2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000

School Site # of claims 75 99 45 66 51
Donation credit available $8,503,992 $5,339,503 $2,924,583 $3,711,546 $4,380,699

credit used $6,012,397 $3,510,857 $2,048,930 $2,380,444 $2,869,356
carry forward $2,491,685 $1,828,646 $716,187 $1,697,036 $1,518,424

Solar # of claims 1,979 1,171 2,303 2,330 2,660
Energy credit available $862,935 $549,069 $775,830 $901,836 $935,627

credit used $817,331 $480,091 $977,721 $868,225 $924,231
carry forward $157,555 $108,286 $119,708 $135,943 $141,204

Solar Hot Water # of claims 17 15 18 35
Plumbing Stub credit available $15,220 $4,920 $16,951 $21,308
Outs & Electric credit used $5,677 $3,312 $7,804 $11,566
Vehicle Recharge carry forward $9,543 $1,608 $9,147 $9,742
Technology # of claims 0 0 0
Training credit available $0 $0 $0
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $0 $0 $0

carry forward
Underground # of claims 0 0 0 0 0
Storage Tanks credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
carry forward

Vehicle Refueling # of claims 5 9 22 127
Apparatus & credit available $13,872 $20,519 $39,953 $297,382
Infrastructure credit used $8,960 $3,531 $16,440 $238,139
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $4,912 $16,988 $23,513 $59,243
Vehicle Refueling # of claims 12 676
Apparatus & credit available $33,750 $3,204,789
Infrastructure credit used $25,456 $364,288
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $8,294 $2,840,501

carry forward $0 $0
TOTAL # of claims 279,709 1,358,875 1,375,875 1,359,410 1,318,957 1,245,138 1,132,937 613,113

credit available $96,185,666 $290,872,038 $286,283,845 $238,493,045 $216,849,080 $199,898,358 $208,594,287 $287,471,093
credit used $92,923,698 $252,200,608 $247,004,853 $194,834,221 $169,913,374 $154,986,524 $155,936,736 $149,349,870
credit refunded $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $2,384,317 $86,750,858
carry forward $0 $0 $3,262,031 $9,616,450 $14,477,487 $16,351,052 $23,469,874 $30,233,735

Notes:
1.  Shaded areas indicate that the credit was not in effect during the tax year.
2.  "Data Not Available" indicates that the Office of Economic Research and Analysis has no information that any taxpayers claimed the credit during the tax year.
3.  "Data Not Releasable" indicates that the credit information cannot be released due to confidentiality restrictions.
4.  "Total" includes credits for which information was "not releasable" individually.
5.  DATA IN ITALICS  ARE PRELIMINARY.
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The corporate income tax is levied on corporations that engage in business within Arizona.  The tax rate currently is 
6.968% of taxable income.  A multi-state company must allocate a portion of its income to Arizona based on its 
Arizona property, payroll, and sales. 
 
The corporate income tax is an important revenue source for the state, representing approximately 10% of forecasted 
General Fund revenues.  A portion of corporate income tax collections (along with individual income tax 
collections) is shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state. 
 
COLLECTIONS 
 
Table 1 below provides historical corporate income tax collections for the last 20 years.  Corporate income tax 
receipts are deposited into the General Fund, after sufficient amounts have been deposited into the tax refund 
account to meet the requirements for tax refunds [A.R.S. § 42-1116]. 
 
Table 1 

CORPORATE INCOME TAX COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year State General Fund Fiscal Year State General Fund 
FY 2008 $784,510,885 FY 1998 $535,295,300 
FY 2007 $986,169,564 FY 1997 $600,890,500 
FY 2006 $874,219,473 FY 1996 $448,039,400 
FY 2005 $701,859,285 FY 1995 $419,690,900 
FY 2004 $494,044,869 FY 1994 $331,395,000 
FY 2003 $389,406,300 FY 1993 $263,242,400 
FY 2002 $346,280,400 FY 1992 $211,445,600 
FY 2001 $541,173,600 FY 1991 $191,672,500 
FY 2000 $523,180,000 FY 1990 $178,067,100 
FY 1999 $545,389,000 FY 1989 $200,869,700 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue annual reports - amounts are net of refunds and charge-offs.  A portion of 
corporate income tax collections is shared with incorporated cities and towns – see Table 2 in Individual Income 
Tax section. 
 

 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Based on an initiative measure approved by the voters in 1972, an Urban Revenue Sharing Fund was established.  
The initiative provided that a percentage of income tax revenues (including both individual and corporate income 
tax) be shared with incorporated cities and towns within the state.  Currently, 15% of net income tax revenues from 
2 years prior is distributed to cities and towns.  This distribution is based on the last U.S. decennial census, a special 
census, or revised population figures approved by the Department of Economic Security (DES).  Table 3 
(Distribution of Individual and Corporate Income Tax) in the Individual Income Tax section provides historical 
urban revenue sharing distributions [A.R.S. § 42-206]. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Any corporation, excluding exempt organizations, having Arizona taxable income is subject to the corporate income 
tax [A.R.S. § 43-1111]. 
 
Exempt organizations include those exempt from federal income tax under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code 
(generally "non-profit" organizations), as well as a specific list of exempt organizations included in state statute 
[A.R.S. § 43-1201]. 
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The income of a corporation owned by an Indian tribe or tribal member not subject to Arizona’s corporate income 
tax if its income is derived from businesses located on the reservation.  Income from a corporation not owned by a 
tribe or tribal member, regardless of whether it is located on a reservation, is subject to the state corporate income 
tax.  Corporations owned by tribes or tribal members that derive their income from non-reservation sources are 
subject to the income tax in the same manner as all other corporations with income in Arizona. 
 
There are no specific statutory references related to the imposition of Arizona state income tax on tribal members or 
corporations.  Thus, to facilitate the administration of state income tax on Indian reservations, the Department of 
Revenue has adopted income tax rulings based on the decisions in several court cases. 
 
Small business corporations which make a "subchapter S" election for a taxable year under the Internal Revenue 
Code are not subject to the corporate income tax.  The income of these corporations is generally passed through to 
each shareholder, who is then taxed under the state's individual income tax [A.R.S. § 43-1126]. 
 
The United States, the state, counties, towns, school districts, or other political subdivisions of the state or federal 
government are excluded from the definition of a taxpayer, and are exempt from the corporate income tax [A.R.S. § 
43-104]. 
 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
Organizations that are exempt from federal income tax under Section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code are also 
exempt from state income tax.  In addition, the following organizations are exempt from state income tax [A.R.S. §  
43-1201]: 
 
(1) Labor, agricultural, and horticultural organizations except for cooperative organizations. 
(2) Fraternal beneficiary societies, orders, or organizations that both: (a) operate under the lodge system or for the 

exclusive benefit of the members of a fraternity, and (b) provide for the payment of life, sick, accident, or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents. 

(3) Cemetery companies that are owned and operated exclusively for the benefit of their members or are not 
operated for profit. 

(4) Corporations that are organized and operated exclusively for religious, charitable, scientific, literary, or 
educational purposes, or for the prevention of cruelty to children and animals. 

(5) Business leagues, chambers of commerce, real estate boards, and boards of trade that are not organized for 
profit.  

(6) Civic leagues or organizations that are not organized for profit. 
(7) Clubs that are organized and operated exclusively for pleasure, recreation, and other non-profitable purposes. 
(8) Corporations that are organized for the exclusive purpose of holding title to property, collecting income from 

such property, and turning over the entire net income to an organization which itself is exempt from income 
tax. 

(9) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members or their dependents, if both of the following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings 
inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, and (b) 85% or more of the income consists of 
monies collected from members and contributions by the employer of the members. 

(10) Teachers' or public employees' retirement fund organizations that are of a purely local character, if both of the 
following apply: (a) no part of their net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual, 
and (b) the income consists solely of monies received from public taxation, assessments on the salaries of 
members, and income from investments. 

(11) Religious or apostolic organizations or corporations, if such organizations or corporations have a common 
treasury or community treasury. 

(12) Voluntary employees' beneficiary organizations that provide for the payment of life, sick, accident or other 
benefits to their members, their dependents or designated beneficiaries, if both of the following apply: (a) 
admission to membership is limited to individuals who are officers or employees of the United States 
Government, and (b) no part of the net earnings inures to the benefit of any private shareholder or individual. 

(13) Corporations classified as diversified management companies under Section 5 of the federal Investment 
Company Act of 1940. 

(14) Insurance companies that are subject to the insurance premium tax. 
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(15) 15) Mutual ditch, irrigation or water companies or similar nonprofit organizations if 85% or more of their 
income consists of amounts collected from members for the sole purpose of meeting losses and expenses. 

(16) Workers’ compensation pools established pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-961.01 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base for the corporate income tax is defined as "Arizona taxable income", which is further defined as the 
"Arizona gross income" (equal to a corporation's federal taxable income), adjusted by a series of additions and 
subtractions as specified in Title 43, Article 3 of the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S. § 43-1121 - A.R.S. § 43-
1130.01) [A.R.S. § 43-1101]. 
 
The tax rate for corporate income tax is 6.968% of a corporation's net Arizona taxable income or $50, whichever is 
greater [A.R.S. § 43-1111].  The 6.968% flat tax rate has been in effect since January 1, 2001.  The $50 minimum 
tax was effective beginning January 1, 1988. 
 

Table 2 
HISTORICAL CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES 1/2/

Taxable Income TY 1965 TY 1967 TY 1974 2/ TY 1990 TY 1994 TY 1998  TY 2000 TY 2001 
$         0   -   1,000  1.30% 2.00% 2.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  1,001   -   2,000 2.60% 3.00% 4.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  2,001   -   3,000 3.30% 4.00% 5.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  3,001   -   4,000 4.00% 5.00% 6.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  4,001   -   5,000 4.60% 6.00% 8.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  5,001   -   6,000 5.90% 7.00% 9.00% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 
$  6,001  &  over 6.60% 8.00% 10.50% 9.30% 9.00% 8.00% 7.968% 6.968% 

____________ 
1/ For tax rates prior to 1965, see page 119 of the 1990 Tax Handbook. 
2/ From January 1, 1986 through December 31, 1987, corporate net capital gains were taxed at a 6.4% flat rate.   

 
Corporations which have income from both within the state and outside of the state are required to allocate their 
Arizona taxable income according to the type of income as follows:  [A.R.S. § 43-1132] 
 
• Business income.  Allocated to Arizona by multiplying the income by a factor which weights the value of the 

taxpayer’s property in Arizona at 25%, the value of the taxpayer’s payroll at 25%, and the value of sales within 
the state at 50%.  Beginning in tax year 2006, Laws 2005, Chapter 289 allows corporations, when certain 
conditions are met, to elect an alternative computation that increases the sales factor weight to 60% in 2006, 70% 
in 2007, and 80% in 2008 and after [A.R.S. § 43-1139 - A.R.S. § 43-1145]. 

 
• Nonbusiness income.  Includes rents and royalties from real property or tangible personal property, capital gains, 

interest and dividends, and patent and copyright royalties.  Income is generally allocated to Arizona to the extent 
the property is utilized or located in the state, or if the taxpayer's commercial location is in the state [A.R.S. § 43-
1134 - A.R.S. § 43-1138]. 

 
• Sale of other than tangible personal property.  Allocated to Arizona if the income producing activity is 

performed within the state, or, if the activity is performed both inside and outside of the state, if the greater 
proportion of the activity is performed within the state [A.R.S. § 43-1147]. 

 
• Sale of tangible personal property.  Allocated to Arizona if the property is delivered or shipped to a purchaser 

within the state [A.R.S. § 43-1146]. 
 
If the allocation and apportionment provisions do not fairly represent the extent of the taxpayer's business activity in 
the state, the taxpayer may petition for, or the Department of Revenue may require, an alternative method of 
allocation [A.R.S. § 43-1148]. 
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Tax credits are either refundable or non-refundable.  Unlike refundable credits, non-refundable credits can never 
exceed a taxpayer’s tax liability.  However, many of the non-refundable tax credits allow the unused amounts to be 
carried forward to future years.  Under current statutes, only the following credits are refundable:  the property tax 
credit, agricultural preservation district credit, technology training credit, and the low-income credit for increased 
excise taxes paid.   
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 238 established the Arizona Joint Legislative Income Tax Credit Review Committee.  The 
Committee is required to determine the purpose of income tax credits, develop performance standards for evaluating 
the credits, and evaluate the benefits to the state.  The Committee reviews each tax credit every 5 years according to 
a rotating schedule [A.R.S. § 43-221]. 
 
Corporate income tax credits available to taxpayers that reduce their liability or make them eligible for refunds are 
described below.  The value of tax credits used and carried forward through calendar year 2006 (the latest year 
available) is summarized by the Arizona Department of Revenue summary report attached at the end of this section. 
 
Current statutes include the following tax credits: 
 
Agricultural Pollution Control Equipment.  A tax credit is allowed for taxpayers engaged in agriculture to reclaim 
25% of the cost of real property or equipment, not to exceed $25,000 in a taxable year, that is used to control, 
prevent, monitor or reduce air, water or land pollution.  The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-
1170.01]. 
 
Agriculture Preservation District.  For tax years from and after December 31, 2000, a refundable credit is allowed 
for an agricultural property owner that conveys ownership or development rights to an agricultural preservation 
district.  No district can award credits exceeding $10 million.  The credit is equal to the appraised value of owned 
property transferred to the district or the difference between the appraised value of undeveloped land and the 
appraised value of the land for development purposes.  No individual credit can exceed $33,000 in a calendar year 
[A.R.S. § 43-1180]. 
 
Agricultural Water Conservation System.  A tax credit can be claimed for 75% of the qualifying expenses in 
purchasing and installing an agricultural water conservation system.  This credit is in lieu of itemized deductions for 
such expenses, in which case, the taxpayer must add the credit back into Arizona gross income in computing taxable 
income.  This non-refundable tax credit can be carried forward for no more than 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1172]. 
 
Alternative Fuel Delivery System Credit.  A taxpayer may claim a credit for the costs to construct or operate an 
alternative fuel delivery system (AFDS) in Arizona that is capable of dispensing alternative fuel to an alternative 
fuel vehicle.  Laws 2000, 7th Special Session, Chapter 1 limited the credit for AFDS to those individuals who had a 
purchase order or contract for the system before October 20, 2000 and for which actual construction began before 
November 9, 2000.  The credit is equal to 100% of costs incurred up to a maximum of $400,000.  For alternative 
fuel delivery systems not satisfying the requirements of the previous system, the credit is 50% of costs up to a 
$200,000 maximum [A.R.S. § 43-1174.02]. 
 
Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit.  A contract or purchase order for the vehicle must have been entered into prior to 
October 21, 2000.  No refundable credit is allowed after December 31, 2001.  The non-refundable credit was 
repealed, but the carry-forward for the non-refundable credit can still be used after December 31, 2001 [A.R.S. § 43-
1174]. 
 
Arizona National Guard Employees.  A tax credit of $1,000 per employee is allowed for businesses that employ 
Arizona National Guard members who are called to active duty [A.R.S § 43-1167.01]. 
 
Construction Materials.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for new construction materials incorporated into a 
qualifying facility located entirely in Arizona.  Construction must have begun on or after January 1, 1994 and be 
completed on or before December 31, 1999.  The credit is 5% of the purchase price for materials used to construct 
buildings costing more than $5 million that are predominately used for manufacturing, mining, refining, 
satellite/data transmission, and research and development [A.R.S § 43-1171]. 
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Coal Consumed in Generating Electric Power.  The credit is for 30% of the amount paid by the seller or purchaser 
as transaction privilege tax or use tax on coal sold to the taxpayer to be consumed in generating electrical power 
within the state.  The credit can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1178]. 
 
Corporate Consolidated Credit.  Prior to the enactment of Laws 1994, Chapter 41, if a group of corporations 
demonstrated a large degree of interdependence, the Department of Revenue (DOR) would require the group to file 
its Arizona income tax return as a combined or unitary entity.  After the law’s passage, a group of corporations 
could elect to file a consolidated return in Arizona for the same corporations that filed a federal income tax return as 
a consolidated group.  DOR could no longer require alterations of the component firms even if DOR did not agree 
with the consolidated grouping.  Prior to the law’s passage, DOR generally required a combined return that was 
different than the federal consolidated return in order to more accurately reflect income derived from Arizona 
sources.  Effective July 17, 1994, corporations could elect to form a consolidated group that would contain the same 
members at the federal level.  Consolidated returns could be filed from tax year 1994 forward and amended returns 
could be filed for tax years 1986 through 1993 if they were filed before January 1, 1995.  The amended returns 
yielded credits for previous tax payments as well as interest accrued through December 31, 1994.  Total tax credit 
established for 1986 through 1993 plus interest was $115 million.  The tax credits were nonrefundable and the total 
was to be spread over 10 years.  In the 11th year, DOR was required to refund all unused credit, even if it exceeds the 
corporation’s tax liability in that year.  DOR estimated that the remaining credits to be claimed will result in refunds 
of $(4.0) million in FY 2007 and $(55.5) million in FY 2008. 
 
Defense Contractor Employment.  The credit applies to defense contractors certified by the Arizona Department of 
Commerce.  The non-refundable credit is for net increases in employment due to full-time equivalent (FTE) 
positions being transferred from exclusively defense-related activities to exclusively private commercial activities.  
A tax credit is also allowed for a portion of property taxes paid on class 3 (commercial or industrial) property.  For 
each FTE net employment increase, $2,500 is credited in the first year, $2,000 in year 2, $1,500 in year 3, $1,000 in 
year 4 and $500 in year 5.  Property tax credits depend on the number of FTE Positions created (see below) [A.R.S § 
43-1165]. 
 
Defense Contractor Property Taxes.  The credit for property tax paid is: 40% if more than 900 FTE Positions are 
created; 30% for 601 to 900 positions; 20% for 301 to 600 positions; and, 10% for up to 300 positions.  The credits 
can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1166]. 
 
Enterprise Zones.  To qualify, at least 35% of the full time equivalent employees claimed must reside in an 
enterprise zone.  For non-retail businesses, the credit is equal to 25% of the taxable wages paid to a qualified FTE 
employee in the first year of employment, 33% in the second year of continuous employment, and 50% in the third 
year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively.  The credit may not be taken for more than 200 
employees [A.R.S. § 43-1161]. 
 
Environmental Technology Facility Construction Costs.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for expenses incurred in 
constructing a qualifying facility involved in recycled materials or renewable energy.  The credit is equal to 10% of 
the amount spent to construct the facility, including land acquisition, improvements, building improvements, 
machinery and equipment, but not to exceed 75% of the tax liability for the taxable year.  The credits can be carried 
forward for 15 years [A.R.S. § 43-1169]. 
 
Healthy Forests.  To qualify, a business must be engaged in harvesting, transportation or initial processing of forest 
products, including biomass.  Products must contain at least 50% biomass, and at least half of the biomass must be 
from Arizona sources.  The business must have at least 3 permanent full-time employees and must be engaged in 
enhancing forest health, watersheds or public safety.  The credit is equal to 25% of the taxable wages paid to a 
qualified FTE employee in the first year of employment, 33% in the second year of continuous employment, and 
50% in the third year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively.  The credit may not be taken for more 
than 200 employees and may be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1162]. 
 
Motion Picture Productions.  An income tax credit is available to businesses that produce motion pictures in 
Arizona.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million in a 12-month period may 
receive a tax credit equal to 20% of production costs, while productions with qualified expenses exceeding $1 
million may be credited for 30% of production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits approved for all 
qualifying productions and investments may not exceed $30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, $50 million in 
2008, $60 million in 2009, and $70 million in 2010.  The income tax credits may be claimed for expenses incurred 
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in the production of commercial advertisements, and music videos, with 5% of the income tax credit available to be 
set aside for these productions.  Income tax credits also may be claimed for expenses incurred for the construction of 
soundstages and associated support and augmentation facilities.  Tax credits for soundstage investments are capped 
at $5 million per year in 2008, 2009 and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities are 
capped at $7 million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9 million in 2010 (if one 
or more soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  The tax credits may be sold or transferred, in whole or 
in part, to other taxpayers.  The law requires taxpayers claiming the credits to meet various reporting requirements 
and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007, and 
50% in 2008 and after [A.R.S. § 43-1163]. 
 
Military Reuse Zones.  A non-refundable credit is allowed for net full-time equivalent (FTE) employment increases 
in a military re-use zone.  The employees must be engaged in aviation or aerospace manufacturing or services.  
Credits also are allowed for dislocated civilian military base employees.  For net FTE increases, a credit is allowed 
for each newly created position of $500 to $3,000, depending on whether or not the employee is a dislocated 
military base employee, and the number of years of employment (1-5 years).  The credits can be carried forward for 
5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1167]. 
 
Pollution Control Equipment.  The credit is allowed for purchases of real or personal property used to control or 
prevent pollution.  The qualifying facilities must be built or purchased to comply with U.S. Environmental 
Protection Agency or Arizona Department of Environmental quality regulations.  The credit amount is equal to the 
lesser of 10% of the purchase price or $500,000 in a taxable year.  It was capped at $750,000 in 1995 and 1996.  The 
credits can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1170]. 
 
Research and Development (R&D).  A taxpayer may take a credit of 20% of qualified research expenses over a 
"base amount" (defined in the Internal Revenue Code) for expenses up to $2.5 million ($500,000 credit), plus 11% 
of expenses over $2.5 million.  Laws 2008, Chapter 290 expands the tax credit in tax years 2010 through 2017 by 
allowing for a larger percentage of qualified R&D expenses to be used to offset an individual’s tax liability (for 
more details, refer to the 2008 tax law changes under Impact of Tax Law and Revenue Changes).  The credit was 
capped at $1.5 million for CY 2001 and $2.5 million for CY 2002.  The R&D credit became available as an 
individual income tax credit for the first time in tax year 2001.  A 15-year carry forward of the credit is allowed 
[A.R.S. § 43-1168]. 
 
School Site Donation.  The credit is allowed for donations of real property and improvements to a school district or 
charter school as a school construction site.  The credit is for 30% of the value of real property and improvements 
donated and can be carried forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1181]. 
 
School Tuition.  A taxpayer may claim an income tax credit, up to the full amount of the donation, for contributions 
made to a school tuition organization that provides education scholarships and tuition grants to children of low-
income families.  The full amount of tax credit approved by the Department of Revenue is capped at $10 million per 
year, with the cap increasing by 20% per year beginning in FY 2008.  A taxpayer may carry forward the unused 
portion of the tax credit for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1183]. 
 
Solar Energy Devices for Commercial and Industrial Purposes.  A taxpayer can claim a credit equal to 10% of the 
installed cost of a solar energy device used in their trade or business.  The credit cannot exceed $25,000 for the same 
building in the same year or $50,000 in total in any year.  The credit is available between tax years 2006 and 2012.  
This income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer purchasing a solar energy device, or a taxpayer that finances 
the purchase of a qualifying device.  The credit also may be transferred to a third party that manufactures or installs 
a qualifying device.  This non-refundable tax credit is allowed to be carried forward for no more than 5 consecutive 
years [A.R.S. § 43-1164]. 
 
Solar Hot Water Heater Plumbing Stub Outs and Electric Vehicle Recharge Outlets Installed in Houses Constructed 
by Taxpayer.  An income tax credit of up to $75 is available for each installation of a qualifying device for each 
separate house or dwelling unit.  The credit may be transferred to the purchaser of the house or dwelling [A.R.S. § 
43-1176]. 
 
Technology Training.  A refundable credit is allowed for providing technological skills training to not more than 20 
of the taxpayer’s employees.  The credit is equal to 50% of the amount spent, but not more than $1,500 per 
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employee.  The credits, which are capped at $2.5 million, are certified through the Arizona Department of 
Commerce [A.R.S. § 43-1179]. 
 
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Employment.  For net increases in employment, a credit for each newly 
created position of 25% of the taxable wages paid in the first year of employment, 33% in the second year of 
continuous employment, and 50% in the third year, not to exceed $500, $1,000, and $1,500 respectively [A.R.S. § 
43-1175]. 
 
Vehicle Refueling Apparatus.  The refundable credit is for the cost of the vehicle refueling equipment, while the 
non-refundable credit was equal to the greater of $2,000 or the cost of the equipment.  The credit can be carried 
forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1174.01]. 
 
Water Conservation Systems.  The credit is for the installation of water conservation system plumbing stub-outs to 
encourage the reuse of “graywater,” or waste water.  It provides a tax credit of up to $200 per installation, with a 5-
year carry-forward period, and caps the total amount of tax credit issued at $500,000 per year.  The credit will be 
available for 5 years, beginning in 2008 [A.R.S. § 43-1182]. 
 
Vehicle Refueling Apparatus.  The refundable credit is for the cost of the vehicle refueling equipment, while the 
non-refundable credit was equal to the greater of $2,000 or the cost of the equipment.  The credit can be carried 
forward for 5 years [A.R.S. § 43-1174.01]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
A corporation that anticipates an Arizona income tax liability over $1,000 is required to pay estimated tax payments 
during the year.  Generally, the estimated payments must equal the lesser of 90% of the tax liability for the current 
year, or 100% of the tax liability for the prior year.  Large corporations (defined as having federal tax liability of $1 
million or more for any 1 of the preceding 3 years) are required to pay estimated payments of 90% of the current 
year tax liability.  Estimated payments are required in 4 installments based on the Internal Revenue Code.  A 
taxpayer that does not make required estimated payments, or underpays the required payment, is subject to a penalty 
[A.R.S. § 43-582]. 
 
The balance of the tax, after accounting for taxpayer's estimated payments, is due by April 15 following the close of 
the calendar year; or, the 15th day of the 4th month following the close of the fiscal year, if the taxpayer files a tax 
return on a fiscal year basis [A.R.S. § 43-501]. 
 
An extension may be granted if 90% of the tax liability is paid by the original due date and the extension request is 
received by the original due date.  No extension may be granted beyond 6 months from the original due date [A.R.S. 
§ 42-1107]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  The estimated initial dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in Table 3 below. 
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Table 3 
ANNUAL INCREMENTAL DOLLAR IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES  

Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 

FY 2009   
L 08, Ch 94 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(80,000) 
   
FY 2008   
L 07, Ch 1 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(300,000) 
L 07, Ch 317 Motion Picture Tax Incentives (1,200,000) 
L 07, Ch 357 Internal Revenue Code Conformity (100,000) 
L 06, Ch 325 Corporate Income Tax School Tuition Credit (2,000,000) 
L 05, Ch 289 Corporate Sales Factor (32,000,000) 
L 05, Ch 292 Water Conservation Systems Credit      (500,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity 4,200,000 
L 94, Ch 41 Corporate Consolidated Credit (55,500,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2008  (87,400,000) 

FY 2007   
L 06, Ch 14/325 Corporate Income Tax School Tuition Credit (10,000,000) 
L 06, Ch 333 Solar Energy Devices – Commercial Applications (500,000) 
L 06, Ch 357 Internal Revenue Code Conformity (700,000) 
L 05, Ch 317 Motion Picture Tax Incentives (8,000,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity 8,210,000 
L 94, Ch 41 Corporate Consolidated Credit (4,000,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2007  (14,990,000) 

FY 2006   
L 05, Ch 264 Arizona Nation Guard Employment Credit $ (250,000) 
L 05, Ch 334 Internal Revenue Code Conformity (3,000,000) 
   Subtotal FY 2006  (3,250,000) 

FY 2005   
L 04, Ch 196 Internal Revenue Code Conformity $(1,850,000) 
L 04, Ch 289 Enterprise Zone Tax Credits and Exemptions (200,000) 
L 04, Ch 326 Healthy Forests   Unknown 
   Subtotal FY 2005  (2,050,000) 

FY 2004   
L 03, Ch 262 DOR Revenue Generating Proposal $9,130,000 
   Subtotal FY 2004  9,130,000 

FY 2003   
L 03, 1st SS, Ch 1 DOR Revenue Generating Proposal $418,000 
L 02, Ch 50 Repeal Dividends Income Tax Subtraction 11,200,000 
L 02, Ch 344 Internal Revenue Code Conformity   5,610,000 
   Subtotal FY 2003  17,228,000 
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2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 94 modifies the definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax year 2008 to the federal 
IRC in effect on January 1, 2008. This includes changes adopted by Congress in the Small Business and Work 
Opportunity Tax Act of 2007, the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, Prevent Taxation of payment to 
Virginia Tech Victims and Families of 2007, Mortgage Forgiveness Debt Relief Act of 2007 and the Tax Technical 
Corrections Act of 2007.  The conformity provisions of Chapter 94 were estimated to reduce individual income tax 
collections by $(80,000) in FY 2009, $(170,000) in FY 2010, and $(160,000) in FY 2011. 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 290 contains several budget reconciliation provisions related to revenues that were necessary 
to implement the FY 2009 budget.  One of the provisions establishes a minimum distribution amount for all cities 
and towns that equals at least the amount a city or town with a population of 1,500 or more persons would receive 
from the Urban Revenue Sharing Fund.  Another provision contained in the measure increases the amounts of the 
corporate and individual income research and development (R&D) tax credits that are allowed to be claimed.  The 
R&D credit is calculated based on the amount of qualified research expenses that exceeds a base amount (which is 
defined in the Internal Revenue Code).  The changes to the R&D credit contained in Chapter 290 are summarized in 
the table below. 
 

Tax Year If Qualified Research Expenses exceed 
Base Amount by $2.5 million or less, 
R&D Credit = 

If Qualified Expenses exceed Base Amount 
by more than $2.5 million, R&D Credit = 

2009 (current law) 20% of excess amount $500,000 + 11% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2010 22% of excess amount $550,000 + 13% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2011 – 2017 24% of excess amount $600,000 + 15% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

2018 – and beyond 20% of excess amount $500,000 + 11% of excess amount over and 
above $2.5 million 

 
As noted in the table above, the changes to the R&D credit under Chapter 290 will occur in 3 stages.  The first 
increase of the credit is implemented in tax year 2010, followed by a second increase in tax years 2011 to 2017.  
Beginning in tax year 2018, the credit will revert to the amounts allowed under current law.   The act is estimated to 
reduce corporate and individual income taxes by a total of $(5.7) million in FY 2011 and $(11.2) million in 
FY 2012.   
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 1 contains an emergency measure that establishes a standard procedure regarding income tax 
filing and payment deadlines.  Specifically, the measure stipulates that when the original deadline for filing and 
paying income tax falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the deadline is automatically moved to the next 
business day. 
 
The filing and payment deadline for both federal and state income tax is April 15.  At the federal level, if the 
deadline falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the due date is extended to the next business day.  “Legal 
holiday” under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) means a legal holiday as observed in the District of Columbia.  The 
April 15 filing deadline for 2007 fell on a Sunday and the next business day was Monday, April 16.  However, since 
the District of Columbia observed the Emancipation Day (legal holiday) on April 16, the federal deadline for 2007 
was moved to Tuesday, April 17.  Under Chapter 1, Arizona’s filing and payment due date for 2007 was also 
extended to April 17. 
 
Chapter 1 conforms the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC):  (1) for tax year 2007 to 
the United States IRC in effect as of January 1, 2007, and (2) for tax year 2006 to all IRC provisions passed with 
retroactive federal effective dates between December 31, 2005 and December 31, 2006.  This includes changes 
adopted by Congress in the Tax Increase Prevention and Reconciliation Act of 2005, the Pension Protection Act of 
2006, and the Tax Relief and Health Care Act of 2006.  The conformity provisions of Chapter 1 are estimated to 
reduce corporate income tax collections by $(300,000) FY 2008, and to increase corporate income tax collections by 
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$60,000 in FY 2009, resulting in an incremental increase for FY 2009 above FY 2008 of $360,000.  (Effective April 
4, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 180 broadens the solar energy income tax credit by permitting it to be transferred to third party 
organizations that have installed or manufactured a solar energy device.  Previously, the tax credit was available 
only to taxpayers installing solar energy devices or to entities that financed the purchase of a qualifying device.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 225 made several changes to the Motion Picture Production Tax Incentive Program 
established by Laws 2005, Chapter 317.  The maximum credit allowed each year by the original legislation remains 
unchanged.  Beginning with the 2008 income tax credit allocation, 5% must be set aside for commercial 
advertisements and music video productions.  A company that is certified to receive income tax credits for 
commercials and music videos must spend a minimum of $250,000 in production costs within 12 months.  Motion 
picture production companies must spend at least $250,000 on each qualifying motion picture production in order to 
be eligible for the income tax credits.  Previously, a company could become eligible by incurring $250,000 in costs 
for one or more motion picture productions.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 
million in a 12-month period now may receive a tax credit equal to 20% of production costs (increased from 10%); 
production expenses from $1 million to $3 million may be credited for 30% of production costs (increased from 
15%), while productions spending more than $3 million in the state also may claim a credit equal to 30% of 
production costs (increased from 20%).  The maximum credit for any single motion picture production, previously 
capped at $5 million, is increased to $7 million in 2008, $8 million in 2009, and $9 million in 2010.  Beginning 
October 31, 2007 through December 31, 2010, the Department of Commerce is required to certify motion picture 
infrastructure projects, including soundstages and support and augmentation facilities, for income tax credits.  The 
maximum credit amount is 15% of the total base investment.  Tax credits for soundstage investments are capped at 
$5 million per year in 2008, 2009 and 2010.  Tax credits for associated support and augmentation facilities are 
capped at $7 million in 2009 (if at least one soundstage project was certified in 2008) and $9 million in 2010 (if one 
or more soundstage projects were certified in 2008 or 2009).  (Various effective dates) 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 14 establishes a corporate income tax credit for contributions made to a school tuition 
organization that provides education scholarships and tuition grants to children of low-income families.  Chapter 14 
established a cap on this credit of $5 million per year.  A taxpayer may carry forward the unused portion of the tax 
credit for 5 years.   
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 325 increases the cap to $10 million per year, and provides that the cap will increase by 20% 
annually beginning in FY 2008.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 222 modifies the certification of motion picture production costs and the qualification for 
motion picture production tax incentives that were enacted in Laws 2005, Chapter 317.  In addition to making 
several technical changes to the legislation passed in 2005, Chapter 222 authorizes the Arizona Department of 
Commerce (ADOC) to begin accepting tax credit applications beginning October 31 for the following year if ADOC 
has pre-approved the maximum calendar year credit for the current year.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 
2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 333 requires the Arizona Department of Commerce to establish a solar energy income tax 
credit program, establishes solar energy tax credits for commercial and industrial projects, removes the $5,000 tax 
exemption limitation for retail and prime contracting classifications under the transaction privilege tax (TPT), and 
prohibits solar energy systems from being added to property value.  The income tax credit portion of this credit is 
capped at $1.0 million per calendar year, which is expected to reduce corporate and individual income tax revenue 
by approximately $(500,000) each in FY 2007.  The elimination of the sales tax cap is expected to result in an 
additional $(0.5) million revenue loss.  The total estimated impact of provisions of this legislation for FY 2007 is 
$(1.5) million.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 357 conforms the Arizona statutory definition of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) for tax year 
2006 to the United States IRC in effect as of January 1, 2006, excluding those provisions where Arizona did not 
previously conform to federal tax law changes (bonus depreciation and business expensing). 
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The federal government enacted 3 tax bills during 2005: the Energy Tax Incentives Act; the Katrina Emergency Tax 
Relief Act; and the Gulf Opportunity Zone Act.  The conformity bill is estimated to reduce FY 2007 individual and 
corporate income tax revenues by $(700,000) each, for a total of $(1.4) million.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 387 extends the Enterprise Zone Program until June 30, 2011, and modifies some of its 
qualification requirements.  The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2006)   
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 148 clarified the definition of pollution control equipment that would qualify for the related 
individual and corporate income tax credits.  While the changes were expected to have a positive impact on future 
corporate tax collections, the amount of the savings is unknown.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 249 increased the termination date and subsequent renewal terms for military reuse zones from 
5 years to 10 years and clarified the information that must be provided to the Department of Commerce in order to 
qualify for income tax credits claimed for net increases in employment.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 264 created a tax credit of $1,000 per employee for businesses that employ Arizona National 
Guard members who are called to active duty.  The credit is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by 
$(250,000) in FY 2006.  (Effective January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 278 made technical changes to the Healthy Forest initiative passed in 2004 and provided some 
additional tax incentives.  It reduced from 10 to 3 the number of full-time employees a business must have in order 
to qualify for income tax incentives, and it reduced the number of work hours defining full-time employment from 
1,750 hours to 1,500 hours per year.  The amount of required health insurance coverage for employees of a qualified 
business also was reduced.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 289 allows a multi-state corporation, after certain conditions are met, to elect an enhanced 
sales factor formula to compute its Arizona income tax liability.  The corporation may elect the existing double-
weighted (50%) sales factor or an 80% sales factor, to be phased in from 60% in tax year 2007, 70% in tax year 
2008, and 80% in tax year 2009.  The enhanced sales factor formula is allowed only if one or more corporations 
announce, on or after June 1, 2005, that one or more capital investment projects in the state, individually or 
collectively, exceed $1 billion.  The corporations are required to notify the Joint Legislative Budget Committee 
(JLBC) and the Governor’s Office of Strategic Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) of their intent to make these 
investments.  In July 2005, one corporation notified JLBC and OSPB of its intent to invest approximately $3 billion 
in a new manufacturing facility.  The corporations are also required to notify JLBC and OSPB by December 15, 
2007 that the projects have commenced and are estimated to cost more than $1 billion.  JLBC and OSPB are 
required to jointly publish a list in 2006, 2007 and 2008 of corporations that have reported on their projects and to 
notify the Department of Revenue and Legislative Council that the conditions for the enhanced sales factor have 
been met by December 31, 2007.  Any corporation that elects the enhanced sales factor formula is required to 
participate in an economic impact analysis to be conducted by JLBC, which is required to produce a report of the 
analysis by July 1, 2011.  On or before December 31, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008, each corporation that made 
capital investment commitments is required to report on each project’s status, projected costs, the amounts actually 
spent to date, and any changes and updates in the project.  The enhanced sales factor formula is estimated to reduce 
tax corporate income tax collections by $(32.0) million in FY 2008.  The fiscal impact of the enhanced sales factor 
formula is estimated to increase to $(120.0) million when fully implemented in FY 2011.  (Effective January 1, 
2008, retroactive to January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 292 created a corporate income tax credit for the installation of water conservation system 
plumbing stub-outs to encourage the reuse of “graywater,” or waste water.  It provides a tax credit of up to $200 per 
installation, with a 5-year carry-forward period, and caps the total amount of tax credit issued at $500,000 per year.  
The credit is available for 5 years beginning in 2008.  It is estimated to reduce corporate income tax collections by 
$(500,000) in FY 2008.  (Effective January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 317 establishes individual and corporate income tax credits for businesses that produce motion 
pictures in Arizona.  Motion picture productions with qualified expenses of $250,000 to $1 million in a 12-month 
period may receive a tax credit equal to 10% of production costs; production expenses from $1 million to $3 million 
may be credited for 15% of production costs, while productions spending more than $3 million in the state may 
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claim a credit equal to 20% of production costs.  The total amount of income tax credits approved may not exceed 
$30 million in 2006, $40 million in 2007, $50 million in 2008, $60 million in 2009, and $70 million in 2010.  The 
tax credits may be sold or transferred, in whole or in part, to other taxpayers.  The law requires taxpayers claiming 
the credits to meet various reporting requirements and for film companies to recruit Arizona residents to hold 25% 
of full-time positions in 2006, 35% in 2007 and 50% in 2008 and after.  It is estimated to reduce corporate income 
tax collections by $(8.0) million in FY 2007.  (Effective July 1, 2006, retroactive to January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 334 included changes to Arizona income tax statutes in order to conform to changes to the 
U.S. Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  Arizona gross income (AGI) is the base amount apportioned from a 
corporation’s federal gross income that is used to calculate Arizona corporate income tax liability.  Changes to 
federal gross income affect the state’s income tax collections.  The federal government enacted 2 bills during 2004 
(the Working Families Tax Relief Act and the American Jobs Creation Act) to which Laws 2005, Chapter 334 
conformed.  The net fiscal impact of conforming Arizona corporate individual income tax statutes to the IRC is 
estimated to be $(3.0) million in FY 2006 and $5.2 million in FY 2007.  (Effective January 1, 2006) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 196 provided for partial conformity with the U.S. Internal Revenue Code and federal tax law 
changes that became effective during 2003.  The federal government enacted 3 tax bills during 2003: the Jobs and 
Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act, the Military Family Tax Relief Act, and the Medicare Prescription Drug, 
Improvement, and Modernization Act.  The Legislature conformed to the tax law changes in these federal acts 
except for the provisions related to additional bonus depreciation allowances and investment deductions by small 
businesses.  According to the Department of Revenue, the fiscal impact to the General Fund is estimated to be 
$(800,000) in FY 2004, $(1,850,000) in FY 2005, and $(2,040,000) in FY 2006.  (Various effective dates, including 
an emergency clause) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 289 made several changes to tax statutes: 
 
1. Updated the income tax credit review schedule to add those credits that were reviewed in 2003 to the review 

schedule for 2008. 
 
2. Repealed the individual and corporate income tax credits for costs incurred in corrective actions for releases 

from underground storage tanks.  Since this credit was not being used, there was no related fiscal impact. 
 
3. Allowed the enterprise zone job creation tax credits to be claimed for the second and third years of qualified 

employment even if the credits for the first year were not claimed on the original tax return.  The jobs must have 
been created before January 1, 2002 and certified by the Arizona Department of Commerce.  According to the 
Department of Revenue, the fiscal impact of this provision could be $(200,000) to $(300,000) per fiscal year. 

4. Clarified that a business may remain eligible for enterprise zone tax credits if retail sales accounted for less than 
10% of the business conducted at the zone location.  This is likely to have a very small fiscal impact. 

 
5. Provided a retail sales tax exemption for sales of food, beverages and promotional items to employees and 

occasional guests of businesses within enterprise zones.  This is also likely to have a very small fiscal impact. 
 
6. Made technical and conforming changes and made the tax law amendments retroactive to tax years beginning 

from and after December 31, 2003. 
 
(Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 326 provides for the state Department of Commerce to certify businesses that process and add 
value to biomass from Arizona’s forest areas. Qualified businesses are eligible for individual and corporate income 
tax credits based on net increases in employment, and sales and use tax exemptions for qualified construction and 
equipment.  A business can claim a credit for up to 200 new jobs.  The bill provides for income tax credits and sales 
tax exemptions to be forfeited, or “clawed back,” if a business’ certificate is revoked.  The legislation’s fiscal impact 
cannot be determined.  This legislation may result in a reduction in revenue to the extent that businesses qualify for 
the job creation tax credits and sales tax exemptions.  However, the secondary impact would include the positive 
effects from the jobs created and the related income and sales tax collections.  (Effective June 3, 2004) 
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2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1 appropriates $3,275,800 from the General Fund to DOR for a revenue 
generating plan.  See Laws 2003, Chapter 262 for a more complete explanation of this issue.  The program is 
projected to generate $5,838,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2003, of which $418,000 is attributable 
to the corporate income tax.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 61 eliminated the “Wheels to Work Program” and repealed the program’s motor vehicle 
donation tax credit.  (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 262 appropriates $6,552,000 from the General Fund to DOR for a revenue generating 
program.  The program is projected to generate new revenue through increased audit and collections activity.  It is 
expected to generate $53,249,000 in additional General Fund revenues in FY 2004, of which $9,130,000 is 
attributable to the corporate income tax. This act represents the annualization of the revenue generating program 
begun by Laws 2003, 1st Special Session, Chapter 1.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 established a tax amnesty program, which allows DOR to abate or waive all or part of 
penalties and to impose reduced interest payments for tax liabilities for all qualifying taxpayers.  To qualify for the 
program, a taxpayer must pay at least one-third of the total amount due by October 31, 2003 and the entire balance 
due by May 1, 2004.  The amnesty program is projected to generate $25,000,000 in additional General Fund 
revenues in FY 2004, of which $4,500,000 is attributable to corporate income tax.  The actual amount of tax 
amnesty monies reported for FY 2004 was $47,125,500, of which approximately $31,575,000 was attributable to 
corporate income tax.  The tax amnesty monies included $4,000,000 in on-going collections and $43,125,500 in 
one-time revenues.  The provision is repealed after June 30, 2004.  The one-time revenue impact of the tax amnesty 
program has not been included in the tax law changes table at the beginning of this section. 
 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 50 repeals the deduction of stock dividends, earned from Arizona companies, which are 
allowed in state corporate income tax calculations.  Stock dividends from non-Arizona companies are currently not 
deductible.  The repeal of this deduction applies retroactively to December 31, 2001.  The legislation is estimated to 
have a positive impact on state General Fund revenues of $11,200,000 per year beginning in FY 2003. 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 237 provided modifications to the state’s enterprise zone program both with respect to income 
tax credits and property reclassification.  For example, the act clarified and narrowed the definition for the enterprise 
zone program with respect to retail activity.  The act also limited the number of qualified employment positions that 
are eligible for the premium or income tax credits under this program.  The fiscal impact of this act is unknown.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2002) 
Laws 2002, Chapter 344 conformed Arizona tax statutes to the current Internal Revenue Code.  The act includes 
provisions relating to the Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2001, the Fallen Hero Survivor 
Benefit Fairness Act of 2001 and the Job Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002, except for the bonus 
depreciation provision (which impacts the corporate income tax).  The act also adjusted the Urban Revenue Sharing 
(URS) program from 15% to 14.8% for 2 years.  The JLBC Staff estimated that the conformity provisions would 
increase corporate income tax revenues by $5.6 million in FY 2003.  The URS adjustments are expected to increase 
the General Fund by $5.7 million.  (Contained various effective dates) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/corptax.pdf


ARIZONA CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR

2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999
Agricultural # of claims 0
Pollution credit available $0
Control credit used $0
Equipment carry forward $0
Agricultural # of claims 0 0 0 0 0
Preservation credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
District credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

carry forward
Agricultural # of claims 0
Water credit available $0
Conservation credit used $0

carry forward $0
Alternative # of claims 3 3 5 8
Fuel Delivery credit available $457,906 $642,337 $1,998,651 $2,441,075
System credit used $1,039 $184,431 $1,167,282 $1,377,215
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $456,867 $457,906 $831,369 $1,063,860
Alternative # of claims 0 5
Fuel Delivery credit available $0 $679,992
System credit used $0 $314,676
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $0 $363,316

carry forward $0 $0
Alternative # of claims 3 5 7 7 13 24
Fuel credit available $659,570 $645,555 $678,479 $740,566 $1,116,853 $1,402,495
Vehicles credit used $2,837 $1,726 $32,924 $2,882 $342,351 $283,160
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $0 $643,829 $645,555 $737,674 $774,502 $1,119,335
Alternative # of claims 12 182
Fuel credit available $218,560 $15,666,027
Vehicles credit used $25,200 $491,057
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $193,360 $15,163,095

carry forward $0 $11,875
Clean # of claims 115 93 111 102 97 57 0
Elections credit available $2,502 $597 $1,778 $646 $2,913 $13,911 $0

credit used $2,502 $597 $1,773 $646 $2,913 $13,911 $0
carry forward

Commerical & # of claims 0
Industrial Solar credit available $0
Energy Credit credit used $0

carry forward
Consolidated # of claims 39 27 31 33 31 34 42 48
Filer credit available $33,542,210 $38,201,138 $40,508,600 $42,807,849 $45,015,225 $48,519,693 $51,949,962 $54,919,146

credit used $30,429,104 $4,658,928 $2,307,462 $2,299,249 $2,207,376 $3,504,468 $3,430,269 $2,969,184
carry forward $3,113,106 $33,542,210 $38,201,138 $40,508,600 $42,807,849 $45,015,225 $48,519,693 $51,949,962
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ARIZONA CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR

2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999
Construction # of claims 3 3 4 7
Materials credit available $426,692 $426,792 $630,976 $1,161,103

credit used $100 $100 $204,184 $414,824
carry forward $426,592 $426,692 $426,792 $746,279

Contributions to # of claims 38 3
School Tuition credit available $2,203,990 $24,000
Organizations credit used $2,025,008 $21,210

carry forward $178,982 $2,790
Correctional # of claims 0
Industries credit available $0

credit used $0
carry forward $0

Defense # of claims 3 4
Contracting credit available $43,361,299 $47,790,421

credit used $1,859,951 $833,724
carry forward $32,832,511 $36,297,743

Donation of # of claims 0 0 0 0
Motor Vehicles credit available $0 $0 $0 $0
To Work credit used $0 $0 $0 $0
Program carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0
Employing # of claims
National Guard credit available
Members credit used

carry forward
Employment of # of claims 10 14 9 8 7 7 5
TANF credit available $115,490 $491,175 $472,478 $184,997 $99,360 $47,869 $49,653
Recipients credit used $92,668 $485,190 $466,392 $173,600 $57,901 $27,648 $47,189

carry forward $22,822 $5,985 $6,086 $11,397 $41,459 $20,221 $2,464
Enterprise # of claims 99 119 124 130 142 135 139
Zone credit available $10,316,836 $12,930,436 $13,857,397 $15,125,249 $18,137,283 $17,039,772 $19,415,575

credit used $6,364,451 $7,645,663 $6,197,387 $6,509,250 $7,043,744 $8,735,180 $12,621,497
carry forward $3,568,992 $4,702,276 $7,604,078 $8,615,999 $11,093,539 $8,304,592 $6,795,178

Environmental # of claims 3 3 3
Technology credit available $37,088,205 $36,766,914 $36,836,791
Facility credit used $1,084,588 $26,658 $69,877

carry forward $36,003,617 $36,740,256 $36,766,914
Gray Water # of claims
Plumbing Stub credit available
Outs   credit used

carry forward
Healthy Forest # of claims 0
Enterprises credit available $0

credit used $0
carry forward $0
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ARIZONA CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR

2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999
Military # of claims 0 3 3 3
Reuse credit available $0 $131,312 $113,702 $175,336
Zone credit used $0 $109,373 $97,440 $170,634

carry forward $0 $21,939 $16,262 $4,702
Motion Picture # of claims
Production Cost credit available

credit used
carry forward

Neighborhood # of claims 4 10 13 17 19 47 53
Electric Vehicles credit available $680,915 $791,263 $820,049 $903,497 $991,555 $2,431,532 $1,858,593

credit used $3,041 $11,380 $29,085 $60,175 $69,701 $1,368,929 $1,406,907
carry forward $677,824 $779,883 $790,964 $843,322 $921,854 $1,062,603 $451,686

Pollution # of claims 21 23 29 31 35 39 36
Control Device credit available $6,388,957 $6,233,992 $7,554,913 $6,660,082 $7,041,120 $11,289,394 $12,259,058

credit used $2,094,379 $1,174,943 $2,412,182 $1,716,687 $2,696,972 $3,860,440 $6,879,188
carry forward $3,914,721 $4,734,126 $4,989,084 $4,943,395 $4,344,148 $7,428,954 $6,362,017

Recycling # of claims 4 4 4 5 4
Equipment credit available $192,332 $197,477 $218,919 $238,422 $250,210

credit used $3,426 $5,145 $21,442 $15,626 $16,028
carry forward $188,906 $192,332 $197,477 $222,796 $234,182

Research & # of claims 135 165 165 139 139 127 139
Development credit available $172,368,226 $112,238,050 $85,407,687 $47,284,501 $39,667,266 $24,550,264 $20,052,034

credit used $43,775,054 $36,527,603 $31,439,451 $11,644,777 $11,013,729 $9,458,350 $10,457,350
ltd carry forward. $487,369,014 $522,585,918 $528,256,555 $519,036,331 $475,359,730 $423,756,278 $294,579,637
unltd carry forward $133,702,301 $85,890,785 $40,396,568 $0 $0

School Site # of claims 4 3
Donation  credit available $1,272,459 $616,473

credit used $1,272,459 $616,473
carry forward $0 $0

Solar Hot Water # of claims 0 0 0 0 0 0
Plumbing Stub credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Outs & Electric credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Vehicle Recharge carry forward $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Taxes Paid for # of claims 3 3 3 3 3 4
Coal Consumed credit available $3,038,101 $3,145,343 $3,064,674 $2,755,471 $1,617,039 $1,305,513
In Generating credit used $908,990 $1,229,020 $1,504,851 $1,556,016 $778,015 $803,476
Electrical Power carry forward $1,799,254 $1,744,443 $1,559,823 $1,199,455 $839,024 $502,037
Technology # of claims 3 3 3 4 11
Training credit available $46,356 $39,963 $33,426 $41,083 $46,286

credit used $46,356 $36,268 $33,006 $30,000 $35,010
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $0 $3,695 $420 $11,083 $11,276
Underground # of claims 0 0 0 0 0
Storage credit available $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Tanks credit used $0 $0 $0 $0 $0

carry forward
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ARIZONA CORPORATE INCOME TAX CREDITS CLAIMED BY TAX YEAR

2006 2005 2004 2003 2002 2001 2000 1999
Vehicle Refueling # of claims 4 7
Apparatus & credit available $8,712 $29,765
Infrastructure credit used $2,180 $13,630
NONREFUNDABLE carry forward $6,532 $16,135
Vehicle Refueling # of claims 0 12
Apparatus & credit available $0 $138,940
Infrastructure credit used $0 $46,332
REFUNDABLE credit refunded $0 $92,608

carry forward $0 $0
TOTAL # of claims 77 427 481 516 502 536 704 494

credit available $35,746,200 $272,047,973 $244,569,067 $224,770,930 $197,076,069 $201,182,730 $215,329,156 $205,982,894
credit used $32,454,112 $58,677,823 $50,188,713 $44,878,479 $28,103,797 $27,919,533 $32,281,282 $38,630,679
credit refunded $0 $0 $3,695 $420 $11,083 $204,636 $15,619,019
ltd carry forward $3,292,088 $562,595,907 $630,539,152 $650,022,042 $644,939,193 $613,778,948 $565,220,973 $442,568,042
unltd carry forward $0 $133,702,301 $85,890,785 $40,396,568 $0 $0

Notes:
1.  Shaded areas indicate that the credit was not in effect during the tax year.
2.  "Data Not Available" indicates that the Office of Economic Research and Analysis has no information that any taxpayers claimed the 
     credit during the tax year.
3.  "Data Not Releasable" indicates that the credit information cannot be released due to confidentiality restrictions.
4.  "Total" includes credits for which information was "not releasable" individually.
5.  DATA IN ITALICS  ARE PRELIMINARY.
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PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Arizona has 2 distinct types of property taxes: primary and secondary.  Primary property taxes are levied to pay for 
the maintenance and operation of a taxing jurisdiction.  Secondary property taxes are levied to pay for bond 
indebtedness, voter-approved budget overrides, and special districts such as fire or sanitary districts.  Although the 
state property tax was repealed in 1996, primary property tax collections in certain districts are still deposited in the 
state General Fund.  The monies deposited into the state General Fund are from taxes levied on property not located 
within any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and on property in certain school 
districts ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 
15-992].  (For more details, see Tax Rate section.) 
 
Property is listed in 2 categories: real property and personal property.  Real property includes land, buildings, and 
improvements to land.  Personal property includes property used for commercial, industrial, and agricultural 
purposes, such as office furniture, business equipment, and tools. In addition, most mobile homes in Arizona are 
taxed as personal property.   
 
Assessment duties are divided between the Department of Revenue (DOR) and the 15 county assessors.  Generally, 
geographically dispersed and complex properties, such as mines, utilities, airlines, and railroads, commonly referred 
to as “centrally valued property,” are valued by DOR.  All other properties are valued by the county assessors and 
are, therefore, referred to as “locally assessed property.”  (For more details, see Tax Base section.) 
 
Property in Arizona is classified for assessment purposes into 9 legal classes, with sub-classifications in many of 
those classes.  The classification is based on the current use of the property by its owner, such as commercial, 
agricultural, or residential.  Each legal class has an assessment ratio, which is specified by statute.  The assessment 
ratio, which currently ranges from 1% to 23%, is used to calculate the assessed value of a property.  (For more 
details, see Tax Rate section.) 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
As mentioned previously, revenues from unorganized and MQTR districts are deposited in the state General Fund.  
Otherwise, every taxing jurisdiction simply collects what it levies.  (Please see Tax Rate section for more 
discussion.)  Property tax collected and deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below. 
 

Table 1 
STATE GENERAL FUND PROPERTY TAX COLLECTIONS 

 
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 

FY 2008 $20,041,338 FY 1998 $38,136,020 
FY 2007 $24,486,025 FY 1997 $51,211,398 
FY 2006 $24,998,760 FY 1996 $188,296,312 
FY 2005 $25,245,622 FY 1995 $178,657,831 
FY 2004 $33,266,987 FY 1994 $186,193,174 
FY 2003 $19,433,856 FY 1993 $203,240,399 
FY 2002 $29,153,274 FY 1992 $179,858,169 
FY 2001 $32,942,815 FY 1991 $169,251,570 
FY 2000 $34,682,874 FY 1990 $130,199,755 
FY 1999 $36,121,502 FY 1989 $92,715,743 

    
SOURCE: Department of Revenue and State Treasurer’s Office. 

 
Property tax in Arizona is primarily a local revenue source as the state General Fund currently receives less than 
0.5% of all taxes levied in the state.  Table 2 below shows the distribution of property taxes among local taxing 
jurisdictions. 
 



Property Tax 

- 82 - 

Table 2 
PRIMARY AND SECONDARY COMBINED PROPERTY TAX LEVIES 

Jurisdiction        FY 2008        FY 2007        FY 2006        FY 2005        FY 2004 
State 1/ $20,427,985 $28,598,308 $ 229,726,774 $219,257,315 $205,909,810 
Counties $1,219,491,080 $1,109,777,038 $1,013,506,749 $930,149,677 $870,981,627 
Cities & Towns $ 585,007,416 $ 477,666,274 $440,141,556 $401,628,757 $372,392,337 
School Districts $3,453,670,969 $3,183,287,861 $2,941,648,887 $2,800,785,175 $2,667,296,290 
Special Districts $ 383,556,449 $ 317,032,610 $275,872,938 $205,953,808 $186,379,124 
Community Colleges $   637,813,033 $587,909,133 $527,682,509 $482,563,137 $459,966,725 
TOTAL $6,299,966,932 $5,704,271,224 $5,428,579,413 $5,040,337,869 $4,762,925,913 
 
____________ 
1/ Although the state equalization assistance property tax is technically a school district tax (see A.R.S. § 15-994), 

ATRA lists it as a state tax for reporting purposes since the tax levy reduces Basic State Aid to schools by an equal 
amount.  Pursuant to Laws 2006, Chapter 354, the state equalization tax was not levied in FY 2007 and FY 2008.  
Thus, all property tax revenues collected by the state in FY 2007 and FY 2008 were from unorganized and MQTR 
districts (for more details, see Tax Rate section.) 

 
SOURCE:  Arizona Tax Research Association (ATRA). 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The owner of record, or the person who is the purchaser under a deed of trust or an agreement of sale, is liable for 
the payment of the tax [A.R.S. § 42-15101].   
 
Tribal Members 
The Arizona Constitution provides that a property owned by an Indian tribal member is exempted from taxation if 
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress [Article 20, 
Section 5].  Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provides that property outside an Indian reservation that is owned by an Indian 
tribe or tribally designated housing authority is exempted from taxation if such property provides low income rental 
housing for Indian tribal members [A.R.S. § 42-11131].  
 
TAX BASE  
 
Article 9, Section 18 of the Arizona Constitution provides for the limitation of increases in property values from 
year to year.  To implement the constitutional provision, the Legislature also adopted a set of statutes under which 2 
separate tax bases are used to determine property taxes:  full cash value (FCV) for secondary property tax purposes 
and limited property value (LPV) for primary property tax purposes.  
 
Full Cash Value.  A property’s full cash value is the value determined as prescribed by statute.  If no statutory 
method is prescribed, full cash value is synonymous with market value as determined by standard appraisal 
methods.  There are no restrictions or limitations on full cash value growth.  For this reason, full cash value is also 
referred to as unlimited value [A.R.S. § 42-11001].   
 
Although property values in Arizona are based on market value as represented by sales price, Arizona statutes set 
sales ratio standards at 81% of nominal sales price for commercial and industrial properties and 82% for residential 
and other properties.  These standards allow for the exclusion of personal property items included in sales, financing 
incentives, time on the market, and reasonable mass appraisal errors [A.R.S. § 42-11054(C)]. 
 
The Legislature has also mandated that specific types of property be appraised on a basis other than market value.  
These property types are agricultural, shopping centers, certain golf courses, and most centrally valued properties, 
such as electric and gas utilities [A.R.S. §§ 42-13101 through 42-13206].   
 
Limited Property Value.  A parcel’s limited property value is the value determined as provided by the Arizona 
Constitution [Article 9, Section 18].  Arizona Revised Statutes further define the constitutional provision by 
providing 2 specific methods by which a parcel’s limited property value can be increased from year to year  [A.R.S. 
§ 42-13302].  These methods are commonly referred to as “Rule A” and “Rule B.” 
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• Rule A - For an existing property that has not been physically modified since the previous year’s tax roll, the 
limited property value is the greater of (1) the previous year’s limited property value increased by 10%, or (2) 
25% of the difference between the current year’s full cash value and the previous year’s limited property value.  
The limited property value cannot exceed the full cash value [A.R.S. § 42-13301]. 

 
• Rule B - For a new property added to the current year’s tax roll or for an existing property that has been 

physically modified, split, subdivided, consolidated, or erroneously omitted since the previous year’s tax roll, 
the limited property value is established at a level or percentage that is commensurate to the relationship of LPV 
to FCV of other properties of the same or similar use or classification [A.R.S. § 42-13302].   

  
The limit on increases in property values applies to real property and improvements.  Properties exempted from the  
valuation limitation are:  (1) personal property other than permanently affixed mobile homes and (2) most centrally 
valued property, such as electric and gas utilities [A.R.S. § 42-13304].  
 
Net Assessed Valuation.  Although the limited property value constitutes the tax base for primary property taxes, the 
actual amount to which primary tax rates are applied is less than that.  This amount, referred to as primary net 
assessed valuation (NAV), is obtained by multiplying a parcel’s limited property value by its assessment ratio.  The 
assessment ratio depends on the legal classification of the property as shown in Table 3.  Likewise, secondary NAV 
is determined by multiplying a property’s full cash value by its assessment ratio.  Table 4 below shows the total 
statewide primary and secondary NAV in the last few years.       
 
The actual tax liability is calculated by multiplying the tax rate by the assessed value of the property divided by 100.  
(Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-17151, the tax rate is determined per $100 NAV.)  This means that the property tax liability 
depends on 3 factors: (1) the full cash value as determined by the county assessor or the Department of Revenue, (2) 
the assessment ratio contingent upon property usage, and (3) the tax rate as set by the taxing jurisdiction (see Tax 
Rate section). 
 
Table 3 

PROPERTY TAX CLASSES AND 2008 ASSESSMENT RATIOS 
   
 

Class 
Assessment 

Ratio 
 

Property Usage 
1 23% Properties of mining, utility, and telecommunication companies, standing timber, airport 

fuel delivery, producing oil and gas property, pipeline property, shopping centers, golf 
courses, manufacturers and most other commercial property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12001].  Note 
that Laws 2005, Chapter 302 reduced the assessment ratio by 0.5% in tax years 2006 and 
2007.  Laws 2007, Chapter 258 accelerated the reduction by decreasing the assessment 
ratio a full 1.0% in tax years 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011.   

2 16% Agricultural property, properties of nonprofit organizations, and vacant land.  [A.R.S. § 
42-12002]. 

3 10% Residential property not used for profit.  [A.R.S. § 42-12003]. 
4 10% Leased or rented residential property and residential common areas.  [A.R.S. § 42-12004]. 
5 20% Airlines, railroad and private car company property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12005]. 
6 5% Noncommercial historic property, property located in a foreign trade, military reuse, or 

enterprise zone, property of a qualified environmental technology manufacturing facility.  
[A.R.S. § 42-12006]. 

7 23% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 1 property and also the criteria for commercial 
historic property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12007].  

8 10% or 1% Property that meets the criteria for Class 4 property and also the criteria for commercial 
historic property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12008].  

9 1% Improvements on federal, state, county, and municipal property.  [A.R.S. § 42-12009]. 
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Table 4 
STATEWIDE PRIMARY AND SECONDARY NET ASSESSED VALUATION 

   
Tax Year Primary Net Assessed Valuation Secondary Net Assessed Valuation 

2008 $ 67,556,592,601 $ 86,183,351,753 
2007 $ 58,327,768,286 $ 71,837,099,233 
2006 $ 50,641,124,400 $ 54,394,761,521 
2005 $ 46,046,108,597 $ 48,931,946,145 
2004 $ 41,874,700,578 $ 44,461,738,026 
2003 $ 38,294,936,810 $ 40,839,898,348 

   
SOURCE:  Arizona Tax Research Association (ATRA) and Department of Revenue (DOR). 
 
Real Property versus Personal Property.  Real property is generally synonymous with real estate and includes land, 
buildings, and improvements to land.  Personal property is property other than real estate and includes items such as 
manufactured housing, office furniture, business equipment, and tools.  Personal property is usually movable and not 
permanently attached to real estate.   
 
Centrally Valued Property.  As noted previously, certain property is subject to valuation by the Department of 
Revenue (DOR).  Such property, commonly referred to as “centrally valued property,” is listed below. 
 
• Mines, mills, and smelters [A.R.S. § 42-14051]. 
• Oil, gas, and geothermal properties [A.R.S. § 42-14101]. 
• Gas, water, electric, and sewer and wastewater utilities [A.R.S. § 42-14151]. 
• Pipelines [A.R.S. § 42-14201]. 
• Airline companies [A.R.S. § 42-14251]. 
• Private car companies [A.R.S. § 42-14301]. 
• Railroad companies [A.R.S. § 42-14351]. 
• Telecommunications companies [A.R.S. § 42-14401]. 
• Airport fuel delivery companies [A.R.S. § 42-14501].    
 
Equalization of Valuations.  The Department of Revenue is authorized by statute to examine property valuations for 
inequities between or within counties and classifications and to issue equalization orders to ensure that all property 
in the state is valued for tax purposes at its full cash value [A.R.S. § 42-13251].  To this end, DOR conducts sales 
ratio studies to determine whether properties are valued fairly or not [A.R.S. § 42-13005].  County assessors affected 
by an equalization order may appeal to the State Board of Tax Appeals [A.R.S. § 42-16159]. 
 
EXEMPTIONS  
 
All property in Arizona is subject to taxation unless exempted by law.  The exemptions are provided in Article 9, 
Sections 2, 2.1, and 2.2 of the Arizona Constitution and are summarized in Table 5 below.  Arizona Revised Statutes 
further define the property tax exemptions provided by the Arizona Constitution.  All exemptions currently listed in 
statutes are displayed in Table 6 below. 
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Table 5  
PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS AUTHORIZED BY THE ARIZONA CONSTITUTION 

   
Article Section Exemption 

9 2 Federal, state, county, and municipal properties 
 2 Property owned by non-profit educational, charitable, and religious organizations  
 2 Public debts (i.e., bonds of Arizona, its counties, municipalities, or other subdivisions) 
 2 Household goods owned by the user and used solely for non-commercial purposes 
 2 Inventory of materials, parts, and products owned by a retailer or wholesaler for resale purposes 
 2 The first $50,000 of full cash value for business and agricultural personal property 1/ 
 2 Property of cemeteries 
 2 Property of widows 
 2.1 Property of widowers 
 2.2 Property of disabled persons 

____________ 
1/ Pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-11127(B), the maximum amount of the exemption is increased each year to account for 

inflation.  For FY 2009, the maximum amount of the exemption is $63,242. 
 
Table 6  

PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONS FURTHER DEFINED BY ARIZONA REVISED STATUTES 
   
Title Section Exemption 
42 11102 Government property 

 11103 Government bonded indebtedness 
 11104 Education and library property 
 11105 Health care property 
 11106 Apartments for elderly or handicapped residents 
 11107 Institutions for relief of indigent or afflicted 
 11108 Grounds and buildings owned by agricultural societies 
 11109 Religious property 
 11110 Cemeteries 
 11111 Property of widows, widowers, and disabled persons 
 11112 Observatories 
 11113 Land and buildings owned by animal control and humane societies 
 11114 Property held for conveyance as parkland 
 11115 Property held to preserve or protect scientific resources 
 11116 Property of arts and science organizations 
 11117 Property of volunteer fire departments 
 11118 Social welfare and quasi-governmental service property 
 11119 Property of volunteer roadway cleanup and beautification organizations 
 11120 Property of veterans’ organizations 
 11121 Property of charitable community service organizations 
 11122 Trading commodities 
 11123 Animal and poultry feed 
 11124 Possessory interests for educational or charitable activities 
 11125 Inventory, materials, and products 
 11126 Production livestock and animals 
 11127 Personal property 
 11128 Personal property in transit 
 11129 Property of fraternal societies 
 11130 Property of public library organizations 
 11131 Property providing low income rental housing for Indians 
 11132 Property of religious or charitable associations or institutions leased to an educational institution 
 11133 Low income housing projects. 
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As noted earlier, Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution provides that property owned by Indians, when 
such property is located within an Indian reservation or has been acquired under an act of Congress, is exempted 
from taxation. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
The tax rates for primary and secondary property taxes are determined by each individual taxing jurisdiction.  
According to DOR, there are 3,249 taxing authorities statewide in tax year 2008, of which 410 are primary taxing 
authorities and 2,839 secondary taxing authorities.  (Under DOR’s tabulation, each bond that has been approved is 
counted as a secondary taxing authority.)  The tax rates among the taxing jurisdictions in the state tend to vary 
considerably, as reflected in the total average tax rate by county shown in Table 7 below.   (Note that a taxing 
authority is required by statute to determine the tax rate, rounded to 4 decimal places, on each $100 dollars of net 
assessed value (NAV) [A.R.S. § 42-17151]). 
 

Table 7 
TOTAL COMBINED PRIMARY AND SECONDARY AVERAGE TAX RATE PER $100 NAV 

         
County FY 2008 FY 2007 FY 2006 FY 2005 FY 2004 FY 2003 FY 2002 FY 2001
Apache $7.69 $6.87 $7.47 $7.12 $7.17 $7.99 $8.22 $8.45
Cochise $12.16 $11.37 $12.40 $12.92 $12.85 $12.90 $13.09 $13.62
Coconino $7.37 $8.22 $8.76 $8.73 $9.17 $9.41 $8.98 $9.15
Gila $11.44 $11.99 $12.93 $13.10 $12.95 $13.14 $13.66 $13.18
Graham $9.41 $10.04 $10.33 $10.49 $10.60 $10.52 $10.50 $10.54
Greenlee $3.90 $4.18 $4.93 $6.52 $7.23 $5.79 $5.50 $5.24
Maricopa $9.35 $10.50 $10.98 $11.27 $11.65 $11.95 $11.92 $12.18
Mohave $8.65 $9.11 $9.94 $10.49 $10.95 $10.85 $11.44 $11.74
Navajo $8.66 $9.10 $9.15 $8.87 $9.28 $9.88 $9.79 $9.41
Pima $13.82 $14.61 $15.52 $15.73 $16.30 $16.72 $17.29 $16.86
Pinal $14.49 $15.08 $15.77 $15.62 $15.98 $16.41 $16.60 $17.06
Santa Cruz $12.23 $12.23 $12.86 $12.99 $13.23 $13.14 $13.37 $13.92
Yavapai $8.62 $9.00 $9.81 $9.99 $10.06 $10.44 $10.75 $10.45
Yuma $12.35 $12.67 $13.70 $13.10 $13.34 $14.23 $14.04 $13.75
La Paz $9.37 $10.50 $11.87 $11.42 $11.41 $10.92 $11.27 $10.89

State of Arizona $10.04 $10.99 $11.56 $11.81 $12.18 $12.49 $12.55 $12.68
         
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue (DOR) 

 
Unlike local government entities, the state does not levy property taxes due to the repeal of the state property tax in 
1996 [Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 2].  However, primary property taxes levied and collected in certain 
districts are transmitted by the counties to the state in order to aid in school financial assistance.   
 
The monies deposited into the state General Fund are from taxes levied on property not located within any school 
district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and on property in certain school districts ineligible for 
state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 15-992].  The tax rates 
in such districts are based on the qualifying tax rate (QTR) used in the basic state aid funding formula, which is 
adjusted each year to comply with the truth-in-taxation provisions in statute.  In addition, the basic state aid formula 
also includes a state-mandated “county equalization” tax collected by the counties [A.R.S. § 15-994].  This tax was 
renamed as the “State Equalization Assistance Property Tax” by Laws 2006, Chapter 354, which also set that rate at 
zero for FY 2007 through FY 2009.  The K-12 tax rates (after truth-in-taxation rate adjustments) used in the Basic 
State Aid formula are shown in Table 8 below. 
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Table 8 
K-12 TAX RATES PER $100 NAV 

 
 Qualifying Tax Rate (QTR)  State Equalization Rate 
Fiscal Year Unified School Districts Non-Unified School Districts  All School Districts 1/ 

2009 $2.9244 $1.4622  $0.0000  
2008 $3.2040 $1.6020  $0.0000  
2007 $3.4788 $1.7394  $0.0000  
2006 $3.6180 $1.8090  $0.4358 
2005 $3.7862 $1.8931  $0.4560 
2004 $3.9166 $1.9583  $0.4717 
2003 $4.0592 $2.0296  $0.4889 
2002 $4.1294 $2.0647  $0.4974 
2001 $4.2530 $2.1265  $0.5123 
2000 $4.3308 $2.1654  $0.5217 

____________ 
1/ Note that pursuant to Laws 2006, Chapter 354, the state equalization rate is set at $0.0000 for FY 2007, FY 

2008, and FY 2009 and has been renamed from the “County Equalization Assistance for Education Property 
Tax” to the “State Equalization Assistance Property Tax.”   

 
A.R.S. § 15-971.  Equalization Assistance (“Basic State Aid”).  The purpose of the basic state aid formula is to 
establish a comparable funding amount per pupil in each school district.  The funding formula consists of a local 
share and a state share.  The local share represents the amount of budgeted expenditures financed by the district’s 
own property tax.  The state share is simply the amount of spending not covered by the district’s property tax.  This 
means that anything that causes the local share to decrease, such as a reduction in NAV or the QTR and/or State 
Equalization rate, will cause the state share (i.e., basic state aid) to increase by the same amount. 
 
A.R.S. § 15-972.  Additional State Aid (“Homeowner’s Property Tax Rebate”).  In return for reducing the tax year 
2008 school district primary tax levy for owner-occupied residential properties (Class 3) by 38%, the state 
appropriates an amount equal to the tax rebate to the same districts.  This aid, which is in addition to basic state aid, 
is limited to $560 per parcel in tax year 2008.  Pursuant to Laws 2005, Chapter 302, both the rebate percentage and 
rebate cap will increase each year between tax years 2006 and 2010 (for more details, see section 2005 Tax Laws).  
The tax rate levied by districts for primary property taxes is further reduced on individual parcels of residential 
property if the combined primary property tax levy exceeds 1% of the parcel’s limited property value (see Tax 
Limitations section). 
 
A.R.S. § 41-1276.  Truth in Taxation for Equalization Assistance.  Barring a tax rate reduction, a property owner’s 
tax liability increases whenever the valuation of his property increases.  The purpose of truth in taxation (TNT) is to 
prevent such a tax increase by reducing the tax rate commensurately.  Prior to the enactment of TNT (Laws 1998, 
2nd Regular Session, Chapter 153), the state received monies from a primary property tax rate of $2.20 per $100 
NAV levied in unorganized districts and up to $2.20 per $100 NAV in MQTR districts.  The county equalization tax 
rate was $0.53 per $100 NAV.  However, starting in FY 2000, these tax rates have been lowered each year to offset 
the statewide appreciation of property, as reflected in Table 8 above.  Note that since these tax rates are used both 
for collecting property taxes and for disbursing basic state aid, the TNT rate reductions result simultaneously in less 
revenues and more costs to the state General Fund. 
 
TAX LIMITATIONS 
 
The following constitutional provisions limit property taxation in Arizona: 
 
• Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 8.  “Local Debt Limits.”  The amount of General Obligation (GO) debt 

issued by a county, city, town, school district, or other municipal corporation is limited to 6% of the 
jurisdiction’s secondary net assessed valuation (NAV).  The voters of a county, elementary or high school 
district may authorize additional debt for up to 15% of secondary NAV.  (Pursuant Article IX, Section 8.1, 
unified school districts are allowed additional debt for up to 30% of secondary NAV.)  The voters of a city or 
town may approve additional debt for up to 20% of secondary NAV for providing services such as water, 
artificial lights, sewers, and for the acquisition and development of land for open space preserves, parks, 
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playgrounds, and recreational facilities.  Proposition 104, which was approved by voters in November 2006, 
added the following list of items to be included within a city’s or town’s 20% debt limit:  public safety, law 
enforcement, fire and emergency service facilities, and street and transportation facilities.              

• Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “The 1% Cap.”  The total amount of taxes collected on residential 
property (Class 3) for primary purposes is not allowed to exceed 1% of the parcel’s limited property value.  For 
this reason, the combined primary property taxes on a parcel of residential property exceeding this limit are 
reduced through an increase in additional state aid to schools [A.R.S. § 15-972]. 

• Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “Limited Property Valuation.”  This constitutional provision 
imposes a limitation on increases in the value of real property and mobile homes, as described in the Tax Base 
section. 

• Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 18.  “The Senior Property Valuation Freeze.”  Arizona residents who 
meet the following requirements are eligible for a property valuation freeze on their home: (1) is 65 years of age 
or older, (2) the home is their primary residence, (3) has lived in their home for at least 2 years, and (4) their 
gross income does not exceed 400% of the supplemental security income benefit rate.  If the homeowners meet 
these requirements, they can apply for a “property valuation protection option” from their county assessor.  The 
county assessor then fixes the value of the home at the full cash value in effect during the year the application 
was filed.  The value of the home will remain frozen for as long as the owner remains eligible for the protection 
option.  To be eligible for the senior valuation protection option in 2008, the income could not exceed $30,576 
for single owners and $38,220 for two or more owners.   

• Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 19.  “The 2% Levy Limit.”  A city, town, county or community college 
district is not allowed to levy primary property taxes on previously existing property in excess of a 2% increase 
from the maximum allowable amount in the preceding tax year unless approved in an override election, as 
prescribed by A.R.S. § 42-17201 through 42-17203.  Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in 
November 2006, changed the base year used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and 
community colleges from 1980 to 2005.  By resetting the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any 
unused taxing capacity of such taxing jurisdictions as of tax year 2005.  (Note that the 2% levy limit does not 
apply to school districts.) 

 
The following statutory provisions limit property taxation in Arizona: 
 
• Truth in Taxation Levy for Equalization Assistance to Schools.  The qualifying tax rate (QTR) and the state 

equalization tax rate, the 2 statutory K-12 tax rates used to determine basic state aid for school districts, are 
required to be reduced each year to offset the statewide valuation increase of existing property.  The statutory 
K-12 tax rates cannot exceed the truth-in-taxation (TNT) rates provided under this statute unless the Legislature 
overrides them by a two-thirds vote [A.R.S. § 41-1276].   

• Truth in Taxation Base Limit for School Expenditures outside the Budget Limit.  Each school district is required 
to determine a truth-in-taxation (TNT) base limit for expenditures (desegregation, dropout prevention, excess 
utilities, vocational education, and small school adjustments) not paid for by the statutory K-12 tax rates.  Any 
school district that budgets an amount that exceeds its TNT base limit (or levies any amount for adjacent ways 
or liabilities in excess) is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting 
property tax increase [A.R.S. § 15-905.01]. 

• Truth in Taxation Levy for Counties, Cities, and Towns.  Any county, city, or town that proposes a primary 
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s levy, 
is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.  If 
such taxing jurisdiction fails to comply with the requirements under this statute, it is not allowed to levy an 
amount that exceeds the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 
42-17107]. 

• Truth in Taxation Levy for Community Colleges.  Any community college district that proposes a primary 
property tax levy, excluding amounts attributable to new construction, which exceeds the preceding year’s levy, 
is required to issue a special TNT notice that includes information on the resulting property tax increase.  If a 
district fails to comply with the requirements under this statute, it is not allowed to levy an amount that exceeds 
the preceding year’s levy, except for amounts attributable to new construction [A.R.S. § 15-1461.01]. 

 
Note that while a county, city, town or community college district may exceed its TNT levy, it can never exceed its 
constitutional levy limit.   
 
TAX ADMINISTRATION 
 
Valuation Year versus Tax Year.  Under Arizona law, the valuation year for locally assessed real property and 
centrally valued property is the calendar year preceding the year in which the taxes are levied.  In other words, the 
tax year lags the valuation year by 1 year.  By contrast, for locally assessed personal property, the valuation year is 
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the calendar year in which the taxes are levied [A.R.S. § 42-11001].  However, because of the payment schedule in 
Arizona (see Payment Schedule section below), real and personal property taxes are always collected in the fiscal 
year immediately following the tax year.  For real property, this means that the valuation year precedes the tax year 
by 1 year and the fiscal year by 2 years.  The relationship of the valuation year and tax year to FY 2009 is 
summarized in Table 9 below. 
 

Table 9 
PROPERTY VALUATION AND TAXATION CALENDAR 

Type of Property Valuation Year 2007 & 2008 
(When Tax Base Is Determined)

Tax Year 2008 
(When Tax Rate Is Determined)

Fiscal Year 2009 
(When Tax Is Due and Payable)

Locally Assessed Real 
Property (Old Construction) January 1, 2007 August 18, 2008 

October 1, 2008 and 
March 1, 2009 

Locally Assessed Real 
Property (New Construction) 

October 1, 2006 through 
September 30, 2007 August 18, 2008 

October 1, 2008 and 
March 1, 2009 

Locally Assessed Personal 
Property January 1, 2008 August 18, 2008 

October 1, 2008 and 
March 1, 2009 

Centrally Valued Property January 1, 2007 August 18, 2008 
October 1, 2008 and 

March 1, 2009 

 
As shown in the table above, the valuation date for existing property is always January 1 of the valuation year 
[A.R.S. § 42-11001].  For new construction, the valuation date is between October 1 in the year preceding the 
valuation year and September 30 of the valuation year [A.R.S. § 42-15105].  The property tax rates are always set on 
or before the third Monday in August of the tax year. 
 
DOR values all centrally valued properties such as utilities, mines, airlines, and railroads [A.R.S. § 42-14002].  
DOR must notify the property owners by June 15 of the initial full cash value established.  The property owner then 
has until July 15 to file an application to appear before DOR and be heard concerning the full cash value determined.  
If the property owner is not satisfied with DOR’s valuation, he can appeal to either the State Board of Equalization 
[A.R.S. § 42-16158] by October 1 or directly to the Superior Court [A.R.S. § 42-16201] by December 15.   
 
The county assessors are responsible for the valuation of all properties not valued by the state.  The assessor must 
notify the real property owners by March 1 of the initial values of existing properties for the following tax year 
[A.R.S. § 42-15101].  The taxpayer then has 60 days to appeal to the assessor [A.R.S. § 42-16051].  The assessor 
must rule on these appeals by August 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16055].  The property owner then has 25 days to appeal to the 
State Board of Equalization for property located in Maricopa or Pima County or the County Board of Supervisors 
for property located in other counties [A.R.S. § 42-16105].  The county or state board must rule on these appeals by 
October 15 [A.R.S. § 42-16108].  If the taxpayers are still unsatisfied with the result, they may directly appeal to the 
state tax court within 60 days after the mailing of the decision, or by December 15, whichever is later [A.R.S. § 42-
16202]. 
 
For new construction, the assessor establishes the initial value by September 30 [A.R.S. § 42-15105].  The taxpayer 
has 25 days to appeal to the Board of Equalization, which must rule by November 15.  The taxpayer then has 60 
days to appeal to the tax court. 
 
On or before February 10, each county assessor is required to provide the staff of JLBC and OSPB the property 
values used to compute the Truth in Taxation (TNT) Rates for Equalization Assistance [A.R.S. § 42-17052(C)]. 
 
Collections.  The lieu taxes on private car companies and airline flight property are collected by the Department of 
Revenue [A.R.S. § 42-14308 and § 42-14255].  All other property taxes are collected by the county treasurers 
[A.R.S. § 42-18001].  Property taxes collected by the county treasurers must be apportioned to the taxing districts at 
the end of each month.  Any property taxes apportioned to the state must be remitted to the State Treasurer by the 
15th day of the following month [A.R.S. § 35-145]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Normally, one-half of the tax on real and personal property is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless 
the total amount of the tax due is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after 
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November 1.  The remaining one-half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and delinquent 
after May 1 [A.R.S. § 42-18052].  Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  As noted previously, due to the repeal of the state property tax in 1996 (Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, 
Chapter 2), the state no longer levies a property tax.  For this reason, property tax legislation primarily affects the 
state General Fund through its impact on Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures.  Under the K-12 
funding formula, the state must offset any loss of local property tax revenue by a commensurate increase in ADE 
state aid to schools.  
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 49 provides that up to 10 acres of land can be designated a homesite and assessed as Class 3 
property.  Additionally, if physical conditions or legal restrictions, including zoning, prevent a parcel from being 
subdivided, the act expands the homesite designation to include up to 40 acres of land.  Beginning in FY 2010, the 
act is expected to increase Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by an estimated $0.6 million.  
(Effective January 1, 2009) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 65 clarifies that interest begins to accrue on tax liens on the first day of the month following 
the purchase for both initial tax liens and subsequent tax liens.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 83 clarifies that historic private burial sites and historic private cemeteries are exempt from 
property tax assessments.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 85 establishes financial mechanisms for a Flood Protection District to construct, reconstruct, 
replace, renovate, repair or acquire a flood protection facility. The financial mechanisms include property 
assessments and the authority to issue improvement bonds.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 174 contains an emergency measure that allows a county board of supervisors to sell tax deeds 
of delinquent property held by the state to the owner of the adjoining property, under certain conditions.  (Effective 
May 8, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 178 increases the maximum number of rooms (from 4 to 6) that an owner-occupied bed and 
breakfast establishment is allowed to operate to qualify for the Class 4 assessment ratio.  The fiscal impact is 
unknown.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 252 clarifies that property owned by a nonprofit charter school and used for educational 
purposes is exempt from property tax beginning on the date that the nonprofit organization acquired the property.  
(Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 306 extends the valuation method for “renewable energy equipment” from 2011 to 2040.  
Additionally, the act provides that for residential properties (Class 3 and 4) that produce energy primarily for on-site 
consumption using “renewable energy systems,” such devices will not be considered to add value to the property.     
(Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 37 increased the maximum per diem compensation from $150 to $300 for hearing officers 
employed by the State Board of Equalization.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 104 modified the appeals process for agricultural land classification and changed the valuation 
determination for land splits or consolidations resulting from a government action.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 117 prescribed the process for allocating the taxes due on a property that was split or 
consolidated after the tax roll was submitted to the county treasurer.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
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Laws 2007, Chapter 193 changed the requirements and process regarding the sale of land held by the state under a 
tax lien.  (Effective September 19, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 203 provided that the value of land used by an electric generation facility is to be determined 
by the Department of Revenue, as opposed to the county assessor, and that such value is the cost to the current 
owner as of December 31 of the preceding calendar year.  The bill defined “electric generation facility” to include 
all land, buildings, and personal property used for generation of electric power.  (Effective retroactively from 
January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 258 reduces property taxes paid by businesses by:  (1) modifying the accelerated depreciation 
schedule for personal property and (2) accelerating the assessment ratio reduction of Class 1 property originally 
enacted under Laws 2005, Chapter 302. 
 
Accelerated Depreciation of Business Personal Property 
The new accelerated depreciation schedule under Laws 2007, Chapter 258, which is shown in the table below, 
applies to personal property initially classified during or after tax year 2008.  Beginning in FY 2009, this provision 
of the act is expected to increase Arizona Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by an estimated $4.0 
million. 
 

 
Year of 

Assessment 

Percentage of Scheduled 
Depreciated Value 
Under Current Law 

Percentage of Scheduled 
Depreciated Value 

Under Previous Law 
1st 30% 35% 
2nd 46% 51% 
3rd 62% 67% 
4th 78% 83% 
5th 94% 100% 
6th 100% 100% 

 
The term “scheduled depreciated value” refers to a personal property item’s value after normal depreciation but 
before applying additional (or “accelerated”) depreciation.  For example, if DOR’s valuation table indicates that a 
$2,000 personal computer has an economic life of 4 years and will depreciate by 50% in its first year of use, then the 
computer’s scheduled depreciated value in the first year of its assessment is $1,000.  Laws 2007, Chapter 258 
accelerates the depreciation of the computer by reducing its full cash value to $300 (30% of its scheduled 
depreciated value of $1,000). 
 
Acceleration of Class 1 Property Assessment Ratio Reduction 
Laws 2005, Chapter 302 reduced the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial and industrial) property from 25% to 
20% over 10 years.  Laws 2007, Chapter 258 accelerates the scheduled Class 1 assessment ratio reduction by 4 
years.  Thus, the Class 1 assessment ratio phase-down will be completed in tax year 2011 as opposed to in tax year 
2015, as shown in the table below.   Beginning in FY 2009, this provision of the bill is expected to increase ADE 
expenditures by an estimated $3.0 million.   
 

Tax Year 

Class 1 
Assessment Ratio  

Under Current Law 

Class 1 
Assessment Ratio 

Under Previous Law 
2005 25.0% 25.0% 
2006 24.5% 24.5% 
2007 24.0% 24.0% 
2008 23.0% 23.5% 
2009 22.0% 23.0% 
2010 21.0% 22.5% 
2011 20.0% 22.0% 
2012 20.0% 21.5% 
2013 20.0% 21.0% 
2014 20.0% 20.5% 
2015 20.0% 20.0% 
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2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Proposition 101, which was approved by voters in the November 2006 General Election, changed the base year 
used to calculate the levy limits of cities, towns, counties, and community colleges from 1980 to 2005.  By resetting 
the base year to 2005, Proposition 101 eliminated any unused taxing capacity of such taxing jurisdictions as of tax 
year 2005.  This measure was not expected to have any direct impact on the state General Fund. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 38 required the Department of Revenue to consider obsolescence in the valuation of 
telecommunications property.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 134 provided several changes to the procedures of county treasurers, including clarifying the 
legal interest rate the treasurer must pay on tax corrections, requiring electronic transmission of taxes for certain 
taxpayers and allowing personal property to be subject to abatement.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 143 made several clarifications and changes regarding property valuation and appeals.  For 
example, the bill clarified that county assessors cannot change the property values used for the calculation of levy 
limits and tax rates after February 10 without the approval of the Property Tax Oversight Commission.  In addition, 
the bill established an Elderly Assistance Fund in Maricopa County for the purpose of reducing the primary property 
tax rates of all taxpayers who live in an organized district and are approved for the senior property valuation freeze.   
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 170 required the county assessor to use the valuation or change in classification of a property 
for the next year’s valuation if, upon judicial appeal, the property valuation is reduced.  The assessor is already 
required by statute to use the reduced valuation or change in classification upon administrative appeal.  (Effective 
September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 285 required county assessors to include a separate statement as an addendum to the 
assessment notice informing property owners that if a property is used for residential rental purposes, the property 
must be listed as a class 4 and be registered with the county assessor or the owner may be subject to a penalty.  
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 322 allowed county assessors to enter into intergovernmental agreements with the Department 
of Revenue (DOR) for a coordinated and comprehensive review of information regarding identification of properties 
that may be misclassified as Class 3 (owner-occupied residential) instead of Class 4 (rental residential).  The bill 
required DOR to monitor and review procedures and practices used by the county assessors for the verification of 
Class 3 properties and to issue a report of its findings to the Governor and Legislature by November 15 each year.  
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 323 provided a property tax exemption for permanent improvements constructed on property 
owned by and leased from an agricultural improvement district.  The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.  
(Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 327 clarified the exemption for non-profit property used for health care and provided that the 
exemption is retroactive from January 1, 2000.  The bill was estimated to result in increased Arizona Department of 
Education (ADE) expenditures of $60,000 in FY 2007. (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2000) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 332 increased the membership of the State Board of Equalization (SBOE) from 17 to 33 
members.  The bill also prohibits a member of SBOE, other than the chairperson, from having been employed by a 
county assessor, county attorney, the Department of Revenue, or the Attorney General’s Office within the last two 
years.  (Effective September 21, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 333 stipulated that solar energy devices are to be considered as adding no value to property.  
The amount of property tax revenue that will be foregone by state and local governments under this provision is 
unknown.  The bill also contained provisions that will affect income tax and prime contracting tax revenues.  
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 354 suspended the state equalization assistance for education property tax for tax years 2006 
through 2008.  It also changed the base year for computing levy limits for primary property taxes from 1980 to 
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2005.  This eliminated any unused growth in levy limit taxing capacity that had accumulated since 1980.  In 
addition, Chapter 354 eliminated the use of “special elections” that are scheduled at times other than the November 
general election to authorize secondary property taxes and required publicity pamphlets for bond elections to 
provide an estimate of the tax impact of the bond both per year and also over the life of the bond (versus only per 
year currently).  The act renamed the county equalization assistance for education tax rate as the “state equalization 
assistance property tax rate.” (Contained various effective dates)  See Individual Income Tax section for other 
changes. 
 
The provision that suspended the state equalization property tax for 3 years is expected to increase Arizona 
Department of Education (ADE) expenditures by $215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6 
million in FY 2009.   
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 387 extended the Enterprise Zone Program until June 30, 2011, and modified some of its 
qualification requirements.  The fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.  (Effective retroactively from July 1, 2006)  
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 388 classified real and personal property and improvements used to produce bio-diesel fuel as 
Class 6 property, which qualifies for a 5% assessment ratio versus 25% for most commercial property.  (Class 6 also 
includes properties such as noncommercial historic property, foreign trade zone property and qualifying 
environmental remediation property.)  The fiscal impact of this provision of the bill is unknown.  (Effective January 
1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 391 established a public hearing committee process for property tax guidelines, tables and 
manuals drafted, amended or modified by the Department of Revenue.  (Effective January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 392 exempted the following property from taxation:  (1) property owned by a non-profit 
religious or charitable organization that is leased to a non-profit educational organization and is used for educational 
instruction in any grade or program through grade 12, and (2) rental property owned and operated by a non-profit 
organization that is used as an assisted living facility for low-income elderly residents.  The fiscal impact of the two 
property tax exemptions is unknown.  (Effective September 21, 2006)  
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 40 provided that the State Board of Equalization must review and consider all evidence, 
including similar property values, when hearing an appeal on a taxpayer’s property valuation.  (Effective August 12, 
2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 66 provided that DOR will exclude contributions in aid of construction (CIAC) when 
establishing the valuation of electric and gas utilities.  CIAC is the amount an entity pays (e.g., a land developer) to a 
utility to cover the difference between what the construction cost would be for the utility, as directed by federal 
rules, and the construction cost actually incurred by the entity.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 131 provided several changes to county treasurers’ procedures including clarifying that the 
county treasurer or board of supervisors will act as the agent for the state for the collection of property tax liens that 
are assigned to the state.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 186 provided several changes to the application process for widows, widowers, and disabled 
persons to receive a property tax exemption.  For example, the act eliminated the requirement that an applicant 
resubmits an annual affidavit for continued eligibility for the exemption.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 276 provided a property tax exemption for property located outside an Indian reservation that 
is owned by an Indian tribe or tribally designated housing authority and that is used to provide low income rental 
housing for tribal members.  (Note that property located within a reservation that is owned by Indian tribal members 
is currently exempted from taxation under Article 20, Section 5 of the Arizona Constitution.)  The fiscal impact of 
this bill is unknown.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 278 changed the requirements for a business to qualify for tax incentives relating to healthy 
forest enterprises, reduced the tax on fuel used in vehicles transporting forest products, and provided a property tax 
reduction for real and personal property used for qualified forest product harvesting and processing.  The assessment 
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ratio for such property was reduced from 25% to 5% for valuation years 2005 through 2010.  The fiscal impact of 
the property assessment ratio reduction provision is not known. 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 302 reduced the assessment ratio for Class 1 (commercial and industrial) property from 25% 
to 20% over 10 years.  The bill increased the “Homeowner’s Rebate” from 35% to 40% of the primary school 
district tax levy while simultaneously raising the rebate cap from $500 to $600 over 5 years.  In addition, the act 
updated the truth in taxation statutes regarding the qualifying tax rate and the state equalization tax rate to reflect the 
JLBC calculation for FY 2006.  The bill also provided for county jail districts and county juvenile detention 
facilities to levy the same amount of secondary property taxes in 2006, 2007, and 2008 as in 2005.  Starting in FY 
2007, the bill will adversely affect the General Fund by increasing the expenditures for the Arizona Department of 
Education (ADE) by an estimated $12 million.  In FY 2016, when the bill is fully phased in, the General Fund cost 
is expected to have grown to $140 million.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
The table below summarizes the main changes under the bill by tax year. 
 

Tax Year 

Class 1 
Assessment 

Ratio 
Homeowner’s 

Rebate 
Homeowner’s 

Rebate Cap 
2005 25.0% 35% $500 
2006 24.5% 36% $520 
2007 24.0% 37% $540 
2008 23.5% 38% $560 
2009 23.0% 39% $580 
2010 22.5% 40% $600 
2011 22.0% 40% $600 
2012 21.5% 40% $600 
2013 21.0% 40% $600 
2014 20.5% 40% $600 
2015 20.0% 40% $600 

  
Laws 2005, Chapter 309 nearly doubled the income limits that are allowed for widows, widowers, and disabled 
persons to qualify for a property tax exemption.  The bill also provided that the property tax exemption amount and 
income limits will be indexed to inflation.  The fiscal impact of the bill is unknown.  (Effective August 12, 2005)   
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 15 provided that county assessors are allowed to send a notice of an error that occurred during 
the current tax year and the 3 immediately preceding tax years regardless of what time of the year the notice was 
mailed or filed.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 295 provided a property tax exemption for non-profit library organizations that provide 
supplemental financial support to public libraries. The act expanded the property tax exemption for charitable 
institutions that serve the “indigent or afflicted” to also include property used for the administration of relief.  The 
act also amended statutes related to the appeals process, changes and corrections in the tax roll, and designation of 
taxpayer agents.  The impact on the General Fund is unknown. (The effective date varies by the provisions of the 
act) 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 329 increased the assessed valuation limit to qualify for the property tax exemption for 
widows, widowers, and disabled persons from $10,000 to $20,000.  The act also requires the threshold amount to be 
adjusted annually to account for inflation as measured by the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) price deflator.  The 
fiscal impact of this bill is unknown.  (Effective August 25, 2004)  
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 16 raised the small claims ceiling for property tax appeals and the threshold at which the 
number of hearing officers must increase.  (Effective September 18, 2003) 
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Laws 2003, Chapter 37 created a permanent method for allocating electric transmission, distribution, and 
generation values among taxing jurisdictions.  The bill also provided statutory methods for valuing both new and 
existing generation facilities. The JLBC Staff estimated that this legislation will increase the cost for Arizona 
Department of Education Basic State Aid to schools by an amount between $0 and $12,921,000 in FY 2005.  The 
impact on property tax General Fund revenues could not be determined, however. 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 41 provided that the purchaser of a tax lien agrees to acquire all outstanding certificates of 
purchase previously issued on the property as a condition of the sale.  The bill also established a 10-year expiration 
date for tax liens purchased by August 31, 2002.   (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 105 provided technical, clarifying and conforming changes to Arizona tax statutes. The 
changes were non-substantive, technical corrections intended to clean up the language in the tax statutes, as 
recommended by DOR and Legislative Council. (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 240 prohibited a community college district, county, city or town governing board to levy or 
assess primary property taxes higher than the prior year if the governing board failed to comply with truth in 
taxation noticing and hearing requirements. (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 101 amended statutes by allowing the county assessor to arrange a mutually satisfactory 
meeting place to accept an affidavit certifying the taxpayer’s eligibility for a property tax exemption if a personal 
appearance would create a severe hardship for the taxpayer.  (Effective August 22, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 174 provided a property tax exemption for nonprofit community health centers serving 
medically under-served areas or populations.  The fiscal impact relative to current law could not be determined. 
(Effective August 22, 2002)   
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 193 made various changes to statute governing county treasurers’ procedures involving tax 
liens, unclaimed refunds and distribution of taxes. (Effective August 22, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 201 created a statutory valuation methodology for timeshare properties.  The act provided that 
county assessors classify timeshare properties that are not used for commercial, industrial, or transient occupancy 
purposes as Class 4 property.  The fiscal impact of this legislation could not be determined.  (Effective August 22, 
2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 234 froze the value of existing electric generation plants (retroactive to January 1, 2002) for 
tax year 2003 at the full cash value established for tax year 2002.   The act created a new method for the Department 
of Revenue to allocate the value of electric power plants (with respect to generation, transmission, and distribution 
properties) among taxing jurisdictions for tax year 2003.  This legislation also prescribed reporting requirements for 
electric generation plants for tax year 2003 and made technical changes related to the voluntary contributions paid 
by power plants to taxing jurisdictions.  The fiscal impact could not be determined. 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 237 provided modifications to the state’s enterprise zone program both with respect to income 
tax credits and property reclassification.  For example, it excluded electric generating plants from the definition of 
manufacturer for the purpose of reclassification under this program.  The act also clarified that a minority and 
woman-owned business must be independently owned and operated.  The fiscal impact of this act is unknown. 
(Effective retroactively from January 1, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 242 prescribed exceptions to the requirement that the tax court dismisses a property tax appeal 
for which the taxes are delinquent.  (Effective August 22, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 259 amended statutes governing the release of liens and payoff demands issued by banks.  
(Effective August 22, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 278 stipulated that a county assessor must use the property value determined at the highest 
level of appeal as the beginning basis for the following year’s valuation, unless there was new construction or a 
change of use on the property.  The fiscal impact could not be determined.  (Effective August 22, 2002)    
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Laws 2002, Chapter 308 provided criteria to classify a mobile home situated on leased property in a mobile home 
park as real property.  The bill contained an emergency clause. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/proptax.pdf
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LUXURY TAX ON CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco is imposed on cigarettes, cigars, cavendish, and chewing tobacco.  A 
luxury tax is a tax levied on items that are normally considered a luxury rather than a necessity.  The tax rate varies 
by product, with the rate for the largest revenue producer, cigarettes, set at $2.00 per pack of 20.  The majority of 
revenues from this tax are dedicated to health care programs. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Revenues from the luxury tax on cigarettes and tobacco are distributed as follows: 
 
Tax on Cigarettes 
 
Of the $2.00 tax, 18¢ is distributed for the following purposes: 
 
• Corrections Fund.  2¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the Corrections Fund 

[A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 
• General Fund.  The remaining 16¢ of the 18¢ general tax rate per pack of 20 cigarettes is deposited in the 

General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102].   
• State School Aid.  19.44% of general cigarette tax collections is allocated to state school aid.  The 16¢ General 

Fund distribution described above is presumed to contribute to the existing General Fund appropriation for state 
school aid [A.R.S. § 42-3103]. 

 
$1.00 of the $2.00 cigarette tax is dedicated to health care and distributed to the following funds and their 
subaccounts: 
 
• Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund.  40¢ is distributed to the following accounts of the Tobacco Tax and 

Health Care Fund [A.R.S. § 36-771, § 42-3251, § 42-3252, § 42-3302]: 
 

a. Medically Needy Account – 70% of revenues, to provide health care services for those who cannot afford 
these services [A.R.S. § 36-774]. 

b. Health Education Account – 23% of revenues, for the prevention and reduction of tobacco use [A.R.S. § 
36-772]. 

c. Health Research Account – 5% of revenues, for research on preventing and treating tobacco-related disease 
and addiction [A.R.S. § 36-773]. 

d. Corrections Fund Adjustment Account – 2% of revenues, to compensate the Corrections Fund for decreases 
in general cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of the cigarette tax dedicated to health care [A.R.S. 
§ 36-775]. 

 
• Tobacco Products Tax Fund.  60¢ is distributed to the following accounts of the Tobacco Products Tax Fund 

[A.R.S. § 36-770, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3302]: 
 

a. Proposition 204 Protection Account – 42% of revenues, to implement and fund the programs established by 
Proposition 204 in the 2000 General Election [A.R.S. § 36-778].  

b. Medically Needy Account – 27% of revenues, to provide health care services for those who cannot afford 
these services [A.R.S. § 36-774]. 

c. Emergency Health Services Account – 20% of revenues, to provide reimbursement of uncompensated care, 
primary care services, and trauma center readiness costs [A.R.S. § 36-776].  

d. Health Education Account – 2% of revenues, for the prevention and early detection of the 4 leading causes 
of death in Arizona [A.R.S. § 36-772]. 

e. Health Research Fund – 5% of revenues, for health research [A.R.S. § 36-275]. 
f. Health Care Adjustment Account – 4% of revenues, to compensate the subaccounts of the Tobacco Tax and 

Health Care Fund for decreases in cigarette tax revenues resulting from the levy of this portion of the 
cigarette tax [A.R.S. § 36-777]. 
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Of the $2.00 cigarette tax, 80¢ is dedicated to childhood development and health, which is deposited into the 
following fund and its subaccounts:  
 
• Early Childhood Development and Health Fund.  Monies are distributed to the following accounts of the Early 

Childhood Development and Health Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3371, A.R.S. § 8-1181]: 
 

a. Program Account – 90% of revenues, to improve the quality and availability of health and education 
programs for pre-kindergarten children and their families who otherwise have limited access to such 
services [A.R.S. § 8-1181, A.R.S. § 8-1171]. 

b. Administrative Costs Account – 10% of revenues, to cover the administrative costs of the Arizona Early 
Childhood Development and Health Board [A.R.S. § 8-1181]. 

 
The remaining 2¢ of the $2.00 tax is distributed for the following purpose:  
 
• Smoke-Free Arizona Fund.  Revenues are used to enforce the provisions of the Smoke-Free Arizona Act with 

any unexpended monies being deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund to be used for education programs 
to reduce and eliminate tobacco use [A.R.S. § 42-3251.02, A.R.S. § 36-601.01]. 

 
Tax on Tobacco, Cavendish, and Cigars 
 
• Corrections Fund.  50% of all general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the 

Corrections Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 
• General Fund.  The remaining general tax rate collections from the tax on tobacco products is deposited in the 

General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102]. 
 
Separate from the above distributions, all monies collected from the tobacco tax rates dedicated to health care are 
distributed as follows: 
 
• Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund.  40% is deposited in the Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund. [A.R.S. § 

36-771, § 42-3252, § 42-3302]. 
• Tobacco Products Tax Fund.  60% is deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund. [A.R.S. § 36-770, § 42-

3251.01, § 42-3302]. 
 
Also separate from the above distributions, all monies collected from the tobacco tax rates dedicated to early 
childhood development and health are distributed as follows:  
 
• Early Childhood Development and Health Fund.  90% is deposited in the Program Account and 10% of the 

revenues are deposited in the Administrative Costs Account [A.R.S. § 42-3371, A.R.S. § 8-1181]. 
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Table 1 
CIGARETTE AND TOBACCO TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

 
 

Fiscal Year 
General 

Fund 
Corrections 

Fund 
 

TTHCF 1/ 
 

TPTF 2/ 
 

ECDHF 3/ 
 

SFAF 4/ 
 

Total 
FY 2008 $32,467,344 $6,206,674 $83,868,465 $116,127,254 $164,805,113 $3,946,308 $407,421,158
FY 2007 $37,558,776 $6,206,673 $100,500,062 $137,624,178 $74,445,246 $1,778,847 $358,121,881
FY 2006 $39,578,709 $6,206,674 $106,821,045 $145,399,774  $298,006,202
FY 2005 $38,360,552 $6,206,608 $102,310,127 $138,521,611  $285,398,898
FY 2004 $36,757,081 $6,206,674 $  98,163,310 $133,563,168  $275,104,562
FY 2003 $41,174,667 $6,206,674 $105,027,137 $  59,938,321  $212,346,799
FY 2002 $43,206,460 $6,206,674 $108,177,154  $157,590,288
FY 2001 $43,124,883 $6,206,674 $108,709,176  $158,040,733
FY 2000 $43,446,233 $6,196,674 $109,786,025  $159,428,932
FY 1999 $43,895,551 $6,206,674 $112,735,957  $162,838,182
FY 1998 $44,443,108 $6,206,674 $114,104,507  $164,754,289
FY 1997 $43,676,616 $6,206,675 $115,961,006  $165,844,297
FY 1996 $45,461,621 $6,206,673 $119,127,689  $170,795,983
FY 1995 $47,728,667 $6,837,337 $  54,623,325  $109,189,329
FY 1994 $46,870,529 $6,206,674  $  53,077,203
FY 1993 $47,385,665 $6,261,724  $  53,647,389
FY 1992 $46,419,433 $6,128,751  $  52,548,184
FY 1991 $45,474,466 $6,321,584  $  51,796,050
FY 1990    $  46,942,200
FY 1989    $  50,529,043

    
____________ 
1/ Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (November 1994). 
2/ Tobacco Products Tax Fund (December 2002). 
3/ Early Childhood Development and Health Fund (December 2006). 
4/ Smoke-Free Arizona Fund (December 2006). 
Note:  Distribution amounts are not available for FY 1988 - FY 1990. 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Luxury Tax Section. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Licensed distributors of cigars and other tobacco products besides cigarettes submit tax payments together with a 
monthly return [A.R.S. § 42-3208].  Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the tax through the purchase of tax 
stamps from the Department of Revenue.   
 
Every pack of cigarettes sold in Arizona must bear a stamp as a method of providing proof that a retailer or 
distributor is in compliance with Arizona’s luxury tax laws [A.R.S. § 42-3201 and § 42-3202].  There are 3 
categories of stamps that are sold by the Department of Revenue to distributors, each with a different tax rate: Blue 
stamps are $2.00 and include all cigarette taxes; Red stamps cost $1.00 and include only the 40¢ and 60¢ health care 
taxes; and Green stamps cost $0.00.  Green and Red Stamps are used only on tribal reservations.  
 
The 40¢ tax (per package of 20 cigarettes) and the 60¢ tax per package are direct taxes on the consumer and are to 
be collected and paid to the Department of Revenue by the distributors [A.R.S. § 42-3303].  The 18¢ general tax rate 
per package is considered to be a tax on the seller.  Every pack of cigarettes sold, except for those sold on Tribal 
Reservations, bears a Blue stamp.     
 
The type of stamp sold to distributors on Tribal Reservations varies depending on two factors:  1) whether the 
consumer is an enrolled member of the Indian Tribe or the consumer is a member of the general public; 2) whether 
the seller is a tribal member of the reservation in which it is conducting business or the seller is a non-tribal member 
licensed by the federal government to sell goods and services on the reservation. 
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Cigarette purchases by tribal members on their own reservations are exempt from state taxes, regardless of seller 
classification.  These sales require a Green stamp.  Statute gives Indian tribes the ability to levy their own tax on 
tobacco sales.  This provision allows the tribe to retain the funding collected from the optional tax and does not 
specify how the tribe should spend the revenues collected.  If the tribe voluntarily elects to impose its own tax, a Red 
stamp purchase is required, with the purchase reimbursed to the tribe by the Department of Revenue. 
 
Cigarette sales on Tribal Reservations to non-members require either a $2.00 Blue or $1.00 Red stamp, depending 
on the seller.  Federally-licensed, non-tribal member sellers are required to purchase Blue stamps, meaning all $2.00 
in state taxes are applied to packs of cigarettes sold by these vendors.  Tribal member sellers are required to 
purchase Red stamps, meaning only $1.00 in state health care related cigarettes taxes are included.  If the tribe has 
elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is retained by the tribe and not 
deposited into the state health care accounts.  Tribal member sellers are exempt from paying the 18¢ general, the 80¢ 
Early Childhood Development, and 2¢ Smoke-Free Arizona tax rates when selling to non-tribal members.  A 
December 2006 Attorney General Legal Opinion determined that the Early Childhood Development and Smoke-
Free Arizona taxes could be levied on tribal reservation cigarettes sold only by federally-licensed, non-tribal 
member sellers, in addition to the general cigarette tax rate.  Table 2 displays the stamp assignments by customer 
and seller classifications.   
 

Table 2 
CIGARETTE STAMP ASSIGNMENTS 

Seller Indian Tribe Member All Other Consumers 
All Vendors not on a Reservation $2 Blue Stamp $2 Blue Stamp 
Tribal Member Retailer  $0 Green or $1 Red Stamp1/ $1 Red Stamp1/ 
Federally-Licensed Non-Tribal Seller $0 Green or $1 Red Stamp1/ $2 Blue Stamp 
____________ 
1/ If the tribe has elected to impose its own tobacco tax, the amount of the tax collected (up to $1.00) is 

retained by the tribe and not deposited into the state health care accounts. 
 
If the tribe imposes its own tax on cigarettes, the taxes collected by the state for cigarette sales on reservations will 
be levied at a rate that is the difference between the rate the state would otherwise levy and what the tribe imposes 
[A.R.S. § 42-3302].  The offset applies only to the $1.00 in taxes collected for each pack sold that are dedicated to 
the Tobacco Tax and Health Care Fund (40¢) and to the Tobacco Products Tax Fund (60¢) [A.R.S. § 42-3302].  To 
date, 5 reservations have not enacted a tribal tax on cigarettes and 14 reservations have enacted taxes that offset all 
or a part of the $1.00 per pack of state cigarettes taxes dedicated to health care.    
 
The tax treatment of other tobacco products is similar to the treatment of cigarettes described above, with the tax 
rates detailed below in Table 3.   
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base consists of the following products [A.R.S. § 42-3052]: 
 
• Cigarettes. 
• Tobacco.  Includes smoking tobacco, snuff, fine cut chewing tobacco, cut and granulated tobacco, shorts and 

refuse of fine cut chewing tobacco, and refuse, scraps, clippings, cuttings, and sweepings of tobacco. 
• Cavendish.  Includes plug or twist tobacco. 
• Small cigars.  Not weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000. 
• Large cigars 5¢ or less.  Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at 5¢ or less. 
• Large cigars more than 5¢.  Weighing more than 3 pounds per 1,000 and retailing at more than 5¢ each. 
 
The tax rates are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-3052, § 42-3251, § 42-3251.01, § 42-3251.02, and § 42-3371]: 
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Table 3 
TOBACCO PRODUCT TAX RATES 

  Tax Rates Dedicated to Health Care    
 
Item 

General 
Tax Rate 

 
TTHCF 

 
TPTF 

 
ECDHF 

 
SFAF 

Total 
Tax Rate

Cigarettes (per pack of 20)  18¢  40¢  60¢ 80¢ 2¢ $2.00 
Tobacco per ounce  2¢ 4.5¢  6.75¢ 9¢ -- 22.25¢ 
Cavendish per ounce  0.5¢ 1.1¢  1.65¢ 2.2¢ -- 5.45¢ 
Small Cigars per 20  4¢ 8.9¢  13.35¢ 17.8¢ -- 44.05¢ 
Large cigars 5¢ or less (per 3)  2¢ 4.4¢  6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢ 
Large cigars more than 5¢  2¢ 4.4¢  6.6¢ 8.8¢ -- 21.8¢ 

 
Tobacco powder or tobacco products used exclusively for agricultural or horticultural purposes and unfit for human 
consumption are exempt from this tax [A.R.S. § 42-3052]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Licensed distributors of cigarettes pay the luxury tax on cigarettes when they purchase a stamp from the Department 
of Revenue [A.R.S. § 42-3202].  Licensed distributors of cigars or tobacco products other than cigarettes must pay 
the tax to the Department of Revenue monthly on or before the 20th day of the next month succeeding the month in 
which the tax accrues.  Failure to pay the tax within 10 days of the due date will result in penalty and interest 
charges from the time the tax was due until paid [A.R.S. § 42-3208]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2003 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 38 provides clarification regarding the proper method for stamping cigarette packages.  This 
law allows cigarette packs that do not have an affixed stamp but have legible serial numbers, are part of an unopened 
pallet or carton that contains properly stamped packets, or are accounted for through records to be in compliance 
with the law so long as the distributor is found to be substantially in compliance with the other provisions of Chapter 
42 of the Arizona Revised Statutes.   
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Proposition 201, passed by voters in the 2006 General Election, levied an additional tax on all cigarettes equivalent 
to 2¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.  The Proposition directed that revenue be deposited in the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund 
to be used by the Department of Health Services to enforce the Smoke-Free Arizona Act.  Any unexpended monies 
from the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund are to be deposited in the Tobacco Products Tax Fund to be used for education 
programs to reduce and eliminate tobacco use.  See Table 1 for deposits into the Smoke-Free Arizona Fund since the 
implementation of this tax in December 2006.  A subsequent Attorney General Opinion determined in December 
2006 that the 2¢ per pack tax could be levied on tribal reservation cigarettes sold only by federally-licensed, non-
tribal member retailers, thereby exempting tribal member sellers from the tax.  
 
Proposition 203, passed by voters in the 2006 General Election, levied an additional tax on all cigarettes and 
tobacco equal to twice the tax prescribed in A.R.S. § 42-3251, paragraphs 1 through 5.  This additional tax is equal 
to 80¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.  The Proposition directed that the revenues be deposited into the Early Childhood 
Development and Health Fund and its 2 subaccounts for the purpose of improving the quality and availability of 
health and education programs for pre-kindergarten children and their families who otherwise have limited access to 
such services.  The revenues also cover the administrative costs of the newly-established Arizona Early Childhood 
Development and Health Board.  See Table 1 for deposits into the Early Childhood Development and Health Fund 
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since the implementation of this tax in December 2006.  A subsequent Attorney General Opinion determined in 
December 2006 that the 80¢ per pack tax could be levied on tribal reservation cigarettes sold only by federally-
licensed, non-tribal member retailers, thereby exempting tribal member sellers from the tax. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 278 strengthens administrative and enforcement provisions of tobacco tax laws.  The act 
increases civil penalties and elevates the severity of criminal offenses for tobacco tax evasion and fraud.  The act 
likewise expands the procedures governing the seizure and forfeiture of untaxed tobacco products, adds new license 
and license renewal requirements as well as expands cigarette distributor, manufacturer and importer filing 
obligations and creates requirements for maintaining storage and transaction records.  The act also exempts the 
imposition of tobacco taxes on sales of tobacco products to the U.S. Veterans’ Administration, U.S. military 
exchanges and commissaries, law enforcement agencies for use in criminal investigations, and common carriers 
engaged in foreign passenger service.  (Effective September 30, 2006) 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 11 eliminates a statutory conflict in the language of A.R.S. § 42-3251 which states how the 
State Treasurer receives tobacco tax proceeds.  This act has no fiscal impact. 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 300 further extended the distribution of some luxury tax revenues to the Corrections Fund 
beyond the scheduled expiration date of June 30, 2005.  The bill extended the lapsing date to June 30, 2010.  
(Effective retroactively from June 30, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 311 established requirements for tobacco product delivery sales.  These are defined as sales in 
which the tobacco purchase order is placed remotely via telephone, Internet, mail, etc. and the product is delivered 
by mail or delivery service.  The act requires sellers to verify the age of the purchaser and to collect and remit 
tobacco product taxes to the Department of Revenue.  There is an indeterminate positive fiscal impact from this act 
due to the increased collection of taxes on tobacco product delivery sales.  (Effective August 25, 2004)   
 
2002 TAX LAWS  
 
Proposition 303, passed by voters in the 2002 General Election, levied an additional tax on all cigarettes and 
tobacco equal to one and one-half times the tax prescribed in A.R.S. § 42-3251, paragraphs 1 through 5.  This 
additional tax is equal to 60¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.  The Proposition directed that the revenues be deposited into 
the Tobacco Products Tax Fund and specified the distribution of fund monies to 6 subaccounts for a variety of health 
care-related programs.  This Proposition also requires Indian retailers located on reservations to collect and pay this 
additional tax on all cigarettes and tobacco products sold to non-tribal members.  See Table 1 for deposits into the 
Tobacco Products Tax Fund since the implementation of this tax. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/luxtaxcig.pdf
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LUXURY TAX ON LIQUOR 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The luxury tax on liquor is levied on wholesalers of spirituous, vinous, and malt liquors. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Revenues from this tax are distributed among several funds, including: 
 
State School Aid.  1.17% of spirituous liquor tax collections and 14% of tax collections from vinous liquor with a 
high alcohol content (over 24%) are allocated for state school aid.  In practice, these monies are deposited in the 
General Fund, which in turn funds state school aid.  [A.R.S. § 42-3103] 
 
Corrections Fund.  20% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor, and 50% of the monies collected from 
vinous and malt liquors are deposited in the Corrections Fund, effective through June 30, 2010 [A.R.S. § 42-3104]. 
 
Wine Promotional Fund.  The statute establishing this fund was repealed by Laws 2005, Chapter 11.  (Effective 
August 12, 2005).  Prior to that, the first $100,000 of monies collected from vinous liquor with low alcohol content 
attributable to domestic farm wineries or an in-state producer was deposited into the Wine Promotional Fund 
[A.R.S. § 42-3105].   
 
Drug Treatment and Education Fund.  7% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 18% of the monies 
collected from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in the Drug Treatment and Education Fund of the Arizona 
Judiciary [A.R.S. § 42-3106 (A)]. 
 
Corrections Revolving Fund.  3% of the monies collected from spirituous liquor and 7% of the monies collected 
from vinous and malt liquors are deposited in a revolving fund of the Department of Corrections [A.R.S. § 42-3106 
(B)]. 
 
General Fund.  All remaining tax monies are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-3102]. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The luxury tax on liquor is added to the sales price of liquor items and is paid by: 
 
• Wholesalers who purchase malt liquors for resale within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3353 (A)]. 
• Wholesalers who sell spirituous liquors within Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-3354 (A)]. 
• Every domestic farm winery or microbrewery that sells vinous or malt liquor at retail or to certain licensees.  

[A.R.S. § 42-3355]. 
• Wholesalers who purchase vinous liquors for resale within Arizona before Jan. 1, 2007, and wholesalers who 

sell vinous liquors within Arizona beginning Jan. 1, 2007 [A.R.S. § 42-3353 (B) and § 42-3354 (B)]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The following is the tax rate and base for each liquor type [A.R.S. § 42-3052].  A proportionate rate is applied to 
each liquor type for greater or lesser quantities: 
 
• Spirituous liquor.  $3 per gallon.  Examples of spirituous liquor include whiskey and vodka. 
• Vinous Liquor with High Alcohol Content.  $0.25 on each container of 8 ounces or less of vinous liquor having 

an alcohol content of greater than 24%.  Containers exceeding 8 ounces are taxed at a rate of $0.25 per 8 
ounces.  An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is brandy.  According to the Department of 
Revenue, no revenue has been collected from this tax in recent years. 

• Vinous Liquor with Low Alcohol Content.  $0.84 per gallon on each container of vinous liquor with an alcohol 
content of 24% or less, except cider.  An example of vinous liquor at this alcohol content level is white wine. 

• Malt Liquor.  $0.16 on each gallon of malt liquor or cider.  Examples of malt liquor are beer and cider.   
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Table 1 
 

TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

 
 
 

Fiscal Year 

 
 

General 
    Fund 1/     

 
 

Corrections 
Fund 

 
Wine 

Promotional 
    Fund2/     

 
 

Corrections 
Revolving Fund 

Judiciary  
Drug Treatment 

& 
Education Fund 

 
 

Total 
Collections 

FY 2008 $28,562,812 $23,976,492 $29,003 $3,411,936 $8,576,309 $64,556,552 
FY 2007 $28,277,919 $23,273,991 $35,965 $3,313,708 $8,323,288 $63,188,906 
FY 2006 $27,192,240 $22,636,747 $38,481 $3,221,929 $8,096,444 $61,147,360 
FY 2005 $26,085,548 $22,068,568 $34,667 $3,139,770 $7,894,513 $59,223,067 
FY 2004 $24,543,937 $20,938,588 $27,995 $2,978,318 $7,490,976 $55,979,814 
FY 2003 $23,412,284 $20,419,376 $25,497 $2,902,721 $7,306,966 $54,066,844 
FY 2002 $22,863,127 $19,836,567 $23,391 $2,820,269 $7,098,014 $52,641,368 
FY 2001 $22,443,910 $19,294,778 $21,278 $2,743,924 $6,903,464 $51,407,354 
FY 2000 $21,989,911 $19,274,703 $21,197 $2,739,633 $6,897,717 $50,923,161 
FY 1999 $20,874,947 $18,176,293 $14,595 $2,583,453 $6,502,823 $48,152,111 
FY 1998 $19,986,517 $17,435,389 $  9,306 $2,477,227 $6,235,814 $46,144,253 
FY 1997 $23,663,919 $17,051,956 $  9,542 $1,242,158 $3,124,761 $45,092,336 
FU 1996 $27,791,380 $16,947,743 $10,233   $44,749,356 
FY 1995 $26,311,189 $15,714,326 $  8,299   $42,033,814 
FY 1994 $26,462,911 $15,792,486 $  7,536   $42,262,933 
FY 1993 $25,684,226 $15,166,158    $40,850,384 
FY 1992 $25,839,029 $15,252,220    $41,091,249 
FY 1991 $24,929,069 $14,880,014    $39,809,083 
FY 1990 3/      $40,305,323 
FY 1989      $40,543,536 
       

____________ 
1/ Includes funds to be used for state school aid. 
2/ Monies collected for this fund were transferred quarterly by the Government Accounting Office to the Department of Commerce 

to pay back an outstanding loan the now defunct Wine Commission had taken from the Commerce Economic Development 
Fund. 

3/ Distribution amounts are not available for FY 1988-FY 1990. 
 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.    

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Wholesalers, domestic farm wineries, and domestic microbreweries must submit a return and pay the luxury tax on 
liquor to the Department of Revenue monthly on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which 
the tax accrues.  The tax must be paid within 10 days of the due date to avoid penalty and interest charges [A.R.S. § 
42-3353 and § 42-3354]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002 through 2003 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 60 amends A.R.S. § 4-205.08 to state that microbreweries will be responsible for paying the 
relevant luxury tax on the liquor that is produced.  This law clarifies A.R.S. § 42-3355, which requires 
microbreweries to pay luxury tax. 
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2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 302 bifurcates domestic microbrewery and farm winery regulatory provisions in statute.  The 
licensing conditions and requirements for domestic microbreweries and farm wineries were previously contained in 
the same section of statute, A.R.S. § 4-205.04. The act deleted all references to domestic microbreweries in that 
section and added A.R.S. § 4-205.08 to specifically address domestic microbreweries.    Within A.R.S. § 4-205.08  
the act also amends regulatory provisions to allow domestic microbreweries licensed in Arizona to sell and deliver 
beer to entities licensed in other states and licensed retailers in Arizona.  The act also halves the minimum amount of 
beer a microbrewery must produce annually to possess a microbrewery license and doubled the maximum amount of 
beer a microbrewery may produce without having to apply for a producer’s license.  
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 310 amends domestic farm winery regulations.  The act eliminates the requirement that 
licensed domestic farm wineries produce wine containing 75% of grapes and other agricultural products grown in 
the state, allowing wineries to acquire agricultural ingredients from anywhere. The act reduces by almost half the 
annual amount of wine a domestic farm winery may produce without having to apply for a producer’s license.  The 
act also permits wineries that produce less than 20,000 gallons of wine a year to make sales and deliveries to 
retailers and consumers. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 11 repealed A.R.S. § 42-3105, which established the Wine Promotional Fund and directed the 
Department of Revenue to deposit the first $100,000 collected from domestic farm wineries or in-state wine 
producers to the Fund.  These monies will now be distributed the same way that all remaining vinous liquor tax 
collections are distributed. 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 94 provides an exemption from the liquor tax for wine that is used in connection with a 
religious service or practice recognized by the United States Internal Revenue Service Code as a nonprofit religious 
organization.  The fiscal impact of this provision is unknown.  The bill also levies the tax on wine at the point of 
sale, rather than upon delivery from the wholesaler, which will tax wine in the same manner as other spirituous 
liquor.  The estimated fiscal impact is to shift approximately $(1,142,000) in liquor tax collections from FY 2007 to 
FY 2008.  (Effective January 1, 2007) 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 300 extends the distribution of revenues from luxury taxes on alcohol and tobacco products 
from June 30, 2005 to June 30, 2010.  (Effective July 1, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 77 extended the hours that liquor can be sold at retail locations until 2:00 am and permitted 
on-site consumption until 2:30 am.  Currently, liquor retailers must stop serving alcohol at 1:00 am and on-site 
consumption must stop by 1:15 am.  This act is estimated to annually increase luxury tax collections by at least 
$250,000, which would offset the new regulatory requirements at the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control.  
(Effective August 25, 2004)   
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/luxtaxliq.pdf
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ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSE FEES 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Alcoholic beverage license fees are charged to sellers and producers of alcoholic beverages in Arizona as a means 
for the state to regulate the sale of such beverages.  Fees are charged for original licenses, license renewals, and 
transfers of licenses.  There is also an additional issuance fee for each original license issued.  The number of 
original licenses granted per county is restricted according to county population.  Fee amounts vary by type of fee 
and type of seller or producer (e.g., restaurant, hotel, microbrewery, etc.).  The revenues from the license fees are 
distributed among several recipients. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Club Licenses and Applications.  The revenues derived from club licensing and applications are dedicated to the 
Department of Economic Security's Department of Mental Retardation, Capital Investment Fund [A.R.S. § 4-116]. 
 
Special Event Licenses.  Collections are dedicated to the Department of Health Services for use in the evaluation and 
treatment of alcoholics [A.R.S. § 4-203.02(A)]. 
 
Restaurant License.  5% of Revenues collected from fees related to the issuance of a maximum of 15 restaurant 
licenses in any fiscal year through FY 2013 to licensees who do not meet the definition of a restaurant are to be 
deposited into the Driving Under The Influence Abatement Fund [A.R.S. § 4-213(J)] with the remainder being 
deposited into the General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-213(E)].  Monies collected from all other restaurant issuance fees and 
annual license fees are deposited as outlined in the All Other Licenses explanation.  
 
All Other Licenses.  Except for the above club, special event, and some restaurant license fees, two-thirds of license 
fees are deposited in the state General Fund.  One-third of the license fees collected in counties with a population of 
500,000 or less are to be paid monthly by the director of Liquor Licenses and Control to the treasurer of those 
counties.  For each county with a population of over 500,000, the director is to pay the county treasurer from the 
remaining one-third of license fees the amount of $3,000 for each new license issued for premises in unincorporated 
areas of that county, up to a maximum of $150,000.  The remainder of the one-third of license fees collected in 
counties with a population of over 500,000 is deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-115].   
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by manufacturers, wholesalers, out-of-state producers, exporters, importers or rectifiers, retailers of 
alcoholic beverages, businesses authorized by local governments to sell liquor, and domestic farm wineries or 
microbreweries.  All sellers of alcoholic beverages, including Indian tribal members on reservations, are required to 
pay the license fees [A.R.S. § 4-209]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
License and Permits.  A flat fee is charged for an original license, annual license renewals, transfers of licenses, 
assignments of agents, and interim permits.  Every license expires annually.  In addition, for each additional original 
license issued there will be levied a separate issuance fee equal to the license's fair market value which will be 
deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 4-209, A.R.S. § 4-203.01, .02, and .03, and A.R.S. § 42-206.01]. 
 
Surcharges.  Certain licenses are assessed various surcharges as part of the annual license renewal fee.  The 
revenues from these surcharges are dedicated to costs associated with audit and support staff activities, and costs 
associated with an enforcement program to investigate licensees who have been the subject of multiple complaints 
to the department [A.R.S. § 4-209(J&K)]. 
 
Maximum Additional Licenses Per County.  With the exception of bar, beer and wine bar, liquor store and some 
restaurant licenses issued pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213(E), there is no maximum number of licenses that can be issued.  
Restaurant licenses that do not meet the definition of a restaurant and receive permission from the Department of 
Liquor Licenses and Control to continue to operate as a restaurant are limited to a maximum of 15 restaurant 
licenses in any fiscal year.  In FY 2013 and beyond, no additional licensees will be granted permission to continue to 
operate under A.R.S. § 4-213(E). 
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The total number of bar, beer and wine bar or liquor store licenses are limited in a single county through FY 2009 to: 
• 1 license, of each type, in counties with a population of less than 100,000 persons. 
• 3 licenses, of each type, in counties with a population of 100,000 or more persons but less than 500,000 persons. 
• 5 licenses, of each type, in counties with a population of 500,000 or more persons but less than 1,000,000 

persons. 
• 10 licenses, of each type in counties with a population of 1,000,000 or more persons. 

 
Beginning July 1, 2010, the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control shall issue 1 bar, 1 beer and wine bar and 1 
liquor store license in each county for each 10,000 person increase over the population in that county as of July 1, 
2010.  
 
Exemptions: 
 
• Drug stores selling spirituous liquors only upon prescription. 
• Any confectionery candy with less than 5% by weight of alcohol. 
• Manufacturers, wholesalers and retailers of ethyl alcohol used for scientific, chemical, mechanical, industrial, 

medicinal or other nonbeverage purposes. 
• Individuals and establishments authorized by Congress to procure spirituous liquor or ethyl alcohol tax-free. 
• Manufacturers of denatured alcohol produced under provisions established by acts of Congress [A.R.S. § 4-226].  

 
Table 1 

COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 
 

 
Fiscal 
Year 

 
 

Total 

 
General 

Fund 

Department 
of Economic 

Security 

Department 
of Health 
Services 

 
 

Counties 

 
Audit 

Surcharge

 
Enforcement 

Surcharge 

 
Liquor 

Department 1/

FY 2008 $6,333,680 $4,871,121 $49,600 $45,775 $483,938 $162,186 $721,060 - 
FY 2007 $6,042,559 $4,661,571 $47,750 $45,975 $448,928 $155,040 $683,295 - 
FY 2006 $5,903,308 $4,431,909 $49,275 $51,250 $446,672 $152,580 $673,290 $98,332 
FY 2005 $5,581,198 $4,206,281 $48,850 $47,775 $458,487 $151,650 $668,155  
FY 2004 $5,473,828 $4,219,995 $49,100 $44,500 $369,358 $147,180 $643,695  
FY 2003 $5,018,445 $3,826,968 $53,800 $42,350 $327,837 $143,480 $624,010  
FY 2002 $4,746,146 $3,776,390 $54,850 $40,100 $333,901 $97,380 $443,525  
FY 2001 $4,933,818 $3,876,428 $44,175 $47,950 $346,375 $93,840 $525,050  
FY 2000 $4,278,445 $3,323,418 $50,975 $41,050 $347,272 $93,080 $422,650  
FY 1999 $4,293,893 $3,365,016 $53,075 $39,550 $349,182 $83,520 $403,550  
FY 1998 $4,453,507 $3,698,779 $53,050 $38,500 $358,598 $88,880 $215,700  
FY 1997 $4,398,612 $3,634,188 $59,200 $40,150 $369,524 $86,600 $208,950  
FY 1996 $3,222,863 $3,222,863 $58,675 $38,425 $311,742 $82,920 $198,650  
FY 1995 $3,639,600 $2,404,500 $57,100 $34,400 $337,700    
FY 1994 $3,426,400 $2,577,500 $54,900 $36,100 $343,100    
FY 1993 $3,092,600 $2,034,000 $51,400 $33,400 $762,700    
FY 1992 $3,108,308 $2,166,604 $70,130 $30,575 $840,999    
FY 1991 $3,304,200 $2,385,400 $39,000 $29,300 $850,500    
FY 1990 $3,249,311       
FY 1989 $3,340,887       

____________ 
1/ See Laws 2005, Ch.284 – department may retain costs associated with randomly selecting additional licensees. 
 
Note: Distributions are not available for FY 1985 – FY 1990. 
Note: From FY 1993 – FY 1995 some license fees were distributed to the “Automated File and Retrieval Fund” and 
“Surcharge on Renewals.”  These distributions no longer exist. 
Note:  5% of the revenues generated from licensees that are permitted to continue operation as a restaurant pursuant to 
A.R.S. § 4-213 (E) will be deposited into the Driving Under the Influence Abatement Fund beginning in FY 2009.   
 
SOURCE:  Department of Liquor Licenses and Control. 
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Application Fees: 
 
• Original license Β $100 
• Transfer of license Β $100 [A.R.S. § 4-209(A)] 

 
Issuance fees for original licenses: 
 

Table 2 
 
1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $1,500 
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
200 

3. Domestic microbrewery license 300 
4. Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 1,500 
5. Local government licenses 100 
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 1,500 
7. On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 1,500 
8. Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 1,500 
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 1,500 
10. Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 1,500 
11. Hotels and motels 1,500 
12. Restaurants 1,500 
13. Domestic farm winery 100 
14. Clubs 1,000 
15. Out-of-state winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 25 

[A.R.S. § 4-209(B)] 
 
Annual License Fees: 
 

Table 3 
 
1. In-state producers of spirituous liquors $50 
2. Out-of-state producer’s, exporter’s, importer’s, or rectifier’s license, except an out-of-state 

winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 
50 

3. Domestic microbrewery license 300 
4. Wholesalers of spirituous liquors 250 
5. Local government licenses 100 
6. On-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors and bar license 150 
7. On-sale retailers beer and wine bar license 75 
8. Railroads, airlines or boats, conveyance licenses 225 
9. Off-sale retailers on all spirituous liquors, liquor store license 50 
10. Off-sale retailers beer and wine store license 50 
11. Hotels and motels 500 
12. Restaurants 500 1/ 
13. Domestic farm winery 100 
14. Clubs 150 
15. Out-of-state winery selling 50 or fewer cases of wine in a calendar year 25 

 
____________ 
1/ If the restaurant is continuing to operate under A.R.S. § 4-213(E), an additional fee, to be determined by the Department of Liquor Licenses 

and Control will be levied.  (Please see 2006 Tax Laws section for additional information) 
Note: The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control may issue such licenses with staggered renewal dates.  A 

license issued less than 6 months before the scheduled renewal date shall be charged only one-half of the 
annual license fee [A.R.S. § 4-209(C)]. 

Note: Establishments operating on a seasonal basis not exceeding 6 months in any year are subject to license fees 
equal to half the annual rate [A.R.S. § 4-209(E)]. 

[A.R.S. § 4-209(D)] 
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Transfer Fees for Spirituous Liquor Licenses: 
 

(1) From Person to Person $300 
(2) From Location to Location 100 

 [A.R.S. § 4-209(F-G)] 
 
Transfer of Licenses.  Bar, beer and wine bar and liquor store licenses may temporarily be transferred from counties 
with a population of 500,000 or more persons to counties with a population of 500,000 or less persons between July 
1, 2006 and December 31, 2007. 
 
Assignment Fees.  A $100 fee is charged for a change of agent.  For a holder of multiple licenses, the fee is $100 for 
the first license and all remaining licenses transferred to the same agent shall be $50 each, with a maximum fee of 
$1,000 [A.R.S. § 4-209(H)]. 
 
NOTE: License transfers are not permitted for restaurants, hotels, motels, clubs or domestic farm wineries or 

microbreweries, except that clubs may transfer a license from location to location. 
 
Interim Permit Fees.  For original license pending or license transfer pending, the fee is $100 [A.R.S. § 4-203.01]. 
 
Other Licenses.  In addition, special event licenses are issued on a daily basis at a fee of $25 per day.  The domestic 
wine festival license fee is $15 per event [A.R.S. § 4-203.02 and § 4-203.03]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Original license fees, interim permit fees, and transfer fees are due upon application.  Payments for annual license 
renewal are due in advance.  A system of staggered renewal dates may be implemented by the Department.  
Licenses that are not renewed on the due date are subject to a penalty equal of $150 [A.R.S. § 4-209(A)]. 
 
The Department of Liquor Licenses and Control collects the tax [A.R.S. § 4-112]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2003, 2004 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 256 extends the lapsing date of FY 2008 (Laws 2006, Chapter 383) to FY 2013 for the 
Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to permit up to 15 restaurant licensees to continue to operate as a 
restaurant, if: 1) the department has determined, either through audit or consent agreement, that the establishment’s 
food sales to total sales are at least 30% but less than the statutory requirement of 40% required to be considered a 
restaurant; 2) a licensee requests to continue to operate and meets additional criteria established by the Laws 2006, 
Chapter 383; and 3) the licensee pays an additional annual fee, which is to be determined by the department, for the 
special license.  Those receiving approval may continue to operate beyond FY 2013 should the establishment 
continue to meet the criteria established by this chapter.  Prior to Chapter 383, if an audit revealed that the licensee 
did not meet the definition of a restaurant, the department would revoke the license.  The establishment could then 
have attempted to secure a spirituous liquor license, which does not have the food sale requirement of a restaurant 
license. 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 256 also requires that 5% of the revenues generated from licensees that are permitted to 
continue to operate as a restaurant pursuant to A.R.S. § 4-213(E) be deposited into the Driving Under The Influence 
Abatement Fund established by A.R.S. § 28-1304.  The remaining 95% is to be deposited into the General Fund in 
accordance with A.R.S. § 4-209(D) paragraph 12. 
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2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 383 allows the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to permit up to 15 restaurant 
licensees to continue to operate as a restaurant in FY 2007 and FY 2008, if: 1) the department has determined, either 
through audit or consent agreement, that the establishment’s food sales to total sales are at least 30% but less than 
the statutory requirement of 40% required to be considered a restaurant; 2) a licensee requests to continue to operate 
and meets additional criteria established by the Chapter 383; and 3) the licensee pays an additional annual fee, which 
is to be determined by the department, for the special license.  Those receiving approval may continue to operate 
beyond FY 2008 should the establishment continue to meet the criteria established by this chapter.  Prior to Chapter 
383, if an audit revealed that the licensee did not meet the definition of a restaurant, the department would revoke 
the license.  The establishment could then have attempted to secure a spirituous liquor license, which does not have 
the food sale requirement of a restaurant license. 
 
Chapter 383 appropriates $450,000 and 5 FTE Positions from the General Fund in FY 2007 to the department to hire 
3 investigators and 2 auditors to comply with the legislation.  Additionally, revenues to the General Fund are 
estimated to increase as a result of an additional license annual fee, to be determined by the department.  This new 
fee is to be deposited into the General Fund and is in addition to the $500 charged annually to those holding a 
restaurant license.  In FY 2007, revenues from the new license fee are estimated to total $450,000, offsetting the cost 
of Chapter 383.  
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 284 requires the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control to issue additional bar, beer and 
wine bar and liquor store licenses at fair market value each year beginning August 12, 2005 and continuing through 
FY 2010 according to a formula based on county size.  If more applicants exist than the number of new licenses to 
be awarded in a given year, Chapter 284 authorizes the department to use a random selection method to determine 
the priority of applicants and allows it to retain additional license fee revenues to cover related costs.  The 
department estimates that it will issue an additional 40 licenses of each type (bar, beer and wine bar, and liquor 
store) annually through FY 2010 and will increase its annual licensing revenue by approximately $6,300,000.  Of 
this amount, in FY 2006 and FY 2007, the bill appropriates $1,250,000 to the department to improve its data 
processing systems, $905,000 would be allocated to counties under the existing license fee revenue sharing formula 
in A.R.S § 4-115 and the remaining $4,145,000 (less any costs retained by the department in connection with a 
possible random selection method described above) would be deposited into the State General Fund.  (Please see 
Tax Base and Rate section for issuance guidelines and additional information.)  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 155 allows a consumer to arrange for direct shipment of a limited amount of wine by a 
common carrier.  This would allow residents of Arizona to ship wine directly home from out-of-state wineries, 
without having to go through the requirements for out-of-state spirituous liquor shipping.  There will be an unknown 
loss of revenue from this legislation.  (Effective August 22, 2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 196 extends the special event license for charitable auction to the sale of all spirituous liquor 
rather than just vintage wine.  It also eliminates the $25 daily fee for off-sale licenses (packaged alcoholic beverages 
for off-site consumption), but institutes the fee for on-sale licenses (alcoholic beverages sold for either off-site or on-
site consumption).  The fiscal impact of this legislation is unknown, but should be minimal.  (Effective August 22, 
2002) 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 294 increases the surcharge imposed on liquor licenses from $20 to $30 for the audit 
surcharge, and from $25 to $35 for the enforcement surcharge.  It also repeals obsolete language, strengthens the 
Department of Liquor Licenses and Control’s enforcement of unlicensed business establishments, and makes some 
alterations in the State Liquor Board.  It will have an undetermined positive impact on the audit and enforcement 
funds.  (Effective May 22, 2002) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/alcohol.pdf
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INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The insurance premium tax is imposed on net insurance premiums received by insurance companies for risks that 
exist within the state.  Included are premiums for life insurance, accident and health insurance, fire insurance, 
vehicle insurance, prepaid dental and legal insurance, and other property and casualty premiums such as 
homeowners and commercial insurance, medical malpractice, and fidelity and surety insurance. 
 
The tax applies to insurance companies formed under the laws of this state (“domestic” insurance carriers), 
insurance companies formed under the laws of another state within the United States (“foreign” insurance carriers), 
and insurance companies formed under the laws of another country (“alien” insurance carriers). 
 
Insurance premium tax also includes “retaliatory” taxes, which are taxes owed by foreign insurers to the extent that 
the sum of taxes an insurer pays in Arizona is less than what the sum of taxes would be if the same insurance 
business were transacted in the insurer’s “home” state (state of domicile). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Except for a portion of the insurance premium tax on fire insurance premiums and an additional premium tax paid 
on vehicle insurance premiums, insurance premium tax revenues are deposited in the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 
20-227]. 
 
Eighty-five percent of the insurance premium tax on fire insurance premiums is transferred to cities and towns and 
legally organized fire districts which procure the services of private fire companies and to cities and towns which 
have their own fire department or legally organized fire district.  The proceeds are to be used to assist in funding 
pension plans for fire fighting personnel.  The other 15% is deposited into the state’s General Fund [A.R.S. § 20-
224, A.R.S. § 9-951, and A.R.S. § 9-952]. 
 
An additional premium tax of 0.4312% paid on insurance carried on vehicles is separately accounted for and 
transferred to the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System for deposit in the Highway Patrol Account to assist in 
funding the pension plan for highway patrol personnel [A.R.S. § 20-224.01]. 
 
Table 1 on the following page provides the distribution of insurance premium tax since FY 1988.  It should be noted 
that the “total” column in the following table reflects net collections for the fiscal year, and in some cases, does not 
equal the amounts distributed to the General Fund, the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System, and to cities and 
fire districts.  In these cases, some collections were carried forward into the next fiscal year and were distributed 
then. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
All authorized insurers and formerly authorized insurers (insurers not currently authorized, but continuing collection 
of premiums and servicing of existing policies in the state) are subject to the insurance premium tax.  In addition, 
health care service organizations, prepaid dental plan organizations, and prepaid legal insurance corporations are 
subject to the tax [A.R.S. § 20-206, A.R.S. § 20-224, A.R.S. § 20-401.05, A.R.S. § 20-416, A.R.S. § 20-837, A.R.S. 
§ 20-1010, A.R.S. § 20-1060, A.R.S. § 20-1097.07]. 
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Table 1 
INSURANCE PREMIUM TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

 
 
 

Fiscal Year 

 
 

General Fund 

Transfer to Public 
Safety Retirement 

System 

 
Transfer to Cities 
and Fire Districts 

 
 

Total 
FY 2008 $407,035,082 $17,569,437  $13,361,461 $437,965,980 
FY 2007 $399,850,367 $17,861,557  $12,652,891 $430,364,815 
FY 2006 $373,703,789 $17,057,414  $11,842,931 $402,604,134 
FY 2005 $358,752,402 $16,234,673  $12,459,164 $387,446,239 
FY 2004 $308,967,921 $15,441,384  $11,677,878 $336,087,183 
FY 2003 $226,648,800 $14,009,100  $10,588,600 $251,246,500 
FY 2002 $195,036,900 $12,633,600  $8,148,700 $215,819,200 
FY 2001 $183,394,700 $11,419,500  $7,187,100 $202,001,300 
FY 2000 $160,723,567 $10,953,470  $5,670,876 $177,344,423 
FY 1999 $150,697,201 $10,735,299  $5,178,291 $166,614,522 
FY 1998 $124,603,122 $10,208,838  $5,090,836 $139,960,268 
FY 1997 $120,518,800 $9,761,100  $5,418,300 $135,697,400 
FY 1996 $114,153,900 $8,904,400  $5,627,300 $128,673,900 
FY 1995 $111,102,609 $8,310,295  $5,181,985 $124,594,889 
FY 1994 $110,731,681 $7,988,541  $5,018,862 $123,739,084 
FY 1993 $103,002,519 $7,389,377  $4,773,301 $115,165,197 
FY 1992 $100,543,557 $6,477,055  $4,664,253 $111,684,865 
FY 1991 $92,533,400 $3,033,000  $4,736,200 $100,302,600 
FY 1990 $116,424,400 $0 1/ $4,992,900 $121,347,300 
FY 1989 $80,117,300 $5,697,578  $5,134,789 $90,949,700 

 
____________ 
1/ No money was transferred to the Public Safety Personnel Retirement System as a result of Laws 1989, Chapter 312, 

Section 21, which stipulated that revenues from vehicle risks be transferred to the General Fund rather than to the Law 
Enforcement Retirement System. 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Insurance. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The insurance premium tax applies to premiums paid for insurance covering liabilities that exist within the state.  
The tax is levied on the net premium income, which is defined as the total amount received from premiums after 
deducting cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, refund reductions, savings coupons, and similar 
amounts paid or credited to policyholders within the state, and not reapplied as premiums for new, additional, or 
extended insurance [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
Except for fire insurance and surplus line insurance, the insurance premium tax rate for most types of insurance is 
2% of net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
The insurance premium tax rate for fire insurance is 0.66% for insurance on properties located in an incorporated 
city or town which procures the services of a private fire company.  The rate on all other fire insurance is 2.2% 
[A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
The insurance premium tax rate on premiums paid to brokers selling surplus line insurance and industrial insurance 
contracts procured from unauthorized insurers is 3% of the net premium income [A.R.S. § 20-401.07 and A.R.S. § 
20-416]. 
 
Certain types of insurers, employee benefit trusts, and voluntary employees’ beneficiary associations are exempted 
from the insurance premium tax, including some hospital and medical service corporations, some fraternal benefit 
societies, and extended warranty insurers [A.R.S. § 20-108]. 
 



Insurance Premium Tax 

- 117 - 

Title insurance premiums are also exempted from the insurance premium tax and are instead subject to the state 
income tax [A.R.S. § 20-224 and A.R.S. § 20-1566]. 
 
Premiums paid by government entities to non-profit hospitals and medical, dental, and optometric service 
corporations are exempt from the insurance premium tax [A.R.S. § 20-837]. 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Enterprise/Military Reuse Zones Tax Credit 
A tax credit against insurance premium tax liability is allowed for net increases in employment positions of residents 
of the state by an insurer that is located in an enterprise zone or a military reuse zone.  A credit may not be claimed 
under both an enterprise zone and a military reuse zone for the same employee [A.R.S. § 20-224.03 and A.R.S. § 20-
224.04]. 
 
The tax credit for insurers in an enterprise zone equals one-fourth of taxable wages (not to exceed $500) paid to an 
employee in a qualified employment position in the first year of employment, one-third of taxable wages (not to 
exceed $1,000) in the second year, and one-half of taxable wages (not to exceed $1,500) in the third year. 
 
The tax credit for insurers in a military reuse zone equals $1,000 per year in the first year of employment, increasing 
by $500 per year up to $3,000 per year in the fifth year of employment for each dislocated military base employee, 
and $500 per year in the first year of employment, increasing by $500 per year up to $2,500 per year in the fifth year 
of employment for each employee other than a dislocated military base employee. 
 
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit 
A premium tax credit is allowed for health care insurers that provide health insurance to qualified individuals and 
small businesses that are certified by the Arizona Department of Revenue (DOR).  An application is required to 
DOR for the tax credit, which includes a written declaration subject to the penalties of perjury [A.R.S. § 20-224.05 
and A.R.S. § 43-210].   
 
An individual or small business must obtain health insurance to receive the credit.  In order for the insurer to claim a 
credit on an individual, that individual must be a United States citizen or legally residing resident.  The individual 
must also: 1) earn less than 250% of the federal poverty level, be a resident of Arizona, not have had health 
insurance for at least the past 6 consecutive months, and not be enrolled by any other state or federal government 
health insurance program; or 2) work for a small business that has been in existence for at least 1 calendar year and 
that has not provided health insurance to its employees for at least 6 months.  A small business is defined as between 
2 and 25 employees during the most recent calendar year.     
 
The amount of the tax credit for individuals is the lesser of the following: $1,000 for single coverage, $500 for 
coverage of a child, or $3,000 for family coverage; or 50% of the health insurance premium.  The amount of the tax 
credit for small businesses is the lesser of the following: $1,000 for single coverage or $3,000 for family coverage; 
or 50% of the health insurance premium.   
 
Health insurers are required to deduct the amount of the tax credit from the premium paid by the small business for 
health insurance.  In this way, the state effectively subsidizes the cost of the small business’s health insurance in the 
amount of the premium tax credit.  The maximum amount of tax credits allowed in a calendar year is capped at 
$5,000,000.  The tax credits are administered by DOR. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payment of the preceding calendar year’s insurance premium tax liability is due on or before March 1 of each year 
[A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
 
Any insurer which paid or is required to pay a tax of $2,000 or more for the preceding calendar year is required to 
pay an “installment” payment of 15% of that amount on or before the 15th day of each month from March through 
August.  These installment payments are then credited against the insurance premium tax due in March of the 
following year [A.R.S. § 20-224]. 
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IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law and other revenue changes that have been enacted by the 
Legislature since 2002.  The estimated dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in Table 2 
below: 
 

Table 2 
 

ESTIMATED DOLLAR VALUE OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 

FY 2007   
  L 2006, Ch 378 Establishes a premium tax credit for small 

business health insurers  
$    5,000,000 

FY 2005   
  L 2003, Ch 136 Remove Exemption for HMOs Contracting 

w/AHCCCS (annualize exemption impact) 
$  23,242,000 

FY 2004   
  L 2003, Ch 136 Remove Exemption for HMOs Contracting 

w/AHCCCS (3/4 year) 
$  69,728,100 

 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2004 and 2005. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 118 clarifies current statute by exempting accountable health plans from premium taxes for net 
premiums received for health benefits issued to small employers.  The law also clarifies current practice by 
exempting groups of small businesses that voluntarily pool their health plans from premium taxes [A.R.S. § 20-
2304(J)]. 
  
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 263 requires an application to DOR for the health insurance premium tax credit to include a 
written declaration that it is made under the penalty of perjury.  Chapter 263 also clarifies that the individual or 
small business must obtain health insurance to receive the credit, and applies a retroactive date of September 21, 
2006. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 378 established a tax credit to health care insurers that provide health insurance to individuals 
and small businesses that have not had health insurance for the past 6 months.  The tax credit began December 31, 
2006, is capped at $5,000,000 per calendar year, and is administered by DOR.   
 
2003 TAX LAWS  
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 136 removed the special exemption from the insurance premium tax for health plans that 
contract with the Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System beginning October 1, 2003.  These plans will be 
subject to the tax at the 2% rate.  The estimated impact of this tax law change for FY 2004 is $69.7 million.  The 
estimated full year impact of this legislation is an additional $23.2 million, or $93.0 million, beginning in FY 2005.  
 
2002 TAX LAWS  
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 214 changed the insurance premium tax filing deadline for domestic insurers from on or 
before March 31 to on or before March 1, which is also the filing deadline for foreign and alien insurers. 
 



Insurance Premium Tax 

- 119 - 

Laws 2002, Chapter 237 provides that an insurer cannot claim a credit for the same employee in both an enterprise 
zone and a military reuse zone.  It also provides clarification on the definition of net new employees and provides a 
cap of 200 positions on the number of eligible employees that can be claimed under the enterprise zone program. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/inspremiumtax.pdf


ESTATE TAX 



- 123 - 

ESTATE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The estate tax is imposed on the transfer of wealth that occurs upon the death of an estate owner.  The tax is also 
imposed on every generation-skipping transfer of property.  The amount of the state estate tax is equal to the 
maximum allowable federal tax credit for state death taxes under Section 2011 of the Internal Revenue Code.  (Note 
that since the state receives or picks up an amount equal to this federal tax credit, the state estate tax is also often 
referred to as a “pick-up” tax.)  As a result of the federal Economic Growth and Tax Relief Reconciliation Act 
(EGTRRA) of 2001, the state estate tax was repealed after December 31, 2004.   
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Estate tax revenues are distributed to the Tax Refund Account in amounts sufficient to meet tax refund 
requirements.  All remaining amounts are deposited in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-1116]. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $320,203 FY 1998 $62,904,674 
FY 2007 $(550,764) FY 1997 $65,432,336 
FY 2006 $11,683,602 FY 1996 $54,207,976 
FY 2005 $31,236,067 FY 1995 $48,771,386 
FY 2004 $38,818,431 FY 1994 $40,616,732 
FY 2003 $94,217,919 FY 1993 $39,714,304 
FY 2002 $80,552,220 FY 1992 $25,652,448 
FY 2001 $74,651,783 FY 1991 $29,001,249 
FY 2000 $80,644,330 FY 1990 $23,916,529 
FY 1999 $87,250,096 FY 1989 $24,079,707 

    
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.  Figures are net of refunds. 

 
EGTRRA reduced the state death tax credit by 25% in 2002, 50% in 2003, 75% in 2004, and 100% in 2005.  The 
phase-out of this tax credit under EGTRRA is the reason for the large decline of state estate tax collections after 
FY 2003.   
 
No state tax is owed on an estate of a person who died after December 31, 2004.  However, the state General Fund 
still collected estate tax revenues in FY 2006 due to the filing of extensions and amended returns.  Small amounts of 
state estate taxes were refunded in FY 2007 and FY 2008 as a result of the filing of amended returns. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The estate tax is paid by the personal representative of an estate or generation-skipping trust.  (Note that due to the 
repeal of the estate tax, it is no longer included under Arizona Revised Statutes.) 
 
“Personal representative” is defined as the executor or administrator of a decedent’s estate; trustee of a generation-
skipping trust; or, in the absence of such executor or appointed trustee, any person in actual or constructive 
possession of any portion of the estate subject to the tax. 
 
TAX BASE  
 
The estate tax applies to transfer of a resident’s gross estate to its beneficiaries as defined in Section 2031 of the 
Internal Revenue Code or a non-resident’s Arizona estate that is included in the gross estate.  The Arizona estate of 
non-residents includes (1) real property located in Arizona and (2) tangible personal property having actual situs in 
Arizona. 
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The generation-skipping tax applies to every transfer subject to the federal tax under Subtitle B, Chapter 13 of the 
Internal Revenue Code.  The estate subject to such tax includes (1) real property located in Arizona, (2) tangible 
personal property having actual situs in Arizona, and (3) intangible personal property owned by a trust having its 
principal place of administration in Arizona at the time of transfer. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
The tax levied on residents’ estates is equal to Arizona’s share of the maximum allowable federal tax credit for death 
taxes paid to states.  As noted above, the federal credit was phased out over a 4-year period that began in tax year 
2002.  In addition, the maximum federal credit is reduced by an amount that represents death taxes imposed on the 
estate by another state.  The amount of the reduction allowed for death taxes paid to another state is equal to the 
lesser of:   
 
(1) The amount of the death tax paid to the other state and credited against the federal estate tax. 
(2) The amount of the federal tax credit that is apportioned to the other state based on the ratio of the value of the 

estate’s property located in that state to the total value of the property of the estate. 
 
The tax levied on non-residents’ estates is equal to the amount of the federal tax credit that is apportioned to Arizona 
based on the ratio of the value of the estate’s property located in Arizona to the total value of the property of the 
estate. 
 
The tax levied on generation-skipping transfers of property is equal to Arizona’s share of the maximum federal tax 
credit allowable under Section 2604 of the Internal Revenue Code.  Arizona’s share is based on the ratio of the value 
of the property located in Arizona to the total value of the property included in the generation-skipping transfer. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
If the personal representative of an estate is required to file a federal estate tax return, then a state estate tax return is 
also required and due on or before the required federal filing date.  An extension for filing a state estate tax return is 
granted automatically if the federal due date is extended.  Also, the Department of Revenue may grant an extension 
up to 6 months for filing the Arizona estate tax return if good cause is shown. 
 
The personal representative of the estate shall pay the state estate tax not later than the required filing date, including 
any extensions of such date.  The Department of Revenue may, however, extend the time for payment if good cause 
is shown. 
 
If federal estate tax payments are made in installments under Section 6166 of the Internal Revenue Code and the 
amount of the tax due exceeds $50,000, then the personal representative may elect to pay in the same installments as 
the federal tax.  Note that interest is assessed until the balance is paid. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2002 to 2005.   As noted below, the Arizona estate tax was 
permanently repealed in 2006. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 262 permanently repeals the Arizona estate tax.  (Effective retroactively from January 1, 2006) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/estatetax.pdf
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BINGO LICENSE AND LIEU TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The bingo license and lieu tax consists of a license fee charged to qualified operators of bingo games and a bingo tax 
assessed on the receipts from bingo games.  There are 3 license classifications for bingo operators based on the 
amount of gross receipts.  The license fee and tax rate vary by classification, with a maximum tax rate of 2% of 
gross receipts.  All bingo games in Arizona must be conducted by a licensed person.  The Department of Revenue 
serves as the licensing authority in the state.  The tax is in lieu of the transaction privilege tax. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
All bingo tax revenue, administrative receipts, license fees, penalties and interest collections are deposited in the 
state General Fund [A.R.S. § 5-407(H)]. 
 

Table 1 
BINGO LICENSE FEE AND LIEU TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $558,330 FY 1998 $750,970 
FY 2007 $619,387 FY 1997 $774,129 
FY 2006 $623,480 FY 1996 $791,848 
FY 2005 $610,055 FY 1995 $909,562 
FY 2004 $624,501 FY 1994 $923,834 
FY 2003 $626,770 FY 1993 $922,180 
FY 2002 $629,680 FY 1992 $907,278 
FY 2001 $634,384 FY 1991 $850,228 
FY 2000 $677,036 FY 1990 1/ $796,777 
FY 1999 $717,830 FY 1989 $845,841 

____________ 
1/  The first full fiscal year in which all collections were deposited in the General Fund.  
 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The license fee and lieu tax is paid by persons and organizations that have been licensed by the Department of 
Revenue to conduct the game of bingo [A.R.S. § 5-403 and 5-407(H)]. 
 
TAX BASE  
 
Licenses.  A flat fee and a percentage of adjusted gross receipts or gross receipts are charged for bingo licenses, 
license renewals and games, depending on the license classification.  Class A licenses are taxed on adjusted gross 
receipts, while Class B and Class C licenses are taxed on gross receipts.  Adjusted gross receipts means gross 
receipts minus prize money paid [A.R.S. § 5-414]. 
 
License Classifications.  There are 3 license classes based on the bingo game's gross receipts per year [A.R.S. § 5-
413]: 
 
• Class A License.  Bingo games for which the gross receipts do not exceed $15,600.  This license cannot be 

issued to persons holding a liquor license unless it is a club license.  The reporting period is 1 year coinciding 
with the license's term. 

• Class B License.  Bingo games for which gross receipts do not exceed $300,000.  There are 4 reporting periods 
coinciding with the quarters of the license's term. 

• Class C License.  Bingo games for which gross receipts exceed $300,000.  There are 12 reporting periods 
coinciding with each month of the license's term. 
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TAX RATE 
 
The following fees and tax are assessed for the different license classes [A.R.S. § 5-414]: 
 

 
License Class 

Local Governing 
Body Fee 

 
License Fee 

 
Bingo Tax 

A $  5 $  10 2.5% of Adjusted Gross Receipts 
B $25 $  50 1.5% of Gross Receipts 
C $50 $200 2.0% of Gross Receipts 

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
License Fee Due Date.  The license fee, which is non-refundable, is due and paid at the time of application.  
Licenses expire 1 year from the issue date and must be renewed annually [A.R.S. § 5-403]. 
 
Bingo Tax.  The tax is due at the time of each financial report submitted by the licensee according to the above-
described schedule for the corresponding license class [A.R.S. § 5-407(I)]. 
 
License Fee Collection.  The initial application for license is submitted to the local governing body along with the 
one-time local governing body fee and the license fee.  The license fee and an original or certified copy of the 
application must be received by the Department of Revenue before a license is issued. Subsequent renewal fees, 
which are the same amount as the license fee, are paid to the Department of Revenue.  A 30-day grace period from 
the expiration date is given for renewal with a penalty equal to the license fee; otherwise after such period a licensee 
must reapply for a new license [A.R.S. § 5-403]. 
 
The Department of Revenue collects the tax [A.R.S. § 5-407(H)]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax from 2002 to 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/bingotax.pdf
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BOULDER CANYON PROJECTS - IN LIEU PAYMENTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
These are payments made by the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities to the State of Arizona in lieu of 
taxes from the proceeds of any hydroelectric power development (“Boulder Canyon Projects”) on the Colorado 
River [A.R.S. § 45-1331(A)].  
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Two-thirds of payments received are dedicated to the state General Fund.  The remaining one-third of payments 
received are placed in a special fund of the county in which the hydroelectric power development is located and are 
used for recreational facilities, access roads, and public works [A.R.S. § 45-1331]. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $200,000 FY 1998 $400,000 
FY 2007 $200,000 FY 1997 - 
FY 2006 $200,000 FY 1996 $200,000 
FY 2005 $200,000 FY 1995 $200,000 
FY 2004 $200,000 FY 1994 $200,000 
FY 2003 $200,000 FY 1993 $200,000 
FY 2002 $200,000 FY 1992 $200,000 
FY 2001 $200,000 FY 1991 $200,000 
FY 2000 $200,000 FY 1990 $200,000 
FY 1999 $200,000 FY 1989 $200,000 
    

SOURCE:  State Treasurer’s Office.  Total collections from Boulder Canyon Projects 
are derived by summing the payments to the state General Fund and to Mohave County.  

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Department of the Interior – Bureau of Reclamation. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
These are lump sum payments received from the Federal Government in lieu of taxes on the proceeds from the 
Boulder Canyon Projects. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Federal payments are normally in August of each year.   
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/boulder.pdf
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COMMERCIAL NUCLEAR GENERATING STATION ASSESSMENT 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The commercial nuclear generating station assessment is levied on each consortium of public service corporations 
engaged in operating a commercial nuclear generating station.  In effect, only the Palo Verde nuclear generating 
station is assessed by this law.  Collection amounts are used by the state to develop emergency response capabilities 
for accidents caused at a commercial nuclear generating station.  The assessment is equal to the amount appropriated 
by the Legislature to the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund for nuclear emergency response. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies collected from the commercial nuclear generating station assessment are deposited in the General Fund 
[A.R.S. § 26-306.01(D)].   
 

Table 1 
COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $1,440,492 FY 1998 $880,824 
FY 2007 $1,367,248 FY 1997 $878,374 
FY 2006 $1,198,087 FY 1996 $850,091 
FY 2005 $1,168,550 FY 1995 $858,564 
FY 2004 $1,036,085 FY 1994 $870,000 
FY 2003 $1,012,992 FY 1993 $833,000 
FY 2002 $940,611 FY 1992 1/ $1,613,000 
FY 2001 $924,778 FY 1991 $651,200 
FY 2000 $945,935 FY 1990 $635,100 
FY 1999 $926,814 FY 1989 $601,100 

____________ 
1/ Two deposits were made in FY 1992.  A deposit of $770,000 was made in July 1991 and 

another deposit of $843,000 was made in June 1992. 

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The assessment is paid by each consortium of public service corporations and municipal corporations engaged in 
constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. § 26-306.01(D)].  In practice, the 
assessment is only paid by the Palo Verde nuclear plant. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The amount of the assessment is equal to the biennial legislative appropriation from the state General Fund to the 
Nuclear Emergency Management Fund, plus an additional 10% per year for interest [A.R.S. § 26-306.01(D)].  
However, any unexpended monies in the Nuclear Emergency Management Fund at the end of each fiscal year are 
used to offset the assessment in future years [A.R.S. § 26-306.02(B)].  The assessments are used to develop, 
maintain, and support the state plan for responding to accidents at a commercial nuclear generating station [A.R.S. § 
26-306.01(A)]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The assessment is due to the Department of Revenue each year on the date that the appropriation to the Nuclear 
Emergency Management Fund becomes available for expenditure.  If the assessment is not paid on this date, interest 
is charged at the rate of 10% per year until payment is received.  If a consortium fails to pay the assessment within 1 
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year, the Legislature may require the director of Emergency Management to notify the United States Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission [A.R.S. § 26-306.01(D&E)]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.   
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2004, 2006 and 2008. 
 
The following tax law changes levied biennial assessments against each consortium of public service corporations 
and municipal corporations engaged in constructing or operating a commercial nuclear generating station.  The 
assessment amounts were then appropriated from the state General Fund to the Nuclear Emergency Management 
Fund to develop and maintain the state response plan for an accident at a commercial nuclear generating station.  
The monies were allocated to various entities, including the Department of Emergency and Military Affairs, the 
Radiation Regulatory Agency, Maricopa County, and the town of Buckeye. 
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 25 levied an assessment of $1,367,248 in FY 2008 and $1,440,492 in FY 2009.  (Effective 
April 10, 2007)  
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 184 levied an assessment of $1,168,550 in FY 2006 and $1,198,087 in FY 2007.  (Effective 
April 25, 2005)  
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 91 levied an assessment of $1,012,992 in FY 2004 and $1,036,085 in FY 2005.  (Effective 
April 23, 2003) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/nuclear.pdf
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IN LIEU TAX ON PRIVATE RAILROAD CAR COMPANIES 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
This tax is imposed in lieu of all other taxes on the property and business of private railroad car companies in the 
state except for the annual license tax and registration fee [A.R.S. § 42-14308].  Private railroad car companies 
operate, furnish, or lease cars that transport people or freight over railroad lines located wholly or partially in the 
state, and that are not owned, leased, or operated by them [A.R.S. § 42-14301]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical private railroad car company tax collections for the past 20 years.  The 
Department of Revenue remits tax payments from private railroad car companies to the State Treasurer for deposit 
in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308]. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 
FY 2008 $1,615,246 FY 1998 $1,494,821 
FY 2007 $1,709,362 FY 1997 $1,525,854 
FY 2006 $1,426,435 FY 1996 $1,641,634 
FY 2005 $1,312,163 FY 1995 $1,240,453 
FY 2004 $1,335,056 FY 1994 $1,036,897 
FY 2003 $1,485,996 FY 1993 $894,851 
FY 2002 $1,506,625 FY 1992 $878,618 
FY 2001 $1,349,685 FY 1991 $824,207 
FY 2000 $1,476,728 FY 1990 $702,678 
FY 1999 $1,441,440 FY 1989 $675,653 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.  
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by private railroad car companies in Arizona. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is the full cash value as determined by the Department of Revenue on or before June 15 each year 
[A.R.S. § 42-14305].  The assessed value of private railroad car property is derived by multiplying its full cash value 
by the Class 5 assessment ratio [A.R.S. § 42-12005].  The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is re-calculated each 
year based on a statutory formula [A.R.S. § 42-15005].  The assessment ratio for FY 2008 was 20% 
 
The tax rate for properties operated by private railroad car companies is equal to the sum of the average rates for 
primary and secondary property taxes in the taxing jurisdictions in this state for the current year [A.R.S. § 42-
14308].  The statewide average tax rate in FY 2007 was $10.44 per $100 of assessed valuation. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
This tax is due and payable on October 1 and delinquent after November 1.  (Delinquent taxes bear interest at the 
rate determined pursuant to A.R.S. § 42-1123 for each subsequent month in which the tax remains unpaid.)  The tax 
is levied and collected by the Department of Revenue for deposit in the state General Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14308].  
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IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the periods from 2002 to 2003 and 2005 to 2008. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 61 provided that the full cash values for private car companies that are used for tax purposes 
are a matter of public record.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/carcompanies.pdf
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PARI-MUTUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The pari-mutuel tax is assessed on the amount of money wagered at horse and dog racing facilities and simulcasts in 
the state.  The tax structure is separated according to the type of racing – horse or dog – and the population size of 
the county in which the facility is located.  The Department of Racing also collects fees for licenses issued to 
facilities and personnel involved in the racing industry and receives a share of the unclaimed property monies 
annually collected by the Department of Revenue.  Pari-mutuel taxes, license fees, and unclaimed property monies 
are distributed among several different funds.   
 
The pari-mutuel tax does not include Indian gaming because the Indian tribes do not conduct pari-mutuel races.  
Also, the payments that the tribes make to the state pursuant to Proposition 202 are not taxes.  The state cannot tax 
the tribes, payments that the tribes make to the state pursuant to Proposition 202 are not taxes, these contributions 
are “voluntary” payments made in exchange for substantial exclusivity in their gaming activities. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides pari-mutuel tax and license fee collections for the past 20 years.  Pari-mutuel revenues are 
distributed to several different funds. 
 
Table 2 on the following page provides the distribution percentages and amounts for the various distributions in 
FY 2007 [A.R.S. § 5-113]. 
 

Table 1 
PARI-MUTUEL COLLECTIONS 

Fiscal Year Pari-Mutuel Taxes Licenses Total Collections 
FY 2008 $429,600 $168,600 $598,200 
FY 2007 $431,400 $53,500 $484,900 
FY 2006 $527,860 $61,426 $589,286 
FY 2005 $483,901 $194,954 $655,914 
FY 2004 $565,204 $130,900 $696,104 
FY 2003 $628,564 $111,750 $740,314 
FY 2002 $750,354 $158,988 $909,342 
FY 2001 $1,802,280 $91,558 $1,893,838 
FY 2000 $2,549,046 $59,506 $2,608,552 
FY 1999 $2,945,419 $166,829 $3,112,248 
FY 1998 $2,943,787 $88,530 $3,032,317 
FY 1997 $2,606,325 $58,126 $2,664,451 
FY 1996 $2,802,122 $173,655 $2,975,775 
FY 1995 $8,535,300 $87,100 $8,622,400 
FY 1994 $8,507,000 $49,200 $8,556,200 
FY 1993 $8,080,200 $184,400 $8,264,600 
FY 1992 $8,085,200 $208,300 $8,293,500 
FY 1991 $7,940,943 $63,408 $8,004,351 
FY 1990 $9,348,552 $123,218 $9,471,770 
FY 1989 $10,112,985 $257,354 $10,370,399 

    
SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Racing. 

 
The funds listed in Table 2 receive revenues from pari-mutuel taxes and license fees collected by the Racing 
Commission as well as a share of the unclaimed property monies annually collected by the Department of Revenue 
[A.R.S. § 44-313].  Net of refunds and special distributions from unclaimed property monies, the Department of 
Racing receives 20% of the unclaimed property monies collected annually.  Revenues from pari-mutuel taxes, 
license fees, and unclaimed property monies are distributed among the 8 funds displayed below, enabling the 
Department of Racing to reach the statutorily-authorized levels for each fund.  Remaining monies are deposited into 
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the General Fund.  In FY 2008 approximately $5,305,500 in revenues were distributed to the 8 funds and $8,407,800 
in revenues were deposited in the General Fund.  If not for the minimum dollar caps established for the 8 funds’ 
distribution formulas as noted in the table below, all of the department’s pari-mutuel, license fee, and unclaimed 
properties monies would have been distributed to the 8 funds, and none would have been distributed to the General 
Fund. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 363 raised the statutory amounts for 6 of the 8 funds that receive distributions from pari-mutuel 
taxes, license fees, and unclaimed property monies.  The new distribution took effect in FY 2007. 
 
Table 2 

FY 2008 DISTRIBUTION OF PARI-MUTUEL REVENUES 
 
Fund 

FY 2008 
Distribution 

 
Formula 

Arizona County Fairs Racing Betterment Fund $1,200,000 $1,200,000 or 22%, whichever is less 
County Fairs Livestock and Agriculture Promotion Fund $1,800,000 $1,800,000 or 33%, whichever is less 
Arizona Breeders’ Award Fund $1,200,000 $1,200,000 or 22%, whichever is less 
Arizona Stallion Award Fund $60,000 $60,000 or 1%, whichever is less 
County Fair Racing Fund $450,000 $450,000 or 9%, whichever is less 
Agricultural Consulting and Training Fund $128,500 1% of total pari-mutuel collections 
Racing Administration Fund $67,000 $67,000 or 1%, whichever is less 
Arizona Exposition and State Fair Fund $400,000 $400,000 or 11%, whichever is less 
State General Fund  $8,407,800 Any remaining monies 
Pari-mutuel Taxes, License Collections and Unclaimed Property Monies $13,713,300 Total Distribution 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The taxpayer is the person, firm, partnership, corporation, or association that holds a pari-mutuel permit.  No single 
permittee may simultaneously own more than 4 racetracks within the state.  No permitee which holds a permit in a 
county of over 300,000 persons may simultaneously hold a permit for the same kind of racing in another county 
having a population of over 300,000 [A.R.S. § 5-108.03]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is the “handle”, which is defined as the total amount of money contributed to pari-mutuel pools by 
bettors [A.R.S. § 5-101 and A.R.S. § 5-111]. 
 
For dog racing, the state receives 5.5% of the total handle [A.R.S. § 5-111 (B)]. 
 
For horse racing, the state receives 2% of the first $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool, and 5% of the amount 
exceeding $1,000,000 of the daily pari-mutuel pool [A.R.S. § 5-111 (D)]. 
 
Exemptions to the pari-mutuel tax include [A.R.S. § 5-111]: 
• The portion of the handle for wagering on simulcasts of out-of-state races. 
• Racing meetings conducted by county fair associations with the permission of the Racing Commission.  This 

exemption is limited to one racing meeting each year. 
• Monies received from horse and dog races held on charity days.  Charity days are defined as days on which the 

net proceeds of the pari-mutuel pool are donated to non-profit organizations and corporations that benefit the 
general public. 

 
Licenses.  The Racing Commission issues licenses to facilities and personnel involved in the racing industry.  The 
licenses are valid for a period not to exceed 3 years.  The Commission collects fees for the licenses it issues as 
described in Table 3 [A.R.S. § 5-104]. 
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Persons, firms, partnerships, corporations, or associations applying for a pari-mutuel permit are not charged a permit 
fee.  Instead, the department charges a 3-year licensing fee of $15 to the following individuals representing permit 
applicants, where appropriate:  racetrack owners with a stake of 10% or greater, corporate officers, racetrack general 
managers, and board members of county associations.  However, prior to the issuance of a permit, each applicant 
must post a bond document of up to $100,000 for dog racing and up to $300,000 for horse racing payable to the 
department and the state [A.R.S. § 5-107 (D)].  Each pari-mutuel permit holder must also make a refundable $5,000 
deposit with the department 10 days prior to a racing meeting to insure payment of the amount of pari-mutuel tax 
due to the state [A.R.S. § 5-107 (C)]. 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
Hardship Credit.  On August 1 of each year, a permittee is eligible for a hardship tax credit determined as follows 
[A.R.S. § 5-111 (I)]: 
• Determine the percentage decrease in pari-mutuel wagering in the previous fiscal year compared to the base 

year.  The base year is defined as the highest total pari-mutuel wagering at the racetrack and all additional 
wagering facilities owned by the permittee for FY 1990 through FY 1994. 

• Multiply the total pari-mutuel tax liability for the current year by the percentage decrease determined above, 
and multiplying the result by 3. 

• Reduce the permittee’s pari-mutuel tax due for the current period, and all future periods, by the result.  The 
hardship tax credit can be used in addition to any other tax exemptions, rebates, and credits. 

 
The revenue projections developed by the Department of Racing and included in the tables on the next page are 
based on historical levels and industry trends and assume the continued operation of each of Arizona’s commercial 
race tracks. These tables indicate state pari-mutuel taxes from dollars wagered during FY 2008.  The tables also 
provide actual and estimated amounts for the Hardship Tax Credit during FY 2008 as well. 
 
These revenue projections imply that as the pari-mutuel tax revenues continue to decline compared to prior fiscal 
years, the contributions pursuant to A.R.S. § 44-313 from the unclaimed property monies to each of the 8 funds 
listed in Table 2 above will increase due to the smaller amount of pari-mutuel tax revenues available to fulfill the 8 
funds’ statutory requirements.  From FY 2001 to FY 2007 annual pari-mutuel tax collections declined by 76%.  
Since the portion of the unclaimed property monies remaining after its distribution to the 8 funds goes to the General 
Fund, if there are less of these monies remaining it will reduce the monies available for the state’s General Fund.  
Therefore, the unclaimed property monies become increasingly important to the continuation of the programs 
supported by these 8 funds, particularly as Laws 2006, Chapter 363 raises the statutory distributions to 6 of the 8 
funds. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Table 3 
RACING COMMISSION LICENSE FEES 

Occupational licenses Up to $50 
Owner, trainer, veterinarian, authorized agent, officials, assistant trainer, stable or kennel name renewal Up to $75 
Owner-trainer, driver, jockey, jockey agent, or apprentice jockey Up to $150 
New stable name or new kennel name  Up to $500 
Duplicate license Up to $5 
Temporary license Up to $50 
Greyhound racing kennels Up to $100 
Farms or other operations where greyhounds are raised for purposes of dog racing Up to $100 
Combination of greyhound racing kennels, farms, or other operations Up to $100 
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FY 2009 Estimated Hardship Tax Credit 

 
Capital Improvements.  The permittee’s pari-mutuel annual tax liability may be reduced in order to fund capital 
improvements to racetracks.  The reduction can be up to 1% of the total handle in counties having a population of 
500,000 or more, and up to 2% in all other counties.  The annual reduction continues until sufficient funds have been 
obtained for the completion of the capital improvement project.  The projects must be approved by the Racing 
Commission.  [A.R.S. § 5-111.02 and A.R.S. § 5-111.03]. 
 
The capital improvements provision expired on June, 30 1992 for counties with populations of 500,000 or more and 
on June 30, 1999 for all other counties.  Projects approved prior to these dates may continue with the tax reduction 
until sufficient funds have been obtained for completion of the capital improvement.  The only racetrack that has not 
exhausted the funds authorized is Yavapai Downs. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Pari-mutuel taxes are paid daily during the racing season.  The tax is collected by the Arizona Department of 
Racing. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2005, 2007, and 2008. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 363 raises the statutory dollar amounts for funds that receive distributions from pari-mutuel 
taxes, license fees and unclaimed property monies.  Of the 8 funds that receive distributions from these revenues, 6 
funds were adjusted.  For the 6 affected funds only the dollar limitation, not the percentage distribution, was raised.  
The law may impact the General Fund by decreasing distributions to it as distributions to the 8 funds are increased.  
(Effective Tax Year 2007)  
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

 
 

  
  

TRACK 

  
BASE 
YEAR 

  
BASE YEAR 

AMOUNT 

ACTUAL 
FY 2008  

AMOUNT 
WAGERED 

ACTUAL 
FY 2008  % 
DECREASE 

ACTUAL 
PARI-

MUTUEL 
TAX DUE 

TAX DUE 
BASED ON  

% 
DECREASE 

ESTIMATED 
FY 2009 

HARDSHIP 
CREDIT  
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WITH 
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HORSE TRACKS:                 

    Fort Tuthill Downs FY 1994 $798,671  $0  -100.00% $0  $0  $0   $7,320  $7,320  

    Rillito Park FY 1990 $3,887,981  $0  -100.00% $0  $0  $0   $165,088  $165,088  

    Turf Paradise FY 1994 $101,467,993  $128,203,760  26.35% $441,860  $0  $0   $0  $0  

    Yavapai Downs FY 1994 $17,490,826  $34,892,032  99.49% $100,037  $0  $0   $0  $0  
GREYHOUND 
TRACKS:                 
    Apache Greyhound  
       Park FY 1990 $12,262,396  $5,066,332  -58.68% $0  $0  $0   $360,850  $360,850  
    Phoenix Greyhound  
       Park FY 1990 $49,391,582  $46,397,234  -51.51% $1,590,733  $819,398  $2,458,194   $2,982,398  $5,440,592  

  FY 1994 $46,293,967               
    Tucson Greyhound  
       Park FY 1990 $38,110,346  $16,242,757  -57.38% $216,112  $124,004  $372,013   $2,024,628  $2,396,641  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/parimutueltax.pdf
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UNCLAIMED PROPERTY COLLECTIONS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Unclaimed property includes intangible personal property such as traveler’s checks, money orders, stocks or other 
equity interest, principal on debt, demand or savings deposits, customer credits, insurance settlements, property 
received or held by a court, wages, retirement accounts, and other miscellaneous types of property that are presumed 
abandoned according to the schedule set out in statute (A.R.S. § 44-302).  Unclaimed property also includes tangible 
property held in a safe deposit box which remains unclaimed after the expiration of the lease on the box (A.R.S. § 
44-303).  Property is presumed abandoned and therefore unclaimed after it is held for an extended period of time 
with no owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.  Abandoned property is 
transferred to the Arizona Department of Revenue (DOR) from many holders, including banks, credit unions, 
corporations, utilities, insurance companies, governmental entities, and retailers.  DOR also establishes and 
maintains records of escheated estates.  An escheated estate is created when a person dies without leaving a will and 
has no known heirs; the property reverts to the state after 5 years. 

DOR acts as custodian of the property and administers a program to locate the owners.  Once reported to DOR, 
unclaimed property is available for refund to the owners or their heirs indefinitely.  Statute requires businesses and 
other organizations to review their records each year to determine whether they hold any funds, securities, or other 
property that have remained unclaimed for the statutory abandonment period.  Holders file an annual report and 
transfer the property to the state.  The holding period before property is considered unclaimed varies by type of 
property.  If the properties received by DOR remain unclaimed within a specified time period, the properties are sold 
by DOR with the proceeds distributed to a number of state funds. 

Although the collection and sale of unclaimed property held by the DOR does not constitute a tax, monies derived 
from this activity represent a significant state revenue source.  

 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies from the sale of unclaimed property are deposited in the partially-appropriated Estate and Unclaimed 
Property Fund administered by DOR.  The appropriated portion of the fund covers the department's administrative 
costs, including unclaimed property contract auditors and the handling, publicizing, and selling of abandoned 
property.  DOR also retains not less than $100,000 to pay allowed claims while the state attempts to locate 
abandoned property owners.  Revenues from the sale of escheated estates are deposited in the Escheated Estates 
Fund.  
 
Monies received by DOR from the collection and sale of unclaimed properties and escheated estates are distributed 
as follows: 
 
• Monies derived from unclaimed victim restitution payments are deposited in the Victim Compensation and 

Assistance Fund (VCAF) [A.R.S. § 44-313 (C) and A.R.S. § 41-2407 (A)]. 
• Monies from unclaimed shares and dividends of any corporation incorporated under the laws of Arizona, 

escheated estates, and unclaimed property in a self-storage unit are deposited in the Permanent State School 
Fund (PSSF) [A.R.S. § 44-313 (B), § 37-521 (A), § 12-885 (B), § 33-1704 (D)]. 

• Unclaimed utility deposits are transferred to the Utility Assistance Fund (UAF) [A.R.S. § 46-731 (B)]. 
 
The remaining monies are transferred to the following funds in the following percentages:   
 
• 55% to the Housing Trust Fund, subdivided into 2 components.  The first share, 35% of unclaimed property 

monies, is distributed for general Housing Trust Fund uses.  The second share, 20% of unclaimed property 
monies, is distributed to the Housing Trust Fund exclusively for the development of housing in rural areas of 
the state [A.R.S. § 41-3955 (A) and A.R.S. § 41-3956 (A)]. 

• 25% to the General Fund.  In addition, all unclaimed tax refunds arising from the case of Ladewig v. State of 
Arizona are transferred to the General Fund.  

• 20% to the 8 funds administered by the Arizona Department of Racing, up to each fund’s statutory funding cap. 
Distributions in excess of the funding caps are deposited in the General Fund [A.R.S. § 5-113 (A)]. 
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Table 1 
Unclaimed Property Distributions 

Fiscal 
Year 

 
General Fund 1/2/ 

Housing  
Trust Fund 

Racing   
Funds 

 
VCAF 2/ 

 
UAF 3/ 

 
PSF 4/ 

 
Total 

2008 $58,020,600 $33,684,300 $12,248,800 $173,100 $26,300 $11,200 $104,164,300 
2007 $12,346,200 $40,972,900 $14,899,200 $1,250,300 $2,550,700 $408,600 $72,427,900 
2006 $22,825,000 $26,004,600 $9,456,200 $128,300 $855,500 $408,700 $59,678,300 
2005 $30,715,200 $23,942,700 $8,706,400 $299,600 $1,664,500 $426,100 $65,754,500 
2004 $8,044,000 $20,708,300 $7,530,300 $547,300 $1,308,000 $397,200 $38,535,200 
2003 $6,745,700 $17,950,700 $6,527,500 $2,128,000 $1,119,000 $214,100 $34,685,000 
2002 $7,656,000 $19,761,600 $7,186,000 $0 $868,400 $0 $35,472,000 
2001 $4,309,800 $11,733,800 $4,266,900 $17,000 $905,000 $77,800 $21,310,300 
2000 $4,208,700 $11,421,700 $4,153,300 $0 $639,100 $13,000 $20,435,800 
1999 $2,084,500 $6,791,800 $2,465,200 $0 $818,400 $217,300 $12,594,500 
1998 $2,402,500 $7,380,800 $2,681,200 $0 $712,000 $55,200 $13,231,700 
1997 $4,566,100 $3,655,100 $0 $0 $604,900 $342,700 $13,734,900 
1996 $10,399,100 $6,024,100 $0 $0 $515,500 $362,000 $17,300,700 
1995 $6,438,200 $3,899,500 $0 $0 $628,200 $335,700 $11,301,600 
1994 $5,777,000 $3,181,700 $0 $0 $400,000 $57,500 $9,416,200 
1993 $5,095,400 $2,932,600 $0 $0 $446,800 $211,700 $8,686,500 

____________ 
1/ Laws 2007, Chapter 260, as session law, requires that all proceeds from the sales of securities in FY 2008 be deposited into the General Fund, 

instead of the statutorily split among the General Fund, Department of Housing, and Department of Racing. This was estimated to generate 
increased revenue of $45 million to the General Fund in FY 2008; the actual amount was $47.2 million. 

2/ FY 2005 – FY 2007 General Fund distributions include unclaimed monies arising from the cases of Ladewig v. State of Arizona and Kerr v. State 
of Arizona. 

3/ Victim Compensation and Assistance Fund distributions became effective January 1, 2001, with the implementation of Laws 2001, Chapter 146. 
4/ Utility Assistance Fund. 
5/ Permanent School Fund. 
 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.  Figures are net of refunds and agency administrative expenses. 
 
REVENUE BASE 
 
Property is presumed abandoned and therefore unclaimed after has been held for an extended period of time with no 
owner contact and a “good faith” effort has been made to locate the owner.  The length of time for property to be 
presumed abandoned varies depending on the classification of property.  The property classifications and 
presumption of abandonment timeframes are as follows [A.R.S. § 44-302]: 
 
1 Year 
• Wages or other labor compensation - 1 year from payment date. 
• Property that is received by a court as proceeds of a class action suit and that is not distributed pursuant to the 

judgment - 1 year after the date the court distributed the proceeds. 
 
2 Years 
• A utility deposit that is paid in advance for utility services to be furnished - 2 years after termination of services. 
 
3 Years 
• Property that is held by a court or governmental entity - 3 years after the property becomes distributable. 
• Property in any individual retirement account or defined benefit - 3 years after date of the required distribution. 
• Any stock or other equity interest in a business association or financial organization, including security 

entitlements - 3 years after the most recent unclaimed dividend, stock split, or other distribution.  
• The principal and interest on corporate bonds - 3 years after the maturity and after the last interest payment date. 
• Dividend, profit, distribution, interest, redemption, payment on principal or other sum held or owing by a 

business to shareholders, bondholders, or other security holder who has not claimed it - 3 years after the date 
prescribed for payment or delivery. 

• Tangible property held in safe deposit box - 3 years after expiration of safe deposit box lease or rental period. 
• Excess proceeds from a trustee sale deposited with the county treasurer pursuant to A.R.S. § 33-812 - 3 years 

from the date of deposit. 
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• Monies deposited into the ASRS trust fund and the LTD trust fund established by A.R.S. § 38-797.02. 
 
5 Years 
• Check, or similar instrument, to include cashier's and certified checks - 5 years after the check or instrument 

was payable.  
• Credits owed to a retail customer - 5 years after the obligation accrued. 
• Demand, savings, or time deposit and any interest or dividends accrued by the accounts - 5 years after maturity. 
• Life or endowment insurance policy or an annuity that has matured or terminated - 5 years after the obligation 

to pay arose. 
• Escheated estate - 5 years without having identified an heir. 
• All other property not otherwise specified - 5 years after the owner's rights to demand the property or after the 

obligation to pay or distribute the property arises, whichever occurs first. 
 
7 Years 
• Money Order - 7 years after issuance. 
 
15 Years 
• Traveler’s Check - 15 years after issuance. 
 
Property that is not covered under the Arizona Unclaimed Property Act includes gift certificates, electronic gift 
cards, nonrefundable tickets, prepaid phone cards, frequent flyer miles, stored value cards, merchandise points and 
business accounts of less than $50 [A.R.S. § 44-301]. 
 
A.R.S. § 44-304 provides further guidance on how to determine whether property is abandoned. 
 
HOW REVENUES ARE COLLECTED 
 
Holders of unclaimed property include banks, credit unions, corporations, utilities, insurance companies, 
governmental entities, and retailers.  Each institution is required, except for state agencies, to annually report to 
DOR unclaimed property in its possession.  Life insurance companies are required to file the report for each 
reporting year before May 1 of the succeeding year; all other holders of property presumed abandoned file the report 
before November 1 and the report covers the last twelve months before July 1 of that year.  For the prior fiscal year, 
county treasurers must file the report on or before November 1.  State agencies that hold monies for the payment of 
voided warrants report no later than the tenth day of each month [A.R.S. § 44-307]. 
 
Upon filing the report with DOR, the holder of unclaimed property shall pay or deliver it to DOR.  On payment or 
delivery of property to DOR, the State of Arizona assumes custody and responsibility for the property.  A holder 
who pays or delivers property to the department in good faith is relieved of all liability with respect to the property 
that arises after the payment or delivery [A.R.S. § 44-310].    
 
Statute requires DOR to publish a notice at least semiannually of abandoned property that has been paid or delivered 
to the department.  DOR’s website must contain information about abandoned property no later than November 30 
of the year after the year in which abandoned property was paid or delivered to the department [A.R.S. § 44-309].     
 
Unclaimed securities may be sold upon receipt (see Laws 2007, Chapter 260 below).  Within 3 years after receiving 
abandoned property other than securities, the department must sell the unclaimed properties to the highest bidder at 
a public sale.  Before conducting a sale, the department publishes a notice at least 3 weeks before the sale in the 
county in which the sale will occur.  A purchaser of property at a sale conducted by the department takes the 
property free of all claims of the owner or previous holder and of all persons claiming through or under the owner or 
previous holder. [A.R.S. § 44-312]. 
 
Securities that are listed on an established stock exchange are sold at prices prevailing on the exchange at the time of 
the sale. DOR may sell all other securities in the over-the-counter market at prices prevailing at the time of the sale.  
Except in a case of intentional misconduct or malfeasance by the department, a person claiming their property is not 
entitled to receive any appreciation in property value that occurred after the delivery to DOR [A.R.S. § 44-312]. 
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Any person who claims property that was paid or delivered to DOR may file a claim to recover the property or its 
monetary value at the time the property was sold.  Within 90 days after a claim is filed the department is required to 
allow or deny the claim.  If the claim is denied, the department informs the claimant of the reasons for the denial and 
specifies what additional evidence is required before the claim will be allowed.  Within 30 days after a claim is 
allowed the department must deliver the property or pay the net proceeds of a sale of the property to the claimant 
[A.R.S. § 44-317].  Table 2 displays refunds of unclaimed properties to its owners. 
 

Table 2 
Unclaimed Property Refunds 

Fiscal Year Refund Fiscal Year Refund 
2008 $27,859,500 1999 $8,135,400 
2007 $22,541,000 1998 $6,609,800 
2006 $17,693,700 1997 $9,103,400 
2005 $16,241,200 1996 $7,507,900 
2004 $10,093,800 1995 $3,529,100 
2003 $10,333,100 1994 $3,818,500 
2002 $11,903,200 1993 $2,859,900 
2001 $15,764,200 1992 $2,421,500 
2000 $9,881,800   

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports.   

 
IMPACT OF STATUTORY AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of statutory and other revenue changes that have been enacted by the 
Legislature since 2002.  The estimated dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in Table 3 below: 
 

Table 3 
ESTIMATED DOLLAR VALUE OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 

Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 
FY 2008   
    L 2007, 1st RS, Ch. 260 Transfers Securities Sales to the General Fund $ 45,000,000 
   
FY 2007   

L 2006, 2nd RS, Ch. 347 Transfers Kerr and Ladewig unclaimed monies to 
General Fund in FY 2007 

$ 15,000,000 

   
L 2005, 1st RS, Ch. 333 Transfers Ladewig unclaimed monies to General 

Fund in FY 2005 and FY 2006  
$33,000,000 

 
2008 LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 264 establishes that any monies left in a retirement account or benefit plan are presumed 
abandoned 3 years after the statutorily prescribed date of distribution.  As holder of the property, ASRS is required 
to report and pay the property to the Department of Revenue.  The impact to the General Fund has not been 
determined. (Effective July 1, 2009) 
 
2007 LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 260 makes changes to abandonment periods for certain classifications of property and the 
timeframe that securities can be sold.  The abandonment periods for corporate bonds and dividends on securities is 
reduced from 5 to 3 years.  The law allows DOR to sell unclaimed securities upon their receipt, with the requirement 
that all proceeds from the sales of securities in FY 2008 be deposited into the state General Fund.  The sale of all 
securities held by DOR was estimated to generate a one-time gain of $45 million to the General Fund and reduce 
DOR’s $160,000 annual portfolio management costs by $60,000.  Actual collections of $47.2 million from the sale 
of securities exceeded the original estimate by $2.2 million. 
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2006 LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 33 increases the abandonment period for tangible property that is held in a safe deposit box 
from 1 to 3 years after the expiration of the box’s lease or rental period. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 243 eliminates the statutory requirement that monies held for payment of void warrants by the 
State Treasurer of up to $1 million be transferred to the Homeless Trust Fund.  A.R.S. § 44-302 stipulates that 
monies held by the State Treasurer for the payment of warrants by a state agency that remain unclaimed by the 
owner at the time of the void date printed on the warrant are presumed abandoned.   
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 316 appropriates $135,000 from the Estate and Unclaimed Property Fund in FY 2006 to DOR 
for supplemental funding for unclaimed property printing and advertising costs. 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 347 requires DOR to deposit in FY 2007 any unclaimed property that is associated with the 
case of Ladewig v. State of Arizona and the case of Kerr v. State of Arizona in the General Fund. 
 
2005 LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 333 requires DOR to deposit in FY 2005 and FY 2006 any unclaimed property that is 
associated with the case of Ladewig v. State of Arizona in the General Fund. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 135 establishes unclaimed property provisions related to deposits of trustees’ sales with the 
county treasurer in the county in which the sale took place.  The law stipulates that excess proceeds from the sale 
deposited with the country treasurer are presumed abandoned 3 years after deposit with the treasurer and no pending 
application for distribution has been made.  The treasurer is required to report unclaimed monies to DOR for the 
prior fiscal year on or before November 1.   
 
2003 1ST SPECIAL SESSION LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 2 requires the first $5,000,000 in unclaimed property revenues received in FY 2003 be 
deposited in the General Fund. 
 
2002 LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 241 makes technical corrections to the provisions contained in Laws 2001, Chapter 22 to 
clarify that the statutory distribution of unclaimed property revenues reflects the shift of administration of the 
Housing Trust Fund and Housing Development Fund from the Department of Commerce under A.R.S. § 41-1512 
and A.R.S. § 41-1518 to the Department of Housing under A.R.S. § 41-3955 and 41-3956, respectively.   
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/unclaimedproperty.pdf
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AIRCRAFT LICENSE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Aircraft license tax is a tax imposed on aircraft based and registered in the state [A.R.S. § 28-8335]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies received from the aircraft license tax are deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345]. 
 

Table 1 
AIRCRAFT LICENSE TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Aviation Fund Fiscal Year Aviation Fund 
FY 2008 $7,413,608 FY 1998 $2,043,058 
FY 2007 $7,748,524 FY 1997 $1,825,858 
FY 2006 $5,980,022 FY 1996 $1,800,630 
FY 2005 $5,577,258 FY 1995 $1,507,555 
FY 2004 $5,748,210 FY 1994 $1,461,259 
FY 2003 $4,360,187 FY 1993 $1,429,867 
FY 2002 $3,543,819 FY 1992 $1,404,933 
FY 2001 $3,176,180 FY 1991 $1,361,153 
FY 2000 $3,094,727 FY 1990 $1,288,750 
FY 1999 $2,365,498 FY 1989 $1,121,900 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by owners of aircraft registered in the state unless an exemption is provided [A.R.S. § 28-8324]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is aircraft based in the state and registered with the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT).  
ADOT is responsible for determining the fair market value of such aircraft each year as established by the dealer 
price guides or other recognized reliable source of information [A.R.S. § 28-8342]. 
 
The following are exempt from the aircraft license tax: 
 
(1) Regularly scheduled aircraft operated by an airline company for hire [A.R.S. § 28-8322]. 
(2) Nonresident owned aircraft not used for intrastate commercial activities and not based in Arizona for more than 

90 days per year [A.R.S. § 28-8322].  
(3) Aircraft operated exclusively in the public service by the United States Government, the state, a political 

subdivision, or the Civil Air Patrol [A.R.S. § 28-8323]. 
 
The tax rate is 0.5% of the average fair market value of the aircraft, except that in no case shall the tax be less than 
$20 per year unless an exemption has been established [A.R.S. § 28-8335].  A nonresident who bases an aircraft in 
Arizona for more than 90 days but less than 210 days in any calendar year and is not engaged in intrastate 
commercial activity is subject to a tax rate equal to 0.1% of the average fair market value [A.R.S. § 28-8336].   
 
The license tax for aircraft in storage or under repair is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8337].  The license tax for 
salvaged aircraft that is in storage or being restored is $5 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8338].  The license tax for 
antique, classic, warbird, glider, experimental, homebuilt, or balloon aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8339].  
The license tax for manufacturer’s aircraft is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8340].  The license tax for maintenance 
aircraft owned by a nonresident is $20 per aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-8341]. 
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The license tax for aircraft that was registered for the first time after the beginning of a calendar year is prorated 
[A.R.S. § 28-8324].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
All aircraft based in the state, except those for which exemptions were provided, must be registered with ADOT 
within 60 days after the aircraft was brought into the state.  The aircraft registration must be renewed each year on or 
before the last day of February [A.R.S. § 28-8322].   
 
The registration fee is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-8325].  If the registration requirement is not met, then a penalty of 
$25 for the first month and $5 for each succeeding month of delinquency will be assessed [A.R.S. § 28-8329]. 
 
The aircraft license tax is payable to ADOT upon initial registration and annually by the last day of February 
[A.R.S. § 28-8335]. 
 
Owners of aircraft in storage or salvaged aircraft must notify ADOT within 10 days of the date the aircraft is 
returned to use and then pay the appropriate license tax, if any, on a pro rata basis [A.R.S. § 28-8337 and § 28-
8338]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2003, and 2005 to 2008. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 302 changed the statutory definitions of “antique” and “classic” aircraft for purposes of 
qualifying for the special annual license tax of $20.  Under the revised definition, an antique aircraft is one that is at 
least 50 years old, and a classic aircraft is one that is at least 40 years old but not more than 49 years old.  (Effective 
August 25, 2004) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/airlicensetax.pdf
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FLIGHT PROPERTY TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The flight property tax is assessed on the value of airline company aircraft operating in Arizona.  The tax is in lieu of 
ad valorem property taxes on this type of property [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 provided that, beginning in FY 2005, 100% of flight property tax revenues are deposited in 
the Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
 
Laws 1986, Chapter 369 shifted flight property tax revenues from the General Fund to the Aviation Fund over a 
phase-in period of 3 years.  Beginning on January 1, 1987, 33% of total tax receipts were deposited in the Aviation 
Fund.  On the same date the following 2 years, the distribution level to the Aviation Fund increased to 66% and 
100%, respectively. 
 
Laws 1997, 1st Special Session, Chapter 3 changed the distribution of flight property tax revenues so that, starting in 
FY 1998, 50% of total proceeds were deposited in the General Fund and the other 50% in the Aviation Fund. 
 

Table 1 
FLIGHT PROPERTY TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Aviation Fund Total 
FY 2008 $0 $13,821,790 $13,821,790 
FY 2007 $0 $15,300,127 $15,300,127 
FY 2006 $0 $13,685,936 $13,685,936 
FY 2005 $0 $13,180,039 $13,180,039 
FY 2004 $6,320,722 $6,320,722 $12,641,444 
FY 2003 $6,026,213 $6,026,213 $12,741,749 
FY 2002 $6,528,347 $6,528,347 $13,056,694 
FY 2001 $6,693,590 $6,693,589 $13,387,179 
FY 2000 $6,709,385 $6,709,386 $13,418,771 
FY 1999 $7,367,078 $7,489,832 $14,856,910 
FY 1998 $7,582,939 $7,582,939 $15,165,878 
FY 1997 $0 $17,679,764 $17,679,764 
FY 1996 $0 $18,564,298 $18,564,298 
FY 1995 $0 $13,803,042 $13,803,042 
FY 1994 $0 $12,278,607 $12,278,607 
FY 1993 $0 $11,329,977 $11,329,977 
FY 1992 $0 $6,934,381 $6,934,381 
FY 1991 $0 $10,619,885 $10,619,885 
FY 1990 $0 $8,626,536 $8,626,536 
FY 1989 $1,067,926 $7,313,156 $8,381,082 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by airline companies operating within the state [A.R.S. § 42-14255]. 
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TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The Department of Revenue (DOR) determines the full cash value of flight property by August 31 each year.  The 
full cash value is the value determined as of the prior January 1 of the valuation year [A.R.S. § 42-14254(A)].  DOR 
establishes the full cash value as follows [A.R.S. § 42-14254(B)]:  
 
(1) determines the valuation of flight property by fleet type,  
(2) determines the valuation of each fleet type by the original cost less depreciation,  
(3) computes depreciation using 15-year straight-line depreciation to salvage value, and  
(4) allows additional obsolescence if supported by market evidence. 
 
Small flight property that is operated in the state in air commerce is valued at 30% of its original cost less 
depreciation [A.R.S. § 42-14254(C)].  (Small flight property is airline company aircraft with a maximum passenger 
capacity of less than 56 seats and a maximum payload capacity of less than 18,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 42-14251].) 
 
Arizona’s share of the total full cash value of flight property is determined by an apportionment formula, which 
depends on the number of minutes that flight property is on the ground and on the flight mileage scheduled within 
and outside Arizona [A.R.S. § 42-14254(D)]. 
 
Flight property is assessed as Class 5 property [A.R.S. § 42-12005].  The assessment ratio for Class 5 property is 
computed as follows [A.R.S. § 42-15005]: 
 
• For secondary property taxes:  The ratio that total net assessed valuation for secondary tax purposes of all 

taxable property in Class 1 and Class 6, paragraph 3, and personal property in Class 2 bears to the total full cash 
value of such property.  

• For primary property taxes:  The ratio that total net assessed valuation for primary tax purposes of all taxable 
property in Class 1 and Class 6, paragraph 3, and personal property in Class 2 bears to the total limited 
valuation of such property. 

 
As the formulas above suggest, the assessment ratio for Class 5 property may change from one year to the next.  In 
the period from 1991 to 2008, the assessment ratio has varied from 21% to 26%.  The 2008 assessment ratio for 
Class 5 property is 20%.  
 
The tax rate equals the sum of the average rates for primary and secondary property taxes in all taxing jurisdictions 
of the state in the current year [A.R.S. § 42-14255].  The historical flight property tax rates are shown in Table 2 on 
the following page. 
 
The property tax liability is calculated in the same manner as other property (see Property Tax section), i.e., by 
multiplying the tax rate by the assessed valuation of the flight property and then divide the product by 100.   
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The flight property tax is due and payable at the same time as real and personal property [A.R.S. § 42-14255].  This 
means that one-half of the tax is due and payable on October 1 of the tax year, unless the total amount of the tax due 
is $100 or less, in which case the full amount of the tax is due and delinquent after November 1.  The remaining one-
half of the tax is due on March 1 of the year following the tax year and becomes delinquent after May 1 [A.R.S. § 
42-18052].  Both of these payments fall in the same fiscal year. 
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Table 2 
HISTORICAL AVERAGE PROPERTY TAX RATES PER $100 OF ASSESSED VALUATION 

    
Fiscal Year Sum of Average State Tax Rates Primary Tax Rate 1/ Secondary Tax Rate 

FY 2008 $10.04 $6.75 $3.29 
FY 2007 $10.99 $7.24 $3.75 
FY 2006 $11.56 $7.81 $3.75 
FY 2005 $11.81 $8.09 $3.72 
FY 2004 $12.18 $8.36 $3.82 
FY 2003 $12.49 $8.56 $3.93 
FY 2002 $12.55 $8.54 $4.01 
FY 2001 $12.68 $8.56 $4.12 
FY 2000 $12.80 $8.67 $4.13 
FY 1999 $12.79 $8.58 $4.21 
FY 1998 $12.70 $8.57 $4.13 
FY 1997 $12.52 $8.54 $3.98 
FY 1996 $13.27 $9.45 $3.82 
FY 1995 $12.78 $9.35 $3.43 
FY 1994 $12.51 $9.00 $3.51 
FY 1993 $12.19 $8.82 $3.37 
FY 1992 $11.95 $8.53 $3.42 
FY 1991 $11.44 $8.33 $3.11 
FY 1990 $10.88 $7.96 $2.92 
FY 1989 $10.76 $7.84 $2.92 

____________ 
1/  State tax rate for 1990 to 1995 includes the minimum qualifying school tax rate. 
 
SOURCE: Arizona Property Tax Rates and Assessed Valuations published by Arizona Tax Research 

Association (ATRA). 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, and between 2005 and 2008. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 61 provided that the full cash values for airline company aircraft that are used for tax purposes 
are a matter of public record.  (Effective August 25, 2004) 
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 deferred the deposit of 100% of revenue from flight property tax from FY 2004 to FY 2005.  
This means that beginning in FY 2005, all revenues from the flight property tax will be deposited in the state Aviation 
Fund.  As a result, the General Fund is estimated to lose $(7,000,000) in FY 2005.  (Effective September 18, 2003) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/flighttax.pdf
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY DISTRICTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Certain districts in Arizona are authorized to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, city, town, school 
district, or other political subdivision instead of paying property taxes.  The Legislature provided this incentive to 
encourage such districts to operate as multi-purpose reclamation projects to provide funds for water conservation 
and maintenance and development of their water distribution systems. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The County Treasurer is required to remit to the county, school districts, cities, towns, or other political 
subdivisions, and the state of Arizona, all monies received as net voluntary contributions (see definition under Tax 
Base and Rate below) from districts in the same manner as property taxes are distributed.  
 
The monies deposited in the state General Fund are from voluntary contributions for properties not located within 
any school district, so-called unorganized districts [A.R.S. § 15-991.01], and for properties in certain school districts 
ineligible for state aid, sometimes referred to as minimum qualifying tax rate (MQTR) districts [A.R.S. § 15-992].   
 
The amount of voluntary contributions by districts deposited in the General Fund is shown in Table 1 below. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year General Fund Fiscal Year General Fund 

FY 2008 $1,053,210 FY 1998 $5,983,913 
FY 2007 $2,037,640 FY 1997 $6,086,339 
FY 2006 $2,490,685 FY 1996 $16,953,919 
FY 2005 $2,653,117 FY 1995 $4,220,053 
FY 2004 $1,769,124 FY 1994 $4,155,690 
FY 2003 $2,030,685 FY 1993 $4,091,560 
FY 2002 $3,431,652 FY 1992 $3,969,664 
FY 2001 $4,606,361 FY 1991 $3,929,471 
FY 2000 $5,315,929 FY 1990 $3,813,672 
FY 1999 $5,919,047 FY 1989 $3,447,428 
    

SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Administration’s Finance Division, Revenue Codes, the 
State Treasurer’s Office, and the Salt River Project. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Any irrigation district, power district, electrical district, or agricultural improvement district organized under 
Arizona Law that is directly engaged in the sale of electrical power or energy other than for irrigation purposes 
[A.R.S. § 48-241].  Effectively, this law applies mainly to properties included within the Salt River Project.  
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.  This is the base from which to determine the 
statewide net voluntary contribution, which is the total amount of voluntary contributions paid to all taxing 
jurisdictions by the Salt River Project. 
 
In determining the net voluntary contributions paid by the Salt River Project in lieu of property taxes, the following 
calculations are made [A.R.S. § 48-241 and § 48-242]: 
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(1) Calculate for all taxing districts combined, the total property tax for which the Salt River Project would be 
liable if assessed by the same property tax procedures as other similar properties for the current tax year. 

 (a) The method used would be the full cash value as determined by the Department of Revenue multiplied by 
the assessment ratio for Class 1 property. 

 (b) The primary and secondary property tax rates for each taxing jurisdiction are then applied against the 
product calculated in (a) above to obtain the statewide total gross voluntary contribution.  

 
(2) To obtain the statewide net voluntary contribution, subtract the following deductions from the total gross 

voluntary contribution determined above: 
 (a) The tax on properties devoted to production of electricity for pumping groundwater.  This amount is 

estimated by multiplying the total net property tax liability to which Salt River Project is subject by the 
percent that represents the portion of electricity produced by Salt River Project during the preceding 5-year 
period used specifically for pumping groundwater.  (The maximum percent of electricity that may be 
claimed for pumping groundwater is 10%, unless the percent of kilowatt hours devoted to pumping 
groundwater exceeds 70% within a district.) 

 (b) The annual average of total water costs incurred by Salt River Project in producing and distributing water 
for municipal use, as estimated by: 

  (i) Summing for the previous 3-year period, the operating expenses (less depreciation) attributable to (1) 
protection of watersheds, water production, development, storage, distribution and conservation, and 
(2) any repayment of U.S. government debt obligations incurred by Salt River Project for water 
department construction and expenses related to the development of future water projects. 

  (ii) Dividing this sum by 3 to arrive at the annual average of total water costs. 
  (iii) Multiplying this total by the percent of total water produced by Salt River Project devoted to municipal 

use during the latest 3 calendar years.  (The percentage of water devoted to municipal use is the ratio of 
total water for municipal uses for the past 3 calendar years to total water delivered for all uses during 
the same time period.) 

 (c) Any taxes or assessments paid to the State of Arizona or its political subdivisions during the preceding 
calendar year other than transaction privilege taxes, highway taxes, unemployment taxes, equipment weight 
fees, improvement district assessments and any other taxes paid by the district prior to effective date of this 
law. 

 
The district is required to report to the county assessors and the Department of Revenue by May 1 of each year the 
factor used to compute each county’s proportion of the total deductions taken by the district.  The district is also 
required to submit to the Board of Supervisors at the same time as the submission of the assessment roll, an estimate 
for the net contributions in the following fiscal year. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
One-half of the voluntary contribution is paid to the County Treasurer of the county in which the property is located 
on the first Monday in November of each year.  The other half is due on the first Monday in May of the succeeding 
calendar year [A.R.S. § 48-242(E)].  Each County Treasurer is required to remit to the State Treasurer the state’s 
portion of the net voluntary contribution. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 60 specifies that the values used to determine the net voluntary contributions shall not be 
included in the publication of net assessed values.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/voldistricts.pdf
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VOLUNTARY CONTRIBUTIONS BY THE  
GAME AND FISH COMMISSION 

 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Game and Fish Commission may elect to make voluntary contributions to the state, county, municipality, school 
district, community college district, or other special taxing district in lieu of property taxes when purchasing real 
property within the district [A.R.S. § 17-272(A)]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The County Treasurer distributes the monies received to the various taxing jurisdictions in which the property is 
located in the same manner as property taxes are distributed (see Distribution under General Property Tax) [A.R.S. § 
17-272(E)]. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

  
Fiscal Year Net Collections 1/ 
FY 2008 $10,369 
FY 2007 $12,630 
FY 2006 $12,382 
FY 2005 $12,009 
FY 2004 $12,229 
FY 2003 $12,485 
FY 2002 $12,485 
FY 2001 $12,363 
FY 2000 $11,910 
FY 1999 $11,438 
FY 1998 $12,000 
FY 1997 $165,500 
FY 1996 $183,500 
FY 1995 $3,302 
FY 1994 2/ $0 
  

____________ 
1/ Laws 1996, 7th Special Session, Chapter 2 repealed the state 

property tax.  Beginning in FY 1998, amounts represent 
contributions which were collected for local jurisdictions.  
Amounts were distributed back to local jurisdictions, and not 
retained by the state. 

2/ The Act became effective July 17, 1993. 
 
SOURCE:  Arizona Game and Fish Department, Habitat Branch. 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The Game and Fish Commission may make voluntary contributions instead of paying property taxes if the 
Commission purchases the following types of real property [A.R.S. § 17-272(A)]: 
 

(1) The property was subject to taxation, or 
(2) The property was exempt from taxation at the time of purchase due to one of the following reasons: 

• Held by a charitable organization as parkland and no rent or value was received by the charitable 
organization, or 
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• Held by a charitable organization to preserve and protect scientific, biological, geological, 
paleontological, natural, or archaeological resources. 

 
The Game and Fish Commission is not required to make contributions with respect to lands acquired for fish 
hatcheries, game farms, firing ranges, reservoir sites, administrative sites, or rights-of-way to fishing waters [A.R.S. 
§ 17-272(F)]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The Game and Fish Commission is required to consult with the assessor of the county in which the property is 
located and determine the assessed valuation as Class 2 agricultural property.  The assessed valuation of the property 
cannot be increased from one year to the next by more than 2% [A.R.S. § 17-272(B)]. 
 
The tax rates are the same as those set for real and personal property for agricultural purposes or Class 2 property.  
The amount of the contribution is determined by applying the current aggregate property tax rate to the determined 
valuation [A.R.S. § 17-272(C)]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The County Treasurer collects the voluntary contributions from the Game and Fish Commission at the same time 
and in the same manner as ad valorem property taxes (see Payment Schedule under General Property Tax) [A.R.S. § 
17-272(D)].   
 
The voluntary contributions may be made by the Game and Fish Commission from the Game, Nongame, Fish and 
Endangered Species Fund, the Conservation Development Fund, the Waterfowl Conservation Fund, the Arizona 
Game and Fish Commission Heritage Fund, or any other source of monies available to and budgeted by the 
Commission [A.R.S. § 17-272(A)].  
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/volgamefish.pdf
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WATERCRAFT LICENSE FEE 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Arizona Constitution, Article 9, Section 15 exempts all watercraft registered for operation in the state, except 
those owned and operated for commercial purposes, from property taxes.  Instead, watercraft is subject to the 
watercraft registration fee, which is a fee levied based on the length of a watercraft [A.R.S. § 5-321].  The watercraft 
registration fee replaced the former watercraft license tax in FY 2006 (Laws 2005, Chapter 318). 
 
(Statute defines "watercraft" as any boat designed to be propelled by machinery, oars, paddles or wind for 
navigation on the water [A.R.S. § 5-301].) 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Each month, watercraft license fee revenues are deposited as follows: 
 
• 65% of revenues are transferred to the Watercraft Licensing Fund.  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 318, 45% of 

revenues were transferred to the Watercraft Licensing Fund).  Such monies are subject to legislative 
appropriation.  Monies deposited in this fund are used for administration and enforcement of watercraft laws 
[A.R.S. § 5-323(B)].  (Prior to Laws 2004, Chapter 254, fund balances in excess of $290,000 in a fiscal year 
were used for an education program related to boating and boating safety.) 

• The remaining 35% of revenues are deposited by Arizona Game and Fish Department as follows: (1) 15% to the 
State Lake Improvement Fund and (2) 85% to the Law Enforcement and Boating Safety Fund [A.R.S. § 5-
323(C)].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 318, 55% of revenues were deposited by Arizona Game and Fish 
Department as follows: (1) 15% to the State Lake Improvement Fund and (2) 85% to the Law Enforcement and 
Boating Safety Fund).  

 
Total net collections from the watercraft license fee are shown in the table below. 
 

Table 1 
WATERCRAFT LICENSE FEE COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 

FY 2008 $4,955,124 FY 1998 $1,683,698 
FY 2007 $5,398,134 FY 1997 $1,634,369 
FY 2006 $4,338,741 FY 1996 $1,596,016 
FY 2005 $2,317,368 FY 1995 $1,543,993 
FY 2004 $1,061,931 FY 1994 $1,316,700 
FY 2003 $2,327,090 FY 1993 $1,618,546 
FY 2002 $2,259,952 FY 1992 $1,141,849 
FY 2001 $2,074,784 FY 1991 $1,139,446 
FY 2000 $2,028,111 FY 1990 $1,079,180 
FY 1999 $1,735,862 FY 1989 $1,119,496 
    

SOURCE:  Game and Fish Department. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The fee is paid by the owner of each watercraft that requires numbering by the state [A.R.S. § 5-321].  Numbering is 
required for all undocumented watercraft underway, moored, or anchored on the waters of this state [A.R.S. § 5-
322].   
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The watercraft registration fee is levied on watercraft based on 7 different watercraft length ranges [A.R.S. § 5-321].  
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The fees for watercraft are as follows: Resident Non-residents 
 

Twelve feet and less  $20.00 $100.00 
Twelve feet one inch through sixteen feet  $22.00 $110.00 
Sixteen feet one inch through twenty feet  $30.00 $222.00 
Twenty feet one inch through twenty-six feet  $35.00 $259.00 
Twenty-six feet one inch through thirty-nine feet  $39.00 $292.00 
Thirty-nine feet one inch through sixty-four feet  $44.00 $330.00 
Sixty-four feet one inch and over  $66.00 $495.00 

 
In addition, owners of motorized watercraft may be charged a fee for the Lower Colorado River Multispecies 
Conservation Program. 
 
The main exemptions from the watercraft registration fee are [A.R.S. § 5-322(A)]: 
 
(1) Foreign water watercraft temporarily using the waters of the state. 
(2) Military or public vessels of the United States, except recreational type of public vessels. 
(3) Watercraft used solely as lifeboats. 
(4) Undocumented watercraft operating under a valid temporary certificate. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Watercraft registration fees are due at the time of application for watercraft registration with the Arizona Game and 
Fish Department [A.R.S. § 5-321(A)]. 
 
Laws 1982, Chapter 255 authorized the Arizona Game and Fish Commission to establish rules for registering 
watercraft on a staggered monthly basis.  All registrations expire according to schedules established by the 
Commission [A.R.S. § 5-321.01]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this fee in 2002, 2003, 2006, and 2007.  
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 256 provides that the Arizona Game and Fish Commission is allowed to register a watercraft 
for up to a period of 36 months, instead of 18. (Effective January 1, 2009) 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 78 allows the Arizona Game and Fish Commission to assess additional motorized watercraft 
registration fees that are collected solely for the purpose of funding the Lower Colorado River Multispecies 
Conservation Program (MSCP).  Requires the revenues from the registration of motorized watercraft to be deposited 
in a Watercraft Registration Fee Clearing Account.  The State Treasurer distributes all monies collected from 
motorized watercraft registration (except those collected specifically for the MSCP) into the Watercraft Licensing 
Fund.  Those monies collected specifically for the MSCP are deposited by the State Treasurer into an account that is 
used solely for the MSCP. (Effective August 12, 2005)  
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 318 retracted the license tax levied on watercraft.  Replaced the registration fee formula based 
on watercraft length with a flat fee for 7 watercraft length ranges, with different fee schedules for Arizona residents 
and nonresidents.  
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The fees for watercraft are as follows: Resident Non-residents 
 
Twelve feet and less  $20.00 $100.00 
Twelve feet one inch through sixteen feet  $22.00 $110.00 
Sixteen feet one inch through twenty feet  $30.00 $222.00 
Twenty feet one inch through twenty-six feet  $35.00 $259.00 
Twenty-six feet one inch through thirty-nine feet  $39.00 $292.00 
Thirty-nine feet one inch through sixty-four feet  $44.00 $330.00 
Sixty-four feet one inch and over  $66.00 $495.00 

 
• Specified that watercraft are exempt from ad valorem property tax and from license taxes in lieu of property tax.  
• Retracted exemption of commercial motorized watercraft from in lieu tax requirements when the commercial 

motorized watercraft is not exempted from the ad valorem property tax.  
• Required registration fees received to be deposited each month in an account designated as the Watercraft 

Registration Fee Clearing Account.  
• Required 65% of all watercraft registration fee revenues to be deposited in the Watercraft Licensing Fund.  
• Required 35% of all watercraft registration fee revenues to be allocated as follows:  15% to the State Lake 

Improvement Fund and 85% to the Law Enforcement and Boating Safety Fund.  
• Required all revenues collected from watercraft registration transfer fees to be deposited in an account 

designated by a multicounty water conservation district established solely for the Lower Colorado River 
Multispecies Conservation Program. (Effective August 12, 2005) 

 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 254 eliminated the requirement that monies in the Watercraft Licensing Fund that exceed 
$290,000 in a fiscal year are used for an education program related to boating and boating safety.  (Effective August 
25, 2004) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/watercrafttax.pdf
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GOVERNMENT PROPERTY LEASE EXCISE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Government Property Lease Excise Tax (GPLET) was enacted in 1996 (Laws 1996, Chapter 349) to replace the 
tax on possessory interests that was repealed in 1995 (for a more detailed discussion, see below).  GPLET is a local 
excise tax that is based on the square footage of a building rather than on its value.  GPLET is levied on entities that 
lease the property of a city, town, county, or county stadium district for commercial or industrial purposes for at 
least 30 days [A.R.S. § 42-6201]. 
 
In 1985, the Arizona Legislature enacted legislation that provided a method for the taxation of possessory interests.  
A possessory interest is created when a private party is granted the exclusive use of real property owned by a non-
taxable entity.  Typically, possessory interests are created when private individuals, companies, or corporations 
lease, rent, or use federal, state, county, or municipal government owned facilities and land for their own benefit. 
 
The tax on possessory interest was enacted in response to the extensive use of the property tax exemption for 
government owned property as an economic development tool.  (Article 9 of the Arizona Constitution provides that 
all federal, state, county and municipal government property is exempt from taxation.)  The new law specifically 
provided that possessory interests in federal, state, county and municipal government property would become 
subject to taxation.  Additionally, the law established possessory interest tax exemptions and provided special 
valuation rules for possessory interests that were created prior to April 1, 1985. 
 
Over time, the possessory interest tax was challenged in court in a number of cases.   As a result, the court held that 
limiting the special valuation to possessory interests created before April 1, 1985 was in violation of the uniformity 
clause under the Arizona Constitution.  The court also held that the possessory interest exemptions went beyond the 
constitutional tax exemptions and were therefore ruled invalid.  The effect of these court rulings was that all 
possessory interests became taxed in the same manner as other properties. 
 
In 1995, the Legislature repealed the possessory interest tax (effective retroactively from January 1, 1995).  The 
intent statement expressed the Legislature’s desire that possessory interests not be subject to ad valorem taxation 
until a new taxing mechanism was enacted.  Laws 1996, Chapter 349 created such a taxing mechanism in the form 
of the Government Property Lease Excise Tax (GPLET), which was to serve as the successor to the possessory 
interest tax.   
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The distribution of the tax is as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6205]:  
• 13% to the county general fund 
• 7% to the city, if applicable 
• 7% to the community college district, if applicable 
• 73% to the school district not within a high school district (or 36.5% each to the high school and elementary 

district), if applicable. 
 
If inapplicable, proceeds are split proportionally among the other entities. 
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Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS 

  
Fiscal Year Net Collections 1/ 
FY 2008 $3,000,000 (est.) 
FY 2007 $3,108,195 
FY 2006 $2,921,164 
FY 2005 $2,696,092 
FY 2004 $2,898,944 
FY 2003 $3,013,352 
FY 2002 $2,721,824 
FY 2001 $2,230,063 
FY 2000 $2,379,198 
FY 1999 $1,935,671 
FY 1998 $988,269 
FY 1997 $977,226 
FY 1996 2/ $0 

____________ 
1/ The state does not collect any monies from GPLET.   
2/ The Act became effective December 1, 1996. 
 
SOURCE:  League of Arizona Cities and Towns. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Government lessors collect the tax annually on prime lessees who use or occupy the government property [A.R.S. § 
42-6202]. 
 
The following are exempt from the GPLET [A.R.S. § 42-6208]: 
 
1. Property used for government purposes or public housing. 
2. Easements and rights-of-way for railroads and utilities. 
3. Public athletic and recreational facilities. 
4. Aviation-related interests at public airports, airlines’ use of runways and terminals at public airports, and toll 

roads. 
5. Indian trust lands. 
6. Government contractor property. 
7. Interest in property used by a chamber of commerce. 
8. Property used by tax-exempt organizations under 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 
9. Parking garages owned and operated by the government lessor, or operated on behalf of the government lessor 

by an entity other than the prime lessee.  
10. Residential rentals occupied by the prime lessee. 
11. Municipal property corporations. 
 
Furthermore, cities are required to abate the tax for 8 years for property located in a “slum and blight area,” if the 
property’s lease development agreement was entered on or after April 1, 1985 and if it resulted or will result in an 
increase in property value of at least 100%.  These abatements are restricted to projects within a single central 
business district within the “slum and blight area.”  Other projects outside the single business district but still within 
the “slum and blight area” will pay 80% of the tax.  The 8-year abatement includes periods of abatement under prior 
law.  In addition, the law repealed the 1995 prohibition on political subdivisions from converting taxable property to 
nontaxable status for redevelopment purposes. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax rates are as follows [A.R.S. § 42-6203]: 
 
$1.00 per square foot for one-story office buildings. 
$1.25 per square foot for office buildings with 2 to 7 stories.  
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$1.75 per square foot for office buildings with 8 or more stories. 
$1.50 per square foot for retail or hotel/motel buildings. 
$0.75 per square foot for warehouse or industrial buildings. 
$0.50 per square foot for residential rental buildings. 
$100 per parking space for parking garages. 
$1.00 per square foot for any other building. 
 
Lessees pay a percentage of the above rates dependent on when the original certificate of occupancy was issued, 
according to the following schedule: 
 
10- to 20-year-old leases: 80% of the rate. 
20- to 30-year-old leases: 60% of the rate. 
30- to 40-year-old leases: 40% of the rate. 
40- to 50-year-old leases: 20% of the rate. 
50- or more year-old leases: no tax. 
 
Leases entered into after June 30, 1996 located outside a designated redevelopment area:  150% of the rate.  
Government property improvements subject to pre-April 1, 1985 leases or agreements, or government improvements 
at rural (county population under 400,000 prior to 1988) county or city airports: 20% of the rate. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax is due and payable annually on or before December 1 [A.R.S. § 42-6204]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period in 2002, 2005, 2006, 2007, and 2008. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS  
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 341 established a new Park Property Lease Excise Tax, which a county will levy and collect 
on each prime lessee of a lease with the National Park Service of a property improvement in the county.  The tax 
will be assessed, collected, and distributed in the same manner as the Government Property Lease Excise Tax with 2 
exceptions.  First, each lease or development agreement is neither required to include a notice of tax liability nor a 
provision that failure to pay could result in divesting the prime lessee of any interest in or right of occupancy of the 
government property improvement.  Second, the tax rate cannot be less than 20% of the Government Property Lease 
Excise Tax (see Tax Base and Rate section above). 
 
The act also provided that the property tax levies used in budget overrides do not include levies of the Government 
Property Lease Excise Tax or the Park Property Lease Excise Tax.  (Effective August 25, 2004)  
 
2003 TAX LAWS  
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 246 replaced all references in statute to “redevelopment area” with “slum and blight areas.”  
(Effective September 18, 2003.) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 
 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/gplet.pdf
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HIGHWAY USER REVENUE FUND OVERVIEW 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The State of Arizona taxes motor fuels and imposes various other fees related to the registration and operation of 
motor vehicles.  Included are motor vehicle fuel taxes, use fuel taxes, vehicle license taxes, motor carrier fees, 
vehicle registration fees, and various other miscellaneous fees.  Depending on the category, all, or a portion of these 
taxes and fees are used to fund the Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF).  This 2008 Tax Handbook 
contains individual sections on the major tax components of HURF, including Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax, Use Fuel 
Tax, Vehicle License Tax, and the Motor Carrier Fee (which replaced the Motor Carrier Tax in FY 1998).  Vehicle 
registration fees and various other fees which are part of HURF are not included in the handbook. 
 
HURF revenues are a major source of funding to the state for highway construction, highway maintenance and 
improvements, and other highway-related expenditures.  A portion of HURF revenue is also distributed to Arizona 
cities, towns, and counties for highway-related purposes. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Highway User Revenue Fund collections totaled approximately $1.34 billion in FY 2008.  This was a decrease of 
(2.7)% from FY 2007 collections.  The bulk of HURF revenue comes from motor fuel, or gas taxes.  The next 
biggest category is the vehicle license tax, followed by use fuel tax, then the registration and other fees.  As noted 
above, more detailed discussion of the tax categories is provided in subsequent sections of the handbook. 
 
The following chart provides a graphic representation of the relative importance of each of the HURF revenue 
categories for FY 2008: 
 

Highway User Revenue Fund
FY 2008 Collections by Major Category

Motor Fuel
36.6% Use Fuel

15.5%

Motor Carrier
3.0%

VLT
28.6%Registration

12.1%

Other
4.2%

 
 
Table 1 below summarizes Highway User Revenue Fund collections by major category over the last 10 years. 
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Table 1 
HURF COLLECTIONS 

($ in Thousands) 
 

 
Fiscal 

    Year   

Motor 
Vehicle 

  Fuel Tax  

 
Use Fuel 
      Tax    

Vehicle 
License 

      Tax 1/   

 
Motor 

Carrier Fee 

 
Registration 
      Fees    

 
 

Other Fees 

 
 

      Total    
FY 2008 $492,536 $207,859 $385,186 $40,177 $162,765 $55,953 $1,344,477 
FY 2007 $497,702 $210,282 $393,497 $45,226 $177,788 $57,979 $1,382,474 
FY 2006 $489,081 $213,460 $373,864 $40,504 $158,805 $55,911 $1,331,625 
FY 2005 $481,284 $194,368 $328,232 $37,980 $154,122 $49,567 $1,245,553 
FY 2004 $463,531 $179,002 $312,262 $34,617 $146,638 $43,511 $1,179,561 
FY 2003 $446,891 $166,744 $281,947 $32,856 $141,328 $41,490 $1,111,256 
FY 2002 $434,818 $161,507 $270,641 $29,347 $138,210 $41,873 $1,076,395 
FY 2001 $418,400 $155,859 $251,613 $32,678 $132,269 $40,147 $1,030,965 
FY 2000 $409,137 $156,599 $236,547 $36,563 $140,345 $40,409 $1,019,599 
FY 1999 $397,463 $160,312 $220,126 $34,150 $131,952 $38,775 $   982,779 
____________ 
1/  The amounts indicated reflect only the portion of VLT that is distributed to HURF. 
 
SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
The Highway User Revenue Fund may be expended for the following purposes (see Arizona Constitution, Article 9, 
Section 14): 
 
(1) The cost of administering taxes that are deposited in the fund. 
(2) Refunds and adjustments provided for by law. 
(3) Payment of highway obligations. 
(4) The cost of construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair of public highways and bridges and county, 

city and town roads and streets. 
(5) The cost of state enforcement of traffic laws. 
(6) The cost of publication and distribution of Arizona Highways Magazine. 
(7) Distribution to counties, incorporated cities and towns according to law. 
 
The Highway User Revenue Fund is distributed each fiscal year in the following manner [A.R.S. § 28-6533]: 
 
(1) $1 million is allocated to the Economic Strength Project Fund [A.R.S. § 28-6534] 
(2) Each fiscal year a portion of the monies in the Highway User Revenue Fund is distributed to the Department of 

Public Safety for funding a portion of highway patrol costs.  The distribution is to be made in 8 installments in 
each of the first 8 months of the fiscal year, and is not to exceed $10,000,000 [A.R.S. § 28-6537] beginning in 
FY 2000.  However, beginning in FY 2000, the Legislature has “notwithstood” the provisions of this statute, 
and has provided for the transfer of HURF monies to the Department of Public Safety as noted in Table 2 
below. 

(3) As noted in Table 3 below, the balance of collections after making the above distributions are allocated as 
follows [A.R.S. § 28-6538]: 
• 50.5% State Highway Fund 
 At least 12.6% of the monies distributed to the State Highway Fund shall be distributed as follows [A.R.S. 

§ 28-6538 (B)]: 
− 75% to counties with a population of 1,200,000 or more for design, right-of-way purchase, or 

construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state highways in regional 
transportation plans and the state highway system. 

– 25% to counties with a population of more than 400,000 but less than 1,200,000 for design, right-of-
way purchase, or construction of controlled access highways to be included as state routes or state 
highways in regional transportation plans and the state highway system. 

• 19% Counties 
• 27.5% Incorporated cities and towns 
• 3% Incorporated cities with population greater than 300,000 
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Table 2 below summarizes Highway User Revenue Fund distributions by major category over the last 10 years.  
Please refer to the table on page 464 of the FY 2009 Appropriations Report for a more detailed explanation of the 
distribution of HURF revenues.  It should be noted that the FY 2008 amounts in the table below vary slightly from 
those presented in the Appropriations Report.  The numbers in Table 2 below reflect actual collections, while the 
numbers in the FY 2009 Appropriations Report were based on estimated collections. 
 

Table 2 
HURF DISTRIBUTION 

($ in Thousands) 
 

 
Fiscal 

   Year   

State 
Highway 
    Fund    

County 
Controlled 
  Access   

 
Cities and 
    Towns    

 
 

  Counties   

 
 

    DPS    

Economic 
Strength 
  Project   

 
 

  Other   

 
 

      Total     
FY 2008 $565,381 $101,341 $404,434 $251,942 $12,913 $1,000 $7,465 $1,344,477 
FY 2007 $584,531 $104,775 $418,114 $260,465 $12,983 $1,000 $607 $1,382,474 
FY 2006 $539,865 $96,768 $386,128 $240,538 $66,693 $1,000 $633 $1,331,625 
FY 2005 $410,362 $73,556 $363,535 $226,464 $52,216 $1,000 $118,420 1/ $1,245,553 
FY 2004 $483,688 $86,699 $344,491 $214,601 $48,698 $1,000 $384 $1,179,561 
FY 2003 $451,827 $80,988 $321,799 $200,465 $54,528 $1,000 $648 $1,111,256 
FY 2002 $438,230 $78,551 $312,115 $194,433 $52,066 $1,000 - $1,076,395 
FY 2001 $433,248 $77,658 $308,567 $192,222 $12,500 $1,000 $5,770 $1,030,965 
FY 2000 $430,668 $77,195 $306,729 $191,077 $12,500 $1,000 $430 $1,019,599 
FY 1999 $413,371 $74,095 $294,410 $183,403 $12,500 $1,000 $4,000 $982,779 

         
____________ 
1/ Laws 2004, Ch. 282 provided for a one-time transfer of $118 million of the state highway fund share of HURF VLT 

to the General Fund in FY 2005. 
 
SOURCE:  Arizona Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
Table 3 below summarizes Highway User Revenue Fund actual distribution percentages for FY 2008 after the DPS, 
Economic Strength Project, and other distributions noted above. 
 

Table 3 
PERCENTAGE DISTRIBUTION 

OF HURF MONIES 
 
Cities 30.6% 
Counties 19.0% 
Controlled Access 7.7% 
State Highway Fund    42.7% 
    Total 100.0% 

 
The tax base and tax rates, payment schedules, and the impact of tax law changes for the motor vehicle fuel tax, use 
fuel tax, vehicle license tax, and motor carrier fee are provided in the individual write-ups for each of the HURF 
revenue categories in the following section of the handbook. 
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MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The motor vehicle fuel tax is levied on each gallon of motor vehicle fuel, commonly known as gasoline, produced or 
imported into the state by a distributor.  The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon, and the large majority of revenues are 
deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund to pay for highway construction and maintenance. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The tax on motor vehicle fuel consumed in vehicles operated on Arizona roads and highways is deposited in the 
Highway User Revenue Fund [A.R.S. § 28-6533]. 
 
Tax collections are distributed on the following basis (see Table 2 on following page): 
 
• Watercraft.  Tax collections on fuel for watercrafts pay for the cost of conducting a survey to determine the 

percent of fuel taxes collected from watercraft.  One percent of such collections are retained by the State 
Highway Department to defray administrative expenses.  The remaining collections are deposited in the State 
Lake Improvement Fund [A.R.S. § 28-5926]. 

• Off-Highway Vehicles.  Fifty-five one hundredths of 1% of the tax collections on motor vehicle fuel is 
transferred to the Off-Highway Vehicle Recreation Fund on a monthly basis [A.R.S. § 28-5927]. 

• Aircraft.  Taxes collected from sales of motor vehicle fuel consumed in aircraft are deposited in the State 
Aviation Fund.  However, if a refund is claimed, 5¢ on each gallon of tax collected remains in the State 
Aviation Fund and the balance is refunded to the taxpayer [A.R.S. § 28-5611]. 

• Remainder.  The net collections remaining after refunds and the above distributions are deposited in the 
Highway User Revenue Fund [A.R.S. § 28-5925].  (See Highway User Revenue Fund Overview at the 
beginning of this section for distribution of the Highway User Revenue Fund.) 

 
Table 1 

MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX COLLECTIONS 
 

Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 $511,673,485 FY 1998 $376,348,116 
FY 2007 $516,208,893 FY 1997 $373,986,908 
FY 2006 $503,210,580 FY 1996 $369,058,121 
FY 2005 $496,340,649 FY 1995 $351,038,867 
FY 2004 $478,829,323 FY 1994 $341,252,229 
FY 2003 $463,864,197 FY 1993 $322,572,576 
FY 2002 $452,550,965 FY 1992 $317,996,785 
FY 2001 $436,073,531 FY 1991 $305,756,113 
FY 2000 $424,486,824 FY 1990 $294,050,829 
FY 1999 $410,037,087 FY 1989 $292,334,836 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The motor vehicle fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the 
Department of Transportation by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the tax is collected and 
paid to the Department by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of motor vehicle fuel in order to recover it 
from the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
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Table 2 
 
DISTRIBUTION OF MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL TAX COLLECTIONS 
   

 
Fiscal Year 

Highway User 
Revenue Fund 1/ 

Special Funds and 
Refunds 

FY 2008 $492,536,307 $19,137,179 
FY 2007 $497,702,087 $18,506,806 
FY 2006 $489,080,644 $14,129,936 
FY 2005 $481,284,019 $15,056,630 
FY 2004 $463,530,904 $15,298,419 
FY 2003 $446,890,929 $16,973,268 
FY 2002 $434,817,721 $17,733,244 
FY 2001 $418,399,657 $17,673,874 
FY 2000 $409,137,312 $15,349,512 
FY 1999 $397,463,146 $12,573,941 
FY 1998 $366,376,609 $9,971,507 
FY 1997 $363,953,161 $11,183,328 
FY 1996 $358,961,177 $11,119,079 
FY 1995 $342,229,293 $8,739,574 
FY 1994 $334,643,264 $6,608,965 
FY 1993 $315,227,469 $7,345,107 
FY 1992 $307,879,175 $10,117,610 
FY 1991 $296,316,495 $8,939,628 
FY 1990 $286,237,290 $7,813,539 
FY 1989 $286,101,273 $6,233,563 

____________ 
1/ Use Fuel Tax collections excluded. 
   
SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is motor vehicle fuel, which includes all products that are commonly or commercially known or sold as 
gasoline.  This definition includes casinghead gasoline (unprocessed natural gas containing natural gasoline and 
other liquid hydrocarbon vapors produced from an oil well), natural gasoline and all flammable liquids composed of 
a mixture of selected hydrocarbons manufactured or blended for use in internal combustion engines.  Motor vehicle 
fuel does not include transmix, jet or aviation fuel, or any fuels covered under the use fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-101]. 
 
The following are exempted from the motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 
• Motor vehicle fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state 

shipping paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier 
to a distributor for immediate export. 

• Motor vehicle fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was 
subsequently exported across the state border. 

• Motor vehicle fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member.  
• Motor vehicle fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of an 

Indian tribe. 
• Motor vehicle fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a 

point in this state. 
• Motor vehicle fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities. 
 
The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
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TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
A person who buys and uses motor vehicle fuel is entitled to a refund if he or she pays the tax on the fuel and either 
[A.R.S. § 28-5611]: 
 
• uses the fuel for purposes other than for operating a motor vehicle or a watercraft in Arizona, 
• buys aviation fuel for use in aircraft applying seeds, fertilizer, or pesticides, or 
• loses the fuel by fire, theft or other accident. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The motor fuel tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27th day of the succeeding 
calendar month to the Department of Transportation [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 through 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/mvfueltax.pdf
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USE FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The use fuel tax applies to diesel and other fuels, but not to gasoline and alternative fuels.  For vehicles weighing 
less than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate is 18¢ per gallon.  For vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds, the tax rate 
is 26¢ per gallon.  Revenues from the tax are deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The use fuel tax is deposited in the Highway User Revenue Fund [A.R.S. § 28-5730].  (See Highway User Revenue 
Fund Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of the Highway User Revenue Fund.) 
 

Table 1 
USE FUEL TAX COLLECTIONS 

 
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 $207,859,050 FY 1998 $142,166,607 
FY 2007 $210,281,755 FY 1997 $124,748,225 
FY 2006 $213,460,036 FY 1996 $114,779,960 
FY 2005 $194,368,181 FY 1995 $108,789,949 
FY 2004 $179,002,025 FY 1994 $87,912,597 
FY 2003 $166,744,147 FY 1993 $72,008,139 
FY 2002 $161,507,309 FY 1992 $61,909,894 
FY 2001 $155,859,243 FY 1991 $65,201,576 
FY 2000 $156,598,568 FY 1990 $52,876,043 
FY 1999 $160,311,953 FY 1989 $50,796,681 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The use fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the Department 
of Transportation by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the tax is collected and paid to the 
Department by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of use fuel in order to recover it from the consumer 
[A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is use fuel, which includes all gases and liquids used to propel motor vehicles that are not subject to the 
motor vehicle fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5601]. 
 
An interstate user of use fuel on which the use fuel tax has not been paid is required to remit an amount that is 
computed by multiplying the number of gallons of use fuel used by the tax rate per gallon. The taxable gallonage is 
computed on the basis of miles traveled in Arizona as compared to total miles traveled in and outside the state.  The 
actual method of computation is decided by the Department of Transportation [A.R.S. § 28-5720].  
 
The following are exempted from the use fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 
• Use fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal-issued destination state shipping paper, 

and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a distributor 
for immediate export. 

• Use fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and was subsequently 
exported across the state border. 

• Use fuel sold on an Indian reservation to a tribal member. 
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• Use fuel sold off an Indian reservation for purposes of operating a motor vehicle for the benefit of an Indian 
tribe. 

• Use fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in this 
state. 

• Use fuel that has been accidentally contaminated by dye and hence rendered unsalable as highway fuel. 
• Dyed diesel fuel. 
 
NOTE: There is no use fuel tax on alternative fuels [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
The tax rate is 18¢ per gallon for vehicles weighing less than 26,000 pounds.  The tax rate is 26¢ per gallon for 
vehicles weighing more than 26,000 pounds [A.R.S. § 28-5606], except as noted below in Laws 2005, Chapter 278.  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Tax that is accrued in any calendar month shall be paid on or before the 27th day of the succeeding calendar month 
to the Department of Transportation [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 51 clarifies that trucks that are at least 25 years old, are not used commercially, and have been 
issued a Historic Vehicle license plate are subject to the “light class” (less than 26,000 pounds) use fuel rate of 18¢ 
per gallon.  The provisions of this bill are anticipated to result in an annual reduction of use fuel tax revenues of 
$(400,000) to $(800,000).  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 278 decreases the use fuel tax from 26¢ to 13¢ per gallon for vehicles transporting forest 
products.  The tax decrease is in effect from September 1, 2005 through December 31, 2010.  It also allows a person 
to apply to the Arizona Department of Transportation for a refund of the difference between the use fuel tax paid 
and the use fuel tax rate prescribed for a motor vehicle transporting forest products.  This would apply to any person 
who pays the use fuel tax rate for a use fuel class vehicle but who actually uses the fuel for transporting forest 
products.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 249 required the Department of Transportation (ADOT) to deduct a taxpayer’s use tax liability 
from any use fuel tax refund.  A use fuel tax of 26¢ per gallon is imposed on diesel fuel used in the state.  Currently, 
if diesel fuel is consumed for a non-highway purpose, it is exempt from the use fuel tax and ADOT refunds the taxes 
paid.  However, diesel fuel that is consumed for a non-highway purpose is subject to the state’s use tax (as opposed 
to the use fuel tax) at a rate of 5.6% (see Use Tax section on page 23).  Under this legislation, ADOT is prohibited 
from issuing use fuel tax refunds until the amount of use tax owed on the fuel is determined.  ADOT is then required 
to issue a refund of the use fuel tax net of any use tax owed.  (Effective January 1, 2005) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/usefueltax.pdf
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VEHICLE LICENSE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Vehicle License Tax (VLT) is an ad valorem tax levied on registered vehicles in the state.  The tax is levied per 
$100 of a vehicle’s assessed value.  For the first 12 months of the vehicle’s life, the assessed value is 60% of the 
manufacturer’s base retail price.  For each subsequent year, the assessed value is 16.25% less than the previous year.  
The rate per $100 of assessed value is $2.80 for new vehicles and $2.89 for renewals. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Monies received by the Director of the Department of Transportation from this tax are distributed as follows [A.R.S. 
§ 28-5808]: 
 
For monies collected from alternative fuel vehicles, car rental surcharges, and private ambulances, fire fighting 
vehicles, and school buses: 
 
• 37.61% to the Highway User Revenue Fund (HURF)  
• 20.45% to county general funds 
• 4.91% to counties for transportation related purposes 
• 20.45% to incorporated cities and towns 
• 1.64% to the State Highway Fund,  except if the department’s share of Federal Surface Transportation Programs 

monies is greater than $42 million, the difference shall be deposited in the Local Transportation Assistance 
Fund for cities and towns 

• 4.09% to the State Highway Fund 
• 10.85% to the General Fund for school financial assistance 
 
For monies collected from all other eligible vehicles: 
 
• 45% to the HURF 
• 24.6% to county general funds 
• 5.7% to counties for transportation related purposes 
• 24.6% to incorporated cities and towns 
 
(See Highway User Revenue Fund Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of the Highway User 
Revenue Fund.)  
 

Table 1 
VEHICLE LICENSE TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 $858,975,998 FY 1998 $586,835,092 
FY 2007 $875,746,210 FY 1997 $552,348,715 
FY 2006 $831,950,743 FY 1996 $480,300,608 
FY 2005 $747,013,406 FY 1995 $426,019,239 
FY 2004 $695,325,929 FY 1994 $377,593,859 
FY 2003 $628,207,211 FY 1993 $333,479,528 
FY 2002 $601,666,653 FY 1992 $314,914,865 
FY 2001 $570,769,364 FY 1991 $311,789,377 
FY 2000 $583,199,118 FY 1990 $297,267,498 
FY 1999 $594,224,410 FY 1989 $267,293,501 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
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Table 2 
Distribution 

      
 
Fiscal Year 

State General 
Fund 

State Highway 
Fund 

MVD 
3rd Parties 3/ 

Local 
Governments 

DPS Parity 
Comp Fund 

FY 2008 1/ $2,269,219 $175,782,821 $16,304,558 $661,705,985 $2,913,415 
FY 2007 $684,102 $180,569,892 $15,524,579 $675,984,843 $2,982,792 
FY 2006 $585,136 $172,515,319 $13,901,699 $642,162,540 $2,693,307 
FY 2005 2/ $135,073,829 $36,758,445 $11,329,742 $563,851,390  
FY 2004 $800,278 $148,436,587 $9,667,114 $536,421,948  
FY 2003 $975,947 $134,596,889 $8,154,054 $484,480,321  
FY 2002 $70,213 $130,128,937 $6,571,119 $464,896,384  
FY 2001 $475,007 $130,047,925 $4,389,182 $435,857,252  
FY 2000 $24,265,823 $140,307,371 $3,899,329 $414,726,595  
FY 1999 $90,592,289 $132,866,068 $2,378,247 $368,387,805  
FY 1998 $168,833,230 $121,324,834  $296,677,028  
____________ 
1/ Includes an allocation of $1,357,182 from the MVD registration compliance program to the General Fund 

per Laws 2002, Chapter 328 (See Tax Law Changes section).   
2/ In FY 2005, there was a one-time distribution in the amount of $118 million of the State Highway Fund 

share of the HURF portion of the VLT monies to the General Fund.  Additionally, there was an allocation 
of $16.4 million from the MVD registration compliance program to the General Fund. 

3/ Laws 1998, Chapter 200 and Laws 2001, Chapter 326 provide for the reimbursement of authorized MVD 
3rd parties for their services performed.  The majority of reimbursement monies come from the State 
Highway Fund.  

 

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 

 
The enacted FY 2006 budget included a provision that transfers 1.51% of vehicle license tax received for 
distribution to the State Highway Fund to the Parity Compensation Fund beginning in FY 2006.  
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Owners of vehicles that are registered for operation on the highways of Arizona [Arizona Constitution, Article 9, 
Section 11]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
Base 
 
The VLT is levied on the assessed value of each vehicle.  Effectively, the tax is levied on 10 classes of vehicles 
[A.R.S. § 28-5801]:   
 
  (1) Passenger vehicles. 
  (2) Commercial vehicles. 
  (3) Non-commercial one-half ton pick-ups and similar vehicles. 
  (4) Buses. 
  (5) Taxis. 
  (6) Travel trailers. 
  (7) Trailers. 
  (8) Motorcycles and scooters. 
  (9) Privately owned motor vehicles used exclusively as a school bus. 
 (10) Motor vehicles powered by alternative fuels. 
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The taxable value of vehicles in these classes is determined as follows: 
 
Classes 1 through 8 
 
During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of 
the vehicle is 60% of the manufacturer's base retail price.  During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed 
value of the vehicle is 16.25% less than the assessed value for the preceding 12-month period.  
 
Class 9 and Class 10  
 
During the first 12 months of the life of the vehicle (as determined by its initial registration) the assessed value of 
the vehicle is 1% of the manufacturer's base retail price.  During each succeeding 12-month period, the assessed 
value of the vehicle is 15% less than the assessed value for the preceding period [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805]. 
 
If a Class 9 vehicle is temporarily used for purposes other than as a school bus, the taxable value is determined in the 
same manner as Class 1-8 vehicles.  The tax is then assessed and collected monthly in an amount equal to one-tenth 
of the calculated annual VLT for each full month the vehicle is operated for other purposes [A.R.S. § 28-5804]. 
 
EXEMPTIONS 
 
A veteran who is a resident of Arizona and whose vehicle or replacement of such vehicle is acquired by financial aid 
from the Veteran's Administration is exempt from this license tax [A.R.S. § 28-5802]. 
 
No license tax or registration fee shall be collected for a vehicle that is personally owned by a veteran, a veteran and 
another party, or the surviving spouse of a veteran, if such veteran is certified by the Veteran's Administration as 
100% disabled and drawing compensation.  Only one vehicle or its replacement may claim this exemption during 
each 12-month period. 
 
A vehicle owned by a resident who receives disability payments under Title 16 of the Social Security Act is exempt 
from the VLT.  Such resident must show satisfactory proof of such assistance [A.R.S. § 28-5803].  Only one vehicle 
may be claimed by a disabled resident. 
 
Rate 
 
For Classes 1 through 8, the VLT rate is $2.80 per $100 of assessed value for the first 12 months of the vehicle’s 
life, and $2.89 per $100 of value thereafter.  Exception: for noncommercial trailers that are not travel trailers and 
have a gross vehicle weight of less than 6,000 pounds, the VLT is a one-time tax of $105 on initial registration and 
is a one-time tax of $70 on renewal of registration [A.R.S. § 28-5801]. 
 
For Classes 9 and 10, the VLT rate is $4 per $100 of assessed value [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 28-5805]. 
 
For trailers and semitrailers over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight, the VLT is a one-time fee of $555 for trailers 
which have not previously been registered, $355 for trailers less than six years old which have been previously 
registered in another state, and $100 for trailers six or more years old which have been previously registered in 
another state. 
 
Minimum Tax.  For Classes 1 through 8, the minimum amount of the VLT is $10 per year for each vehicle subject to 
the tax [A.R.S. § 28-5801].  For Class 9 and Class 10 vehicles, the minimum VLT is $5 per year [A.R.S. § 28-5804, 
28-5805].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The VLT is due and collected annually at the time of vehicle registration.  Exception: depending on eligibility, 
owners of vehicles may participate in a two-year vehicle registration program and prepay the VLT for the following 
year [A.R.S.  § 28-5801].   
 
The Arizona Department of Transportation collects tax payments and fees. 
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IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law and other revenue changes that have been enacted by the 
Legislature since 2002: 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2003 and 2006. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 291 Allows county VLT monies to be used for any purpose related to transportation as 
determined by the Board of Supervisors instead of limiting the use of VLT monies to the same use as Highway User 
Revenue Fund monies.  (Effective September 26, 2008) 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 294 reduces the VLT on all-terrain or off-highway vehicles to a flat rate of $3 per year.  
Chapter 294 further provides that these vehicles will be subject to an off-highway user fee, which is to be 
determined by the Department of Transportation in cooperation with the Game and Fish Department and the Parks 
Board by January 1, 2009.  This legislation is anticipated to result in a $(2.7) million reduction in VLT revenues in 
FY 2010, the first full year of implementation.  Overall, the legislation is expected to result in net new revenues of 
$5.4 million, with the $(2.7) million loss in VLT revenues offset by $7.2 million in new user fee collections, and 
$1.4 million in new title and license plate fees.  The majority of the new user fee revenues will be deposited into the 
Off Highway Vehicle Recreation Fund, with smaller portions allocated to the State Highway Fund and local 
governments for transportation funding..  (Effective December 31, 2008) 
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 239 makes numerous changes to the existing VLT and vehicle registration fee exemption for 
members of the military who are deployed in support of a worldwide contingency operation of the United States 
armed forces.  Changes include expanding the exemption to include newly acquired vehicles; limiting the exemption 
to military members who are residents of Arizona; providing that the exemption may only be taken one time; and 
limiting the exemption to no more than two vehicles.  This bill is estimated to reduce VLT collections by 
approximately $(360,000) in FY 2008.  This reduction will have no impact on the state’s General Fund, but will 
impact the amount of VLT deposited into the State Highway Fund and distributed to local governments.  (Effective 
September 19, 2007) 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 306 establishes the Parity Compensation Fund consisting of VLT distributions and legislative 
appropriations to fund salaries and benefits for Department of Public Safety law enforcement personnel.  This 
legislation redirects 1.51% of the portion of the VLT revenues for the entire month that would otherwise be 
deposited in the State Highway Fund to the Parity Compensation Fund. It also directs that the appropriation to the 
Parity Compensation Fund from the VLT revenues will not impact the distribution of those revenues to the state 
General Fund and to the counties, cities, and towns. The bill specifies that the Parity Compensation Fund monies do 
not revert to the state General Fund, are exempt from lapsing, and are subject to legislative appropriation. The bill 
becomes effective on the general effective date, retroactive to July 1, 2005.   
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 282 provided that the first $118,000,000 of VLT received in FY 2005, that would normally 
been deposited into the State Highway fund pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-6538, be instead deposited into the state 
General Fund. 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 306 provided that the surviving spouse of a 100% disabled veteran may continue to receive the 
exemption from this tax until remarriage or death.  The fiscal impact of this change is unknown. 
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2002 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 328 provided that 50% of any increase in vehicle license tax collections due to vehicle 
registration enforcement in the motor vehicle division of the department of transportation shall be deposited in the 
state General Fund, and the remaining 50% shall be distributed pursuant to A.R.S. § 28-5808. 
 
Laws 2002, Chapter 221 changed the VLT and registration fees for trailers over 10,000 pounds gross vehicle 
weight based on the model year of the trailer and previous registration in this or any other state.  It provided that 
previously registered trailers over six years old pay a reduced registration fee and previously registered trailers of 
any age pay reduced VLTs.  Registration and VLT rates for the initial registration of these types of trailers remained 
unchanged. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/vlt.pdf
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MOTOR CARRIER FEE 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The motor carrier fee replaced the motor carrier tax with the enactment of Laws 1997, Chapter 8.  The fee is 
annually imposed on vehicles with a weight in excess of 12,000 pounds for the use of public highways.  The amount 
of the fee varies according to vehicle weight, with a maximum fee of $800 for vehicles that weigh up to 80,000 
pounds.  Collections from the motor carrier fee are dedicated to the Highway User Revenue Fund. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 shows a 20-year revenue history for this fee. 
 

Table 1 
MOTOR CARRIER FEE COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 

FY 2008 $40,177,453 FY 1998 $63,845,891 
FY 2007 $45,226,185 FY 1997 $90,186,000 
FY 2006 $40,504,406 FY 1996 $85,433,269 
FY 2005 $37,980,023 FY 1995 $92,103,162 
FY 2004 $34,617,452 FY 1994 $118,530,292 
FY 2003 $32,856,325 FY 1993 $120,303,202 
FY 2002 $29,346,709 FY 1992 $109,573,046 
FY 2001 $32,677,923 FY 1991 $109,573,046 
FY 2000 $36,562,768 FY 1990 $108,655,299 
FY 1999 $34,139,960 FY 1989 $104,339,191 
    

SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 
 
Collections from the Motor Carrier Fee are deposited in the Arizona Highway User Revenue Fund.  (See Highway 
User Revenue Fund Overview at the beginning of this section for distribution of the Highway User Revenue Fund.) 
 
WHO PAYS THE FEE 
 
A person who operates or causes to be operated a motor vehicle on a public highway [A.R.S. § 28-5851].  
 
FEE BASE AND RATE 
 
BASE 
 
Motor vehicle means a motor driven vehicle that has a declared gross vehicle weight of more than 12,000 pounds 
(typically, a delivery type van, a large 1-ton pickup truck, or some recreational vehicles), and is subject to vehicle 
registration, excluding a vehicle that is exempt from gross weight fees [A.R.S. § 28-5851]. 
 
RATE 
 
Motor carriers pay a flat fee that varies with the weight class of the motor vehicle, as shown in Table 2 [A.R.S. § 28-
5854]. 
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Table 2 
FEE SCHEDULE 

    
Vehicle Weight Fee Vehicle Weight Fee 

12,001 - 14,000 lbs. $64.00 32,001 - 36,000 lbs. $155.00 
14,001 - 16,000 lbs. $73.00 36,001 - 40,000 lbs. $173.00 
16,001 - 18,000 lbs. $82.00 40,001 - 45,000 lbs. $336.00 
18,001 - 20,000 lbs. $91.00 45,001 - 50,000 lbs. $374.00 
20,001 - 22,000 lbs. $101.00 50,001 - 55,000 lbs. $412.00 
22,001 - 24,000 lbs. $110.00 55,001 - 60,000 lbs. $450.00 
24,001 - 26,000 lbs. $119.00 60,001 - 65,000 lbs. $627.00 
26,001 - 28,000 lbs. $128.00 65,001 - 70,000 lbs. $693.00 
28,001 - 30,000 lbs. $137.00 70,001 - 75,000 lbs. $750.00 
30,001 - 32,000 lbs. $146.00 75,001 - 80,000 lbs. $800.00 

    

 
The following vehicles are exempt from this fee [A.R.S. § 28-5853]: 
 

• School buses 
• Motor vehicles used in the production of 

- motion pictures 
- industrial, training, and educational films 
- television commercials 
- video discs and video tapes 

 
The director shall compute a reduced fee that is seven-tenths of the original fee if motor carrier pre-qualifies for a 
reduced fee prior to registration and if other specific circumstances regarding vehicle load status are met [A.R.S. § 
28-5855; A.R.S. § 28-5856; A.R.S. § 28-5857]. 
 
The fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven less than 2,000 miles each year is $80.  The 
fee for a vehicle that weighs more than 26,000 pounds and is driven between 2,000 and 4,000 miles a year is $160 
[A.R.S. § 28-5867]. 
 
Non-resident motor carriers or non-resident persons who operate a motor vehicle in this state may purchase a Single-
Trip Motor Carrier Fee Permit instead of paying the regular Motor Carrier Fee.  A Single-Trip Permit is only 
effective during the specific trip for which it is issued.  The Motor Carrier Fee on a Single-Trip Permit is $12 for 50 
miles or less or $48 for more than 50 miles traveled on the highways of this state [A.R.S. § 28-5863]. 
 
The Department of Transportation may also issue a Special 30-Day Motor Carrier Fee Permit for vehicles not in the 
commercial transportation business, only in the state for a limited period of time and will make limited use of 
Arizona's highways.  The Motor Carrier Fee for a Special 30-Day Permit is $96 [A.R.S. § 28-5864]. 
 
TAX REFUNDS AND/OR TAX CREDITS 
 
In the event the director determines that a motor carrier overpaid the fee, penalty, or interest, the director shall credit 
that amount on any current amount due or refund the excess amount [A.R.S. § 28-5859]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Fee is payable at the time the motor vehicle is registered with the state [A.R.S. § 28-5854(B)]. 
 
The collecting agency is the Arizona Department of Transportation [A.R.S. § 28-5854(B)]. 
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IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 through 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/motorfee.pdf
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AVIATION FUEL TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The aviation fuel tax is levied on each gallon of aviation fuel produced or imported into Arizona.  Aviation fuel is 
defined as fuel that is expressly manufactured for use in an internal combustion engine of an aircraft.  The tax rate is 
5¢ per gallon, and revenues are deposited in the State Aviation Fund. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The tax on aviation fuel is deposited in the State Aviation Fund [A.R.S. § 28-8345].  The monies in the fund are 
dedicated to the construction, development, and improvement of airports in the state. 
 

Table 1 
AVIATION FUEL TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 $420,915 FY 1998 $485,333 
FY 2007 $460,470 FY 1997 $514,687 
FY 2006 $462,598 FY 1996 $512,328 
FY 2005 $499,136 FY 1995 $442,980 
FY 2004 $572,686 FY 1994 $690,752 
FY 2003 $646,314 FY 1993 $396,733 
FY 2002 $510,378 FY 1992 $497,186 
FY 2001 $456,476 FY 1991 $582,110 
FY 2000 $481,594 FY 1990 $526,739 
FY 1999 $671,799 FY 1989 $512,297 
    

NOTE:  Prior to FY 1989, the Motor Vehicle Division did not monitor aviation fuel as a 
revenue source.  Though legislation was enacted in FY 1987, the division continued to 
receive refund requests that covered the 12 months preceding the legislation; thus it was 
unable to separately identify Motor Vehicle Fuel and Aviation Fuel Tax collections. 

    
SOURCE:  Department of Transportation, Office of Financial Planning. 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The aviation fuel tax is presumed to be a direct tax on the consumer but is still collected and remitted to the 
Department of Transportation by suppliers for the purpose of convenience.  In other words, the tax is collected and 
paid to the Department by a supplier, who then adds the tax to the price of aviation fuel in order to recover it from 
the consumer [A.R.S. § 28-5606]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is aviation fuel, which means all flammable liquids composed of a mixture of selected hydrocarbons 
manufactured and blended for the purpose operating an internal combustion engine in an aircraft.  Aviation fuel does 
not include fuel used in jet or turbine powered aircraft [A.R.S. § 28-101].  
 
The following are exempted from the aviation fuel tax [A.R.S. § 28-5610]: 
 
• Aviation fuel for which proof of export is available in the form of a terminal issued destination state shipping 

paper, and is either exported by a supplier that is licensed in the destination state, or sold by a supplier to a 
distributor for immediate export. 

• Aviation fuel that was acquired by a distributor on which the tax has previously been paid and that was 
subsequently exported across the state border. 
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• Aviation fuel that is moving in interstate or foreign commerce and that is not destined or diverted to a point in 
this state. 

• Aviation fuel that is sold to the United States or its agencies or instrumentalities. 
 
The tax rate is 5¢ per gallon [A.R.S. § 28-8344]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax that is accrued in any calendar month is to be paid on or before the 27th day of the next succeeding calendar 
month to the Department of Transportation [A.R.S. § 28-5925]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 through 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/aviationtax.pdf
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INTRASTATE UTILITY CORPORATION ASSESSMENTS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
Two separate assessments are imposed on public service corporations to support the statutory duties of the 
Corporation Commission's Utilities Division and the Residential Utility Consumer Office. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Utilities Division.  Proceeds from the Utilities Division assessment are dedicated to the Utility Regulation Revolving 
Fund to pay representing attorneys and the expenses of the Utilities Division of the Corporation Commission, 
including related expenses of the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing Divisions [A.R.S. 
§ 40-408(B-C)]. 
 
Residential Utility Consumer Office.  Proceeds from the Residential Utility Consumer Office assessment are 
dedicated to the Residential Utility Consumer Office Revolving Fund for the operation of the Residential Utility 
Consumer Office [A.R.S. § 40-409(B-C)]. 
 
Disposition.  Both funds are subject to legislative appropriation.  Monies remaining in the funds at the end of the 
fiscal year do not revert to the state General Fund, but are used to calculate the annual assessments [A.R.S. § 40-
408(D-F) and § 40-409(D-F)]. 
 
Table 1 below provides tax collections for the past 20 years.  As noted above, the Utilities Division assessment is 
distributed to the Utility Regulation Revolving Fund, and the Residential Utility Consumer Office assessment is 
distributed to the Residential Utility Consumer Office Revolving Fund. 
 

Table 1 
TAX COLLECTIONS AND DISTRIBUTION 

   

Fiscal Year 
Utilities Division 
Net Collections 

RUCO Net 
Collections 

Total 
Collections 

FY 2008 $14,702,300 $1,313,100 $16,015,400 
FY 2007 $13,787,200 $1,313,300 $15,100,500 
FY 2006 $12,225,000 $1,184,000 $13,409,000 
FY 2005 $11,100,900 $1,110,200 $12,211,100 
FY 2004 $11,158,000 $1,131,700 $12,289,700 
FY 2003 $8,418,500 $1,095,200 $  9,513,700 
FY 2002 $10,622,575 $1,045,200 $11,667,775 
FY 2001 $8,882,000 $1,017,000 $9,899,000 
FY 2000 $7,511,900 $1,068,700 $8,580,600 
FY 1999 $7,237,090 $573,784 $7,810,874 
FY 1998 $6,649,080 $938,274 $7,587,354 
FY 1997 $6,021,300 $1,021,500 $7,042,800 
FY 1996 $5,603,000 $933,600 $6,536,600 
FY 1995 $5,439,400 $1,009,000 $6,448,400 
FY 1994 $5,491,000 $925,300 $6,416,300 
FY 1993 $5,688,327 $814,946 $6,502,273 
FY 1992 $5,529,776 $880,198 $6,409,974 
FY 1991 $6,405,140 $1,044,569 $7,449,709 
FY 1990 $4,925,721 $932,737 $5,858,458 
FY 1989 $5,045,999 $900,308 $5,946,307 

   
SOURCE:  Corporation Commission, Annual Reports. 
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WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 from intrastate operations during the 
preceding calendar year must pay the tax [A.R.S. § 40-401 and § 40-401.01].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the 
qualifying level of revenues was $250,000.) 
 
Exceptions.  Corporations that are not required to hold certificates of convenience and necessity are exempted from 
this assessment [A.R.S. § 40-401(A) and § 40-401.01(A)].  In effect, this exception applies mainly to railroads 
[A.R.S. § 40-281(A)].  The Residential Utility Consumer Assessment also does not apply to member-owned 
nonprofit cooperative corporations.  [A.R.S. § 40-461]. 
 
TAX BASE  
 
Utilities Division.  The assessment for the Corporation Commission's Utilities Division is levied on the gross 
operating revenue from each corporation's intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year [A.R.S. § 40-
401(B)]. 
 
Residential Utility Consumer Office.  The assessment for the Residential Utility Consumer Office is levied on the 
gross operating revenue during the preceding calendar year from each corporation's intrastate operations that served 
residential consumers [A.R.S. § 40-401.01(B)]. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
Utilities Division.  The assessment for the Utilities Division is set at a rate determined by the Corporation 
Commission that will raise monies equal to the amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401(B)]: 
 
(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature to operate the Utilities Division, including related 

appropriations for the Corporation Commission’s Legal, Administration, and Hearing Divisions, for the 
following fiscal year. 

(2) Multiply the amount determined in (1) by 1.2. 
(3) Subtract the monies estimated to remain unexpended in the Utility Regulation Revolving Fund at the end of the 

current fiscal year.  The difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment. 
 
The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s 
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues earned by all such public service corporations. 
 
Residential Utility Consumer Office.  The assessment for the Residential Utility Consumer Office is set at a rate that 
will raise monies equal to the amount determined as follows [A.R.S. § 40-401.01(B)]: 
 
(1) Determine the amount appropriated by the Legislature for operating the Residential Utility Consumer Office for 

the following fiscal year. 
(2) Subtract the monies estimated to remain in the Residential Utility Consumer Office Revolving Fund at the end 

of the current fiscal year.  The difference computed is the amount to be raised by the assessment. 
 
The assessment is allocated to each public service corporation with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 
from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar year proportionate to each public service corporation’s 
share of the total amount of gross operating revenues derived from serving residential consumers earned by all such 
public service corporations. 
 
Maximum Combined Rate.  Notwithstanding the assessment formulas, the combined assessment rates may not 
exceed 0.25% of any corporation's gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the preceding calendar 
year [A.R.S. § 40-401(C) and § 40-401.01(C)].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the combined assessment rates 
could not exceed 0.20%). 
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PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Due Date.  The Corporation Commission must levy both assessments no later than June 15 of each year.  Notice is 
then sent to each corporation by certified mail.  The assessments are due within 15 days after such mailing [A.R.S. § 
40-401(D) and § 40-401.01(D)]. 
 
Collecting Agencies.  The Corporation Commission [A.R.S. § 40-408(B) and § 40-409(B)].  In the event a 
corporation fails or refuses to pay the amount assessed within 15 days without filing objections to the assessment 
statement with the Corporation Commission, the Corporation Commission shall transmit a certified copy of the 
statement of the assessment to the Department of Public Safety.  Within 10 days after receipt of the copy of the 
statement, the Department of Public Safety shall proceed to collect the amount stated due, with legal interest, by 
seizure and sale of any goods or property in the state belonging to the public service corporation [A.R.S. § 40-407]. 
 
Filing Dates.  Public service corporations with gross operating revenues exceeding $500,000 must file an estimate 
of their gross operating revenues from intrastate operations during the previous calendar year on or before January 
10.  All public service corporations must file a statement showing the amount of such revenues received during the 
prior calendar year by May 1, as well as a statement showing the gross operating revenues derived from intrastate 
operations during the preceding calendar year that were received from residential consumers. [A.R.S. § 40-401(E-F), 
and § 40-401.01(E)].  (Prior to Laws 2005, Chapter 79, the threshold for the January 10 filing was $250,000). 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law and other revenue changes that have been enacted by the 
Legislature since 2002.  The estimated dollar impact of these changes is summarized by fiscal year in the following 
table: 
 

Table 2 
 

ANNUAL INCREMENTAL DOLLAR VALUE OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
Session/Chapter Description Revenue Impact 

FY 2004   
  L 2003, Ch. 263 Expand Use of Utility Regulation Revolving Fund $240,000 

FY 2002   
  L 2001, Ch. 238, 300 Expand Use of Utility Regulation Revolving Fund $692,200 

 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2004, 2006, 2007, and 2008. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 79 raises the minimum gross operating revenue threshold that must be met by a company 
regulated by the Arizona Corporation Commission (ACC) to be subject to the assessment from $250,000 to 
$500,000.  It also increases the statutorily established amount that the ACC may assess regulated companies from 
two-tenths of a percent (.002) to one quarter of one percent (.0025) of gross annual operating revenues for deposit 
into the Utility Regulation Revolving Fund and the Residential Utility Consumer Office Revolving Fund.  (Effective 
August 12, 2005) 
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 further expands the use of the Utility Regulation Revolving Fund to include Corporation 
Commissioners’ expenses, which allowed an additional estimated $240,000 of expenses to be shifted from the 
General Fund beginning in FY 2004.  This also has the result of increasing the base used in determining the Utilities 
Division assessment for these years. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/utilitycorp.pdf
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TAX ON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE PREMIUMS 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The tax on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is a tax on the premiums paid by employers to insurance 
carriers for workers’ compensation insurance.  This tax is in lieu of all other taxes on workers' compensation 
insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].  
 
The state requires most employers to obtain such insurance so that employees and their families are provided 
financial protection from industrial injuries or death.  The tax rate may be a maximum of 3% of net premiums, and 
revenues are used for the administrative expenses of the Industrial Commission [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Administrative Fund.  Tax collections for the Administrative Fund are used for all administrative expenses of the 
Industrial Commission.  Expenditures from the Administrative Fund are subject to budgetary review and legislative 
appropriation.  Tax collections to this fund are to be no more than necessary to cover actual expenses, and unless the 
Special Fund (see description below) is not on an actuarially sound basis, any surplus or deficit in revenue above or 
below the expenses shall be included in the calculation of the rate to be fixed the following year [A.R.S. § 23-1081]. 
 
Special Fund.  Tax collections for the Special Fund provide additional compensation payments or awards to promote 
the rehabilitation of disabled workers.  Since July 25, 1981, monies in the Special Fund may be allocated to acquire 
real property or construct and furnish or procure a new office building for the Industrial Commission.  Since April 
19, 1983, the Special Fund may also provide loans to the Administrative Fund [A.R.S. § 23-1065]. 
 
Net collections by fund are provided in Table 1 on the following page. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is paid by insurance carriers issuing workers' compensation 
insurance, employers providing workers' compensation insurance through the self-insurance method, and the State 
Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
TAX BASE  
 
The tax on workers’ compensation insurance premiums is levied on total direct premiums paid or contracted for 
during the preceding calendar year minus deductions for cancellations, returned premiums, policy dividends, refunds 
and similar amounts paid or credited to policyholders within this state and not reapplied as premiums for new, 
additional or extended insurance [A.R.S. § 23-961].  The above applies to premiums paid to insurers or the State 
Compensation Fund.  For self-insured employers, the tax is based on the premiums that would have been paid by the 
employer if fully insured under a plan available from the State Compensation Fund during the preceding calendar 
year.  Employers of domestic servants are not subject to the "workmen's compensation" statutes [A.R.S. § 23-902]. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
The total tax rate is composed of 2 separate rates: 
 
(1) Tax Rate for Administrative Fund.  3% of net premiums, but for self-insured employers, not less than $250 

annually [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
(2) Tax Rate for Special Fund.  1.5% of net premiums is the maximum rate allowed but, for self-insured 

employers, the minimum annual payment is $250.  The tax rate for the Special Fund may be adjusted 
downward by the Industrial Commission so that revenues received are no more than necessary to keep the 
Special Fund actuarially sound [A.R.S. § 23-1065].  According to the Industrial Commission, the base tax rate 
was set at 1.5% of net premiums in FY 2007, with an additional assessment of 0.5% to cover Special Fund 
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liabilities in excess of $6,000,000, and a further 0.5% to reimburse the State Compensation Fund.  The total 
effective Special Fund assessment was 2.5%.   

 
Table 1 

TAX COLLECTIONS 
    

Calendar 
Year 

Net Collections 
Administrative Fund 1/ 

Net Collections 
Special Fund 2/ 

 
Total Net Collections 

2007 $31,786,900 $26,490,900 $58,277,800 
2006 $28,382,700 $23,653,400 $52,036,100 
2005 $24,647,200 $20,540,600 $45,187,800 
2004 $21,758,100 $10,888,700 $32,646,800 
2003 $20,117,300 $0 $20,117,300 
2002 $15,716,000 $0 $15,716,000 
2001 $16,257,700 $0 $16,257,700 
2000 $13,894,800 $0 $13,894,800 
1999 $14,792,900 $0 $14,792,900 
1998 $15,600,000 $0 $15,600,000 
1997 $  9,600,000 $0 $  9,600,000 
1996 $12,300,000 $0 $12,300,000 
1995 $10,513,000 $0 $10,513,000 
1994 $11,653,700 $1,600 $11,655,300 
1993 $20,728,400 $2,400 $20,730,800 
1992 $19,384,800 $3,432,900 $22,817,700 
1991 $16,244,400 $5,153,000 $21,397,400 
1990 $15,657,900 $6,059,000 $21,716,900 
1989 $12,840,500 $7,788,200 $20,628,700 
1988 $13,117,000 $6,625,300 $19,742,300 

____________ 
1/ Laws 1993, 2nd Special Session, Chapter 9, provides that tax collections for the 

Administrative Fund will be no more than necessary to cover actual expenses. 
2/ The base tax rate to the Special Fund is not to exceed 1.5% and is set at a rate no more 

than necessary to keep it actuarially sound. An additional 0.5% tax may be levied to 
cover Special Fund Liabilities in excess of $6 million, and a further 0.5% may be 
authorized to reimburse the State Compensation Fund. 

 
SOURCE:  Industrial Commission. 

 
The Industrial Commission may, after notice and a hearing, levy an additional 0.5% of net premiums to meet 
liabilities of the Special Fund in excess of $6 million [A.R.S. § 23-1065(F)]. 
 
The Industrial Commission has the authority to increase the Special Fund tax assessment by up to 0.5% of that 
assessment in any one year.  This additional assessment is to reimburse the State Compensation Fund for payments 
made to individuals whose self-insured employer or insurance carrier fails to pay a claim or comply with a 
commission order [A.R.S. § 23-966]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax is due annually, on or before March 31 for self-insured employers, and on or before March 1 for all other 
covered insurance carriers and the State Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
Since the 1983 tax year, insurance carriers and the State Compensation Fund are required to make quarterly 
payments on the tax for the Administrative Fund if their tax liability for the preceding calendar year was $2,000 or 
more.  Quarterly payments are submitted to the state on or before the last day of the month following the close of 
each quarter.  All quarterly payments are deducted from the tax that is payable on the regular March due date 
[A.R.S. § 23-961].  The quarterly payments are to equal one of the following: 
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(1) The tax due on net premiums collected or contracted for during the preceding calendar quarter, or 
(2) 25% of the tax paid or required to be paid for the preceding calendar year. 
 
Any overpayment of taxes resulting from the quarterly payments may be refunded by the Industrial Commission 
without interest [A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
The tax for the Administrative and Special Fund is paid to the State Treasurer through the Industrial Commission 
[A.R.S. § 23-961]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007, or 2008. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 213 authorizes the Industrial Commission to transfer a surplus of the Administrative Fund to 
the Special Fund if the Special Fund is not found to be actuarially sound.  The bill stipulates that if the Special Fund 
is not actuarially sound, the tax rate for the Administrative Fund cannot be changed.  (Effective August 12, 2005) 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 307 requires the State Compensation Fund to meet the same requirements as other workers’ 
compensation insurance providers with respect to the deposit of cash or securities with the State Treasurer.  It 
expands the allowable use of the Special Fund to pay expenses related to determining liability, and allows the 
Special Fund to make claims against insurance carriers and employers for investigative costs.  (Effective August 25, 
2004) 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/workcomp.pdf
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TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES EXCISE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The Telecommunications Services Excise Tax is composed of 2 separate taxes.  The Emergency Telecommunication 
Services tax finances 911 emergency telecommunication services.  Beginning in FY 2007, the Telecommunications 
Provider Proceeds tax solely provides funding for the Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing.  The 
Poison Control System within the Department of Health Services (DHS), the Arizona State Schools for the Deaf and 
the Blind (ASDB), and the Teratogen Information Program administered by the University of Arizona Health 
Sciences Center previously received revenues from the Telecommunications Provider Proceeds Tax. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides a history of the distribution of the Telecommunications Services Excise Tax. 
 
Table 1      

DISTRIBUTION OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICES EXCISE TAX COLLECTIONS 
      

Fiscal Year 

Emergency 
Telecomm. Svcs. 
Revolving Fund 

Telecomm. Fund 
for the Deaf 

Poison  
Control Fund 

AZ State  
Schools for the 

Deaf & the Blind 

Teratogen 
Information 

Program 
FY 2008 $17,332,349 $6,581,940 - - - 
FY 2007 $23,074,167 $6,744,231 - - - 
FY 2006 $28,736,951 $3,860,508 $1,128,621  867,140 $48,678 
FY 2005 $27,245,559 $4,035,765 $1,066,833 $1,363,179 $53,771 
FY 2004  $25,691,865 $5,091,661 $1,437,566 $1,362,312 - 
FY 2003 $23,510,706  $6,338,095 $2,340,528 - - 
FY 2002 $21,927,338  $6,395,057 $2,365,295 - - 
FY 2001 $11,337,064  $5,514,542 $2,039,625 - - 
FY 2000 $9,353,630  $4,960,224 $1,834,603 - - 
FY 1999 $9,266,210  $5,158,289 $1,907,860 - - 
FY 1998 $8,375,062  $4,908,914 $1,815,626 - - 
FY 1997 $6,668,099 $4,284,353 $1,584,624 - - 
FY 1996 $6,068,018 $5,355,897 - - - 
FY 1995 $5,743,686 $4,943,715 - - - 
FY 1994 $5,320,210 $3,395,370 - - - 
FY 1993 $4,986,710 $3,091,965 - - - 
FY 1992 $4,582,888 $2,234,417 - - - 
FY 1991 $3,809,222 $1,797,501 - - - 
FY 1990 $3,619,425 $1,654,601 - - - 
FY 1989 $3,677,444 $1,161,617 - - - 
      
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports (FY 2008 amounts are preliminary). 

 
 
Emergency Telecommunication Services Revolving Fund.  For fiscal years 2001 through 2006, each month a 
telecommunications provider shall pay 37¢ for each activated wire, Voice Over Internet Protocol (VoIP), and 
wireless service account into this fund.  For FY 2007, this amount is reduced to 28¢.  From and after FY 2007, the 
amount deposited in the fund shall be 20¢ per activated wire, VoIP and wireless service account [A.R.S. § 42-
5252(A-1 through A-3)]. 
 
Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf.  An amount equal to 1.1% of the provider’s gross proceeds of sales or gross 
income from wired telephone lines.  [A.R.S. § 42-5252(B)]. 
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WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
Public service corporations offering telephone or telecommunications services which provide local exchange access 
services or two-way voice commercial mobile radio services, commonly called a "provider" or “wireless provider” 
[A.R.S. § 42-5251]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
TAX BASE 
 
The Emergency Telecommunication Services tax rate is imposed on each wire account, Voice over Internet Protocol 
(VoIP) account and wireless accounts  [A.R.S. § 42-5252(A-1 through A-3)]. 
 
The Telecommunications Provider Proceeds tax rate is imposed on the provider's gross proceeds of sales or gross 
income from the business of providing exchange access services [A.R.S. § 42-5252(B)].  Exchange services are 
essentially wired telephone or telecommunication exchange lines that provide access from the customer to the local 
telecommunication network.  This tax does not apply to wireless and VoIP. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
Emergency Telecommunication Services.  For FY 2001-FY 2006, an amount equal to 37¢ for each activated wire 
and wireless service account.  For FY 2007, the rate is 28¢ per activated service.  Beginning from and after 
FY 2008, the rate is 20¢ per activated service [A.R.S. § 42-5252(A-1 through A-3)]. 
 
Telecommunications Provider Proceeds.  An amount equal to 1.1% of the provider’s gross proceeds of sales or 
gross income from wired telephone lines [A.R.S. § 42-5252(B)]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Each provider remits the tax monthly, in the same manner and time as the Transaction Privilege Tax, to the 
Department of Revenue the amount due, accompanied by an information return. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002 and 2007. 
 
2006 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2006, Chapter 351 amended A.R.S. § 42-5252 to redistributed telecommunications services excise tax 
revenues from the ASDB, the Poison Control System, and the Teratogen Information Program to the Commission 
for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing, leaving the commission with 100% of collections from the tax, or 1.1% 
provider’s gross proceeds of sales or gross income from wired telephone lines.  (Effective July 1, 2006)  
 
2005 TAX LAWS  
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 328 amended A.R.S. § 42-5252 to reallocate a portion of the Telecommunications Provider 
Proceeds Tax from ASDB, which will now receive 0.16% of providers’ gross proceeds, to the Poison Control 
System within the DHS, which will now receive 0.25%, of providers’ gross proceeds.  This will result in a shift of 
$400,000 from ASDB’s share of the tax revenues in FY 2006 to Poison Control.  ASDB’s budget was backfilled 
with $400,000 from the General Fund in FY 2006 to replace the $(400,000) decrease in funding from the 
Telecommunications Services Excise Tax.  The change in allocations addresses an estimated (10)% decline in 
revenue from the tax in FY 2006 primarily due to an increase in the amount of wireless telephone and Voice over 
Internet Protocol users.  The decline in revenue would have caused a reduction in Poison Control activities. 
(Effective August 12, 2005) 
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2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 305 amended A.R.S. § 42-5252 to reallocate a portion of the Telecommunications Provider 
Proceeds Tax from the Telecommunication Fund for the Deaf, which now will receive 0.68% of providers’ gross 
proceeds, to the Teratogen Information Program Fund, which will receive 0.01% of providers’ gross proceeds.  The 
Teratogen Information Program will include information on possible teratogen exposure, educational programs and 
materials, and a toll-free telephone number to provide information.  (Effective June 30, 2004) 
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 amended A.R.S. § 42-5252 to expand the purposes for which this excise tax may be used 
to also include the Poison Control System and the operating costs of the ASDB.  Of the 1.1% total surcharge on 
local phone bills, the act permanently allocated 0.69% to the Commission for the Deaf and the Hard of Hearing 
(Commission), 0.18% to DHS, and 0.23% to ASDB.  In prior years 0.8% of the 1.1% tax was allocated to the 
Commission and the remaining 0.3% was allocated to DHS.  The FY 2004 appropriations from the tax to the 
Commission and DHS were not reduced as a result of the statutory changes since the new allocations provided 
adequate funding for Commission and DHS operations.  The act also established an ASDB Telecommunications 
Tax Fund consisting of monies received from the telecommunications tax. 
 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/telecom.pdf
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UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The tax applies to certain petroleum products and hazardous substances regulated under the Federal Comprehensive 
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980.  The tax finances the Assurance Account of the 
Underground Storage Tank Revolving Fund to provide partial coverage for corrective action costs incurred by the 
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and owners, operators, or political subdivisions.  This tax became 
effective from and after July 1, 1990. 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 273 repeals the Underground Storage Tank (UST) Program and the associated 1¢ excise tax on 
or after July 1, 2011.  The program will be replaced by the Regulated Substance Fund. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The Director of the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) acts as the collecting agent for the Director of 
DEQ and is required by the 20th day of each month to distribute the Underground Storage Tank (UST) Tax monies, 
net of administrative costs, received during the preceding calendar month to the Director of DEQ [A.R.S. § 28-
6001].  The tax monies are then credited into the Underground Storage Tank Revolving Fund as follows [A.R.S. § 
49-1036]: 
 
• Nine-tenths to the Assurance Account. 
• One-tenth to the Grant Account.  When the balance exceeds $5,600,000, the excess amount is credited to the 

Assurance Account.  The cap was reached in August 1994 and deposits are now credited to the Assurance 
Account. 

 
No funding is currently credited to the Regulatory Account, which will consist of monies appropriated by the 
Legislature, expenses, costs and judgements recovered, fees, and gifts. 
 
Monies generated and collected from Maricopa County are segregated from the monies collected and generated in 
other counties and are deposited in an Area A Account.  [A.R.S. § 49-541] 
 
Assurance Account.  Tax monies in this account can be used in the following manner [A.R.S. § 49-1051]: 
 
• Partial coverage for corrective action costs incurred by a political subdivision or an owner or an operator of an 

underground storage tank which is subject to the tax. 
• Reimburse DEQ for costs in taking corrective actions [A.R.S. § 49-1017]. 
• Reimburse DEQ for "reasonable" administration costs.  
 
Legislative Report.  The Director of DEQ by December 1 each year shall report to the Legislature the Assurance 
Account activities and make recommendations for any revisions to the tax rate in order to maintain an average 
Assurance Account balance of $36,000,000 [A.R.S. § 49-1051 (D)]. 
 
Reimbursable Costs.  The Assurance Account may be used to reimburse costs of corrective actions incurred in soil 
and groundwater remediation.  Effective July 1, 1996, groundwater and soil remediation coverage ceilings were 
raised to $1,000,000 from $225,000 for those persons with a $25,000 deductible policy [A.R.S. § 49-1054]. 
 
Grant Account Termination.  The Grant Account and the DEQ’s authority to issue grants terminated on December 
22, 2002. 
 
Grant Account Transfer.  All unobligated monies remaining in the Grant Account on December 31, 2002 are 
transferred to the Municipal Tank Closure and Corrective Action Program Account [A.R.S. § 49-1073]. 
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Table 1 
UNDERGROUND STORAGE TANK TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 $31,581,687 FY 1998 $26,829,641 
FY 2007 $32,091,982 FY 1997 $23,056,300 
FY 2006 $36,174,109 FY 1996 $24,624,400 
FY 2005 $30,759,200 FY 1996 $24,624,400 
FY 2004 $28,090,000 FY 1995 $23,125,400 
FY 2003 $27,769,100 FY 1994 $24,785,500 
FY 2002 $27,819,100 FY 1993 $18,572,600 
FY 2001 $30,025,484 FY 1992 $18,405,130 
FY 2000 $28,963,803 FY 1991 $17,284,600 
FY 1999 $27,761,117   

    
SOURCE:  Department of Environmental Quality. 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The operator and owner of an underground storage tank which serves as the final dispenser of motor vehicle fuel, 
aviation fuel, diesel and other regulated substances is responsible for payment of this tax.  Underground storage tank 
means tank(s) used to contain regulated substances with at least 10% of its volume underground [A.R.S. § 49-1001 
and 49-1031(B)]. 
 
Excluded are: 
1) non-commercial types of tanks  
2) certain regulated pipeline facilities  
3) tanks owned and operated by Indian tribes 
4) septic tanks or wastewater collection systems 
5) surface water impoundment pit 
6) tanks situated on the floor of an underground area such as a basement. 
 
A separate license is not required for payment of this tax [A.R.S. § 28-6003(B)]. 
 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax rate is 1¢ per gallon of regulated substance placed in a tank in any calendar year [A.R.S. § 49-1031]. 
 
"Regulated substance" means petroleum or a substance defined in the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 
Compensation and Liability Act of 1980, not including a substance regulated as hazardous waste under the Solid 
Waste Disposal Act of 1984 [A.R.S. § 49-1001]. 
 
The tax does not apply to (1) underground storage tanks operated by the Federal or State Government or (2) USTs 
used for jet fuel [A.R.S. § 49-1031(C)].  Indian tribes are also exempt but through an intergovernmental agreement 
may participate in the partial coverage by paying the UST Tax [A.R.S. § 49-1055]. 
 
Additional fees 
 
Owners and operators subject to the UST Tax shall pay an annual registration fee of $100 for each tank [A.R.S. § 
49-1020]. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax is due and payable annually by March 31 for the proceeding calendar year and is delinquent if not 
postmarked or delivered in person by that same date.  A return is required to be filed at this time [A.R.S. § 49-1032].  
But most taxpayers make periodic payments to ADOT at the same time and manner as the Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax.  
This refers to those distributions of products that ADOT normally collects for, such as gasoline, aviation fuel, and 
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diesel oxygenated fuel.  Other regulated substances such as kerosene, new and used oil, and CERCLA hazardous 
substances shall be collected by DEQ at the annual March 31 date mentioned above  [A.R.S. § 28-1599.45(D)]. 
 
The Director of DEQ may extend the filing time for "good cause" provided at least 90% of the tax liability is paid 
upon the extension request [A.R.S. § 49-1033]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002.  
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2003, 2006, 2007 and 2008. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 332 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and B3, for FY 2006 
and the Department of Environmental Quality may transfer $6,031,000 from the Assurance Account of the 
Underground Storage Tank Revolving Fund for administrative costs of the Underground Storage Tank Leak 
Prevention Program and funding for the Used Oil Program. 
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 280 suspends the administrative cap established in A.R.S. § 49-1051B2 and B3, for FY 2005 
and the Department of Environmental Quality may transfer $6,930,900 from the Assurance Account of the 
Underground Storage Tank Revolving Fund for administrative costs of the Underground Storage Tank Leak 
Prevention Program, funding for the Used Oil Program and integrating the Assurance Account and UST databases 
into a single database. 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 273 repeals the Underground Storage Tank (UST) Program and the associated 1¢ excise tax 
on or after July 1, 2011.  The program will be replaced by the Regulated Substance Fund (RSF).  The legislation sets 
June 30, 2010 as the last date to make a claim against the SAF.  RSF is to receive $60,000,000 from the Assurance 
Account.  Any amount in excess of $60,000,000 goes to the General Fund.  If the Assurance Account total is less 
than $60,000,000, the 1¢ tax will continue to be imposed until a balance of $60,000,000 is accumulated in the RSF, 
or until December 31, 2013, whichever comes first.  At that point, the UST Program and the tax will be repealed.  
The RSF will then be the funding source for underground storage tanks where the owner cannot be located.  
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/understoragetk.pdf
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UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
To reduce the economic insecurity due to unemployment, the Legislature enacted laws for the compulsory setting 
aside of unemployment reserves for the benefit of persons unemployed through no fault of their own.  Thus, each 
employer is required to make contributions to the state based on wages paid for employment.  These contributions 
are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Fund and used to pay benefits to such unemployed persons. 
 
Pursuant to Laws 2000, Chapter 383, the state began levying a new tax referred to as the Job Training Employer Tax 
as of January 1, 2001.  This tax is imposed on each employer in the state at 0.1% of taxable wages.  To hold 
employers harmless, the state also reduced the unemployment tax rate by the same percentage.  The new tax is 
collected by the Department of Economic Security, and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund (for more 
information, see separate description under the Job Training Employer Tax section). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Contributions are deposited in the Unemployment Compensation Fund and are used for the benefit of persons 
unemployed through no fault of their own [A.R.S. § 23-701]. 
 
Table 1 

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE TAX COLLECTIONS 
 
     

 
Fiscal Year 

 
Total Collections 

Unemployment 
Tax Contributions 

Reimbursement 
Payments in Lieu of Tax 

Federal 
Reimbursements 

FY 2008 $301,561,384 $282,038,804 $14,111,465 $5,411,115 
FY 2007 $324,836,608 $304,835,124 $13,736,790 $6,264,694 
FY 2006 $311,615,055 $288,389,906 $16,099,858 $7,125,290 
FY 2005 $254,702,773 $228,222,848 $18,269,674 $8,210,251 
FY 2004 $239,618,898 $162,309,395 $20,411,672 $56,897,831 
FY 2003 $228,540,796 $135,055,266 $16,718,797 $76,766,733 
FY 2002 $185,776,445 $137,021,529 $11,142,567 $37,612,349 
FY 2001 $173,555,672 $161,067,162 $6,967,171 $5,521,339 
FY 2000 $164,634,552 $153,057,470 $6,880,773 $4,696,309 
FY 1999 $187,458,343 $175,626,310 $7,138,106 $4,693,927 
FY 1998 $212,383,380 $199,086,932 $8,009,523 $5,286,925 
FY 1997 $221,693,418 $206,596,749 $8,137,939 $6,958,730 
FY 1996 $234,080,469 $216,800,153 $9,393,816 $7,886,500 
FY 1995 $219,218,067 $200,018,374 $10,731,555 $8,468,138 
FY 1994 $250,185,770 $177,017,525 $11,103,155 $62,065,090 
FY 1993 $241,049,444 $124,839,134 $10,575,310 $105,635,000 
FY 1992 $172,742,164 $  99,307,405 $10,032,259 $63,402,500 
FY 1991 $113,606,086 $  99,799,840 $7,491,246 $6,315,000 
FY 1990 $121,038,767 $105,222,899 $9,870,868 $5,945,000 
FY 1989 $124,207,365 $112,569,050 $6,393,315 $5,245,000 

     
SOURCE: Department of Economic Security, Research Administration, Economic Analysis. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The unemployment insurance tax is paid by Arizona employers or employing units [A.R.S. § 23-726].  (For 
definition of employer and employing unit see A.R.S. § 23-613.) 
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The following employers are excluded from the definition of employer and are therefore not subject to the 
unemployment insurance tax: 
 
(1) Any employer who has not employed at least one individual for some portion of a day in each of 20 different 

calendar weeks during the current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $1,500 or more in wages in any 
calendar quarter of the current or preceding calendar year.  This exclusion does not apply to an employer of the 
following services: 
(a) Services performed in the employ of this state or any of its instrumentalities, any political subdivisions of 

this state and their instrumentalities or any combination of these employing units with each other or with 
similar employing units in other states. 

(b) Services performed for an employing unit that volunteer for coverage. 
(c) Services that are subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax, when a credit may be taken against the 

federal tax for amounts paid into the State Unemployment Compensation Fund. 
(d) Services performed for an employing unit that acquires the business of a covered employer. 

(2) Any employing unit that has not employed at least 10 individuals in each of 20 calendar weeks during the 
current or preceding calendar year and has not paid $20,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the 
current or preceding calendar year for agriculture employment. 

(3) An employing unit that has not paid $1,000 or more in wages in any calendar quarter of the current or 
preceding calendar year for domestic service in a private home, local college club, or local chapter of a college 
fraternity or sorority. 

(4) An employer that has a quarterly Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund contribution amount of less than $10. 
 
NOTE: Employers, once covered by unemployment insurance, are not permitted to terminate coverage simply by 
virtue of this exemption [A.R.S. § 23-725]. 
 
TAX BASE 
 
The tax base is the wages from employment.  The unemployment insurance tax is levied on the first $7,000 of wages 
paid by an employer to each employee during a calendar year.  Wages means remunerations for services from 
whatever source including commissions, bonuses, fringe benefits and the cash value of remuneration in any medium 
other than cash [A.R.S. § 23-622].  (Exclusions from the statutory definition of wages are provided in A.R.S. § 23-
622(B).) 
 
The following services are not included in definition of employment [A.R.S. § 23-615 and § 23-617]: 
 
(1) Service performed outside of the United States or in connection with a foreign vessel or aircraft. 
(2) Service performed in the employ of a son, daughter or spouse. 
(3) Service performed by an individual under the age of 21 in the employ of his father or mother. 
(4) Service performed while in the employ of the United States Government. 
(5) Service performed while in the employ of an instrumentality of the United States Government that is wholly or 

partially owned by the United States or is exempt from the tax imposed by Section 3301 of the Federal Internal 
Revenue Code, unless unemployment taxation by the states is permitted by federal law. 

(6) Service performed entirely in the employ of another state or its political subdivisions or in the employ of an 
instrumentality that is wholly owned by one or more states or political subdivisions and which exercises only 
governmental as distinguished from proprietary functions. 

(7) Services performed in the employ of political subdivisions or other states if exempt under the United States 
Constitution from the tax imposed by Section 3301 of the Federal Internal Revenue Code, unless performed in 
the employ of this state and one or more other states or their instrumentalities. 

(8) Services performed in the employ of this state, its political subdivisions or any instrumentalities of this state 
and its subdivision in any of the following capacities: 
(a) As an elected official or member of a legislative body or the judiciary. 
(b) In a major non-tenure policy-making or advisory position or a policy-making or advisory position that 

does not require more than 8 hours per week to perform. 
(c) As a member of the State National Guard or Air National Guard. 
(d) On a temporary basis when an emergency has been declared. 

(9) Services performed in the employ of this state or any of its instrumentalities, for a hospital or institution of 
higher education located in this state, or services performed for a religious, charitable, educational, or other 
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organization exempt from the Federal Unemployment Tax Act under Section 3306(C) in any of the following 
capacities: 
(a) As part of an unemployment work-relief or work-training program financed in whole or in part by a 

government entity. 
(b) In connection with a rehabilitation program for individuals whose earnings capacity is impaired by age or 

physical or mental deficiency or injury. 
(c) Services performed by inmates of custodial and penal institutions. 
(d) Services performed in the employ of a church, convention or association of churches or an organization 

operated primarily for religious purposes under the direction of a church or convention or association or 
churches. 

(e) Services performed by an ordained or licensed minister or by a member of a religious order in 
performance of duties required by the order. 

(10) Service for which unemployment compensation is payable under a system established by an act of Congress 
unless a credit is offered against such payments for contributions to a State Unemployment Fund. 

(11) Services performed in any calendar quarter in the employ of an organization exempt from income tax under 
Sections 501(a) or 521 of the Federal Internal Revenue Code, if remuneration for such service is less than $50.  
This exemption does not apply to organizations described in Section 401(a) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

(12) Service performed in the employ of a school, college or university by a) a student regularly attending classes, 
or b) the spouse of a student, if the spouse is advised that the employment is provided under a program of 
financial assistance to the student and that the employment will not be covered by any program of 
unemployment compensation. 

(13) Services performed in the employ of a non-profit religious, charitable, scientific, educational or literary 
organization or in the employ of societies for the prevention of cruelty to children or animals or organizations 
performing testing for public safety.  This exemption does not apply to the following services: 
(a) Services performed in the employ of an organization that had in its employ 4 or more individuals for some 

portion of a day in each of 20 weeks during the current or preceding calendar year, if these organizations 
are exempt from Section 3306(C) of the Federal Unemployment Tax Act. 

(b) Services performed in the employ of an organization liable for any federal tax against which credit may be 
taken for contributions paid into the State Unemployment Insurance Fund. 

 
NOTE: According to the Unemployment Insurance Administration within the Department of Economic Security, 
none of the organizations listed is exempt under this provision because of the effects of (a) and (b). 
 
(14) Services performed by student nurses and interns while in the employ of a hospital or nurses training school. 
(15) Service performed by an individual under the age of 18 in the distribution or delivery of newspapers to the 

ultimate consumer. 
(16) Service performed by an individual in the sale of newspapers or magazines to the ultimate consumer, when the 

sales are made under an arrangement by which the employee's compensation is based on the retention of the 
amount he receives in excess of what was charged for the newspapers or magazines.  

(17) Service performed in the employ of a foreign government. 
(18) Service performed in the employ of an instrumentality wholly owned by a foreign government, if the foreign 

government grants an equivalent exemption to employees of the United States government for service of a 
similar nature. 

(19) Service covered by an arrangement between the Department of Economic Security and agencies charged with 
the administration of any other state or Federal Unemployment Compensation Law when services performed 
for the agency are deemed to be performed within that agency's state. 

(20) Casual labor not in the course of the employer's trade or business. 
(21) Services performed by an individual for an employing unit as an insurance agent, insurance solicitor, licensed 

real estate salesman or broker, licensed cemetery salesman or broker or a securities salesman, if such service is 
performed for remuneration solely by way of commission. 

(22) Services performed by an individual enrolled as a full-time student at a nonprofit or public educational 
institution in a program that combines academic instruction with work experience.  This exemption does not 
apply to services subject to the Federal Unemployment Tax, when a credit may be taken against the federal tax 
for amounts paid into the State Unemployment Compensation Fund. 

(23) Service performed by a patient in the employ of a hospital. 
(24) Services performed by individuals engaged in door-to-door sales of consumer goods who receive commissions, 

overrides or profits based on such sales.  This exemption does not apply to employees of nonprofit 
organizations or employees of this state or its political subdivisions or instrumentalities.  



Unemployment Insurance Tax 

- 198 - 

(25) Services performed by individuals in the preparation of tax returns, if the only remuneration received for such 
service is in the form of a commission.  This exemption does not apply to employees of nonprofit organizations 
or employees of this state or its political subdivisions or instrumentalities. 

 
TAX RATE 
 
The standard rate of contribution is 5.40% of the wages paid by the employer during each calendar year [A.R.S. § 
23-728].   
 
An employer, whose account has not been chargeable with benefits during the 12 consecutive calendar month period 
ending June 30 of the preceding calendar year, pays a contribution rate of 2.70% [A.R.S. § 23-729]. 
 
A revised contribution rate is computed if the employer's account has been subject to charges for benefits for the 
above period.  The revised rate will depend on the employer's reserve, which is the contributions received from the 
employer versus benefits charged [A.R.S. § 23-730]: 
 
(1) If the employer's total contributions, paid on or before July 31 of the preceding calendar year from wages paid 

prior to July 1 of the preceding calendar year, equals or exceeds the total benefits chargeable to the employer's 
account prior to July 1 of the preceding calendar year with respect to weeks of unemployment beginning prior 
to July 1; the contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year is determined by the employer's Positive Reserve 
Ratio.  An employer's reserve ratio is the percentage that results from dividing the reserve surplus (the excess 
of contributions paid to the Unemployment Fund over benefits charged to the employer's account) by the 
employer's average annual payroll.  The new contribution rate is determined from the Positive Reserve Ratio as 
shown below: 

 
Table 2  

  
Positive Reserve Ratio Contribution Rate 

less than 3% 2.60% 
3% to 4% 2.40% 
4% to 5% 2.15% 
5% to 6% 1.90% 
6% to 7% 1.65% 
7% to 8% 1.40% 
8% to 9% 1.15% 

9% to 10% 0.90% 
10% to 11% 0.65% 
11% to 12% 0.40% 
12% to 13% 0.15% 
13% or more 0.02% 

 
(2) If an employer's reserve equals zero, the contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year shall be 2.70%. 
(3) If the total of all employer's contributions, paid on or before July 31 of the preceding calendar year from wages 

paid by an employer prior to July 1 of such year, is less than the total benefits chargeable to the employer's 
account prior to July 1 of such year, with respect to the weeks of unemployment beginning prior to July 1, the 
employer's contribution rate for the ensuing calendar year shall be determined from the employer's Negative 
Reserve Ratio in accordance with the table provided below.  An employer's Negative Reserve Ratio is the 
percentage resulting from dividing the employer's reserve deficit (the excess of benefits charged over 
contributions paid) by the employer's average annual taxable payroll. 

 
NOTE: Benefits paid as a result of unemployment due to a labor dispute, strike or lockout is not used as a factor in 
determining the contribution rate of affected employers [A.R.S.  § 23-777(C)]. 
 
The table applicable to rate computation for calendar year 2001 and thereafter is: 
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Table 3  
  

Negative Reserve Ratio Contribution Rate 
less than 3% 2.85% 

3% to 4% 3.05% 
4% to 5% 3.35% 
5% to 6% 3.55% 
6% to 7% 3.80% 
7% to 8% 4.05% 
8% to 9% 4.30% 

9% to 10% 4.55% 
10% to 11% 4.80% 
11% to 12% 5.05% 
12% to 13% 5.30% 
13% or more 5.40% 

 
Employer contribution rates may be further adjusted depending on the level of assets in the Unemployment 
Compensation Fund [A.R.S. § 23-730].  The ratio of total assets of such fund on July 31 to the total taxable payrolls 
for the preceding year is designated as the Fund Ratio, and is used to determine the Required Income Rate in 
accordance with the following schedule: 
 

Table 4  
  

Fund Ratio Required Income Rate 
12.0% or more 0.40% 
10.0% to 12.0% 0.50% 
9.5% to 10.0% 0.60% 
9.0% to 9.5% 0.70% 
8.5% to 9.0% 0.80% 
8.0% to 8.5% 0.90% 
7.5% to 8.0% 1.00% 
7.0% to 7.5% 1.10% 
6.5% to 7.0% 1.20% 
6.0% to 6.5% 1.30% 
5.5% to 6.0% 1.40% 
5.0% to 5.5% 1.50% 
4.5% to 5.0% 1.70% 
4.0% to 4.5% 1.80% 
3.5% to 4.0% 2.00% 
3.0% to 3.5% 2.20% 
less than 3.0% 2.40% 

 
Each year the department computes the Estimated Required Tax Yield from employers.  This is the product of the 
total taxable payrolls for the preceding year multiplied by the Required Income Rate as determined from the Fund 
Ratio.  The contribution rates are adjusted proportionately if the Estimated Required Tax Yield differs from the 
amount that would be collected using the contribution rates determined from the employer's Reserve Ratio.  An 
employer's final rate of contribution is never less than 0.10% [A.R.S. § 23-730]. 
 
Certain non-profit organizations, this state or other states and their political subdivisions may elect to make 
payments in lieu of contributions equal to the regular benefits and one-half of the extended benefits paid 
[A.R.S. § 23-750]. 
 
Since 1982, certain employers who implement a Shared Work Plan have been assigned an extra contribution rate in 
addition to the regular unemployment contribution rate [A.R.S. § 23-765].  A Shared Work Plan is a written plan 
under which an employer arranges to secure unemployment benefits for a group of his employees working a reduced 
work week, as an alternative to a complete lay off of some or all these employees.  The law provides that the 
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additional rate is paid by employers with Shared Work Plans only when they have a Negative Reserve Ratio as 
follows: 
 

Table 5  
  
 
 
Reserve Ratio 

Percentage Added 
to Regular Contribution Rate for the 

Next Calendar Year 
-.05 or less and greater than -.15 1% 
-.15 or less 2% 

 
The additional rate does not apply if any of the following conditions apply: 
 
(1) The employer has a positive reserve ratio or a reserve ratio equal to zero. 
(2) The employer's account has not been charged with shared work benefits during the prior 12-month period, if 

the employer's reserve ratio is more favorable than it was as of the least computation date. 
(3) The employer's account has not been charged with shared work benefits during the prior 24-month period. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Contributions are paid by employers on a quarterly basis with due dates determined by the Department of Economic 
Security [A.R.S. § 23-723].  The Department serves as the collecting agency [A.R.S. § 23-726(A)]. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 2003, 2006 and 2007. 
 
2008 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2008, Chapter 36 established a statutory time limit of 6 years for the Department of Economic Security to 
collect delinquent Unemployment Insurance contributions, payments in lieu of contributions, interest or penalties.  
The law suspends the 6-year time limit if the Department of Economic Security has initiated civil action to collect 
the debt.  Laws 2008, Chapter 36 also repealed and rewrote statute relating to the authority of the Department of 
Economic Security to release, subordinate and withdraw liens. 
 
2005 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2005, Chapter 178 provided language for the state to comply with the federal State Unemployment Tax Act 
(SUTA) Dumping Prevention Act of 2004.  SUTA dumping refers to a tax evasion scheme where shell companies 
are formed and creatively manipulated to obtain low unemployment insurance tax rates.  Laws 2005, Chapter 178 
established rules and defined penalties intended to prevent SUTA dumping.  (Effective August 12, 2005)   
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 251 made miscellaneous changes in beneficiary eligibility requirements and increased the 
maximum weekly benefit from $205 to $240 per week beginning July 1, 2004.  Beginning January 1, 2005, an 
employer is not required to contribute to the UI Trust Fund or to pay the job training employer tax if its quarterly 
contribution amount is less than $10. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/unemployins.pdf
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JOB TRAINING EMPLOYER TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The state established a job training program administered by the Department of Commerce in 1993.  In order to 
receive state funding, employers had to provide at least 25% of the total program training costs.   
 
As of January 1, 2001, the state began levying a new job training employer tax to provide job training for both new 
and existing employees.  The tax is imposed on each employer in the state at 0.1% of taxable wages.  The tax is 
collected by the Department of Economic Security and deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund.  To receive 
monies from the fund, employers are required to contribute a portion of the training costs, up to 50% of the total, 
depending on the type of worker receiving the training.  The 0.1% job training tax was accompanied by a 
corresponding decrease in the unemployment tax rate in order to hold employers harmless to the new tax. 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
The job training employer tax is deposited in the Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769].   
 

Table 1 
JOB TRAINING EMPLOYER TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year Net Collections Fiscal Year Net Collections 
FY 2008 NA FY 2004 $12,350,720 
FY 2007 $15,973,538 FY 2003 $12,549,532 
FY 2006 $14,653,279 FY 2002 $13,371,382 
FY 2005 $13,317,153 FY 2001 $6,478,539 
    

SOURCE: Department of Commerce.  
 

 
The fund provides grants to train new and existing employees for new and expanding companies and companies 
undergoing economic conversion with the following conditions [A.R.S. § 41-1541 and A.R.S. § 41-1544]: 
 
• Employers pay 50% of the costs associated with training existing workers and 25% of the cost to train new 

employees    
• A minimum of 25% of the monies in the fund must be used to provide training to businesses employing less than 

100 people 
• A minimum of 25% must be used to train workers in rural areas of the state 
• No more than 50% of the monies in the fund can be used for incumbent worker training 
• Single grants do not make up more than 10% of the fund total 
 
Training is provided by state community colleges, private post-secondary educational institutions, community 
colleges operated by a tribal government or another qualified training provider. 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 allowed the Legislature to appropriate monies from the Job Training Fund to help fund the 
Department of Economic Security’s Job Opportunity and Basic Skills (JOBS) Program, which provides job training 
to welfare clients.  Monies have been appropriated to the JOBS program twice, with $3,829,400 and $3,914,400 
being appropriated in FY 2004 and FY 2005, respectively. 
 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The job training employer tax is levied on one-tenth of 1% of taxable wages paid to an employee each year [A.R.S. 
§ 23-769]. 
 
The following employers are not subject to the job training employer tax pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-769: 
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(1) Employers who have elected to become liable for payment in lieu of contributions pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-750.  
These are generally non-profit agencies or governmental entities. 

(2) Until the excise tax imposed pursuant to 26 United States Code section 3301 is reduced to 6% or less, 
companies: 
(a) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 13% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730  
(b) With a positive reserve ratio of at least 12% but less than 13% 
(c) That are assigned the contribution rate of 2% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-729 or 2.7% pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-

730.  Contribution rates determined each year.  Companies that paid 2.7% or above of an employee’s salary 
towards Unemployment Insurance are exempt from contributing towards the job training tax. 

(d) With a negative reserve ratio pursuant to A.R.S. § 23-730 
 
TAX BASE 
 
The tax base is the wages from employment. 
 
TAX RATE 
 
0.1% of taxable wages paid to an employee each year. 
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
The tax is collected quarterly by the Department of Economic Security with monies deposited to the Department of 
Commerce’s Arizona Job Training Fund [A.R.S. § 23-769].  All monies deposited in the fund are to be expended for 
costs related to training, except for the Department of Commerce reimbursing the Department of Economic Security 
for the development costs of establishing the system to collect the job training employer tax and ongoing collection 
costs [A.R.S. § 41-1544].  Ongoing tax collection costs average $775,000 per year. 
 
IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
This tax was established in 2000 (effective January 1, 2001).  There were no changes enacted to this tax in 2002, 
2005, 2006, and 2008. 
 
2007 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2007, Chapter 293 delays the date of repeal of the Job Training Tax and Job Training Fund from December 
31, 2007 to December 31, 2011.  The law also eliminates the provisions that allowed unawarded monies from the 
minimum percentages set aside for rural and small business job training grants to be awarded to any qualified 
applicant after June 15 of each fiscal year.  Furthermore, the law enumerates employer costs that are ineligible for 
reimbursement from the Job Training Fund, increases business representation on the Governor’s Council on 
Workforce Policy from 51% to 55% of the membership, and requires the Department of Commerce to create an 
online application system for the Job Training Fund.      
 
2004 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2004, Chapter 251 exempts an employer from paying the job training employer tax if its quarterly 
Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund contribution amount is less than $10. (Effective January 1, 2005) 
 
2003 TAX LAWS 
 
Laws 2003, Chapter 263 permits the use of monies from the Job Training Fund to be used for Department of 
Economic Security’s JOBS Program, which provides job training for welfare clients.  
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/jobtraining.pdf
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WATER USE TAX 
 
 
DESCRIPTION 
 
The tax is applied on water use by a municipal water delivery system.  The tax, together with various registration or 
license fees, provides a dedicated funding source for the Water Quality Assurance Revolving Fund (WQARF). 
 
DISTRIBUTION 
 
Table 1 below provides historical water use tax collections since FY 1991.  Net tax collections (gross collections 
less collection fees) are deposited in WQARF by the State Treasurer.  [A.R.S. § 42-5304].  Allowable uses of 
WQARF-monies are detailed in A.R.S. § 49-282(E).  
 

Table 1 
WATER USE TAX COLLECTIONS 

    
Fiscal Year WQARF Fiscal Year WQARF 

FY 2008 $2,920,293 FY 1999 $1,957,725 
FY 2007 $2,449,270 FY 1998 $1,842,707 
FY 2006 $2,403,644 FY 1997 $1,909,981 
FY 2005 $2,156,683 FY 1996 $1,842,707 
FY 2004 $2,195,590 FY 1995 $1,653,929 
FY 2003 $2,150,995 FY 1994 $1,637,633 
FY 2002 $2,214,093 FY 1993 $1,469,845 
FY 2001 $2,120,483 FY 1992 $1,490,480 
FY 2000 $2,081,879 FY 1991 $829,722 

 
SOURCE:  Department of Revenue, Annual Reports. 
 

 
WHO PAYS THE TAX 
 
The tax is paid by the owners or operators of municipal water delivery systems [A.R.S. § 42-5302(B)]. 
 
A "municipal water delivery system" is an entity that distributes or sells potable water mainly through a pipeline 
system owned by either:  [A.R.S. § 42-5301] 
 
• An incorporated city or town. 
• A private entity regulated as a public service corporation by the Arizona Corporation Commission. 
• A special taxing district under Title 48, Chapter 6 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. 
• An entity regulated as a water supply system by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

 
TAX BASE AND RATE 
 
The tax base is gallons of water delivered to customers of a municipal water delivery system.  Water delivered to a 
customer for resale is exempt from this tax.  The tax rate is 0.65 of one cent per 1,000 gallons of water delivered to 
customers [A.R.S. § 42-5302(A)].  
 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE 
 
Payment of the Water Use Tax, if the municipal water delivery system is also subject to the Transaction Privilege 
Tax, is reported and paid monthly to the Department of Revenue with the Transaction Privilege Tax.  Otherwise, the 
due and delinquent date is the same as the Transaction Privilege Tax [A.R.S. § 42-5302(B) and A.R.S. § 42-5014].  
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IMPACT OF TAX LAW AND REVENUE CHANGES 
 
The following section is a summary by year of tax law changes that have been enacted by the Legislature since 
2002. 
 
There were no changes enacted to this tax in the period from 2002 to 2008. 
 
A listing of tax law changes prior to the 2002 legislative session is available on the JLBC Web site located at 
www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/08taxbk.pdf.  
 
 

http://www.azleg.gov/jlbc/08taxbook/waterusetax.pdf
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APPENDIX 
 

FISCAL IMPACT OF STATUTORY TAX CHANGES 
 
 
This report details the estimated dollar value of individual historical tax law changes enacted by the Legislature 
since FY 1989.  The report is limited to tax law changes with a General Fund revenue impact. 
 
The report includes individual tables for calendar years 1988 through 2008.  The tables provide a listing of tax law 
changes for each calendar year, and the estimated dollar revenue impact of these changes for ensuing fiscal years.  
Also included is a one-page summary of the estimated impact of tax law changes for each fiscal year, which 
provides the estimated marginal dollar value of tax law changes relative to the prior year. 
 
Since the repeal of the state property tax in 1996, the General Fund revenue impact of property tax legislation is 
often negligible.  Instead, property tax law changes typically affect the General Fund by increasing Arizona 
Department of Education (ADE) expenditures.  Generally, any legislation that reduces the local property tax base 
results in higher General Fund expenditures.  Under the statutory K-12 funding formula, the state share of education 
funding increases whenever local property values decrease.  This higher level of K-12 spending is not reflected in 
the following tables. 
 
There are several caveats related to the estimated dollar impact of tax law changes included in this report.  The 
impact of the 0.6% sales tax authorized by Proposition 301 in 2000 has not been included in the following tables.  
Also, the tobacco tax increases authorized by Proposition 303 in 2002 and Propositions 201 and 203 in 2006 have 
not been included.  The revenues generated by these tax law changes were deposited into dedicated funds; therefore 
they did not have a General Fund impact. 
 
Additionally, no inflation factors have been applied to the “out year” estimates, which may understate their impact.  
Also, the estimates do not include a “dynamic” component.  The potential behavioral impact on taxpayers of tax cuts 
or tax increases has not been incorporated in the numbers.  It is very difficult to estimate how inflationary changes, 
as well as changes in taxpayer behavior over a period of time, would have impacted the estimated dollar value of tax 
law changes enacted in prior years.  As a result, cumulative totals for the marginal annual values of the tax law 
changes are not provided. 
 
The estimated incremental value of tax law changes for FY 2009 is a $(34.5) million decrease.  This amount 
includes a $(33.5) million incremental impact for tax law changes enacted in prior years, primarily the second year 
of the implementation of the use of an optional enhanced sales factor in computing corporate income tax.  In 
addition, it includes the $(1.0) million impact of 2008 legislation conforming to new Internal Revenue Service 
changes.  Details of the tax law changes may be found in the Economic and Revenue Forecast section of the FY 
2009 Appropriations Report. 
 
 
JLBC Staff 
September 2008 



Total 2/

Fiscal Sales Individual Corporate Property Other Annual
Year Tax Income Tax Income Tax Tax Taxes Changes

1989 23,100.0        35,400.0        29,000.0        28,200.0        6,000.0          121,700.0      
1990 7,000.0          63,900.0        -                 22,600.0        15,800.0        109,300.0      
1991 (4,404.0)         118,680.0      30,900.0        49,640.0        13,560.0        208,376.0      
1992 (377.5)            9,200.0          400.0             -                 485.0             9,707.5          
1993 (7,972.1)         (13,500.0)       -                 (1,343.0)         3,472.0          (19,343.1)       
1994 (12,243.5)       (10,776.0)       -                 (1,200.0)         (1,233.0)         (25,452.5)       
1995 (21,217.0)       (102,826.0)     4,200.0          (850.0)            -                 (120,693.0)     
1996 (46,151.9)       (202,260.5)     (18,000.0)       (18,256.0)       -                 (284,668.4)     
1997 (23,449.3)       (950.0)            (60.0)              (150,078.0)     -                 (174,537.3)     
1998 (59,907.9)       (114,969.0)     2,601.9          -                 (105.0)            (172,380.0)     
1999 (3,684.2)         (51,091.5)       (7,015.2)         -                 (80,000.0)       (141,790.9)     
2000 (8,402.3)         (27,177.9)       (13,982.3)       (51.6)              (55,000.0)       (104,614.1)     
2001 (3,392.0)         (82,895.0)       (46,486.1)       (30.0)              (25,000.0)       (157,803.1)     
2002 (2.1)                9,825.3          (40,759.6)       (2,234.9)         -                 (33,171.3)       
2003 (2.2)                11,384.5        21,567.0        (1,738.3)         (18,830.0)       12,381.0        
2004 -                 -                 -                 7,000.0          50,418.1        57,418.1        
2005 -                 (1,834.0)         -                 (7,000.0)         3,892.0          (4,942.0)         
2006 (600.0)            (14,200.0)       (3,250.0)         -                 -                 (18,050.0)       
2007 (1,678.6)         (176,090.0)     (10,990.0)       -                 (5,000.0)         (193,758.6)     
2008 (100.0)            (185,510.0)     (31,900.0)       -                 -                 (217,510.0)     
2009 -                 (4,470.0)         (30,080.0)       -                 -                 (34,550.0)       

2/ Each yearly amount represents the incremental dollar value of tax law changes relative to the prior year.  For 
example, the total net tax reduction in FY 2001 relative to FY 2000 was $(157.8) million.

Estimated Incremental Dollar Value of General Fund Tax Changes 1/

($ in Thousands)

1/ The estimates exclude one-time increases or decreases in revenue collections.  The tax changes also exclude 
General Fund distribution formula changes and additional K-12 expenditures that were the direct result of 
property tax legislation.



FY 1988 FY 1989
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 10,000.0
Ch. 271

Federal Income Tax Windfall Cap 25,400.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 35,400.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Elimin. of Lower Cap. Gains Rate 14,000.0
Ch. 271

Controlled Corp. Dividends Conformed 13,000.0
Ch. 271

Depletion Deduction Conformed 1,000.0
Ch. 271

Elimination of Gasoline Deduction 1,000.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 29,000.0

SALES AND USE
Accounting Allowance Cap. - $500 3,000.0
Ch. 271

No Exemption for Semi-conductors 1,700.0
Ch. 271

Taxation of Casual Commercial Rents 3,300.0
Ch. 271

Hotel/Motel Tax Increase to 5.5% 4,200.0
Ch. 271

Rental Real Property Increase to 5% 10,900.0
Ch. 271

TOTAL SALES AND USE 23,100.0

PROPERTY
Assessment Ratio Freeze to 1987 1,600.0
Ch. 271

QTR for Homeowners Capped 9,300.0
Ch. 271

State Education Rate Set at $0.09 17,300.0
Ch. 271
TOTAL PROPERTY 28,200.0

OTHER
Increase Ins. Prem. Tax to 2.0% 6,000.0
Ch. 4

TOTAL OTHER 6,000.0

    TOTAL 121,700.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1988
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1989 FY 1990
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 1,900.0
Ch. 211

Eliminate Deduction of Fed. Excise Tax 4,000.0
Ch. 211

Federal Windfall Retention 16,800.0
Ch. 312

Reduce Consumer Interest Deduction to 50% 39,000.0
Ch. 312

Taxation of Previous Exempt Pensions 2,200.0

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 63,900.0

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Taxation of Catalog Sales 7,000.0
Ch. 312

TOTAL SALES AND USE 7,000.0

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School District Tax 26,000.0
Ch. 312

Tax Reduction for Unorg. Districts (3,400.0)
Ch. 312

TOTAL PROPERTY 22,600.0

OTHER
Minimum VLT to $30 15,800.0
Ch. 4

TOTAL OTHER 15,800.0

    TOTAL 109,300.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1989
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1990 FY 1991
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 4,880.0
Ch. 63
Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base, Increased
Tax Rates 110,000.0
Ch. 3

Limitation of Renters Credit 3,800.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 118,680.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity 5,300.0
Ch. 63
Tax Simplification - Widened Tax Base 25,600.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 30,900.0

SALES AND USE
Elimination of Account Allowance 8,000.0
Ch. 3

Tax Reduction - Rental Real Property (1,800.0)
Ch. 3

County Property Tax Relief (10,000.0)
Ch. 3

Rodeo Sales Exemption (47.0)
Ch. 239

Tax Suspension - Federal Bldgs. (94.0)
Ch. 251

Bed Tax to Tourism (463.0)
Ch. 391

TOTAL SALES AND USE 4,404.0

PROPERTY
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax 40,700.0
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes 8,940.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL PROPERTY 49,640.0

OTHER
Minimum QTR School Dist. Tax = Salt River 7,000.0
Ch. 3

Assessment Ratio Changes = Salt River 660.0
Ch. 3

Minimum VLT Reduction (3,600.0)
Ch. 3

Cigarette Tax Increase 9,500.0
Ch. 3

TOTAL OTHER 13,560.0

    TOTAL 208,376.0

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1990
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1991 FY 1992 FY 1993 FY 1994

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Federal Conformity 7,600.0 7,600.0 7,600.0
Ch. 146
Eliminate Ret. Contrib. Subtraction 1,600.0 1,600.0 1,600.0
Ch. 155

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 9,200.0 9,200.0 9,200.0

CORPORATE INCOME
Federal Conformity 400.0 400.0 400.0
Ch. 146

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 400.0 400.0 400.0

SALES AND USE
Membership Camping Tax 122.5 122.5 122.5
Ch. 31

Medical Equipment Exemption (500.0) (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 200

TOTAL SALES AND USE (377.5) (377.5) (377.5)

PROPERTY
Rental property; Assess. Reduction (1,200.0) (2,400.0)
Ch. 134
TOTAL PROPERTY (1,200.0) (2,400.0)

OTHER
Drano Tax Repeal 320.0 320.0 320.0
Ch. 184

Groundwater Fees 165.0 165.0 165.0
Ch. 211

TOTAL OTHER 485.0 485.0 485.0

    TOTAL 9,707.5 8,507.5 7,307.5

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1991
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1992 FY 1993
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Exemptions Phase-in (12,000.0)
Ch. 290

Withhold Penalty Forgiveness (1,500.0)
Ch. 220

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (13,500.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Church Leases Exemption (50.0)
Ch. 29

Restaurant Food:  Use Tax Exemp. (100.0)
Ch. 32

Motion Picture Sales Tax Refund (67.1)
Ch. 96

Semi-Trailers, Bowl Games Exemption (600.0)
Ch. 135

Feed and Seed Exemption (1,600.0)
Ch. 162

Lessor Utility Exemptions (1,921.0)
Ch. 215

Manufactured Bldgs. Exemptions (100.0)
Ch. 217

Aircraft Sales Tax Exemptions (300.0)
Ch. 222

Microwave Systems Exemptions (84.0)
Ch. 237

R & D Equipment Exemptions (250.0)
Ch. 238

Repeal Aircraft Exemptions (2,900.0)
Ch. 290

TOTAL SALES AND USE (7,972.1)

PROPERTY
Widow/Widower Exemption (50.0)
Ch. 5

Local Telecom. Property (70.0)
Ch. 41

Pipeline Valuations (50.0)
Ch. 51

Sewer/Wastewater Prop. Cent. Valued 27.0
Ch. 347

TOTAL PROPERTY (143.0)

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1992
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1992 FY 1993

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1992
($ in Thousands)

OTHER
VLT: Rental Car Surcharge 600.0
Ch. 219

Cigarette Luxury Stamps (100.0)
Ch. 55

Jet Fuel Reduction (1,028.0)
Ch. 221

Insurance Premium Tax Offset 4,000.0
Ch. 290

TOTAL OTHER 3,472.0

    TOTAL (18,143.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.
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FY 1993 FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Increased Dependent Exemption (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0) (5,600.0)
Ch. 9

Increased Exemption - Elderly (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0) (2,700.0)
Ch. 9

Accelerate Medical Deductions (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0) (2,300.0)
Ch. 9

Alternative Fuel Vehicles Credit (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0) (176.0)
Ch. 160

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0) (10,776.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME

SALES AND USE
Phase-out of Commercial Lease Tax (8,100.0) (26,300.0) (47,300.0) (70,600.0) (96,300.0)
Ch. 9

Feed Lots Exemption (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8) (331.8)
Ch. 64
Residential Care Homes - Use Exemp. (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 103

Motion Picture Tax Refund (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4) (20.4)
Ch. 104

Retail Classifications Changes (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3) (138.3)
Ch. 132

Health Care Centers - Exemptions (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0) (227.0)
Ch. 199

Alternative Use Fuel - Exemption (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0) (50.0)
Ch. 206

Nursing Care Leases (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0) (976.0)
Ch. 212

Sales Deductions - Telecomm. Charges (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 240

TOTAL SALES AND USE (12,243.5) (30,443.5) (51,443.5) (74,743.5) (100,443.5)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Wine Commission Fees (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0) (33.0)
Ch. 40

Liquor License Fees (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0) (1,200.0)
Ch. 133

TOTAL OTHER (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0) (1,233.0)

    TOTAL (24,252.5) (42,452.5) (63,452.5) (86,752.5) (112,452.5)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1993
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity 6,200.0 6,200.0
Ch. 41

Personal Income Tax Cut (106,900.0) (106,900.0)
Ch. 41

Medical Savings Account (175.0)
Ch. 45

Water Conservation Inc. Tax Credit (1,626.0) (1,874.0)
Ch. 90

Income Tax Benefit Rule (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 354

Pollution Control Credits (1,500.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (102,826.0) (104,749.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 10,000.0 10,000.0
Ch. 41

Lower Corporate Rate (5,800.0) (5,800.0)
Ch. 41

Consolidated Returns 1/ (13,400.0)
Ch. 41

Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,200.0 (10,200.0)

SALES AND USE
MITRA; Chemicals (4,000.0)
Ch. 41

Super Bowl Exemption (481.9)
Ch. 145

Personal Property Liquidators (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 174

Prison Food TPT Exemption (80.0) (80.0)
Ch. 240

University Cars Exemption (57.0) (57.0)
Ch. 305

Feed Exemption (655.0) (655.0)
Ch. 307

Amusement/Instruc. Exemption (825.0) (825.0)
Ch. 312

Tax Accounting (11,870.0)
Ch. 346

Omnibus Alternative Fuels (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 353
Government Contract Overhead (8,000.0)
Ch. 377

TOTAL SALES AND USE (3,017.0) (27,368.9)

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1994
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1994 FY 1995 FY 1996

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1994
($ in Thousands)

PROPERTY
MITRA; 1% Personal Prop./Phasedown (16,496.0)
Ch. 41
Livestock (660.0)
Ch. 102

Homeowners' Rebate Freeze 0.0 0.0
Ch. 41 Not Included-Tax Cut as Spending Increase

Telecommunications Cos. Valuations (850.0) (850.0)
Ch. 271

TOTAL PROPERTY (850.0) (18,006.0)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (102,493.0) (160,323.9)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 41 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns, which was
    to be spread over 10 years.  In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit (refer
    to Calendar Year 2006 tax law changes page at the end of this section).
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FY 1995 FY 1996 FY 1997
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Reduction (200,000.0) (200,000.0)
Ch. 9

Summer Schools and Jobs (337.5) (337.5)
Ch. 236

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (200,337.5) (200,337.5)
CORPORATE INCOME
Consolidated Tax Returns (400.0) (400.0)
Ch. 31

Lower Corporate Rate (2,200.0) (2,200.0)
Ch. 41

Pollution Control Credits (1,000.0) (1,000.0)
Ch. 117

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,600.0) (3,600.0)

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Refund (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 98

Sales Tax Amenities (700.0) (700.0)
Ch. 267

TOTAL SALES AND USE (800.0) (800.0)

PROPERTY
Personal Property Tax Reductions (17.3)
Ch. 9

Property Tax Reduc. Min. Value (78.0)
Ch. 137

Possessory Interest; Repeal (1,100.0) (1,100.0)
Ch. 294

TOTAL PROPERTY (1,100.0) (1,178.0)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (205,837.5) (205,915.5)
Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1995
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1996 FY 1997 FY 1998
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Income Tax Definitions (860.0) (860.0)
Ch. 49

Neighborhood Protection Deductions (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 309
TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (950.0) (950.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Neighborhood Protection Act (60.0) (60.0)
Ch. 309

Enterprise Zones: Tax Credits (1,575.1)
Ch. 344
TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (60.0) (1,635.1)

SALES AND USE
Arts Fund; Partnership (1,475.9)
Ch. 186

Prime Contracting Sales Tax (30,000.0)
Ch. 319

Movie Studios Incentives (49.3) (49.3)
Ch. 322

Homeowners Organizations (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 326

TOTAL SALES AND USE (194.3) (31,625.2)

PROPERTY
Property Tax Reductions (150,000.0) (150,000.0)
Ch. 2 - Does not include $50M in spending

TOTAL PROPERTY (150,000.0) (150,000.0)

OTHER

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (151,159.3) (184,210.3)
Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1996
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1997 FY 1998 FY 1999
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Tax Credit; School Tuition Organizations (8,443.2)
Ch. 48
Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (8,030.8)
Ch. 300

IRS Conformity (3,330.0) (3,330.0)
Ch. 63

Energy Conservation Incentives (34.1)
Ch. 137

Income Adjustments (749.0) (749.0)
Ch. 238

Air Quality Omnibus (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 274

Savings Account; Postsecondary Ed. (20.4)
Ch. 171

Tax Relief Act of 1997 - Rates Reductions (110,800.0) (110,800.0)
Ch. 8

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (115,129.0) (131,657.5)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity 4,177.0 4,177.0
Ch. 62

Welfare Reform; Arizona Works (585.2)
Ch. 300

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 4,177.0 3,591.8

SALES AND USE
Light Vehicle Fees (2,000.0) (2,000.0)
Ch. 110

Used Oil Amendments (92.2) (92.2)
Ch. 178

Use Tax Exemptions - Libraries (36.9) (36.9)
Ch. 227

Sales Tax; Nursing Homes (2,000.0)
Ch. 245

Omnibus Tax Changes (542.9) (542.9)
Ch. 274

TOTAL SALES AND USE (2,672.0) (4,672.0)

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Agriculture Omnibus (90.0) (90.0)
Ch. 228

Health Care Omnibus (15.0) (15.0)
Ch. 268

TOTAL OTHER (105.0) (105.0)

    TOTAL (113,729.0) (132,842.7)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1997
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1998 FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Prop. 200 - Campaign Finance (1,279.1) (1,279.1)

Alternative Fuels (923.0) (2,854.8) 0.0
Ch. 221

Omnibus Taxation of 1998 160.0 (3,240.0) (6,410.0) (6,410.0)
Ch. 283

Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions (30,000.0) (50,000.0) (50,000.0)
Ch. 3

Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208

Tax Exemptions; Exempts; Credits (1,347.0) (1,347.0)
Ch. 286

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME 160.0 (34,163.0) (63,030.9) (60,176.1)

CORPORATE INCOME
Income Tax Credits; Coal Taxes (1,600.0) (1,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 137
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - Rates Reductions and 
Deduction Elimination (10,000.0) (20,000.0) (20,000.0)
Ch. 3

Wheels to Work (1,140.0) (1,140.0)
Ch. 208

Tax Exemptions, Deductions (577.3) (577.3)
Ch. 286

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,600.0) (23,317.3) (23,317.3)

SALES AND USE
Sales and Use; Printing (100.0) (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 132

Flight Property Exemptions (110.0) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 177

Alternative Fuels (577.0) (1,434.6) (1,434.6)
Ch. 221

Tax Exemptions, Deductions (60.0) (857.2) (296.5) (296.5)
Ch. 286

TOTAL SALES AND USE (60.0) (1,644.2) (1,961.1) (1,961.1)

PROPERTY
Telecommunications (19.3) (19.3)
Ch. 220

Widow, Widowers Exemption (32.3) (32.3)
Ch. 261

TOTAL PROPERTY (51.6) (51.6)

OTHER
Tax Relief Act of 1998 - VLT Rate Reduction (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)
Ch. 3

TOTAL OTHER (80,000.0) (100,000.0) (100,000.0)

    TOTAL 100.0 (127,407.2) (188,360.9) (185,506.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1998
($ in Thousands)
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FY 1999 FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Public Retirement Benefits (1,766.7) (1,766.7)
Ch. 50
Alternative Fuel Vehicles (427.1)
Ch. 168 

Taxpayer Bill of Rights (200.0) (600.0) (400.0)
Ch. 250

IRS Conformity (240.0) 2,330.0 690.0 (3,190.0)
Ch. 317

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (240.0) 2,130.0 (2,103.8) (5,356.7)

CORPORATE INCOME
Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Rate 
Reduced from 8.0% to 7.0%; R&D Cap. 
Removed (37,000.0) (74,000.0)
Ch. 5

Income Allocation (Airline Bill) (700.0) (1,400.0)
Ch. 190

Alternative Fuel Vehicles (1,052.1)
Ch. 168

IRS Conformity 5,170.0 2,920.0 2,920.0 890.0
Ch. 317

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 5,170.0 2,920.0 (35,832.1) (74,510.0)

SALES AND USE
Sales Tax Exemption; Expendables (100.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0) (3,500.0)
Ch. 153

Tax Relief and Fiscal Control (Trigger) Mining 
Severance Tax Reduction (4,667.0) (8,000.0) (8,000.0)
Ch. 5
TOTAL SALES AND USE (100.0) (8,167.0) (11,500.0) (11,500.0)
PROPERTY
Omni. Reconciliation - Personal Property 
(Expend.) (30.0) (30.0)
Ch. 5 Does not include $21.4M spending

TOTAL PROPERTY (30.0) (30.0)

OTHER
Omni. Reconciliation - VLT Cut (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)
Ch. 5
TOTAL OTHER (35,000.0) (60,000.0) (60,000.0)

    TOTAL 4,830.0 (38,117.0) (109,465.9) (151,396.7)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 1999
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2000 FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Renewable Energy Incentives (57.0)
Ch. 214

Technology Training Credit (300.0) (300.0)
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity (680.0) (2,796.0) (3,260.0) (636.0)
Ch. 252

Agricultural Preservation District (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 267

Character Instruction Tax Credit (75.0) (75.0)
Ch. 313

Handicapped Preschoolers Tax Credit (100.0) (100.0)
Ch. 394

Clean Air Act (15,750.0)
Ch. 405 (neighborhood electric vehicle credit)

Clean Air Act 1/ (59,100.0) (26,700.0) (3,100.0)
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

Alternative Fuels Program Changes (4,427.0)
Ch. 1 (7th Special Session)

Low-income Tax Credit 1/ (20,100.0) (20,100.0)
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

Tuition Tax Credit (3,750.0) (3,847.5)
Ch. 1 (5th Special Session)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (680.0) (82,073.0) (54,385.0) (28,315.5)

CORPORATE INCOME
Technology Training Credit (2,500.0) (2,500.0)
Ch. 239

IRS Conformity (15.0) 21.0 175.0 149.0
Ch. 252

Clean Air Act 192.3 192.3
Ch. 405

Clean Air Act 1/ (7,300.0) (6,600.0) (1,600.0)
Ch. 405 (alt fuel vehicle credit)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (15.0) (7,279.0) (8,732.7) (3,758.7)

SALES AND USE
Renewable Energy Incentives (40.7) (42.8) (45.0)
Ch. 214

Spaceport Launch Site Exemption (18.4) (36.7) (36.7) (36.7)
Ch. 359

TOTAL SALES AND USE (18.4) (77.4) (79.5) (81.7)

PROPERTY
Renewable Energy Incentives (8.8)
Ch. 214

Cemeteries; Property Tax Exemption
Ch. 258 (7.3)

Electrical Generation Facilities (2,234.9) (3,957.1)
Ch. 384

TOTAL PROPERTY (2,234.9) (3,973.2)

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (713.4) (89,429.4) (65,432.1) (36,129.1)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

1/  Amounts for FY 2001, FY 2002, and FY 2003 represent actual impact rather than initial estimated impact.
      Totals do not include approximately $(12.7) million paid out for consumer loss recovery, for a total alternative
      fuel impact of approximately $(117) million.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2000
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2001 FY 2002 FY 2003
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
Conditional Appropriations;  Taxation          
(reduce standard deduction) (15,000.0) (15,000.0)
Ch. 235

Department of Revenue;  Confidentiality 1,400.0 1,300.0
Ch. 261

IRS Conformity (123.0) (280.0) (385.0)
Ch. 296

Retirement Benefits;  Defined Contribution (300.0) (300.0)
Ch. 380

Equity Tax Act;  Archaic Laws (552.8) (552.8)
Ch. 382

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (123.0) (14,732.8) (14,937.8)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)
Ch. 296

Enterprise Zone Program;  Extension
Ch. 370 (impact can not be determined)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (470.0) (1,098.0) (1,315.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (593.0) (15,830.8) (16,252.8)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2001
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2002 FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (14,480.0) (14,480.0) (14,480.0)
Ch. 344

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,480.0) (14,480.0) (14,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
Repeal Dividends Income Tax Subtraction 11,200.0 11,200.0 11,200.0
Ch. 50

IRS Conformity 5,610.0 5,610.0 5,610.0
Ch. 344

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 16,810.0 16,810.0 16,810.0

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
IRS Conformity - Estate Tax (18,830.0) (38,140.0) (57,740.0)
Ch. 344

TOTAL OTHER (18,830.0) (38,140.0) (57,740.0)

    TOTAL (16,500.0) (35,810.0) (55,410.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 2nd Special Session (December 2001), 3rd Special Session (March 2002),
    and 2nd Regular Session.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2002 *
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2003 FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
None

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Flight Property Tax 7,000.0 0.0
Ch. 263

TOTAL PROPERTY 7,000.0 0.0

OTHER
Remove Medicaid Exemption/Ins. Premium Tax 69,728.1 92,970.1
Ch. 136

TOTAL OTHER 69,728.1 92,970.1

    TOTAL 76,728.1 92,970.1

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

* Includes 45th Legislature, 6th Special Session (November 2002), and 46th Legislature, 1st Special Session
    (March 2003), and 1st Regular Session.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2003 *
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2004 FY 2005
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (1,800.0)
Ch. 196

Stillborn Children Exemption (34.0)
Ch. 214

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (1,834.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
None

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME 

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Liquor Fees 250.0
Ch. 275

TOTAL OTHER 250.0

    TOTAL (1,584.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2004
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2005 FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (5,400.0) (5,090.0) (7,950.0)
Ch. 334

Elimination of "Marriage Penalty" (6,400.0) (12,800.0) (12,800.0)
Ch. 334

Index Standard Deduction to CPI (2,400.0) (4,800.0) (7,200.0)
Ch. 334

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption (10,300.0) 1/

Ch. 303

Graywater Tax Credit 2/ (250.0)
Ch. 292

Small Business Investment Credit 3/

Ch. 316

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (14,200.0) (32,990.0) (28,200.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (3,000.0) 5,210.0 9,410.0
Ch. 196

AZ National Guard Employment Credit (250.0) (250.0) (250.0)
Ch. 264

Motion Picture Tax Incentives (8,000.0) (9,200.0)
Ch. 317

Graywater Tax Credit 2/ (500.0)
Ch. 292

Corporate Sales Factor 4/ (32,000.0)
Ch. 289

Corporate Consolidated Credit 5/

Laws 1994 Ch. 41

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (3,250.0) (3,040.0) (32,540.0)

SALES AND USE
Motion Picture Tax Incentives (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)
Ch. 317

TOTAL SALES AND USE (600.0) (1,200.0) (1,300.0)

PROPERTY
Business Property Tax Reduction 6/

Ch. 302

Increased Widows Property Tax Exemption 7/

Ch. 309

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (18,050.0) (37,230.0) (62,040.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 303 established a one-time active duty pay exemption.  Laws 2006, Chapter 342 (see following page) made the
    exemption permanent, as well as expanding the exemption to National Guard or Reserves..
2/ Individual and corporate credit combined capped at $750,000 per year for 5 years beginning in FY 2008.
3/ Credit capped at $20 million for tax years 2007 through 2014.  No estimates of impact by year.
4/ Estimated impact of $(32) million in FY 2008, $(62) million in FY 2009, $(91) million in FY 2010, and $(120) million when
    fully implemented in FY 2011.
5/ Legislation enacted in 1994 provided a tax credit totalling $115 million for certain consolidated returns which was to be spread 
    over 10 years.  In the 11th year, DOR is required to refund any unused credit.  This legislation is estimated to have a one-time
    impact of $(4) million in FY 2007, and $(55.5) million in FY 2008.
6/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be $12.3 million in FY 2007,
    $26.6 million in FY 2008, $42.8 million in FY 2009, $61.5 million in FY 2010, $82.7 million in FY 2011, $102.8 million in FY 2012, 
    $114.2 million in FY 2013, and $126.5 million in FY 2015.  Full implementation in FY 2016 is expected to cost $140 million.
7/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be $500,000 in FY 2007
    and $512,000 in FY 2008. 

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2005
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2006 FY 2007 FY 2008
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity (700.0) 400.0
Ch. 357

Individual Inccome Tax Rate Reduction (156,100.0) (334,000.0)
Ch. 354

Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

Active Duty Military Pay Exemption 1/ (12,200.0)
Ch. 342

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (157,300.0) (346,300.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity (700.0) (800.0)
Ch. 357

Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

School Tuition Tax Credit 2/ (10,000.0) (12,000.0)
Chs. 14 & 325

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (11,200.0) (13,300.0)

SALES AND USE
Solar Energy Device Credit (500.0) (500.0)
Ch. 333

Exemption for Purchase of Liquid Natural Gas (378.6) (378.6)
Ch. 371

Tax Simplification-Eliminate 3 Categories (200.0) (200.0)
Ch. 354

TOTAL SALES AND USE (1,078.6) (1,078.6)

PROPERTY
State Equalization Rate Suspension 3/

Ch. 354

Nonprofit Hospital Property Tax Exemption 4/

Ch. 327

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
Health Insurance Premium Tax Credit (5,000.0) (5,000.0)
Ch. 378

TOTAL OTHER (5,000.0) (5,000.0)

    TOTAL (174,578.6) (365,678.6)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

1/ Chapter 342 made the one-time active duty pay exemption enacted by Laws 2005, Chapter 303 permanent.
    In addition, the act expands the exemption to include active National Guard or Reserves.
2/ Credit capped at $10 million for FY 2007.  The cap will increase 20% annually beginning in FY 2008.
3/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected to be
    $215.2 million in FY 2007, $226.0 million in FY 2008, and $239.6 million in FY 2009
4/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected
    to be $60,000 per year beginning in FY 2007.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2006
($ in Thousands)

- 229 -



FY 2007 FY 2008 FY 2009
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 1 (1,300.0) (980.0)

College Savings Plan
Ch. 258 (2,500.0)

Military Relief Fund
Ch. 258 (1,000.0)

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (1,300.0) (4,480.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 1 (300.0) 60.0

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (300.0) 60.0

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
Business Property Tax Reduction 1/

Ch. 258

Business Personal Property Accelerated Depreciation 2/

Ch. 258

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (1,600.0) (4,420.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

1/ Laws 2005, Chapter 302 phased down the assessment ratio for business personal property over 10 years.
    Chapter 258 accelerates the phase down from the remaining 8 years to 4 years.  Impact will occur as
    increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The incremental cost of the accelerated
    phase down is expected to be an additional $3.1 million in FY 2009.
2/ Impact will occur as increased Arizona Department of Education expenditures.  The cost is expected
    to be $4.0 million per year beginning in FY 2009.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2007
($ in Thousands)
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FY 2008 FY 2009 FY 2010 FY 2011
INDIVIDUAL INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94 (970.0)

College Savings Plan
Ch. 258

Military Relief Fund
Ch. 258

TOTAL INDIVIDUAL INCOME (970.0)

CORPORATE INCOME
IRS Conformity
Ch. 94 (80.0)

Research and Development Credit
Ch. 290 (5,700.0)

TOTAL CORPORATE INCOME (80.0) (5,700.0)

SALES AND USE
None

TOTAL SALES AND USE

PROPERTY
None

TOTAL PROPERTY

OTHER
None

TOTAL OTHER

    TOTAL (1,050.0) (5,700.0)

Notes:  
- Unless otherwise noted, dollar amounts are estimates of impact at time of enactment.
- After the first year, amounts represent the total dollar impact for the year,
  not the incremental amount.

TAX LAW CHANGES THAT OCCURRED IN CALENDAR YEAR 2008
($ in Thousands)
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